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No. 479, A.]	 '[Published September 5, 1959.

CHAPTER 402

AN ACT to amend 40.65 (3) (a), (b) and (d), 40.70 (1), (3), (4), (5)
(a), (b) and (c), (6) and (7), (8) (a) as renumbered and amended
and (b), as created by chapter 3, laws of 1959, 40.71 (1), (6) (b)
and (c), 40.91 (2) and (4) (a) and (b) of the statutes, relating to
state aids and the use of average daily membership instead of
average daily attendance in computing aids and costs of public schools.

The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly,
do enact as follows:

SECTION 1. 40.65 (3) (a),, (b) and (d) of the statutes are amended
to read

40.65 (3) (a) In a basic aid district: From the total cost of operating
and maintaining the school there shall be subtracted an amount equal to
the sum of the county aid and the difference so determined shall be divided
by the average daily * * * membership for the given year.

(b) In an integrated aid district: From the total cost of operating
and maintaining the school there shall be subtracted an amount equal to
the sum of the county aid and the difference so determined shall be
divided by the average daily * * * membership for the given year.

(d) In school districts authorized to operate and maintain elementary
schools the board may, in all operating districts, but in suspended districts
only until July 1, 1957, upon its own order provide for the enrollment
of pupils in elementary schools located in states other than Wisconsin
and pay for the tuition that accrues because of such enrollment and for
the transportation costs necessitated by such enrollment of pupils who
reside 2 miles or over from such out-of-state. schools, from school district
operation and maintenance funds until the following compact [see ch.
573, Laws 1955] has been approved for the operation of interstate
school districts between such state and Wisconsin, but in suspended
districts not later than July 1, 1957. The cost of such tuition shall be
treated as a part of the cost of instruction of such districts 'and they shall
be credited with the enrollment and average daily * * * membership of
such tuition pupils for aids purposes as though they had been enrolled
in the schools of the districts of their residence. The districts shall be
entitled to receipt of aids for the transportation of such pupils on the
same basis as though they had been transported to the schools of the
districts of their residences.

SECTION 2. 40.70 (1), (3), (4), (5) (a), (b) and (c) and ,(6) and
(7) of the statutes are amended to read:

40.70 (1) "Pupils . in average daily membership" is the sum
of actual daily * * * memberships, as expressed by official enrollments,
in all schools of the district for each day of the school term divided by
the number of days school is actually held. The quotient, if it contains
a fraction, shall be expressed as the nearest whole number. In computing
the number of pupils in average daily * * * membership no first grade
pupil shall be counted unless he attains the age of 6 years on or before
December 1 of the school year in which he enters first grade. A pupil
enrolled in a recognized half-day kindergarten program shall be counted
as one-half pupil provided he attains the age of 5 years on or before
December 1 of the year in which he enrolls. A pupil enrolled in a 4-year-
old-half-day kindergarten program shall be counted as one-half pupil if

Underscored, stricken, and vetoed text may not be searchable.
If you do not see text of the Act, SCROLL DOWN.



475	 CHAPTER 402

he attains the age of 4 years on or before December 1 of the year in which
he enrolls. The same formula shall be used in computing average daily
* * * membership for resident pupils, nonresident pupils, or both.

(3) "Teacher-pupil ratio" is the quotient of "number ` of pupils in
average daily * * * membership divided by the number of teachers
employed as defined in sub. (2) Asa a basis for aid payments, teacher-
pupil ratio must be approved by the state superintendent.

(4) In the computation of aids for all districts the average daily
* * * membership and the teacher-pupil ratio for the previous school
year shall be used, except that in districts newly altered, created, re-
established or recreated, the computation of aids for the first year shall
be based on the average daily * * * membership and the teacher-pupil
ratio of the district for the third week in September of the first year of
operation on such newly altered, created, reestablished or recreated basis
and the estimated budget of said year of operation and the estimated
required tax levy rate on the equalized valuation of territory comprising
said district as determined by the department of taxation for the same
year upon which the aids would have been apportioned if the district
had not been reorganized, except when the valuation of the district is
increased or decreased in excess of 10 per cent in which case the computa-
tion shall be made on the basis of the full valuation of the districts affected
by the order or reorganization.

