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136.01 Definitions. Terms as used in this chapter are defined as follows: 
(1) "Board" means the Wisconsin Real Estate Brokers' Boarcl. 
(2) "Real estate broker" means any person, firm 01' corporation, not excluded by sub­

section (3) of this section, who: 
(a) For another, and for commission money or other thing of value, sells, exchanges, 

buys or rents, or offers 01' attempts to negotiate a sale, exchange, purchase 01' rental of all 
interest or estate in real estate; or, 

(b) Who is engaged wholly 01' in part in the business of selling real estate, whether 01' 

not such real estate is owned by such person, firm or corporation. 
(c ) Negotiates, or offers or attempts to negotiate a loan, secured, or to be secured, by 

mortgage or other transfer of or incumbrance on real estate. 
(3) The term "real estate broker" does not include: 
(a) Receivers, trustees, administrators, executors, guardians, 01' other persons ap­

pointed by or acting under the judgment or order of any court; 01', 

(b) Public officers while pcrforming their official duties; 01', 

(c) Any bank, trust company, building and loan association, or any land mortgage 01' 

farm loan association organized under the laws of this state or of the United States, when 
engaged in the transaction of business within the scope of its corporate powers as pro­
vided by law; or, 

(d) Employe~ of pers~ns, companies or ~ssociation~ enumerated in paragrnphs (a), 
(b) and (c) of thIS subsectIOn, when engagedm the speCIfic performance of their duties as 
such employes. 

(4) "Real estate salesman" means one who is employed by a real estate broker to per­
form any act authorized by this chapter to be performed by a. real estate broker. 

136.02 Brokers licensed. No person, firm or corporation shall engage in or follow 
the business or occupation of, or advertise or hold himself or itself out as or shall act 
temporarily or otherwise as a real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state, with­
out first procuring a license therefor as provided in this chapter. Licenses shall be 
g'l'anted only to persons who are trustworthy Imd competent to transact the business of a 
real estate broker or real estate salesman in sUl3h manner as to safeguard the interests of 
the public, and only after satisfactory proof thereof has been presented to the board. 

136.03 Brokers' board created. There is created the "Wisconsin Real Estate 
Brokers' Board." By July 29, 1929, the governor, by and with the advice and consent of 
the senate, shall appoint 3 persons, at least 2 of whom shall be real estate brokers ill this 
state, ~o be members of said board. One of said members shaU be appointed for a term of 
2 years; one for a term of 4 years; and one for a term of 6 years. Thereafter the terms of 
members of said board shall be 6 years and until their successors are appointed and 
qualify. Each member of the board shall, before entering upon his duties, take and file 
the official oath. 
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136.04 Brokers' board. (1) ORGANIZATION, QUORUM. The board, immediately fol­
lowing the qualification of the member appointed in any year, shall organize by appoint­
ing a secretary and by selecting from its number a president, vice president and a treas­
urer, and may promulgate l'llles and regulations for cllrrying into effect the provisions of 
this chapter and for the performance of its duties and functions. A majority of the 
board shall constitute a quorum for the exercise of the powers or authority conferred on it. 
In case of a vacancy, the remaining' two members of the board shall exercise all the powers 
and authority of the board until such vacancy is filled. 

(2) DUTIES. The board shall receive applications for, and issue licenses to real es­
tate brokers and real estate salesmen as provided in this chapter, and shall administer the 
provisions of this chapter. . 

(3) MEETINGS, HEARINGS. The board may hold meetings, hearings or investigations 
anywhere in the state and any such hearings or investigations may be conducted by any 
member of the board, the secretary or by any duly authorized employe of the board. 

(4) OFFICIAL BOND. The secretary and treasurer of the board shall each give a bond 
in the sum of five thousand dollars with sureties to be approved by the secretary of state, 
conditioned for the faithful performance of the duties of his office. Such bonds shall be 
filed in the office of the secretary of state. 

(5) PER DIEM. Each member of the board shall be paid $10 pel' day when actually 
and necessarily engaged in his duties. 

History: 1951 c. 319 s. 2,13. 

136.05 Application for license, contents. (1) Any person desiring to act as a 
real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state shall file with the board an appli­
cation for a license therefor. Said application shall be in such form as shall be pre­
scribed by the board, and shall set forth: 

(a) The kind of license desired; 
(b) The name and address of the applicant; if the applicant be a firm, the name and 

address of each member thereof; if the applicant be a corporation, the name anrl address 
of each of its officers; 

(c) The place or places, including the town, village or city, street number and county 
wliere the business is to be conducted, and the manner in which such place of business is 
designated; 

(d) The business or occupation theretofore engag'ed in by the applicant, or, if a 
firm, by each member thereof, 01' if a corporation, by each officer thereof, for a period 
of at least two years immediately preceding the date of such application; 

(e) Such further information as the board may reasonably require to enable it to 
determine the trustworthiness of each applicant, including each memher of the firm, or 
each officer of the corporation, and his or their competency to transact the business of a 
real estate broker 01' salesman in such manner as ,to safeguard the interests of the public. 

