joy all the rights and privileges which are granted by law to the other towns of this Territory.

SEC. 5. That all acts and parts of acts contravening the provisions of this act be, and the same are hereby repealed; and this act shall take effect from and after its passage.

Approved January 21st, 1846.

AN ACT to organize certain towns therein named.

BE IT ENACTED by the Council and House of Representatives of the Territory of Wisconsin:

Towns how constituted.

- Section 1. That all that part of the present town of Union in the county of Rock, comprised in the north half of township three, north of range ten east, and the south half of town three, north of range ten east, in the town of Centre be set off and organized into a separate town by the name of Magnolia. The first election shall be held at the house of Joseph Prentiss.
- SEC. 2. That all that part of the present town of Union in the county of Rock, comprised in the north half of township three, north of range eleven east, and all of township four, north of range eleven east, except sections six, seven, eighteen, and the west half of sections five, eight and seventeen be set off and organized into a separate town by the name of Oak, and the first election shall be held at the house of John Winston. The first election in the town of Union shall be held at the school house near the Union post office.
- SEC. 3. That all that part of the county of Walworth comprised in section thirty-six, in the town of Elk-Horn, section one, in the town of Delevan, section six, in the town of Geneva, and section thirty-one, in the town of La Fayette, is hereby set off and organized into a separate town by the name of Elk-Horn, and the first town meeting shall be held at the court house in said town.

- SEC. 4. That township three, north of range sixteen east, except section thirty-six, now called Elk-Horn, shall hereafter be known and distinguished as the town of Sugar Creek, and the first town meeting to be held at the house of S. H. Tibbits, which town shall be entitled to all the records of the town of Elk-Horn, as heretofore organized.
- SEC. 5. That township one, and the south half of township two, north of range thirteen east, shall constitute a seperate town, and shall be known by the name of Turtle, and the first town meeting shall be held at the school house near Lewis' mills.
- SEC. 6. That township two, north of range fourteen east, shall constitute a separate town, and shall be known by the name of Bradford, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of William Hagnard.
- SEC. 7. That township two, north of range ten east, shall constitute a separate town, and shall be known by the name of Spring Valley, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of Nicholas E. Phelps.
- SEC. 8. That township one, north of range ten east, and township one, north of range eleven east, shall constitute a separate town and shall be known by the name of Newark, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of I. D. Marvin.
- SEC. 9. That all that district of country comprised in township four, north of range twenty-one east, and the cast half of township four, north of range twenty east, in Racine county, be, and the same hereby is organized into a separate town to be called Black Hawk, and the first town meeting in said town shall be held at the house of Elisha Raymond.
- SEC. 10. That all that district of country comprised in township three, north of range twenty-one east, and the east half of township three, north of range twenty east, in Racine county, be, and the same hereby is organized into a separate town to be called the town of Yorkville, and the first town meeting in said town shall be held at the house of E. Adams.
- SEC. 11. That all that part of the county of Fond du Lac embraced in township sixteen, range fifteen, and the west half of range sixteen, and that part known as the north half of town fifteen, range fifteen, and sections four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, and sixteen, seventeen and eighteen of town fifteen, range sixteen,

be organized into a separate town in the county of Fond du Lac, by the name of Rosendale, and that the first annual meeting shall be held on the first Tuesday of April next, at the house of Samuel Sanburn, at the hour fixed by law.

- Sec. 12. That all that part of the town of Fond du Lac, in the county of Fond du Lac, embraced in township fourteen, north of range sixteen east, be organized into a separate town by the name of Lime, and the first town meeting in said town shall be held on the first Tuesday of April next, at the house of Russel Wilkinson, in said town, at the time established by law.
- SEC. 13. That all that part of the town of Waupom, in the county of Fond du Lac, known as town fifteen, range fourteen, and the north half of town fourteen, range fourteen, shall be organized into a separate town by the name of Metomon, and the first town meeting shall be held at the house of Francis D. Bowman, on the first Tuesday of April next, at the time fixed by law.
- Spc. 14. The said several towns shall be entitled to all the rights and privileges which other towns are entitled to by law, and the next town meeting in the said towns shall be held at the time prescribed by law for holding town meetings.
- SEC. 15. That in case any town established by this or any act puty of clerk passed during the present session, shall neglect or refuse to organize and elect town officers at the April town meeting, in such case it shall be the duty of the clerk of the board of supervisors of each county to attach such town to some adjoining town which is organized, and such town for all purposes shall be considered a part of the town to which it is attached for the time being, any thing in any law to the contrary notwithstanding.
 - SEC. 16. So much of any act or acts of this Territory as conflicts with the provisions of this act is hereby repealed.

Approved February 2, 1846.