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161.07 Dangerous drugs.

151,01 Board. (1) The state board of pharmaey consists of 5 resident pharmacists,
at the time of appointment actually engaged in practice, appointed hy the governor, one
each year for a term of 5 years. Each member of the hoard, except the seeretary, shall
be paid $20 per day when actually and necessarily engaged in the performance of his
duties. The seeretary of the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed by the hoard.
If the secretary is a member of the board, such salary shall be m lien of per diem.

(2) Annual meeting shall be held in April, at which president and secretary-treasurer
shall be elected for terms of one year. Meetings for examination shall be held at least
semiannually, Time and place of meetings shall be fixed by president and secretary.
Thirty days’ public notice shall be given of examinations.

(8) The secretary-treasurer need not he a member. He shall keep a record of the
proceedings and a register of the names and places of business of persons registered under
this chapter, and the books, registers and records of the board as made and kept by the
secretary or under his supervision, subject to the divection of the board, shall be prima
facie evidence of the matters therein recorded. He shall give such bond and receive such
salary as the board determines. Members and officers shall receive their actual and neces-
sary expenses, The board shall have the right to employ inspectors, special investigators,
chemists, agents and clerical help for the purpose of carrying on the work of the hoard
and shall have authority to employ an attorney when it deems necessary. The board shall
have a seal, and the president and secretary may issue subpoenas and administer oaths.
The hoard may pay out of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may
be necessary and incidental to the carrying out of its functions.

(4) The board may adopt by-laws, rules and regulations, and shall cause prosecution
of violations of this chapter. It shall report annually, to the governor and the Wisconsin
pharmaceutical association, its proceedings, registrations, and receipts and dishursements.

Historys 1951 c. 319 s, 246; 1953 c. 173.

151,02 Registration., (1) All candidates for entrance to examination for registra-
tion as pharmacists must file application with the secretary of the hoard and pay the
required fee of twenty dollars, at least fifteen days before the date of examination. The
fee for all subsequent examinations shall be ten dollars. All candidates must be at least
twenty-one years of age; must be of good moral character and temperate in habits; and
if not citizens of the Unifed States must have filed and proven their intentions of becoming
citizens; and must he graduates of a standard, recognized high school, or must have
acquired the equivalent of a high school education in some other institution of equal
rank or standing, or must have passed an examination for the equivalent of high school
given by a state university or by a state department or bureau of education, issuing
a qualifying certificate for the necessary high school units recognized by the University
of Wisconsin, or any other equivalent of a high school education recognized by the
University of Wisconsin,

(2) Every such applicant for examination and registration as pharmacist must, in
addition, file with the secretary proof satisfactory to the hoard, of having had at least
48 months of pharmaceutical training consisting of':

(a) Graduation from a school or college of pharmacy or a department of pharmacy
of a university, which is recognized by the board and which requives for graduation at
least a 4-year course. Credit for actual time of attendance at the school, college or de-
partment of pharmacy of a university shall be given on the required 48 months of phar-
maceutical training; the remainder of the 48 months must be practice and experience in
a retail pharmacy or drug store under the dirvection and supervision of a registered phar-
macist, which practice and experience shall be predominantly work directly related to the
selling of drugs, preparing and compounding of pharmaceutical preparations and physi-
cians’ preseriptions, and keeping of records and making of reports required nnder state
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and federal statutes. The said practice and experience shall include an aggregate of 12
calendar months commencing not earlier than the eclose of the sophomore college year.
Credit for such periods of practice and experience shall he allowed in the discretion of the
board in aceordance with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall
be a fee of $1 for registration of apprentices under this subseetion.

(d) Any candidate who shall have heen registered as an assistant pharmacist prior
to the date of his application for examination, and continuously during the 4 years imme-
diately prior thereto shall have been employed in a licensed drug store or drug stores on
a full-time basis, or personally operated a drug store on a full-time basis, shall be eligible
to take the examination for registered pharmacist. In computing such continnous 4-year
period, serviee of the candidate in the armed forces of the United States shall not he
deemed to have interrupted the requirved continuous drug store employment or operation.

(3) Applicants filing proofs, satisfactory to the hoard, of qualifications and training
as outlined in the preceding subsection shall, after having passed examination by the
board, and upon payment of a $5 certificate fee, be granted certificates as registered phar-
macists. Proof satisfactory to the board covering experience, preliminary education, col-
lege of pharmacy graduation and character herein required shall he filed with the secre-
tary of the hoard. Every registered pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at
such time as the board may determine, renewing his certificate upon paying the fee of $5.
Failure to obtain such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have
given a second notice of the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any
person to be a registered pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such right
can only be acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration,
again applying for and passing an examination satisfactory to the bhoard.

