Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 596

Relating to: renewable resource credits, removal of certain natural gas service laterals, natural gas public utility service in municipalities, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Kuglitsch and Kulp; cosponsored by Senators Cowles and Farrow.

January 03, 2014 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

January 09, 2014 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives

Jacque, Weininger, Severson, Neylon, Petersen,

Zepnick, Hulsey, Kahl and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative T. Larson.

Appearances For

- Mike Kuglitsch Rep. 84 Assembly District
- Rob Cowles Sen. 2nd Senate District
- R.J. Pirlot PSC Chairman Montgomery
- Dennis Meyer Expera
- Todd Stuart WI Industrial Energy Group (WIEG)
- Tom Scharff New Page/ Consolidated Power Co.
- Scott Suder Wisconsin Paper Council

Appearances Against

• Don Wichert - RENEW Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Sumi Madison Gas and Electric
- Eric Bott WMC
- Joel Haubrick We Energies
- Kristin Gilkes Alliant Energy
- Bill Skewes WI Utilities Association (WUA)
- Zak Bloom Municipal Electric Utilities
- Adam Raschka Xcel Energy
- John Sumi Madison Gas and Electric

- Eric Bott WMC
- Kristin Gilkes Alliant Energy
- John Garvin American Transmission Co. (ATC)

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

- Keith Reopelle Clean Wisconsin
- Brett Hulsey Rep. Self

January 15, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives T. Larson, Jacque, Weininger, Neylon, Petersen, Zepnick, Hulsey, Kahl and Shankland.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Severson.

Moved by Representative Shankland, seconded by Representative Larson that **Assembly Bill 596** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives T. Larson, Jacque, Weininger, Neylon, Petersen, Zepnick, Hulsey, Kahl and Shankland.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Severson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Matt Spencer

Committee Clerk