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151.01 Board. (1) The state board of pharmacy consists of 5 resident pharmacists, 
at the time of appointment actually engaged in practice, appointed by the governor, one 
each year for a term of 5 years. Each member of the board, except the secretary, shall 
be pa'id $20 pel' day when actually and necessarily engag'ed in the performance of his 
duties. The secretary of the board shall be paid an annual salary to be fixed hy the board. 
If the secretary is a member of the board, such salary shall be in lieu of per diem. 

(2) Annual meet.ing shall be held in April, at which president and secretary-treasurer 
shall be elected for terms of one year. . Meetings for examination shall be held at least 
semiannually. Time and place of meetings shall be fixed by president and secretary. 
Thirty days' public notice shall be given of examinations. 

(3) The secretary-treasurer need not be a member. He shall keep a record of the 
proceedings and a register of the names and places of business of persons registered under 
this chapt.er, and the books, l'egisters and records of the board as made and kept by the 
secretary or under his supervision, subject to the direction of the board, shall be prima 
facie evidence of the matters therein recorded. He shall give such bond and receive such 
salary as the board determines . .Members and officers shall receive their actual and neces­
sary expenses. The board shall have the right to employ inspectors, special investigat.ors, 
chemists, agents and clerical help for the pUl'pose of carrying on the work of the board 
and shall have authority to employ an attorney when it deems necessary. The board shall 
have a seal, and the president and secretary may issue subpoenas and administer oaths. 
The board may payout of its own funds witness fees and such other expenses as may 
be necessary and incidental to the carrying out of its functions. 

(4) The board may adopt by-laws, rules and regulations, and shall cause prosecution 
of violations of this chapter. It shall report annually, to the governor and the Wisconsin 
pharmaceutical association, its proceedings, registrations, and receipts and disbursements. 

151.02 Registration. (1) All candidates for entrance to examination for registra­
tion as pha.rmacists must file application with the secretary of the board and pay the .re­
quired fee of $35, at least 15 days before the date of examination. The fee for all.subse­
quent examinations shall be $20. All candidates must be at least 21 years of age; must be 
of good moral character and temperate in habits; and if not citizens of the United States 
must have filed and proven their intentions of becoming citizens; and.must be graduates 
of a standard, recog11ized hig'h school, or must have acquired the equivalent of a high 
school education in some other institution of equal rank or standing, or must have passed 
an examination for the equivalent of high school given by a state university or by a state 
department or bureau of education, issuing a qualifying certificate for the necessary high 
school units recognized by the University of Wisconsin, or any other equivalent of a high 
school education recognized by the University of 'Visconsin. 

(2) Every such applicant for examination and registration as pharmacist must, in 
addition, file with the secretary proof satisfactory to the boa.rd, of having had at least 
48 months of pharmaceutical training consisting of: 

(a) Graduation from a school or college of pharmacy or a department of pharmacy of 
a university, which is recognized by the boa.rd and which requires for g.raduation at least 
a 4-year course. Credit for actual time of attendance at the school, college or department 
of pharmacy of a university shan be given on the required 48 months of pharmaceutical 
training j the remainder of the 48 months must be practice and experience in a retail phar­
macy or drug store under the direction and supervision of a .registered pharmacist, which 
practice and expelience shall be predominantly work directly related to the selling of 
drugs, preparing' and compounding of pharmaceutical preparations and physicians' pre­
scriptions, and keeping of records and making of reports required under state and federal 
statutes. The said practice and experience shall include an aggregate of 12 calendar 
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months commencing not earlier than the dose of the sophomore college year. Credit for 
such periods of' practice and experience shall be allowed in the discretion of the board in 
'iwco:rdance with such regulations as it may from time to time adopt. There shall be a fee 
of $1 for registratiollof apprentices under this subsection. The board may upon satis­
factory prollf recognize ancl accept evidence of said practice and experience. perforllled 
in whole 01' in part in any other state provided the. same is approved and verified by the 
state boaJ.'d of pharmacy or equivalent agency of such other state. . . , 

(b) Any candidate who was registered as an assistant pharmacist prior to the date 6f 
his applicatioll fOl; examination, and for 4 years prior thereto was 'eihployed in a li­
censed drugstore, or personally operated a drugstore, shall be eligible to take 'the exami~ 
nation for registered pharmacist. In computing such '4-year period,service of the candi­
date in the armed forces of the United States shall not be deemed to have interrupted 
the required drugstore employment 01' operation. 