(5) Every registered assistant pharmacist may continue to he such hy annually, at
guch time as the hoard of pharmacy may determine, making application thereto for the
renewal of his certificate and paying the prescribed fee of $4. Failure to obtain such
renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have given a second notiee of
the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to he a regis-
tered assistant pharmacist within the meaning of this seetion, and such right can only be
acquired by compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again apply-
ing for and passing an examination satisfactory to the hoard. The issuance of either of
the certificates provided for in this section shall entitle the person to whom it is issued
to he registered in the proper class.

(6) The hoard may in its discretion register as a pharmacist without examination, any
person who is duly registered in some other state; provided, that the said person shall pro-
duce satisfactory evidence of having had the required secondary and professional educa-
tion and training and is possessed of good character and habits demanded of appliecants
for registration as pharmacists under the laws of this state, and upon payment of $25,
excepting that persons of good character and habits who have become registered as phar-
macists in some other state prior to July 31, 1927, shall be required to meet only the re-
quirements which existed in this state at the time when they became registered in such
other state, and provided also that the state from which the applicant applies shall, under
like conditions, grant reciprocal registration as a pharmaecist without examination to phar-
maecists duly registered in this state.

(7) The hoard, upon notice and hearing, may suspend or revoke the registration of
one guilty of felony or gross immorality, or who is addicted to alecholic liguors or narcotic
drugs, or addicted to the use of barbiturates to an extent affeeting his fitness ag a pharma-
cist, or whose registration was secured by fraud or mistake or who has been gulty of &
violation of this chapter or of violations of any of the rules or regulations of the hoard,
or who has heen guilty of acts of unprofessional condnet as herein defined. No such revo-
cation shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the hoard has
been served upon the person accused. Decisions of the board under this seetion shall be
subject to review as provided in ch. 227 and in case the provisions thereof arve invoked by
the accused within such 20-day period, such order of revoeation shall hecome effective only
at such time as may be ordered by the court. Unprofessional conduct means:

(a) Sale of adulterated drugs as defined in s. 97.25.

(b) Compounding and dispensing a preseription by using substances not preseribed
or called for, or by omitting substances prescribed or called for. This does not apply
to the addition of emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents or like items intended for proper
pharmaceutical technique.

(8) No person shall use the title “pharmacist” or “assistant pharmacist” unless duly
registered as such under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall any person, firm or
corporation use or display the title “drug store,” “pharmacy,” “apothecary,” or any other
title, symbol, insignia (including without limitation hecause of enumeration, mortar qnd
pestle, colored show globes, the sign Rx and the like) having the same or similar meaning
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for such place of business unless such place of business be one where drugs are sold in
accordance with the provisions of section 151.04.

(9) No drug store, pharmacy, apothecary shop, or any similar place of business, shall
be opened or kept open for the transaction of business until it has been registered with
and a permit therefor has heen issued by the state board of pharmacy; provided, however,
that this section shall not he construed to apply to any store or stores opened for the sale
of proprietary or so-called patent medicines which conform to state and federal laws.
Every pharmacy and store conducted unnder the supervision of a registered pharmacist
shall be annually registered on June 1 with the state hoard of pharmacy, on application
forms provided for that purpose by the board, on request, and the hoard shall thereupon
issue a suitable certificate of registration to such persons which permit shall be conspic-
nously displayed in a front window or door of such place of business. Applications for
registration as a pharmacy or drug store shall include information regarding the names
of all pharmacists, assistant pharmacists and vegistered apprentices who are employed
therein, Only places in charge of a registered pharmacist and holding a permit as a
pharmacy may use the title “pharmacy,” “pharmacist,” “apothecary” or “drug store,” or
use customary titles, symbols or insignia and each must be under the separate manage-
ment of a registered pharmacist, who shall not engage to manage or supervise more than
one such place, but nothing contained in this section shall prevent a person from owning
and conducting more than one pharmacy; provided, each be under the separate super-
vision of a registered pharmacist. For the registration of every new drug store or any
drug store upon a change of ownership herein requived to he registered, there shall be
paid an inspection fee of $15 together with a registration fee of $10. Upon annual re-
newal of registration all places shall pay a fee of $10, payable on June 1 of each year.
Any person failing to register his place of business as herein required, failing to have in
charge of each pharmacy a registered pharmacist, who does not manage or supervise
more than one pharmacy, or who otherwise fails to comply with the provisions of this sec-
tion, shall, upon conviction, be fined not less than $25 nor more than $50 for each separate
offense. Bach day’s violation shall be deemed a separate offense.