(5) (a) In basic aid districts which did levy a tax of 3 mills or
more in the year prior to that in which the aids are granted on the
equalized valuation of the district for the year prior to the levy of such
tax, state aids for elementary pupils shall be paid as follows:

1. If the district has a total of one to 9 resident pupils in average
daily * * * membership, * * * $30 per resident pupil in average daily
* * * membership.

2. If the district has a total of 10 or more resident pupils in average
daily * * * membership, a sum equal to the mill rate required for the
current operation and maintenance by the district up to 15 mills on the
amount by which the equalized valuation per resident pupil in average
daily * * * membership is less than * * * $24,500 per resident pupil
in average daily * * * membership not to exceed 25 resident pupils in
average daily * * * membership per teacher, but not less than * * *
$30 per resident pupil in average daily * * * membership, except that
the state shall provide not less than: a. In a one-teacher unit school
district with 12 or more resident pupils in average daily * * * member-
ship, a sum equal to the amount produced by applying the mill rate levied
by the district not to exceed 15 mills on the amount by which the equalized
valuation of the district is less than $300,000; b. in a 2-teacher unit
school district with 26 or more resident pupils in average daily * * *
membership, a sum equal to the amount produced by applying the mill
rate levied by the district not to exceed 15 mills on the amount by which
the equalized valuation of the district is less than $600,000; c. in a 3-
teacher unit school district with 45 or more resident pupils in average
daily * * * membership, a sum equal to the amount produced by apply-
ing the mill rate levied by the district not to exceed 15 mills on the amount
by which the equalized valuation of the district is less than $900,000;
but d. in no case less than * * * $30 per resident pupil in average daily
* * * membership not exceeding 25 pupils per teacher.

(b) High school aids shall be paid to basic districts operating high
schools at the rate of * * * $40 per pupil in average daily * * * member-
ship during the previous year in grades 9 through 12 for both resident
and nonresident pupils, except as provided in s. 40.71 (6) (c). Aid paid
on account of nonresident pupils shall be deducted from the nonresident
tuition claims made under s. 40.91 (4) and (5).
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(c} 'In union high school districts that meet the -requirements of
high sehools in a basic district the aid , shall be * * * $40 per pupil in
average daily 4 * * membership during the , previous 'year in grades 9
through 12 for both .resident and nonresident pupils.

(6) (a) State aids shall be paid to integrated aid districts for both
elementary and high school resident , pupils on the following basis: The
state shall provide a sum equal to the amount produced by applying the
required mill rate levied 'by the 'district on that equalized valuation indicated
in sub. (5) (a) upon which the eligibility for receipt of aids is determined
up to 15 mills on the amount by which that equalized valuation per resi-
dent pupil in	 the daily * * '* membership for the previous year not
exceeding 25 resident pupils in average daily * * * membership per
teacher is less than * * * $15,00,0 but in no case shall the state pay less
than * * * $40 per resident elementary pupil in average daily
membership `and * * * $58 . er resident high school' pupil in average
daily * * * membership, 

not, 
exceeding 25 resident pupils in average

daily * * * membership per teacher. Aids under this subsection shall
be payable only to such integrated districts which did levy a tax of 5 mills
or more in the year prior to that in which the aid is granted on the equal-
ized valuation of the districts' for the year prior to the levy of such tax.

(b) State aid shall be paid to integrated districts for nonresident
high school pupils at the rate of * * * . $53 per nonresident high school
pupil in average daily * * * membership which , sum-; shall be deducted
from the nonresident tuition claim made; under s. 40.91 (4) and (5).

(7) (a) State aids shall be paid to each elementary school district
providing education from first grade through eighth grade or kindergarten
through eighth grade, in a sum equal to the amount produced by applying
the required mill rate levied in the elementary school districts on that
equalized valuation of the districts indicated in this section upon which
eligibility for receipt of aids is determined up to 15 mills, on the amount
by which the equalized valuation per resident, pupil in average daily
* * * membership for the preceding year in such elementary school
district, not exceeding 25 resident pupils in average daily * * * member-
ship per teacher, is less than * * * $28,000 if the elementary school
district meets the requirements of s. 40.67 (2) (a), (b), (d), (e),-(f) and
(g) 1, 3 and 4, and provided such elementary district has been at some
prior date` a part of an integrated school district, or employs , not less than
4 teachers in the elementary school.