(3) Applicantsfilillg proofs, satisfactory tothe board, of qualifications illldtrairiillg 
as outlined in sub; (2) shall, after having passed examination by the board, and upon pay-
11lent of a $5 certificate fee, be granted certificates as registered pharmacists. Proof satis­
factory to the board covering experience, prelimillaryeducation, college of pharmacy 
graduation aildcharacter herein required shall be ,filed with the secretary of the board. 
Every registered pharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at such ,time as the 
'board niay determine, renewing his certificate upon paying the fee of $10. Failure to 
:obtain such renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board has given a second notice 
of the expiration of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to be a regis­
teredpharmacistwithin the meaning of this section, and such right can only ,be acquired 
by compliance with the provisions concerning original :registration, again, applying for 
and passing an examination satisfactory to the board. 

(5) Every l'egistered assistalitpharmacist may continue to be such by annually, at 
such time as the board of pharmacy may determine, malting application thereto for thc 
'rene'\"al of ,his certificate and paying the prescribed fee of $4. Failure to obtain such 
renewal for 60 days after the secretary of such board shall have given a second notice of 
the expiration 'of his registration, shall terminate the right of any person to bea,regis­
tered assistant pharmacist within the meaning of this section, and such' right can only :be 
:acquiredby compliance with the provisions concerning original registration, again apply­
ing for and passing ari examination satisfactory to the board. The issuance of either of 
the certificates pl'ovided for in this section shall entitle the pel'son to whom it is issued 
to be registered in the proper class. ' 

(6) The boardlllay in its discl'etion register as a pharmacist,vithout examination, any 
'person whoisdulYl'egistered in some' other state; pl'ovided, that the said pel'SOll shall 
IJroduce satisfactory evidence of having had the required secondary and professional edu­
cation and, training' and is' possessed of good charactel' and habits demanded of applicallts 
for' registration as phai'macists uncleI' the, laws of this state, and upon payment' of $50 
excepting' that persons of good character and habits who have become registered as phar­
macistsin some other state prior to JUly 31, 1927, shall be requil'ed to meet only the re­
quirements ,,,hich existed in this state at the'time when' they became registel'ed in,such 
other state; mid provided also that the state from which the applicant applies 'shall; under 
like conditiOl1s,grant reciprocal registi'ationas a pharmacist without examination to phar. 
illacists duly registered in this state. 

(7) The board, upon notice and hearing, may suspend ~J.' revoke the registration' :of 
one gllilty of felony or g'l'OSS imillorality, or who is addicted to alcoholic liquors or nal',C 
cotie drugs, or addicted to the ru;;e ofbai'biturates to an extent affecting his fitness as a 
pharmacist,or who is otlml'wise unfit to practice as a pharmacist, or whose' reg'istratioi,l 
wa's seeured by fl'audor mistake or the giving of misinformation in any of the applici­
tionssuhmitted to the board of pharinacy 01' wno has been guilty of aviQldtion of this 
chapter 01' ch. 161 01' of violations of any of the rules 01' regulations of the board, 'or 
who has been guilty of ,acts of unprofessional conduct as herein defined. No suchTevoca­
tion shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the board has 
been served upon the person accused. Decisions of the board under this section shall be 
subject to review as provided in ch. 227 and incase the provisions thereof Rreinvoked 
by the accused ,vithin such 20"day period, such order of revocation shall become effective 
Oilly at such time as may be ordered by the court. Unprofessional conduct means: ' 

(a) Sale of adulterated drugs as defined in s. 97.25. . 
(b) Compounding, dispensing or selling, 01' causing or permitting r1:;he compounding, 

dispensing or sale of any chllg which contains more Or less thali the proportionate quan­
tityof ingredient 01' iUgl'edients specified by ,the person ordering or prescribing .such 
drUg, 'or which contaiIl$ an ingredient or ingredients other than those specified by 'the 
person ordering or prescribing such drug, or ,,,hich is of a brand or which contains an 
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ingredient or ingredients of a brand other than that specified by the person ordering or 
prescribing such drug, unless, in the case of a drug dispensed pursuant to a prescription 
the consent of the prescriber is first obtained and recorded on the prescription. Nothing 
herein contained shall be construed to prohibit the addition of suchinertingredients such 
as emulsifiers, wetting agents, solvents, or like items as may be required in the art of 
compounding, preparing, mixing or otherwise producing drugs unless otherwise directed 
by the prescriber. . . 

(c) Violation of such standards as may from time to time be established or approved 
by the board. 