(10) Every pharmacy shall be equipped with proper pharmaceutical utensils so that
compounding of preseriptions and dispensing of medicaments can be properly performed.
The Wisconsin board of pharmacy, with the advice and consent of the faculty of the uni-
vertisy of Wisconsin school of pharmacy, shall prescribe the minimum standards of such
professional and technical equipment, which shall inelude copies of the latest revisions of
the United States Pharmacopoeia and the National Formulary and any supplement to
either of them. No permit shall be issued or continued for the conduct of a pharmacy
unless the provisions of this subsection have been complied with. Failure to maintain a
pharmaey equipped with proper sanitary appliances or in a clean and orderly manner
constitute grounds for denial, suspension or revocation of a pharmacy permit. There
shall be kept in every pharmacy a suitable book or file, in which every preseription com-
pounded or dispensed shall be preserved for a period of not less than 5 years.

History: 1951 c. 63, 122, 727; 1953 c. 172, 178; 1955 c. 115,

Pharmaceutical training obtained in a
licensed retail pharmacy or drug store oper-
ated by a hospital under the direction and
supervision of a registered pharmacist must
be accepted by the state board of pharmacy
as a part of the training course required of
applicants for registration as pharmacists.
40 Atty. Gen. 244,

issued to applicants whose premises and
equipment qualify under the provisions of
(10), if the drug business is at all times
under the separate management of a regis-
tered pharmacist. The ownership of the
store is immaterial, as is the fact that other
lines of business are conducted in connec-
8011 télgeorewith by non-pharmacists. 40 Atty.
en.

Drug store permits under (9) are to be

151.03 Permit, In rural distriets with no registered pharmaecist or assistant phar-
macist within 3 miles, the board may issue to merchants permit to sell for one year drugs
and medicines specified therein, upon payment of the fee fixed hy the board, not exceed-
ing $10. An applicant for a permit for a new rural store or for a permit wpon change
of ownership of an existing rural store shall pay an inspection fee of $15 in addition to
the annual permit fee of $10.

History: 1953 c. 173,

21 Atty. Gen. 25, to the effect that rural corporated city or village, is withdrawn, 39

permit to sell drugs and medicines may not Atty. Gen. 283,
e izsued to & person who is a resident of in-

151,04 Practice. (1) Certificates of registration, renewals, and permits shall be
conspicuously exposed to publiec view in the place of business.

(2) No person shall sell, give away, barter, compound or dispense drugs, medicines
or poisons, nor permit it, in a town, village or city with a population of 500 or more un-
less he he a registered pharmacist, nor institute nor econduet a place therefor without a
registered pharmaecist in charge, except that a registered assistant pharmacist may do so
under the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist, and may have charge during
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the pharmacist’s necessary absence, not to exceed 10 days. If the population is less than
500, only a registered assistant phaimacist is required.

(3) This shall not interfere with the dispensing of drugs, medicines or other articles
by physicians, nor with the sale of proprietary medicines in sealed packages, labeled to
comply with the federal and state pure food and drug law, with directions for using, and
the name and location of the manufacturer, nor with the sale of economie poisons for use
in industrial arts, nor with the sale of economic poisons which comply with sections 94.67
to 94.71, nor with the sale of alum, ammonia, borax, bay rum, hicarbonate of soda, cream
of tartar, concentrated lye, olive oil, sal ammoniaec, sal soda, sulphur, copperas, epsom
salts, glauber salts, castor oil, glycerine, senna leaves, indigo, blue vitriol, turpentine, wood
alecohol and denatured aleohol.

(4) No person, firm or corporation shall manufactuve, produce, package, pack or
prepare within this state any drugs or medicines except under the personal and immediate
supervision of a registered pharmacist or such other person as may he approved by the
board after an investigation and a determination that such other person or persons are
qualified by scientific training and edueation to perform such duties of supervision in a
wmanner adequate to protect the public health and safety, No person, firm or corporation
shall manufacture, produce, package, pack or prepare any drugs or medicines within this
state without first obtaining a permit from the Wisconsin hoard of pharmacy. The issu-
ance of such permit shall be subjeet to such rules and regulations as the board may from
time to time adopt for the protection of the public health and safety.