(b) In no case shall any elementary school district to which this
subsection applies receive state aid of less than * * * $40 per resident
elementary pupil in average daily "* * * membership,' not exceeding 25
resident pupils in average daily * * * membership per teacher. Aids
under this subsection shall be payable only to those elementary school
districts which levied a tax of 3 mills or more in the year prior to that in
which the aid is granted on the basis of the equalized valuation of the
district for the year prior to the levy of the tax.

SECTION 3. 40.70 '(8) (a) of the statutes, as renumbered and
amended by chapter 3, laws of 1959, is amended to read:

40.70 (8) AIDS TO NEWLY CREATED DISTRICTS OPERATING HIGH
SCHOOLS. (a) When a new union high school district is created such dis-
trict may, in its first year of operation, operate classes for ninth and
tenth grades and provide for its eleventh and twelfth grade pupils on 'a
tuition basis; and in its second year of operation, operate classes for the
ninth, tenth and eleventh grades and provide for its twelfth grade pupils
on a tuition basis, and qualify for receipts of aids on account of such 2
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first ;years , of operation at the same rate of aids per pupil in average
daily * * * membership as it would have been eligible to receive if it
had operated the ninth, tenth, eleventh and twelfth grades. The board
of such newly created districts may determine whether the eleventh and
twelfth grades shall be operated in the first year of operation and whether
the twelfth grades shall'be operated in the second year of operation.

SECTION 4..40:70. (8) (b) of the statutes, as created by chapter: 3,
laws of 1959, is amended to read

40.70 (8) (b) When a new common school district to operate grades
one or kindergarten through twelfth grade is created, such district may,
in its first year of operation, operate classes for ninth and tenth grades
and provide for its eleventh and twelfth grade pupils on a tuition basis,
and in its second year of operation, operate classes for the ninth, tenth
and eleventh grades and provide for its twelfth grade pupils on a tuition
basis, and qualify for receipts of aids on account of such 2 first years of
operation at, the same rate of aids per pupil in average daily * * *
membership as it would have been eligible to receive if it had operated
the ninth, tenth, eleventh; and twelfth grades. The board of such newly
created districts may determine whether the eleventh and twelfth grades
shall be operated in the first year of operation and whether . the twelfth
grade shall be operated in the second year of operation.

SECTION 5. 40.71 ` (1), (6) (b) and (c) of the statutes are amended
to read:

40.71 (1) Biennially following the release of data on property valua-
tions by the state department of taxation in even-numbered years, the
committee on education of the legislative council shall, with the co-
operation of the state department of public instruction, representatives
of the local school administrators and 3 members of school boards repre-
senting, respectively, common school districts with grades 1 to 8, school
districts with grades kindergarten to 12 or 1 to 12 and union high school
districts consider the advisability of readjusting the valuation per resident
pupil in average daily * * * membership in the basic and integrated
aid districts upward or downward in terms of changes in valuations or
school costs, and shall report their findings to the governor and to the
legislature, recommending action to be taken to properly adjust the aid
program to the appropriation provided by s. 20.650 (13) .

(6) (b) If the state superintendent is satisfied that the educational
program of any union high school district meets the requirements of
s. 40.67 (1) , (2) (d) , (f) , (g) 2 and 3 and that the district did levy a
tax of 3 mills, or more in the year prior to that in which the aid is
granted on the equalized valuation of the district for the year prior to
the levy of such tax, the state superintendent shall grant in aids an
amount equal to the required mill levy made by the district up to 10
mills on the amount by which the equalized valuation per resident pupil
in average daily * * * membership up to 25 resident pupils in average
daily * * * membership per teacher is less than * * * $70,000, but
not less than * * * $53 per resident pupil in average daily * * * member-
ship up to 25 resident pupils in average daily * * * membership per
teacher. State aids shall be paid on account of nonresident union high
school pupils at the rate of * * * $51 per nonresident in average daily
* * * membership which * * * $51 shall be deducted from the non-
resident tuition claims under s..40.91 (4) and (5).

(c) If the state superintendent is satisfied that the educational
program of any union high school district meets the requirements of a
high school in a basic district and that the 'district did levy a tax of 3
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mills, or more, in the year prior to that in which the aid is granted on the
equalized valuation of the district for the year prior to the levy of such
tax, the state superintendent shall grant in aids an amount equal to the
required mill levy made by the district up to 10 mills on the amount by
which the equalized valuation per resident pupil in average daily * * *
membership up to 25 resident pupils in average daily * * * membership
per teacher is less than $55,000, but not less than * * * $40 per resident
pupil in average daily * * * membership up to 25 resident pupils in
average daily * * * membership per teacher. State aids shall be paid
on account of nonresident union high school pupils at the rate of * *
$40 per nonresident in average daily * * * membership which * *
.$40 shall be deducted from the nonresident tuition claims under s. 40.91
(4) and (5).