(8) No person shall use the title "pharmacist" or "assistant pharmacist" unless duly 
regist.ered . as such under the provisions of this chapter, nor shall any person, firm or 
corporation use or display the title "drug store," "pharmacy," "apothecary," or any other 
title, symbol, insignia (including without limitation because of enumeration, moriar and 
pestle, colored show globes, the sign Rx and the like) having the same or similar meaning 
for such place of business unless such place of business be one where drugs are sold in 
accordance with the provisions of section] 51.04. 

(9) No drugstore, pharmacy, apothecary shop, 01' any similar place of business, shall 
be opened or kept open for the transaction of business until it has been registered with 
and a permit therefor has been issued by the state board of pharmacy; This section shall 
not be construed to apply to any stOl'es opened for the sale of proprietary or so,called 
patent medicines which conform to state and federal laws. Every pharmacy and store 
conducted under the supervision of a registered pharmacist shall be annually registered 
on June 1 with the state board of pharmacy, on application forms provided for that 
purpose by the board, on request, and the board shall thereupon issue a suitable certifi­
cate of registration to such persons which permit shall be conspicuously displayed in a 
front window or door of such place of business. Applications for registration as a 
pharmacy or drugstore shall include information reg'arding the names of all pharmacists, 
assistant pharmacists and registered apprentices who are employed therein. Only places 
in charge of a registered pharmacist and holding a permit as a pharmacy may use the 
title "pharmacy," "pharmacists," "apothecary" 01' "drugstore," 01' use customary titles, 
symbols 01' insignia and each much be under the separate management of a reg'istered 
pharmacist, who shall not engage to manage or supervise more than one such place, but 
nothing contained in this section shall prevent a person from owning and conducting 
more than one pharmacy; provided, each is under the separate supervision of a regis­
tered pharmacist. For the registration of every new drugstore or any drugstore upon a 
change of ownership herein required to be reg'istered, there shall be paid an inspection 
fee of $15 together with a registration fee of $20. For the reinspection of premises 
considered to be unsatisfactory at the time of the original inspection for the registration 
of a new drugstore 01' any drugstore upon a change of ownership herein required to. be 
registered, there shall be paid a reinspection fee of $15. Upon annual renewal of regis­
tration all places shall pay a fee of $20, payable on June 1 of each year. Duplicate 
permits for the operation of a drugstore, pharmacy or any similar place of business shall 
be issued by the board on receipt of a fee of $5. Any person failing to register his 
place of business as herein required, failing to have in charge of each phar,macy a 
l'egistered pharmacist, who does not manage 01' supervise more than one pharmacy, 01' 

who otherwise fails to comply with this section, may· be fined not less than $25 nor more 
than $50 for each separate offense. Each day's violation is deemed a separate offense. 
Issuance or continuation of the permit for the conduct of a drugstore, pharmacy 01' any 
similar place of business may be refused when the applicant for the registration thereof 
has. been fC!und to be in violation of ch. 151 01' 161. No refusal to continue the permit 
shall become effective until 20 days after notice of the decision of the boarel to refuse 
the continuation has been served upon the applicant. 

(10) Every pharmacy shall be equipped with proper pharmaceutical utensils so that 
compounding of prescriptions and dispensing of medicaments can be properly. performed. 
The Wisconsin board of phal'l11acy, with the advice and consent of the faculty of the uni­
vertisy of Wisconsin school of pharmacy, shall prescribe the minimum standards of such 
professional and technical equipment, whieh shall include copies of the latest revisions of 
the United States Pharmacopoeia and the National Formulary and any supplement to 
either of them. No permit shall be issued 01' continued for the conduct of a pharmacy 
unless the provisions of this subsection have been eomplied with. Failure to maintain a 
pharmacy equipped with propel' sanitary appliances or in a clean and orderly manner 
constitute grounds for denial, snspension 01' revocation of a pharmacy permit. There 
shall be kept in every pharmacy a suitable book or file, in which every prescription COlll-

pounded or dispensed shall be preserved for a period of not less than 5 years. ' 
History: 1961 c. 603, 612, 638. 
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151.03 Permit. In rural districts with no registered pharmacist or assistant phar­
macist within 3 miles, the board may issue a permit to sell on certain premises for one 
year, drugs and medicines specified therein, upon payment of the fee fixed by the board, 
not exceeding $10. The premises for which the permit is issued must be an establishment 
where merchandise is sold and shall be specified in the permit. An applicant for a 
permit for a new rural store or for a permit upon change of ownership of an existing 
rural store shall pay an inspection fee of $15 in addition to the annual permit fee of $10. 

