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CHAPTER 973
SENTENCING
973.01 - Indeterminate sentence; Wisconsin state pris- 97309  Probation.
ons. 973.10  Control and supervision of probationers. -

973.02 - Place ‘of imprisonment when none expressed. . 973.11 - Probation in populous counties
97303 Jail sentence. ) 973.12  Sentence of a repeater.
973.04  Credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence 973.13  Excessive sentence, errors cured

R for the same crime. 973.14  Sentence to house of correction
973.05  Fines. 973.15  Sentence, terms, escapes.
973.06: - Costs 973.16  Time out s
973.07  Failure to pay fine.or costs. 973.17 Judgment against a corporation.
97308  Records accompanying prisoner. -

973.01 Indeterminate sentence; Wiscon-
sin state prisons. (1) (a) If imprisonment in
the Wisconsin state prisons for a term of years
is: imposed, the court may fix a term less than
the prescribed maximum. The form of such sen-
tence shall be substantially as follows: “You are
hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons
for an indeterminate term of not more than ...
(the maximum as fixed by the court) years”.

‘(b) The sentence shall have the effect of a
sentence at hard labor for the maximum term
fixed by the co_uft, subject to the power of ac-
tual release from confinement by parole by the
department or by pardon as provided by law
If a person is sentenced for a definite time for
an offense for which he may be sentenced un-
der this section, he is in legal effect sentenced
as required by this section,- said" definite time
being the maximum périod. A’ defendant con-
victed of a crime for which the minimum pen-
alty is life shall be sentenced for life.

(2) Upon the recommendation of the depart-
ment, the governor may, without the proce-
dure required by ch. 57, discharge absolutely,
or upon such conditions and restrictions and
under such limitation as he thinks proper, any
inmate committed to the Wisconsin state pris-

ons after he has served the minimum term of

punishment prescribed by law for the offense
for which he was sentenced, except that if the
term was life imprisonment, 5 years must
elapse after parole before such a recommenda-
tion can be made to the governor. Such dis-
charge shall have the effect of an absolute or
conditional pardon, respectively.

(3) Female persons convicted of a felony
may be committed to the Wisconsin home for
women.

(4) A female person over 18 years of age
convicted of a misdemeanor for which the
maximum penalty is imprisonment for 6
months or more may be sentenced to a term

not less than 6 months in the Wisconsin home
for women instead of the county jail if the de-
partment certifies to the court that it has ade-
quate facilities at said home and is willing to

accept such commitment.
- It is'not a denial of ‘equal treatment to sentence a de-
fendant to 4 years imprisonment although other persons
involved (all minors) received lesser or no punishment.
State v."Schilz, SO W (2d) 395, 184 NW (2d) 134

An abuse of discretion, as it relates to sentencing proce-
dures, will be found only where there is no rational basis
for the imposition of the sentence ‘or these rationale are
not articulated in, or inferable from, the record, or where
discretion is exercised on the basis of clearly irrelevant or
impropet factors. Davis v. State, 52 W (2d) 697, 190 NW
(2d) 890. D

973.02  Place of imprisonment when none
expressed. When a statute authorizes impris-
onment for its violation but.does not prescribe
the place of imprisonment, 1) a sentence of less
than one year shall be to the county jail, 2) a
sentence of more than one year shall be to the
Wisconsin: state’ prisons and ‘the minimum -un-
der the indeterminate sentence law shall be one
year, and 3) a sentence of one year may be to
either the Wisconsin state prisons or the county
jail. But in any proper case sentence and com-
mitment may nevertheless be to the Wisconsin
home for women, the department or any house
of correction or other institution as provided by
law

973.03 Jail sentence. (1) If at the time of
passing sentence upon a defendant who is to be
imprisoned in a county jail, there is no jail in
the county suitable for said defendant, the court
may sentence him to any suitable county jail in
the state. The expenses of supporting him there
shall be borne by the county in which the crime
was committed.

(2) A defendant sentenced to the Wisconsin
state prisons and to a county jail or house of
correction for separate crimes shall serve all
sentences whether concurrent or consecutive in

the state prisons.
History: 1971 c. 298.
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973.04  Credit for imprisonment under
earlier sentence for the same crime. When
a sentence is vacated and a new sentence is im-
posed upon the defendant for the same crime,
the department shall credit the defendant with
confinement theretofore served and good time,
if any, earned by the defendant pursuant to ss.
53.11.and 53 12 while so confined.