(2) In determining competency, the board shall require proof that the applicant for 
a broker's license has a fair lmowledge of the English languag'e, a fail' understanding of 
the general purposes and general legal effect of deeds, mortgages, land contracts of sale, 
and leases, a general anrl fair understanding of the obligations between principal and 
agent, as well as of the provisions of this chapter. 

136.06 Applications, verification, fees, exemptions. (1) Such application shall be 
verified by the applicant; if made by a firm it shall be verified by at least two members 
thereof; if made by a corporation it shall be verified by the president and secretary 
thereof. Application for license as real· est'ate broker shall be accompanied by the affi­
davit of two persons who are citizens and real estate owners in the county in which the 
applicant resides or has his place of business, certifying that the applicant is trustworthy 
and competent. Application for license as real estate salesman shall be accompanied 
by the affidavit of his employer, if employed, certifying that the applicant is trustworthy 
and competent. 

(2) Each application for a real estate broker's license shall be accompanied by a li­
cense fee of ten dollars and for a real estate salesman's license by a fee of five dollars for 
the calendar year ending on the thirty-first day of December thereafter. Unless the ap­
plication be withdrawn in writing before the board shall have made any investigation 
thereon, neither said fee, nor any part thereof, shall be returned to the applicant. 

(3) In the case of applications for renewals of licenses the board may dispense with 
such of the matteI's contained in paragraphs (a), (b), (c), (d), or (e) of subsection (1) 
of section 136.05 as it deems unnecessary in view of prior applications. 

(5) (a) Any licensed real estate salesman may at any time during the calendar year 
for which he has been licensed make application upon a form provided by the board for 
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transfer to the employment of another licensed broker. The fee for such transfer shall 
be fifty cents payable at the time the application therefor is filed. 

(b) The suspension 01' revocation of a license issued to a broker shall automatically 
suspend the license of every salesman employed by such broker at the time of the suspen-

'sion or revocation of such broker's license. Such salesman shall have the right to apply 
for transfer to some other licensed broker by complying with the provisions of this chap­
ter, provided such salesman is not a party to the proceeding bringing about the suspen­
sion or revocation of the license of his broker. 

An applicant for a real estate or busi- estate brokers' board is not required to 
ness opportunity broker's or salesman's allow any specified time to elapse between 
license is not entitled to a refund of his fees the receipt of an application for a license 
unless the withdrawal of his application and the commencement of its investigation 
takes place before any investigation has thereon. 41 Atty. Gen. 16. 
been made thereon. The Wisconsin real 

136.07 Licenses. (1) EXPIRATION. A license issued by the board shall entitle the 
holder thereof to act as a real estate broker, or if the application is for a real estate sales­
man's license, to act as a real estate salesman in this state up to and including the thirty­
first day of December following issuance of such license. 

(2) CORPORATE LICENSEE. (a) If the licensee is a corporation, the license issued to it 
shall entitle the president thereof 01' such other officer as may be designated by such cor­
poration, to act as a real estate broker. For each oth81' officer who desires to act as a real 
estate broker in behalf of such corporation, an additional license shall be applied for and 
issued, the annual fee for which shall be one dollar for a real estate broker's license. No 
license as a real estate salesman shall be issued to any officer of a corporation nor to a 
member of a copartnership to whom a license was issued as a real estate broker. If the 
licensee is a copartnership, the license issued to it shall entitle one member thereof to act 
as a real estate broker, and for each other member of the copartnership who desires to 
act as a real estate broker an adc1itionallicense shall be applied for and issued, the annual 
fee for which shall be one dollar for a real estate broker's license. 

(3) BROKERS' LIABILITY FOR AOTS OF SALESMEN. Each real estate broker shall be re­
sponsible for the acts of any and all of his 01' its salesmen while acting as his or its 
agents. 

(4) ROSTER OF. BROKERS. The board shall from time to time prepare and publish in 
convenient form the names of all real estate brokers and salesmen licensed under this 
chapter. There shall also be included in such publication the names of all real estate bro­
kers and salesmen whose licenses have been revoked at any time within one year prior to 
the issue thereof. 