(6) No person, firm or corporation shall engage in the sale or distribution af whole-
sale of any of the drugs defined in s. 151.07 (1) (a) to any of the classes of persons enn-
merated in s. 151.07 (8) without first obtaining a license for such purpose from the state
board of pharmacy. The fee for such license shall be $10 per annum and a license shall
expire one year after the date of issuance. Such license or renewals thereof shall be issued
in the diseretion of the hoard to responsible applicants of good reputation.

(6) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any prescription, order, report
or record, requirved by this chapter, nor make or utter any false or forged preseription or
written order.

History: 1953 c. 172; 1955 ¢. 115,

Aspirin, milk of magnesia, and camphor-
ated oil are not ‘“proprietary medicines”

tient in course of professional treatment is
exempt from provisions of ch, 151, and no
violation of 151.04 (2) or 151.07 (3) is in-

within the meaning of 151.04 (3), excepting
the sale of proprietary medicines from the
provisions in (2) prohibiting the sale of
drugs by persons other than registered
pharmacists or assistants, State v. Wakeen,
263 W 401, 57 NW (2d) 364,

See note to 95.64, citing 40 Atty. Gen. 341,

Dispensing of drugs by physician to pa-

volved where the particular prescription is
delivered to the patient by the office girl
who has been directed by the physician to
select certain tablets from a designated
container and package the same under the
general supervision of the physician., 41
Atty. Gen. 23,

151.056 Penalty. (1) Anyone who violates s. 151.04 (1) shall forfeit $10 for each
failure, and anyone who wilfully makes a false representation to procure registration or
permit for himself or another, or who violates this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a
misdemeanor and shall he fined not less than $50 nor more than $100, or imprisoned in the
county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or hoth.

(2) BEach member and officer of the board shall investigate and institute actions for
violations of this chapter and ch, 161 and the district attorney shall promptly prosecute
upon notice from any sourece.

History: 1955 ¢, 10,

151.06 Definition of drug. The term “drug”, as used in this chapter, means:

(1) Articles vecognized in the official United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeo-
pathic Pharmacopoeia of the United States, or official National Formulary, or any supple-
ment to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, ecure, mitigation, treatment or
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(2) All other articles intended for use in the diagnosis, eure, mitigation, treatment or
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and

(3) Articles (other than food) intended to affect the strueturve or any function of the
body of man or other animals; and

(4) Axticles intended for use as a ecomponent of any articles specified in subsections
(1), (2) or (3); but does not include surgical, dental or laboratory instruments, gases,
oxygen therapy equipment, X-ray apparatus, or therapeutic lamps, their components,
parts or accessories; or equipment, instruments, apparatus, or contrivances nsed to render
such articles effective in medical, surgical or dental treatment; or articles intended for
use or eonsumption in or for mechanical, industrial, manufacturing, or scientific applica-
tions or purposes.

151,06 (1) defining the term “drug” as
used in ch. 151, to mean articles recognized

in the official United States Pharmacopoeia,
official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the



192293 PHARMACY 151.07

United States, or official National Formu- 151.06 (1) to (4), defining the term “drug”
lary, ‘“or any supplement to any of them,” as used in ch, 151, is not unconstitutional as
intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, miti- being vague and indeflnite, and arbitrary
gation, treatment or prevention of disease, and discriminatory, and thereby depriving
does not violate the constitution as being persons, prohibited by 151.04 (2) from sell-
an unlawful delegation of legislative au- ing drugs, of property without due process
thority to the private organizations located of law and denying to them the equal pro-
outside of the state which compile the pub- tection of the laws, State v, Wakeen, 263
lications referred to therein. State v. W 401, 57 NW (2d4) 364,

Waleen, 263 W 401, 57 NW (2d) 364,

151.07 Dangerous drugs. (1) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise
requires

(a) “Dangerous drug” means any drug unsafe for self-medication and shall be
limited at the time of the effective date of this act [July 26, 1947] to include:

1. Barbiturates, the salts and derivatives of barbiturie acid, also known as malony-
lurea, having hypnotic or somnifacient action, and compounds, preparations and mix-
tures thereof.