History. 1961 c. 229. 

151.04 Practice. (1) Certificates of registration, renewals, and permits shall be 
conspicuously exposed to public view in the place of business. 

(2) No person shall sell, give away, bartel', compound or dispense drugs, medicines or 
ppisons, nor permit it, in a town, village 01' city having a population of 500 or more unless 
he be a registered pharmacist, nor institute nor conduct a place therefor without a regis­
tered pha.rmacist in charge, except that a registered assistant pharmadst may do so under 
the personal supervision of a registered pharmacist, and may have charge during the phar­
macist's necessary absence, not to exceed 10 days. If the population is less than 500, only 
a registered assistant pharmacist is required and in such case a registered assistant phar­
macist, if otherwise qualified, may continue to operate his drug store, until death or retire­
ment, even though the population increase beyond 500. 

(3) This shall not interfere with the dispensing of drugs, medicines or other articles 
by physicians, nor with the sale of proprietal'Y medicines in sealed packages, labeled to 
comply with the federal and state pure food and drug law, with directions for using, and 
the name and location of the manufacturer, nor with the sale of economic poisons for use 
in industrial arts, nor with the sale of economic poisons which comply with sections 94.67 
to 94.71, nor with the sale of alum, all1ll1onia, borax, bay rum, bicarbonate of soda, cream 
of tartar, concentrated lye, olive oil, sal ammoniac, sal soda, sulphur, copperas, epsom 
salts, glauber salts, castor oil, glycerine, senna leaves, indigo, blue vitriol, turpentine, wood 
alcohol and denatured alcohol. 

(4) No person shall manufacture, package or prepare within this state any drugs 
or medicines except under the personal and immediate supervision of a registered phar­
lllacist or such other person as is approved by the board after an investigation and a 
determination that such other person is qualified by scientific training and education to 
perform such supervision in a manner adequate to protect the public health and safety. 
No person shall manufacture, package or prepare any drugs or medicines within this 
state without first obtaining a permit from the board. For the issuance of such permit 
there shall be paid an inspection fee of $15 together with a registration fee of $30. 
Upon annual renewal of registration all permit holders shall pay a fee of $30, payable on 
May 31 of each year. The issuance of such permit shall be subject to such rules as the 
board lllay from time to time adopt for the protection of the public health and safety. 

(5) No person shall engage in the sale or distribution at wholesale of any of the 
drugs defined in s. 151.07 (1) (a) to any of the classes of persons enumerated in s. 
151.07 (8) without first obtaining a license for such purpose from the board. The an­
nual fee is $10. Licenses expire on May 31. Such license or renewals thereof shall be 
issued in the discretion of the board to responsible applicants of good reputation. 

(6) No person shall wilfully make a false statement in any prescription, order, report 
or record, required by this chapter, nor make or utter any false or forged prescription or 
written order. 

Hlsltory: 1961 C. 612. 

151.05 Penalty. (1) Anyone who violates s. 151.04 (1) shall forfeit $10 for each 
failure, and anyone who wilfully makes a false representation to procure registration or 
permit for himself or another, or who violates this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $50 nor more than $100, or imprisoned in the 
county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than 90 days, or both. 

(2) Each member and officer of the board shall investigate and institute actions for 
violations of this chapter and ch. 161 and the district attorney shall promptly prosecute 
upon notice from any source. 

151.06 Definition of drug. The term "drug", as used in this chapter, means: 
(1) Articles recognized in the official United States Pharmacopoeia, official Homeo­

pathic Phannacopoeia of the United States, or official National Formulary, or any supple­
ment to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or 
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and 

. (2) All other articles intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or 
prevention of disease in man or other animals; and 
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,(3) Articles (other than food) intended to affect the structure or any function of the 
h()dy . qf man or other animals; and . . . . 

(4) Atticles intended for use as a component of any articles specified in subsections 
(1), (2) .01' (3); but does. not include surgical, dental or laboratory instruments, gases, 
oxygen· therapy equipment,Xcray apparatus, o~· therapeutic lamps" their components, 
p.arts Or accestlories; or equipment, instruments, apparatus,. or contJ.'ivances ,used to .re11der 
such articles effective in medical, surgical or dental treatment; or articles intended for 
use. or consumption in or for mechanical, industrial, manufacturing, or scientific applica-
tions or purposes, . 