136.08 Investigations, revocation of license. (1) The board may on its own motion 
make investigations and conduct hearings in regard to the action of any real estate broker 
01' real estate salesman, 01' any person, firm, 01' corporation who it has reason to b~ieve is 
acting or has acted in either such capacity within this state, and may make findings, after 
a hearing held on ten days' notice, whether such person, ill'lll, or corporation has acted as 
a real estate broker or salesman, which finclings shall be subject to review as provided in 
section 136.15. In such review any additional evidence which may be presented and 
which is material may be considered. The board may also on its own motion, or upon 
complaint in writing, duly signed and verified by the complainant, and upon not less than 
ten days' notice to the real estate broker or salesman, suspend any real estate broker's or 
salesman's license if it has reason to believe, and may revoke such license in the manner 
provided hereafter, if it finds that the holde:r of such license has: 

(a) Made a material misstatement in the application for such license; 
(b) Made any substantial misrepresentation with reference to a transaction injurious 

to a seller or purchaser wherein he acts as agent; 
(c) Made any false promises of a character such as to influence, persuade or induce 

the seller or purchaser to their injury or damage; 
(d) Pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or made false 

promises through agents or salesmen or advertising'; 
(e) Acted for more than one party in a transaction without the knowledge of all 

parties for whom he acts; 
(f) Accepted a commission or valuable consideration as a real estate salesman for 

the performance of any of the acts specified in this chapter, from any person except his 
I;lmployer; 

(g) Represented or attempted to represent a real estate broker other than the em­
ployer, without the express knowledge and consent of the employer; 

(h) Failed, within a reasonable time, to account for or remit any moneys coming into 
his possession which belong to another person; 
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(i) Demonstrated untrustworthiness or incompetency to act as a real estate broker or 
salesman in such manner as to safeguard the interests of the public; 

(j) Paid or offered to pay a commission or valuable consideration to any person for 
acts or services in violation of the provisions of this chapter; 

(k) Been guilty of any other conduct, whether of the same or a different character 
from that specmed herein, which constitutes improper, fraudulent or dishonest dealing; or 

(1) Violated any provision of this chapter. 
(2) If a broker is a company it shall be sufficient cause for the suspension or revoca­

tion of a broker's license that any officer, director or trustee of the company, or apy mem­
ber in case of a partnership, has been guilty of any act or omission which would be cause 
for refusing a broker's license to such person as an individual. 

(3) A copy of the complaint, together with notice of suspension of the license, if 01'­

~lered by the board, shall forthwith be served upon the real estate broker ,or salesman 
complained against by personal service or by mailing same to his last known business ad­
dress, and in case the complaint is against a salesman a copy of the complaint and notice 
shall also be served upon the broker for whom he is acting. The person so served shall 
file his answer thereto with the board within ten days after such service and also serve a 
copy of such answer on the complainant. The board shall thereupon set the mattm' for 
hearing as promptly as possible and within thirty days after the date of filing of the 
complaint. Either party may appear at such hearing in person or by attorney or agent. 

136.09 Denial or revocation of license, procedure. (1) No order denying or re­
voking a license shall be made until after a public hearing or hearlllgs held before the 
board, or before any member thereof, or before any duly authorized employe whose re­
port the board shall have adopted. Such hearing or hearings shall be held in the county 
wherein the applicant for a license or the real estate broker complained of or whose sales­
man IS complained of has his place of. business. In the event that said broker or sales­
man is a nonresident, such hearing shall be held at such place as may be designated by 
the board. 

(2) At least ten days prior to the date of hearing, the board shall send written notice 
of the tinle and place of such hearing to the applicant fOl' a license or to the complainant 
and to the party complained against and to their respective attorneys or agents of record 
by mailing same to the last known address of such persons. The testimony presented 
and proceedings had at such hearing shall be taken in shorthand and preserved as the 
records of the board. The board shall as soon thereafter as possible, and within nlllety 
days after the date of filing of a complaint, make its findings and determination thereon 
and shall send a copy thereof to each interested party. 

136.10 Fee-splitting. No licensed broker shall pay a commission or any part 
thereof for performing any of the acts specified in this chapter to any person who is not 
a licensed broker or a licensed salesman urider the provisions of this chapter or who is 
not regularly engaged in the real estate brokerage business in another state. 

136.11 Limitation on actions for commissions. No person, firm or corporation' 
engaged in the business or acting in the capacity of a real estate broker or real estate 
salesman within this state shall bring or maintain an action in the courts of this state for 
the collection of a commission or compensation for the performance of any of the acts 
mentioned in this chapter without alleging and proving that such person, firm or corpora­
tion was a duly licensed real estate broker or real estate salesman at the time the alleged 
cause of action arose. 

