Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Tourism

Assembly Bill 407

Relating to: snowmobile registration, trail use sticker requirements, and funding for supplemental snowmobile trail aids.

By Representatives Czaja, Danou, Ballweg, Bernier, Bies, Endsley, Hesselbein, Hulsey, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kolste, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Milroy, Murphy, A. Ott, Ohnstad, Petryk, Ripp, Wachs, Weatherston, Weininger, Swearingen, Brooks, Wright, Born, Knodl and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Gudex, Jauch, Cowles, T. Cullen, Erpenbach, Hansen, Harsdorf, Lassa, Leibham, Olsen, Shilling, L. Taylor, Vinehout and Lehman.

October 04, 2013 Referred to Committee on Tourism

November 13, 2013 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Bies,

Czaja, Endsley, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey, Doyle, Hebl,

Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kleefisch.

Appearances For

- Rick Gudex Senator 18th Senate District
- Mary Czaja Rep. 35th Assembly District
- Chris Danou Rep. 92nd Assembly District
- Dave Fantle Wisconsin Department of Tourism
- David Newman AWSC
- Gary Broderick New York State Snowmobile Assoc.
- Mike Giese Neenah Wolff's Pack Snowmobile Club
- Michael Holden AWSC
- Gary Hilgendorf Knight Owls Snowmobile Club;
 Lincoln County Snowmobile Council
- John Brozek AWSC
- Leon Wolfe AWSC; Lafayette Co. Snowmobile Alliance
- Kristopher Krause Yellow Thunder Snowmobile Club
- Jim & Sue Smedegard Cozy Corner Trails; Douglas & Burnett Co.
- Morris Nelson AWSC
- Alexus Butler AWSC

- Dale Mayo Viles & Onieda Co.
- Gary Will Silver Creek Snow Odders Snowmobile Club
- Jim Schlafli Argyle Ditch Bangers Snowmobile Club
- Cody Stamm Argyle Snowmobile Club
- Jeff Barkley Wisconsin County Forests Assoc.
- Stuart McIntyre Waupaca CLTB Snowmobile Club
- Tom Hinchliffe Fond du Lac County Snowmobile Assoc.
- David Rowley
- Jim Blouin Viking Sno-Drifters Snowmobile Club
- Holly Tomlanovich Sno-Eagles Snowmobile Club

Appearances Against

- Richard Steimel
- Charles Griffith

Appearances for Information Only

- Cathy Burrow DNR
- Michele Young DNR
- Michael Bruhn DNR

Registrations For

- Bob Jauch Senator 25th Senate District
- Earl Komperud AWSC
- Barb Noren AWSC
- Craig Kittleson
- Kevin Bollinger
- Oliver Jones AWSC
- Richard Plautz
- Mike Bentheimy Sun Downers Snowmobile Club
- Harold Dettinger
- Elizabeth Dettinger
- Ronald Althau Sr. Silver Creek Otters Snowmobile Club
- Duane Meyers Sun Prairie Snowmobile Club
- Lyndon Luker Ripon Sno-Odders Snowmobile Club
- Seth Muskavitch Silver Creek Sno-Odders Snowmobile Club
- Peggy Donahue Kellner Knights Snowmobile Club
- Lori Heideman Kellner Knights Snowmobile Club
- Tim Hoven Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers
- Richard Bidinger Prairie Riders Snowmobile Club
- Jim Chambers AWSC
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Assoc.

- William Schult Devil's Creek Stump Jumper Snowmobile Club, Lincoln Co.
- Andy Malecki Jr. AWSC
- Sam Landes Dane County Snowmobilers
- Orv Langohr AWSC
- Ray Sippel AWSC
- Bob Bennett Jefferson County Snowmobile Alliance
- Gary Strom Fond du Lac County Snowmobile Club
- Harlow Woodward Columbus-Fall River Sno-Blazers
- Roger Geyer Rock County Alliance of Snowmobile Clubs
- Bob Kaiser Rock County Alliance of Snowmobile Clubs
- Matt Phillips Tavern League of Wisconsin
- C. Carter
- Mike Thoma
- Cathy Krause
- Rick Anderson Richland Co. Snowmobile Club
- Daniel Reinhardt AWSC
- Bev O'Brion Columbus-Fall River Sno-Blazers Snowmobile Club
- Donna White AWSC
- Meghan Meinholz Dane County Council of Snowmobile Clubs
- Lloyd Denman
- Norbert Ziegler G-E-T Trailblazers

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 15, 2014 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives Bies,

Czaja, Kleefisch, Endsley, Born, A. Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey, Doyle,

Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Hebl.

Moved by Representative Czaja, seconded by Representative Ohnstad that **Assembly Amendment 4** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives
Bies, Czaja, Kleefisch, Endsley, Born, A.
Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey,
Doyle, Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 4 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Czaja, seconded by Representative Bies that **Assembly Amendment 5** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives
Bies, Czaja, Kleefisch, Endsley, Born, A.
Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey,
Doyle, Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 5 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Czaja, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 407** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kaufert; Representatives
Bies, Czaja, Kleefisch, Endsley, Born, A.
Ott, Swearingen, Ballweg, Billings, Hulsey,
Doyle, Ohnstad and Hesselbein.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Hebl.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Committee Clerk