151.07 Dangerous drugs, (1) As used in this chapter unless the context requh'es 
otherwise: ..' 

(a) "Dangerous drug" means any drug OJ,' drug-containing preparation, the. original . 
container of which bears the statement "Caution:-federal law prohibits dispensing with- . 
out presc.ription'~ and includes, without limitation because of enumeration, any prepara­
tion. intended ·for internal ,administration which contains barbiturates, sulfonan1ides, 
thyroid, cinchophen, neocinchopheJ;l, aminopyrine, amphetamine, desoxyephedriI1e, diethyl­
stilbestrol, ergot 0.1' any salts, del'ivatives, compounds or mixtmes tl1ereof. No compound, 
mL'Cture or preparation is deemed a dangerous drug if it is designed for the purpose 
of treating animals or poultry and is so labeled. 

· (b) "Delivery" means selling, dispensing, giving away or supplying in any other 
=~ . . . 

(c) "Patient" means the individual for whom dangerous drugs are prescribed or to 
wholll dangerous drugs ,are adminilitered. . 

(d) "Person" includes an individual, corporation, partnership or association. 
· (e). "Practitioner" means apetson licensed by law to prescribe and administer dan-

gerous drugs. . . .. . 
(f) "Pharmacist" means a person duly registered with the state board of pharmacy 

as a. compoun~ler, dispenser and supplier of drugs. . '. . 
(g) "Prescription" means a written order (or an oral order later reduced to writing) 

by a practitioner for a dangerous drug for a particular patient, wlJich specifies the date 
of its issl1e, the,nanle and address of such pl'!wtitioner, the name andaddress of the patient, 
the name alld quantity of the dangerous drug p'l'escribed, directions for use of stich drug 
and, in case of a written order the signathte of such practitioner . 

. (h) "lIfanllfacturer" means persons other than pharmacists who manufacture' dan­
geromi drugs, and includes persons ,vho prepare such cliugs in dosage forJiJs:by mixing, 
cOlnpounding, encapsulating,entableting, or other process. . 

· (i ) "Wholesaler" means persons engaged in the business of distributing dangerous 
drug3 to persons included in any of the classes named in subsection (8)~ 

(j) :"Warehousemall" means persons who stoi'e dangerous drugs for others and who . 
have no control over the disposition of such dangerous drugs except for the purpose of 
such storage. . 

. (2) No person except a practitioner shall deliver any dangerouB drug except upon the 
pl'escription of a practitioner. An Ol'alprescriptiort, by telephone or otherwise, shall be 
promptly'reduced to writing and filed by the pharmacist. 

· (3)' No person, except a registered pharmacist or a practitioner shall prepare, com-
pound, dispense or prepare for delivery for a patient any dangerol1s drug. " 

(4 ) No dangerous drug' shall be delivered unless there is affixed to the immediate con­
tainer a label disclosing: 

, (a) The name and address of the owner of the establishment from which such drug 
was delivered. 

(b) The date ort which the prescription for such drug was filled. 
(c) The number of such prescription as filed in the prescription file of the pharmacist 

who filled such prescription. 
(d) The name of. the practitionel' who prescribed such drug. 
(e) The name and address of the patient. 
(f) Directions for use of the drug as contained in the prescription. 
(5) No prescription for a dangerous dl'Ug shall be refilled except. as designated .on 

such prescription,and unless accurate record Of,SllCh refilling' is entered' on such prescrip­
tionsho'wing the date and amount thereof. No oral or wi'itten prescription shall .be 
refilled unless the ptovisions of 151.07 (2) have been firsteoniplied with and unless either 
written or oral authority has been given by the prescriber. . 

(7) It shall be unlawful for any person' to have any dangerous drug in his possession' 
unless such' drug was obtained in compliance with the' provisions hereof. 

(8) The provisions of subsections (2), (3), (4) and (7) shall not be applicable to the 
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wholesa:Ie delivery ofdangerousdrngsto :persons included in any of the classes 'herein­
after named; nor to the agents 01' employes of such persons for use in the usual course of 
their business or practice or in the performance of their official duties,as the case may be; 
nor to the possession of dangerous drugs by such persons or their agents or employes 
for such use: 

( a) Pharmacists. 
(b) Practitioners. 
(c) Persons who procure dangerous drugs for the purpose of lawful research, teach­

ing, or testing and not for resale. 
(d) Hospitals and other institutions which procure dangerous .drugs for lawful ad-

ministration by practitioners; 
(e) Officers or employes of the federal government. 
(f) ,Manufacturers ;anc[ wholesalers. 
(9) The state board of pharmacy is hereby authorized to promulgate necessary regu­

lations· for administration and enforcement of this section. 
(10) Any person who violates any pTovision of this section shall be imprisoned not 

more than one yeaI' or fined not more than $500, or both; but if a further violation is 
committed after a conviction of such person under this section has become final, such 
person shall be imprisoned not more than 2 yeaTS or fined not more than $1,000, or both. 

