the legal voters of the county of Columbia are hereby authorized to vote in favor or against having all that part of said county lying west of the Wisconsin river stricken therefrom and attached to Sauk county.

- SEC. 2. Those voting in favor of such division shall have written or printed on their ballot the words "for division" and those voting against such division the words "against division" such ballots shall be deposited in a separate ballot box, and shall be canvassed and returns made in like manner as at general elections.
- SEC. 3. In case a majority of such ballots shall be "for division" then and thereafter all that part of Columbia county lying west of the Wisconsin river shall be attached to Sauk county.

N. E. WHITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES,

Licut. Governor and President of the Senate.

Approved August 19, 1848.

NELSON DEWEY.

AN ACT to organize the several towns therein named,
The People of the State of Wisconsin represented in Senate and
Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. So much of Washington county as is embraced in two tiers of sections on the north side of the town of West Bend, and two tiers of sections on the south side of the town of North Bend shall constitute a separate town and shall be known by the name of Newark.

SEC. 2. So much of Jefferson county as is embraced in a strip of land one and a half mile wide on the north side of town seven in range four-teen and the south half, and the north west quarter of town eight in range four-teen shall constitute a separate town and shall be known by the name of Millford.

SEC. 3. The several towns to which the town of Millford and Newark were attached before the passage of this act shall proceed to levy and collect the taxes for the year one thousand eight hundred and forty eight in said towns in the same manner and subject to the provisions of law as if this act had not passed.

N. E. WHITESIDE, Speaker of the Assembly. JOHN E. HOLMES.

Lieut. Governor and President of the Senate.

Approved August 19, 1848.

NELSON DEWEY.

AN ACT supplementary to an "act to organize the town of Farmersville" approved August 4th 1848.

The People of the State of Wisconsin, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. That so much of town nine north of range six east as lies within the limits of the county of Dane be attached to and is hereby made a part of the town of Farmersville.

N. E. WHITESIDE,
Speaker of the Assembly,
JOHN E. HOLMES,

Lieut. Governor and President of the Senate.

Approved August 19, 1848.

NELSON DEWEY.