973.05 Fines. (1) When a defendant is sen-
tenced to pay 2 fine, the court may grant per-
mission for the payment to be made within a
penod not to exceed 60 days. If no such permis-
sion is embodied in the sentence, the ﬁne shall
be payable forthwith

(2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine and is also placed on probation; the court
may ‘make the payment of the fine a condition
of probatlon Y

973.06 Costs. (1) The costs taxable against
the defendant shall “consist of the followmg
iterns and no others:’ '

(a) The necessary- disbursements and fees of

officérs allowed by law and incurred in con-
nection with the artrest, preliminary examina-
tion’ and trial of the defendant, including, in
the discretion of the court, the fees and dis-
bursements of the agent appointed to return a
',defendant from another state or country.

(b) Fees and ‘travel allowance of witnesses
for the state at the preliminary exammatton
and the trial.

(c) Fees and disbursements allowed by the

court to. expert - witnesses. -Section 271 04 (2)
shall: not apply in-criminal cases.
' (d) Fees and travel allowance of witnesses
for the defense incurred by the county at the
request of ‘the defendant, at- the prehmmary
hearmg and the trial.

‘(e) Attorney fees payable to the defense at-
tomey by the county i :

~(2) The court may remlt the taxable costs, in
whole or 1n part. "

973 07 Fallure to pay:fine or costs When
afine.or the costs are not paid-as required by
the 'sentence,: the-defendant may be committed
to the county jail until the fine and costs-are
paid or .discharged for a period fixed: by the
court not to éxceed 6 months :

'973 08 Records accompanylng pnsoner
When any defendant is' sentenced to the Wis-

consin state prisons, a copy, of the judgment of

conviction shall be delivered by the officer exe-
cuting the judgment to the warden or superin-
tendent of the institution when the prisoner is
delivered. The transcript of the testimony and
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proceedings shall be filed pursuant to s. 256.57
(2). within 120 days from the date sentence is
imposed unless the period is. extended by the

COUIY )
Hlstory 1971 ¢ 298's 26 (1).

973.09 ,Probation.' (1) When a person is
convicted of a crime, the court may, by order,
withhold sentence or impose sentence and stay
its execution, and in either case place him on
probation to the department for a stated period,
statmg in. the order the reasons therefor, and
may impose any conditions which appear to be
reasonable and appropriate. The period of pro-
bation may be made consecutive to a sentence
on a different charge, whether imposed at the
same time or.previously.

(2) The original term of probation shall be:

(a) For misdemeanors, not less than 6
months, nor more than 2 years; ~

(b) For felomies, not less than one year nor
more than either the statutory maximum term
of” 1mprlsonment for the crime or 3 years,
whichever is greater.

(3) Prior to the expiration of any probation
penod “the court may for cause by order ex-
tend probation for a stated period or modify
the ‘terms and. conditions thereof.

(4) The court may also require as a condi-
tion of probation that the probationer be con-
fined in the county jail-between the hours or
periods of his employment during such portion
of his term of probation as the court specifies,
but not to exceed one year and the court shall
require him to pay the costs as provided in s.
56.08 (4) While confined pursuant to this sub-
section he shall be subject to all the rules of

. the jail and the discipline of the sheriff.

%) When the probationer has sat1sf1ed the
conditions of his probation, he shall be dis-

charged and the .department shall issue hlm a
certificate of final discharge, a copy of. whlch

shall be filed with the clerk.
Hlstory 1971 c 298

973 10 Control and superwsnon of proba-

tioners. (1) A'sentence of probatlon shall have
the effect of placing the defendant in the custo-
dy of the department ‘and shall subject him to
the: contiol of the department under conditions
set by the court and rules and regulations estab-
lished by the department for the supervision of

pr obationers and par olees.

() If. a probatloner v1olates the condmons of

his. probatlon, the department may order him

brought. before the court for sentence which
shall then. be imposed wtthout further stay or if
he has already been sentenced, may order him
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to prison; and the term of the sentence shall
‘begin on the date he enters the prison. A copy
of the order of ‘the department shall be suffi-
cient authority for the officer executing it to
take the probationer to court or to prison. The
officer shall execute such order as a warrant
for arrest but any officer may, without order
or- warrant, take the probationer into custody
whenever necessary in order to prevent escape
or enforce dlsmphne or for violation of proba-
tion.