SECTION 6. 40.91 (2), (4) (a) and (b) of the statutes are amended
to read:

40.91 (2) Every high school shall be free to all persons of school
age resident in the district. The board may charge a tuition for each
nonresident pupil, excepting a nonresident pupil having a legal settlement
as defined in s. 49.10 in the high school district; this provision for tuition
shall be available to a public high school without this state if its course
of study is equivalent to Wisconsin's and if it is at least 1 1/2 miles nearer
the pupil's home than is any Wisconsin high school. The boards of dis-
tricts which operate high schools may upon their own order provide for
the enrollment of pupils in high schools located in states other than
Wisconsin and pay for the tuition that accrues on account of such enroll-
ment and for the transportation costs necessitated by such enrollment on
account of such pupils who reside 2 miles or over from such schools out
of school district operation and maintenance funds. The cost of such
tuition shall be treated as a part of the cost of instruction of such districts
and they shall be credited with the enrollment and average daily * * *
membership of such tuition pupils for aids purposes as though they had
been enrolled in the schools of the districts of their residence. The dis-
tricts shall be entitled to receipt of aids on account of the transportation
of such pupils on the same basis as though they had been transported to
the schools of the districts of their residences.

(4) (a) The tuition for any given year for nonresident pupils who
have pursued high school work shall be determined as follows: From the
sum total of money expended by the school district for interest and in
operating and maintaining grades 9 through 12, including either the sum
of $15 per nonresident pupil to be deposited and expended as provided in
s. 40.22 (17) or an item for building and equipment costs equal to 2 per
cent of the original expenditures by the districts prior to January 1, 1945,
and 5 per cent for original expenditures on and after January 1, 1945,
for buildings and equipment thereof as certified by the state superin-
tendent of public instruction, such charge not to apply for a greater
period of time than 50 years in the case of a building built prior to
January 1, 1945, and 20 years in the case of a building built since January
1, 1945, or for the unexpired portion of 50 years or 20 years of the life
of an old building, excluding land costs, such sinking fund or indebted-
ness charge to be deposited and expended as provided in s. 40.22 (17) or
applied in lieu of taxes authorized by irrepealable tax levies for payment
of principal and interest on indebtedness for capital outlay, there shall
be subtracted an amount equal to the sums of federal aids, county aids
and the cost of transportation, and the difference so determined shall be
divided by the average daily * * * membership for the given year.
From this amount shall be subtracted the state aid received per nonresident
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pupil in average daily * * * membership. -The amount so determined
shall be the amount per pupil chargeable as nonresident high school
tuition.

(b) Before August 1 in each year, beginning with the year 1947,
the school clerk shall file with the clerk of each county and municipality
from which any tuition pupil was admitted, a sworn statement of claim
against the county setting forth the residence, name, age, date of entrance
and the number of weeks' attendance, during the preceding school year,
of each person admitted from such county, the average daily * * *
membership of the high school for the year, the statement of the cost of
operation and maintenance of the high school as computed in accordance
with this section, the amount of tuition to which the district lays claim
for each pupil, and the aggregate sum for tuition due the district from
the county. This statement shall be rendered on a form prescribed by
the state superintendent. Whenever the total claim for tuition and
transportation made by any school district exceeds $7,000 and request
is made by the county clerk or upon petition of 10 taxpayers of the county
filed with the county clerk, the claim to each county must be accompanied
by a certified statement that an audit has been prepared by a certified
public accountant or other qualified accountant showing that the true
and accurate costs on which the claims are based are as set forth in the
statement. If the audit report cannot be completed by August 1, it shall
be filed with the county clerk, not later than the next January 1, and
the county clerk shall make necessary adjustments for the claims of the
school in the subsequent year. Within 10 days of the receipt of such
statement the clerk of each municipality receiving the same shall make
return to the county clerk of any suggested corrections therein together
with all necessary factual information in support of such corrections.

Approved September 3, 1959.
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