History. 1961 c. 601, 612. 

151.10 Poisons, dispensing regulated. (1) No person shall sell or deliver any of 
the poisonous salts or compounds of antimony, arsenic, chromium, lead, mercury, silver, 
tin or zinc, the concentrated mineral acids; oxalic, carbolic or hydrocyanic acids or their 
salts, formaldehyde, yellow phosphorus, the essential oils of almonds, pennyroyal, rue, 
savin or tansy; croton oil, creosote, chloroform, cantharides, aconite, belladonna, bitter 
almonds, colchicum, cotton root, Cannabis indica, digitalis, ergot, hyoscyamus, lobelia, nux 
vomica, physostigma, strophanthus, stramonium, veratrum viride, or any of the poisonous 
alkaloids or glucosides derived from the foregoing or in any other virulent poison, unless 
it be upon the prescription of authorized practitioners of medicine, dentistry or veterinary 
medicine, except as follows: 

(a) The dispenser shall ascertain that the applicant is aware of the poisonous charac­
ter and desires it for a lawful purpose. 

(b) He shall plainly label the container with the name of the substance, the word 
"Poison," and the name and address of the dispenser. 

(c) Before delivery he shall record in a book kept for that purpose the name of the 
article, the quantity, the purpose, the date, the name and address of the person for whom 
procured, and the name of the individual personally dispensing the same, such record to 
be signed by the person to whom the poison is delivered; and said book shall be preserved 
by the owner thereof for at least 3 years after the date of the last entry therein, and shall 
be open to inspection by authorized officers. 

(d) If the applicant is under 18 years of age, he must have the written order of an 
adult person. 

(2) This section does not apply to manufacturers and wholesalers selling at wholesale, 
nor to economic poisons which comply with ss. 94.67 to 94.71, but containers other than 
for economic poisons shall be labeled with the name of the substance, the word "Poison," 
and the name and address of the manufacturer or wholesaler. 

(3) A "Poison" label is not required when a single container or when one-half ounce 
fluid 01' avoirdupois does not contain more than an adult medicinal dose nor in the case of 
liniments, ointments or other external preparations sold in good faith as such, and plainly 
labeled "for external use only," nor in the case of pills, tablets or lozenges, when the dose 
recommended does not contain more than one-quarter of an adult medicinal dose. 

Histoq'. 1961 c. 612. 

151.11 Placing drugs forbidden. Except as authorized by law, no person shall put 
any drug, medicine or chemical, or any compound or combination thereof in any public 
place, or, without the consent of the owner or occupant upon any private premises, nor 
cause it to be done. 

151.12 Penalties. Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of s. 151.10 
or 151.11 shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1,000, or imprisoned not less 
than one year nor more than 5 years. 

151.15 Advertising or display of indecent articles, sale in certain cases prohibited. 
(1) As used in this chapter, the term "indecent articles" means any drug, medicine, mix­
ture, preparation, instrument, article or device of whatsoever nature used or intended or 
represented to be used to procure a miscarriage or prevent pregnancy. 



"!il.15 PHARMACY 2342 

(2) No person, firm or corporation shall publish, distribute or circulate any circular, 
card, advertisement or notice of any kind offering 01' advertising any indecent article for 
3ale, nor shall exhibit or display any indecent a;rticle to the public. 

(3) No person, firm or corporation shall manufacture, purchase, or rent, or have in 
his or its possession or under his or its control, any slot machine, or other mechanism 01'­

means so designed and eonstructed as to contain and hold indecent articles and to release 
the same upon the deposit therein of a coin or other thing of value. 

( 4) N o person, firm or corporation shall sell or dispose of or attempt or offer to sell 
or dispose of any indecent articles to or for any unmarried person; and no sale in any 
case of any indecent articles shall be made except by a pharmaeist registered under 
the provisions of eh. 151 or a physician or surgeon duly licensed under the laws of this 
state. 

(5) Any person, firm or corporation violating any provision of this section shall be 
deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine 
of not less than $100 nor more than $500 or by imprisonment in the county jail for not 
to exceed 6 months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 