2. Sulfonamides or derivatives, compounds or mixtures thereof.

3. Thyroid and its contained or derived active compounds or mixtures thereof.

4, Cinchophen, neocinchophen, or compounds or mixtures thereof,

5. Aminopyrine, or compounds or mixtures thereof.

6. Amphetamine, desoxyephedrine, or compounds or mixtures thereof, except prep-
arations for use in the nose and unfit for internal use.

7. Diethyl-stilbestrol, or compounds or mixtures thereof.

8. Ergot, cotton root or their contained or derived active compounds or mixtures
thereof.

9. No compound, mixture or preparation shall be deemed a dangerous drug, if, in the
case of harbiturates, it containg a sufficient guantity of another drug or drugs in addition
to the salts or derivatives to cause it to produce an action other than its hypnotic or som-
nifacient action, or if it is intended for use as a spray or gargle or for external applica-
tion and contains, in addition to such salts or derivatives, some other drug or drugs ren-
dering it unfit for internal administration. No compound, mixture or preparation shall
be deemed a dangerous drug if it is designed for the purpose of treating animals or poul-
try and so labeled.

(b) “Delivery” means selling, dispensing, giving away or supplying in any other
manner.

(e¢) “Patient” means the individnal for whom dangerous drugs are prescribed or to
whom dangerous drugs are administered.

(d) “Person” includes an individual, corporation, partnership or association.

(e) “Practitioner” means a person licensed by law to prescribe and administer dan-
gerous drugs.

(f) “Pharmacist” means a person duly registered with the state board of pharmacy
as a compounder, dispenser and supplier of drugs.

(g) “Prescription” means a written order (or an oral order later reduced to writing)
by a practitioner for a dangerous drug for a particular patient, which specifies the date
of its issue, the name and address of such practitioner, the name and address of the patient,
the name and quantity of the dangerous drug preseribed, directions for use of such drmg
and in case of a written order the signature of such practitioner.

(h) “Manufacturer” means persons other than pharmacists who manufacture dan-
gerous drugs, and includes persons who prepare such drugs in dosage forms by mixing,
compounding, encapsulating, entableting, or other process.

(1) “Wholesaler” means persons engaged in the business of distributing dangerous
drugs to persons included in any of the classes named in subsection (8).

(j) “Warehouseman” means persons who store dangerous drugs for ofthers and who
have no control over the disposition of such dangerous drugs except for the purpose of
such storage.

(2) No person except a practitioner shall deliver any dangerous drug except npon the
preseription of a practitioner. An oral preserviption, by telephone or otherwise, shall be
promptly reduced to writing and filed by the pharmacist.

(3) No person, except a registered pharmacist or a practitioner shall prepare, com-
pound, dispense or prepare for delivery for a patient any dangerous drug.

(4) No dangerous drug shall be delivered unless there is affixed to the immediate con-
tainer a lahel disclosing:

(a) The name and address of the owner of the establishment from which such drug
was delivered.

(b) The date on which the preseription for such drug was filled.

(¢) The number of such prescription as filed in the prescription file of the pharmacist
who filled such prescription.

(d) The name of the practitioner who preseribed such drug.
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(e) The name and address of the patient.

(f) Directions for use of the drug as contained in the prescription,

(5) No prescription for a dangerous drug shall be vefilled except as designated on
such preseription, and unless accurate record of such refilling is entered on such prescrip-
tion showing the date and amount thereof. No oral or written preseription shall he
refilled wiiless the Provisions of 1561.07 (2) have Deen first complied with and unless either
written or oral authority has been given by the preseriber.

(7) It shall he nnlawful for any person to have any dangerous drug in his possession
unless such drug was obtained in compliance with the provisions hereof.

(8) The provisions of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (7) shall not be applicable to the
wholesale delivery of dangerous drugs to persons included in any of the classes herein-
after named ; nor to the agents or employes of such persons for nse in the usual course of
their business or practice or in the performance of their official duties, as the case may be;
nor to the possession of dangerous drugs by such persons or their agents or employes
for such use:

(a) Pharmaecists.

(b) Practitioners,

(e) Persons who procure dangerous drugs for the purpose of lawful research, teach-
ing or testing and not for resale.

(d) Hospitals and other institutions which procure dangerous drugs for lawful ad-
ministration by practitioners.

(e) Officers or employes of the federal government or state or local governments,

(£) Manufacturers and wholesalers.

(9) The state board of pharmacy is hereby authorized to promulgate necessary regu-
lations for administration and enforcement of this section.