Illinois broker not licensed in Wisconsin Since Wisconsin court would not entertain 
sued Wisconsin resident for commission for action. Federal court will dismiss. Reed v. 
sale of defendant's ,Visconsin property. Kelly, 177 F (2d) 473. 

136.12 Nonresident brokers. (1) A nonresident of this state may become a real 
estate broker or a real estate salesman by conforming to all of the provisions of this 
chapter, except that such nonresident broker shall maintain an active place of business 
in the state in which he holds a license. 

(2) The board may recognize in lieu of the affidavit required to accompany an ap­
plication for license, the license issued to a nonresident broker or salesman in such other 
state, upon payment of a license fee and the filing by the applicant with the board of a 
certified copy of the applicant's license issued by such other state. 

(3) Every nonresident applicant shall file an irrevocable consent that suits and actions 
may be commenced against such applicant in the proper court of any county of the 
state in which a cause of action may arise or in which the plaintiff resides, by the service 
of any process or pleading authorized by the laws of this state, on the board, any member 
thereof or any duly authorized eml)loye, said consent stipulating and agreeing that such 
service of such process or pleading shall be taken and held in all courts to be as valid and 
binding as if due service had been made upon said applicant in this state. Said consent 
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shall be duly acknowlec1g'ed, and if made by a corporation, shall be authenticated by the 
seal of such corporation. 

( 4) In case any process or pleadings are served upon the board 01' its duly authorized 
employe, it shall be by duplicate copies, one of which shall be filed in the office of the 
board and the other immediately forwarded by registered mail to the main office of the 
applicant against which said process or pleadings are directed, and no default in any 
such proceeding 01' action shall be taken except when it appears by affidavit of the sec­
retary of the board or any duly authorized employe that a copy of the process or plead­
ing was mailed to the defendant as herein required, and no judgment by default shall be 
taken in any such action or proceeding within twenty days after the date of mailing of 
such process 01' pleading to the nonresident defendant. 

136;13 Evidence, power to obtain. (1) The board may subpcena and compel the 
attendance and testimony of witnesses within this state, and the production of books, 
papers and documents, and each member of the board and its duly authorized l'epre­
sentative may administer oaths to witnesses. 

(3) The board may also take depositions in the manner described by law for the 
taking of depositions in actions pending in circuit court. 

(4) Each witness who appears before the board pursuant to its subpcena, order or 
request, shall be paid the fees and mileage provided by law for witnesses in courts of 
record. Only witnesses appearing for and on behalf of the board shall be paid from the 
funds deposited pursuant to section 20.575, upon vouchers approved by the president and 
secretary of the board, and fees and mileage of all other witnesses shall be paid by the 
party demanding their attendance. 

136.14 Ineligibility. No license shall be issued to any person, firlll 01' corporation 
whose license shall have been previously revoked, until the expiration of a period of not 
to exceed two years from the date such revocation becomes finally effective, such period 
to be determined in each case by the board. 

136.15 Oourt review. Orders of the board shall be subject to review in the man­
ner provided in chapter 227. 

History: 1951 c. 261 s. 10. 

136.16 Penalties. Any person, firm, 01' corporation who shall engage in 01' follow 
the business or occupation of, or advertise or hold himself 01' itself out as 01' act tempo­
rarily or otherwiRe as a real estate broker or real estate salesman in this state without first 
having obtained a license therefor as required and provided by this chapter, 01' who other­
wise violates any provisions of this chapter, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on 
conviction thcreof, shall be punished by a fille of not less than twenty-five nor more than 
five thousand dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail for not ·less than ten days nor 
more than 6 months or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

136.17 Oompensation presumed. In any prosecution for violation of this chapter 
proof of facts otherwise established that a person, firm 01,' corporation acted as a broker 
01' e.gent 01' salesman shall be prima facie proof that compensation therefor was received or 
promised. 

136.18 Oertifications as evidence. (1) Copies of all documents, 'orders, resolutions 
and certificates made, executed 01' issued by the board, and of all papers filed in its office, 
when certified by the secretary or assistant secretary of the board, under its official seal. 
shall be received in evidence in all cases in like manner and with the same effect as the 
originals. 

