LAWS OF WISCONSIN.

the term now prescribed by law for such officers in this Territory.

In case the vote before mentioned determines a divis-SEC. 7. ion of the county of Milwaukee, then and in that case, the several county supervisors elected at the next April town election within the limits of said county of Waukesha, shall meet at what is now known as Vail's Hotel, in the town of Prairieville, on the Board of susecond Monday of June next, at twelve o'clock, M., and proceed to organize a board of county supervisors for the county of Waukesha. They shall elect a clerk of their board, and such other officers as may be necessary for carrying into effect the organization of the county; which officers so elected, shall serve until their successors are duly elected and qualified according to law. Said board of supervisors shall at said meeting, or at some subsequent adjourned meeting, procure for the use of said county, suitable and convenient grounds for the location of the seat of justice, and provide for the erection of all the necessary county buildings.

> SEC. 8. That an act entitled "an act to provide for the removal of the seat of justice of the county of Milwaukee from the town of Milwaukee to Prairieville," approved February 24th, 1845, be and the same is hereby repealed,

APPROVED January 31st, 1846.

AN ACT making new Election Districts and providing for a new apportionment of representation to the Legislative Assembly.

BE IT ENACTED by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Wisconsin:

SECTION 1. That the county of Racine shall constitute the first election district. The county of Walworth shall constitute the second election district. The county of Rock shall constitute the third election district. The counties of lows and Rich-

Districts how composed.

pervisors to or

ganize.

LAWS OF WISCONSIN.

land shall constitute the fourth election district. The county of Grant shall constitute the fifth election district. The counties of Green. Dane and Sauk shall constitute the sixth election district. The counties of Crawford, St. Croix, Chippewa and La Pointe shall constitute the seventh election district. The counties of Dodge and Jefferson shall constitute the eighth election district. The county of Milwaukee shall constitute the ninth election dis-The counties of Washington and Sheboygan shall constitriët. tute the tenth election district. The counties of Manitowoc, Brown, Calumet, Winnebago, Fond du Lac, Marquette, Portage and Columbia shall constitute the eleventh election district. And in the event of the ratification of the act entitled "an act to provide for the division of the county of Milwaukee," by the voters as provided in said act, the county of Waukesha shall constitute the twelfth election district.

SEC. 2. As soon as practicable after having been furnished with the enumeration of the inhabitants of the Territory in pursuance of "an act in relation to the formation of a State Government in Wisconsin," the Governor of the Territory shall apportion Governor to to each of said districts their relative proportion of represen- make apportation according to their population as near as may be shown by the census taken by virtue of the above recited act upon the basis laid down in the tenth section of "an act to provide for the taking the census of the inhabitants of the Territory of Wisconsin, and to authorize the Governor to apportion the members of the Council and House of Representatives," approved February 18, 1842, and issue a proclamation, declaring the apportionment made under this act and to transmit to the sheriffs of each of the counties of the Territory a copy of the said proclamation, whereupon the said sheriffs shall post up notices according to the apportionments made as aforesaid, which notices shall be in form as prescribed by the "act to provide for and regulate general elections," any thing in said act requiring longer notice to the contrary notwithstanding.

4

APPROVED Feb. 3d, 1846.

25