(10) Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be imprisoned not
more than one year or fined not more than $500, or both; but if a further violation is
committed after a conviction of such person under this section has beecome final, such
person shall be imprisoned not more than 2 years or fined not more than $1,000, or both.

History: 1951 c. 261 5, 10; 1953 c. 891,

See mnote to 269,56, citing Wisconsin See note to 151.04, citing 41 Atty. Gen. 23.
Pharmaceutical Asso. v. Lee, 264 W 825, 58
NW (2d) 700.

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. (1) No person shall sell or deliver any of
the poisonous salts or ecompounds of antimony, arsenic, chromium, lead, merenry, silver,
tin or zine, the concentrated mineral acids; oxalic, carbolic or hydrocyanie acids or their
salts, formaldehyde, yellow phosphorus, the essential oils of almonds, pennyroyal, rue,
savin or tansy; croton oil, ereosote, chloroform, cantharides, aconite, belladonna, hitter
almonds, eolchicum, cotton root, Cannabis indica, digitalis, ergot, hyoscyamus, lobelia, nux
vomiea, physostigma, strophanthus, stramonium, veratrum viride, or any of the poisonous
alkaloids or glucosides derived from the foregoing or in any other virnlent poison, unless
it be upon the prescription of authorized practitioners of medicine, dentistry or veterinary
medicine, except as follows:

(a) The dispenser shall ascertain that the applicant is aware of the poisonous charac-
ter and desires it for a lawful purpose.

(b) He shall plainly label the container with the name of the substance, the word
“Poison,” and the name and address of the dispenser.

(c) Before delivery he shall record in a book kept for that purpose the name of the
article, the quantity, the purpose, the date, the name and address of the person for whom
procured, and the name of the individual personally dispensing the same; and said hook
shall be preserved by the owner thereof for at least 3 years after the date of the last entry
therein, and shall he open to inspection by authorized officers.

(d) If the applicant be under 14 years of age, he must have the written order of an
adult person.

(2) This section does not apply to manufacturers and wholesalers selling at wholesale,
nor to economic poisons which comply with ss. 94.67 to 94.71, but containers other than
for economic poisons shall he labeled with the name of the substance, the word “Poison,”
and the name and address of the manufacturer or wholesaler,

(3) A “Poison” label is not required when a single container or when one-half ounce
fluid or avoirdupois does not contain more than an adult medicinal dose nor in the case of
liniments, ointments or other external preparations sold in good faith as sueh, and plainly
labeled “for external use only,” nor in the case of pills, tablets or lozenges, when the dose
recommended does not eontain more than one-quarter of an adult medicinal dose.

History: 1951 c. 516; 1955 ¢, 10,

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden, Except as authorized by law, no person shall put
any drug, medicine or chemical, or any compound or combination thereof in any public
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place, or, without the consent of the owner or occupant upon any private premises, nor
cause it to be done.
History: 1955 c. 10,

151.12 Penalties. Any person who shall viclate any of the provisions of s. 151.10
or 151.11 shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or imprisoned not less
than one year nor more than 5 years.

History: 1953 c¢. 200; 1955 c. 10,

151,15 Advertising or display of indecent articles, sale in certain cases prohibited.
(1) As used in this chapter, the term “indecent articles” means any drug, medicine, mix-
ture, preparation, instrument, article or device of whatsoever nature nused or intended or
represented to be used to procure a misearriage or prevent pregnancy.

(2) No person, firm or corporation shall publish, distribute or cireulate any cireular,
card, advertisement or notice of any kind offering or advertising any indecent article for
sale, noy shall exhibit or display any indecent article to the publie.

(3) No person, firm or corporation shall manufacture, purchase, or rent, or have in
his or its possession or under his or its control, any slot machine, or other mechanism or
means so designed and construeted as to contain and hold indecent articles and to release
the same upon the deposit therein ot a coin or other thing of value.

(4) No person, firm or corporation shall sell or dispose of or attempt or offer to sell
or dispose of any indecent articles to or for any unmarried person; and no sale in any
case of any indecent articles shall be made exeept by a pharmacist registered under
the provisions of ch. 151 or a physician or surgeon duly licensed under the laws of this
state.

(b) Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of this section shall be
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine
of not less than $100 nor more than $5600 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not
to exceed 6 months, or by both such fine and 1mprisonment.

History: 1955 c. 696 s, 291,