(2) The certificate OI the secretary 01' assistant secretary of the board to the effect 
that a specified individual, copartnership or corporation is not 01' was not on a specified 
date the holder of a mortgage broker's license, real estate broker's license or real estate 
salesman's license, or that a specified license was not in effect on a date specified, and the 
certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of the board as to the issuance, suspen­
sion, or revocation of any such license, or as to the filing 01' withdrawal of any applica­
tion therefor, or as to the existence or nonexistence thereof, shall be prima Iacie evidence 
of the facts therein stated for all purposes in any action or proceeding in the courts of 
this state: 

136.19 Business opportunity brokers; definitions. Unless the context otherwise 
requires, as used in sections 136.19 to 136.36: 

(1) "Board" means the ,Visconsin real estate brokers' board. 
(2) "Business opportunity broker" means any person, firm 01' corporation, not ex­

cluded by subsection (3): 
(a) Who for another, and Ior commission, money or other thing OI value, sells, ex-
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changes, buys or rents, or offers or attempts to negotiate a sale, exchange, purchase 01' 

rental of any business, its good will, inventory, fixtures or an interest therein; or 
(b) Who is engaged wholly or in part in the business of selling business opportuni· 

ties or good will of an existing business or who is engaged wholly 01' in part in the busi· 
ness of buying and selling, exchanging or renting of any business, its good will, inven· 
tory, fixtures or an interest therein. . 

(3) The term "business opportunity broker" does not include: 
(a) Receivers, trustees, administrators, executors, guardians or other persons, ap· 

_pointed by or acting under the judgment or order of any court; or 
(b) Public officers while performing their official duties; or 
(c) Any bank, trust company, savings and loan association, or any land mortgage 

or farm loan association org'anized under the laws of this state or of the United States, 
when engaged in the transaction of business within the scope of its corporate powers 
as provided by law; or real estate brokers holding a license issued by the Wisconsin real 
estate brokers' board; or 

(d) Employes of persons, companies or associations enumerated in paragraphs (a), 
(b) and (c) when engaged in the specific performance of their duties as such employes. 

(4) "Business opportunity salesman" mellns anyone who is employed by a business 
opportunity broker to perf 01111 any act authorized by seetions 136.19 to 136.36 to be per­
formed by a business opportunity broker . 

. One who is licensed only as a business estate as part of a business. 39 Atty. Gen. 
opportunity broker is not authorized to act 475. 
as broker in connection with the sale of real 

136.20 Brokers licensed. No person, firm or corporation shall engage in or follow 
the business or occupation of, or advertise or hold himself or itself out as or shall act 
temporarily or otherwise as a business opportunity broker or business opportunity sales­
man in this state, without first procuring a license therefor as provided in sections 136.19 
to 136.36. Licenses shall be granted only to persons who are trustworthy and competent 
to transact the business of a lmsiiless opportunity broker or business opportunity sales­
man in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of the public, and only after satis­
factory proof thereof has been presented to the board. 

Real estate brokers engaging in the sale gaging in the sale only of personal property 
of businesses otller than as an. incident to which may be useful in a business need not 
the sale of real estate must be licensed as be licensed as business opportunity brokers. 
business opportunity brokers. Persons en- 42 Atty. Gen. 130. 

136.21 Brokers' board; duties, meetings, hearings. (1) The board shall receive 
applications for, and issue licenses to business oppodunity brokers and business op­
portunity salesmen a~ provided in sections 136.19 to 136.36 and shall administer the 
provisions of said sections. 

(2) The board may hold meetings, hearings or investigations anywhere in the state 
and any such hearings or investigations may be conducted by any member of the board, 
the secretary 01' by any duly authorized employe of the board. 

136.22 Application for license. (1) Any person desiring to act as a business 
opportunity broker or business opportunity salesman in this state shall file with the 
board an application for a license therefor. The form of the application shall be pre­
scribed by the hoard, and shall set forth: 

(a) The kind of license desired; 
(b) The name and address of the applicant; if the applicant is a firm, the name and 

address of each member thereof; if the applicant is a corporation, the name and address 
of each of its officers; 

(c) The place 01' places, including the town, village or city, street number and county 
where the business is to be conducted, and the manner in which such place of business is 
designated; 

(d) The business or occupation theretofore engaged in by the applicant, or, if a firm; 
by each member thereof, or if a corporation, by each officer thereof, for a period of at 
least 2 years immediately preceding the date of such application; 

(e) Such further information as the board may reasonably require to enaUe it to 
determine whether an applicant, including each member of the firm, or each· officer of 
the corporation, is competent and trustworthy to transact the business of a business op­
portunity broker or salesman in such manner as to safeguard the interests of the public. 

