# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Corrections**

## Assembly Bill 702

Relating to: development of a system of short-term sanctions for individuals who violate conditions of extended supervision, parole, probation, or a deferred prosecution agreement and granting rule-making authority. By Representatives Nygren, Ballweg, Bies, Czaja, Endsley, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, Kooyenga, Krug, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Marklein, Murphy, A. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Swearingen, Tranel, Billings, Goyke, Hebl, Kahl, Pasch, Richards, Ringhand and Zamarripa; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Darling, L. Taylor, Cowles, Gudex, Olsen, Carpenter, Schultz and Grothman.

January 31, 2014 Referred to Committee on Corrections

# February 06, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present:	(9)	Representative Bies; Representatives Schraa,
		Brooks, Krug, Thiesfeldt, Kleefisch, Doyle,
		Pasch and Zamarripa.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

## Appearances For

- Rep. John Nygren 89th Assembly District
- Melissa Roberts Department of Corrections, Legislative Liaison
- Adam Plotkin Office of State Public Defender

#### Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

• Sen. Sheila Harsdorf - 10th Senate District

**Registrations Against** 

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

Present:	(9)	Representative Bies; Representatives Schraa,
		Brooks, Krug, Thiesfeldt, Kleefisch, Doyle,
		Pasch and Zamarripa.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Bies; Representatives Schraa, Brooks, Krug, Thiesfeldt, Kleefisch, Doyle, Pasch and Zamarripa.
- Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Pasch, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 702** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Bies; Representatives Schraa, Brooks, Krug, Thiesfeldt, Kleefisch, Doyle, Pasch and Zamarripa.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Cory Bruce Committee Clerk