(2) In determining competency, the board shall require proof that the applicant for 
a. business opportunity broker's license or a business opportunity salesman's license has a 
fair knowledge of the English language, a fail' understanding. of the g'eneral purposes 
and general legal effects of bills of sale, chattel mortgages, conditional sales contraets, 
the provisions of the bulk sales law, leases, and a. general and fair understanding of the 
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obligations between principal and agent as well as of the provisions of sections 136.J 9 
to 136.36. 

136.23 Applications, verifications, fees, exemptions. (1) The application shall be 
verified by the applicant; if mac1eby a firm it shall be verified by at least 2 members 
thereof; if made by a corporation it shall be vcrified by the president and secretary 
thereof. Application for license as business opportunity broker shall be accompanied 
by the affidavit of 2 persons who are citizens and real estate owners in the county in 
which the applicant resides or has his place of business, certifying that the applicant is 
trustworthy and competent. Application for license as business opportunity salesman 
shall be accompanied by the affidavit of his employer, if employed, certifying that the 
applicant is trustworthy and competent. 

(2) Each application for a business opportunity broker's license shall be accom­
panied by a license fee of $10 and for a business opportunity salesman's license by a 
fee of $5 for the calendar year ending on the June 30 thereafter. Unless the application 
is withdrawn before the board has made any investigation thereon, neither the fee, nor 
any part thereof, shall be returned to the applicant. 

(3) In the case of applications for renewals of licenses the board may dispense with 
such of the matters contained in section 136.22 (1) as it deems unnecessary in view of 
prior applications. 

(4) (a) Any licensed business opportunity salesman may at any time during the 
calendar year for which he has been licensed make application upon a form provided 
by the board for transfer to the employment of another licensed broker. The fee for such 
transfer shall be $1 payable at the time the application therefor is filed. 

(b) The suspension or revocation of a license issued to a broker shall automatically 
suspend the license of every salesman employed by such broker at the time of the sus­
pension or revocation of such broker's license. Such salesman may apply for transfer 
to some other licensed broker by complying with the provisions of sections 136.19 to 
136.36, provided such salesman is not a party to the aetivities causing the suspension 01' 

revocation of the license of his broker. 
See note to 136.06, citing 41 Atty. Gen. 16. 

136.24 License; expiration, broker's liability, roster of brokers. (1) A license 
issued by the board shall entitle the holder thereof to act as a business opportunity broker, 
or if the application is for a business opportunity salesman's license, to act as a business 
opportunity salesman in this state up to and including June 30 following issuance of such 
license. , 

(2) If the licensee is a cor}Joration, the license issued to it shall entitle the president 
therEOf or such other officer as may be designated by such corporation, to act as a busi­
ness opportunity broker. For each other officer who desires to act as a business oppor­
tt1nity broker in behalf of such corporation, an additional license shall be applied for and 
issued, for which the annual fee is $10 for a business opportunity broker's license. No 
license as a business opportunity salesman shall be issued to any officer of a corporation 
nor to a member of a copartnership to whom a license was issued as a business oppor­
tunity broker. If the licensee is a coparhwrship, the license issued to it shall entitle one 
member thereof to act as a business opportunity broker, and for each other member of 
the copartnership who desires to act as a business opportunity broker an additional 
license shall be applied for and issued, for which the annual fee is $10 for a business 
opportunity broker's license. -

(3) Each business opportunity broker is responsible for the acts of any of his or its 
salesmen while acting as his 01' its agents. 

(4) The board shall from time to time prepare and publish in convenient form the 
names of all business opportunity brokers and salesmen licensed under sections 136.19 
to 136.36. It shall include in such publication th!) names of all business opportunity 
brokers and salesmen whose licenses have been revoked at any time within one year prior 
to the issue thereof. 

136.25 Investigations, revocation of license. (1) The board may on its own mo­
tion make investigations and conduct hearings in regard to the action of any business 
opportunity broker or business opportunity salesman, or any person, firm or corporation 
who it has reason to believe is acting' or Ims acteel in either such capacity within this state, 
and may make findings, after a hearing' held on 10 clays' notice, whether such person, firlll 
or corporation has acted as a business opportunity broker or salesman. The finding'e 
are subject to review as provided in section] 36.32. 

(2) The board, on its own motion, or upon a written complaint duly signed and veri­
fied by the complainant, may suspend the license of a business opportunity broker or 
salesman in the manner and for the causes hereinafter provided. The business oppor-
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tunity broker 01' salesman so charged shall be given at least 10 days' notice of such pro­
ceedings. The board may reyoke the license of a business opportunity broker or sales­
man if he has: 

(a) Made a material misstatement in the application for such license; 
(b) Made any substantial misrepresentation with reference to a transaction injurious 

to a seller or purchaser wherein he acts as ag>ent; 
(c) Made any false promises of a character such as to influence, persuade or induce 

the seller 01' purchaser to their injury or damage; 
(el) Pursued a continued and flagrant course of misrepresentation or made false 

promises through agents or salesmen or advertising; 
(e) Actecl for more than one party in a transaction without the knowledge of all 

parties for whom he acts; 
(f) Accepted a commission or valuable consideration as a business opportunit.y sales­

man for. the performance of any of the acts specified in this chapter, from any person 
except Ins employer; 

(g) Represented or attempted to represent a business opportunity broker other 
than the employer, without the express knowledge and consent of the employer; 

(h) Failed, within a reasonable time, to account for or remit any moneys coming 
into h;s possession which belong to another person; 

(i) Demonstrated untrustworthiness or incompetency to act as a business oppor­
tunity broker 01' salesman in such manner as to safegnard the interests of the public; 

(j) Paid 01' offered to pay a commission 01' valuable consideration to any person for 
acts 01' services in violation of the provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36; 

(k) Been guilty of any other conduct, whether of the same 01' a different character 
from that specified herein, which constitutes improper, fl'8.udulent or dishonest dealing; 
or 

(I) Violated any provision of sections 136.19 to 136.36. 
(3) If a broker is a company it is sufficient cause for the suspension or revocation 

of a broker's license that any officer, director or trustee of the company, or in the case 
of a partnership, if any member thereof, 01' anyone who has financial interest in or is in 
any way connected with the operation of a business brokerage business, has been guilty 
of any act 01' omission which would be cause for refl1sing a broker's license to such per­
son as an individual. 

(4) A copy of the complaint, together with notice of suspension of the license, if 
ordered by the board, shall forthwith be served upon the business opportunity brokel' 
or salesman complained against. Such service may be by personal service 01' by mailing 
same to his last known business address. If the complaint is against a salesman a copy of 
the complaint and notice shall also be served upon the broker for whom he is acting. 
The person so served shall file his answer thereto with the board within 10 clays after sneh 
service and also serve a copy of such answer on the complainant. The boarel shall therc­
upon set the matter for hearing as promptly as possible and within 30 days after the date 
of filing of the complaint. Either party may appear at such hearing in person or by at­
torney or agent. 

136.26 Denial or revocation of license, procedure. (1) No order denying or revok­
ing a license shall be made until after a public hearing or hearings held before the board, 
or before any member thereof, or before any duly authorized employe whose report has 
been adopted by the board. Such hearing 01' hearings shall be held in the county wherein 
the applicant for a license resides or wherein the business opportunity broker complained 
of or whose salesman complained of has his place of husiness. In the event that the 
broker or salesman is a nonresident, the hearing shall be held at such place as the board 
designates. 

(2) At least 10 days prior to the date of hearing, the board shall send written notice 
of the time and place of such hearing to the applicant for a license or to the complainant 

. and to the party .complained against and to their respective atto1'lleys or agents of record 
by mailing same to the last known address of such persons. The testimony presented and 
the proceedings at such hearing shall be taken in shorthand and preserved as the records 
of the board. As soon thereafter as possible, and within 90 days after the date of filing 
a complaint, the board shall make its findings and determination thereon and shall send 
a copy thereof to each interested party. 

136.27 Fee-splitting. No licensed broker shall pay a commission 01' any part there­
of far performing any of the acts specified in sections 136.19 to 136.36 to any person 
who is not a licensed broker or a licensed salesman under the provisions of this chapter 
or who is not regularly engaged in the business opportunity brokerage business in an­
other state. 
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136.28 Limitation on actions for commissions. No person, firm or corporation 
engaged in the business or acting in the capacity of a business opportunity broker 01' 

business opportunity salesman within this state shall bring or maintain an action in the 
courts of this state for the collection of a commission or compensation for the perform­
ance of any of the acts mentioned in this chapter without alleging and proving that such 
person, firm 01' corporation was a dnly licensed business opportunity broker or business 
opportunity salesman at the time the alleged cause of action arose. 

136.29 Nonresident brokers. (1) A nonresident of this state may become a busi­
ness opportunity broker or a business opportunity salesman by conforming to all of the 
provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36. Such nonresident broker shall maintain an active 
place of business in this state. 

(2) The board may recognize in lieu of the affidavit required to accompany an ap­
plication for license, the license issued to a nonresident broker or salesman in snch Oth81' 
state, upon payment of a license fee and the filing by the applicant with the board of a 
certified copy of the applicant's license issued by such other state. 

(3) Every nonresident applicant shall file an irrevocable consent that suits and 
actions may be commenced against such applicant in the propel' court of any county of 
the state in which a cause of action may arise or in which the plaintiff resides, by the 
service of any process or pleading authorized by the laws of this state, on the board, any 
member thereof, or any duly authorized employe. Such consent shall stipulate and agree 
that such service of such process or pleading is valid and binding as due service upon said 
applicant in all courts in this state. Said consent shall be duly acknowledged, and if made 
by a corporation, shall be authenticated by the seal of such corporation. 

(4) Duplicate copies of any process or pleadings shall be served upon the board or 
its duly authorized employe. One copy shall be filed in the office of the board and the 
other immediately forwarded by registered mail to the main office of the applicant against 
whom said process or pleadings are directed. No default in any such proceeding or action 
shall be taken except when it appears by affidavit of the secretary of the board or any 
duly authorized employe that a copy of the process or pleading was mailed to the' de­
fendant as herein required. No judgment by default shall be taken in any action or pro­
ceeding within 20 days after the date of mailing of such process or pleading to the non­
resident defendant. 

136.30 Evidence, power to obtain. (1) The board may subpoena and compel the 
attendance and testimony of witnesses within this state, and the production of books, 
})apers and documents. Each member of the board and its duly authorized representa­
tives may administer oaths to witnesses. 

(2) If any person refuses to comply with any subpoena issued hereunder or to testify 
to any matter regarding which he may lawfully be interrogated, the circuit court of any 
county or the judge thereof, on application of any member of the board, shall issue an 
order requiring such person to comply with such subpoena and to testify, or either. Any 
failure to obey such order of the court may be punished by the court as a contempt 
thereof. 

(3) The board may also take depositions in the manner for the taking of depositions 
in actions pending in circuit court. 

(4) Each witness who appears before the board pursuant to its subpoena, order or 
request, shall be paid the fees and mileag'e provided by law for witnesses in courts of 
record. Only witnesses appearing for and on behalf of the board shall be paid from the 
funds deposited pursuant to section 20.575, upon vouchers approved by the president 
and secretary of the boar.d. The fees and mileage of all other witnesses shall be paid by 
the party demanding their attendance. 

136.31 Ineligibility. When the license of a person, firm or corporation has been 
revoked, the board may refuse to consider the application of such person, firm or cor­
poration for a new license for 2 years after the date of such revocation. After 2 years 
from the date of such revocation, the board shall rule on such application for a new 
license. 

136.32 Judicial review. The actiqn of the board in refusing or in revoking a license 
under sections 136.22 to 136.25 shall be subject to review as provided in section 136.15. 

History: 1951 c. 261 s. 10. 

136.33 Penalties. Any perSOll, firm or corporation who eng'ag'es in or follows the 
business or occupation of, or advertises or holds himself or itself out as 01' acts tem­
porarily or otherwise as a business opportunity broker or business opportunity salesman 
in this state without first having obtained a license therefor as required and provided 
by this chapter, or who otherwise violates any provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.36, 
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is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not less than $25 nor more 
than $200, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 10 days nor more than 
6 months or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

136.34 Oompensation presumed. In any prosecution for violation of sections 136.19 
to 136.36 prQof of facts otherwise established that a person, firm or corporation acted as 
a business opportunity broker or business opportunity agent or business opportunity 
salesman is prima facie proof that compensation therefor was received or promised 

136.35 Oertifications as evidence. (1) Copies of all documents, orders, resolutions 
and certificates made, executed or issued by the board, and of all papers filed in its office, 

when certified by the secretary or assistant secretary of the board, under its official seal, 
shall be received in evidence in all cases in like manner and with the same effect as the 
originals. 

(2) The certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of the board to the effect 
that a specified individual, copartnership or corporation is not or was not on a specified 
date the holder of a business opportunity broker's license or business opportunity sales­
man's license, or that a specified license was not in effect on a date specified, and the 
certificate of the secretary or assistant secretary of, the 'board as to the issuance, sus­
pension or revocation of any such license, or as to the filing or withdrawal of any appli­
cation therefor, or as to the existence or nonexistence thereof, is prima facie evidence of 
the facts therein stated for all purposes in any action or proceeding in the courts of this 
state. 

136.36 Disposition of money collected. All money collected as license fees under 
the provisions of sections 136.19 to 136.35 shall be paid within one week after receipt 
into the general fund and used to carry out the provisions of sections ] 36.19 to 136.36 
as provided in section 20.57iii. 