(3) The department may upon request of any
court having ]unsdlctlon undér s. 973.11 re-
ceive for Superv1810n outside of any county to
which s. 973.11 is applicable, probationers con-
victed in such county and shall have the same
custody and cemtrol of the persons as it has
over other probationers in custody of the de-
partment. :

History: 1971 ¢. 298,

Defendant cannot claim that his probation was not val-
idly revoked for escaping from county jail while awaiting
‘trial on another offense because he was subsequently ac-
quitted of  that offense. Motions for reconsideration of
probation revocation orders must be made within 90 days
Dobs v. State, 47 W (2d) 20, 176 NW'(2d) 289

Before probation can be revoked the department must
hold a hearing and make a recoid so that on judicial.re-
view it can be determined whether the department acted
arbmanly or capriciously. The hearing need not be formal.
The prisoner is not. entitled to counsel at the hearing.
State ex rel. Johnson v. Cady, 50 W (2d) 540, 185 NW
(2d) 306.

See note to Art 1, sec. 8, citing Hahn v. Burke, 430 F
(2d) 100.

Probation revocation; right to a hearing and to counsel
1971 WLR 648.

973.11 Probation in populous counties.
(1) This section applies only to counties having
a population of more than 500,000.

_ (2) The probation department. of the crimi-
nal branches of the circuit court and the mis-
demeanor and traffic branches of the ‘county
court, respectively, shall have custody of per-
sons on probation from each court.

(3) All courts in the county shall have all
the powers ¢ontained in ss. 973.09 and 973.10
with respect to the imposition of probation and
its terms and conditions. Wherever in those
sections the term department is used it refers
to the probation department established pursu-
ant to this section.

(4) The senior judge of the criminal branch-
es of the eircuit court shall appoint a chief pro-
bation officer. Such judge may appoint addi-
tional probatlon officers who shall be subordi-
nate to the chief He may also appoint a
deputy chief probation officer to perform the
duties of the chief during his absence or inabil-
ity to perform them. Except as otherwise pro-
vided, ‘probation officers  shall have power to
arrest and shall execute the orders of the
courts affecting their probatloners

4244

(5) Probation violators whether sentenced or
not, shall be taken before the court for a hear-
ing.

(6) Probation officers shall receive the sala-
ries and necessary expenses as determined by
the county board. The county board shall pro-
vide quarters and supplies for the adequate ad-
ministration of probation under this section.

(7) Municipal and district court probation
officers having civil service status in such
counties on' December 31, 1961, shall continue
in such status for the criminal branches of the
circuit court and the misdemeanor traffic
branches of the county court on and after Jan-
uary 1, 1962.

(8). This .section apphes only to persons
placed on probation by the criminal branches
of the circuit court prior to January 1, 1972,
and to persons placed on probation by the mis-
demeanor. and traffic branches of the county
court prior to- September- 1, 1972. Persons
placed on probation by the criminal branches
of the circuit court on and after January 1,
1972; and. persons. placed on probation by the
misdemeanor. and traffic branches of the coun-
ty court on and after September-1, 1972, shall
be placed in the control and under supervision
of the department of health and social services
pursuant to ss. 973.09 and 973.10. Effective
January 1, 1974, all other probation cases still
supervised under this section shall likewise be
placed under the control of the department of
health and social services.

History: 1971 c¢. 125. )

The provision for court hearing before revocation of pa-
role in Milwaukee county does not violate the equal pro-

tection clause. State ex rel. Johnson v. Cady, 50 W. (2d)
540, 185 NW (2d) 306.

973.12 Sentence of a repeater. (1) When-
ever a person charged with a crime will be a
repeater as defined in s: 939.62 if convicted, any
prior convictions may be alleged in the com-
plaint, indictment or. information or amend-
ments so alleging at any time before or at ar-
raignment, and before acceptance of any plea.
The court may, upon-motion of the district at-
torney, grant a reasonable time to investigate
possible prior convictions :before accepting a
plea. If such prior convictions are admitted by
the defendant or proved by the state; he shall be
subject to sentence under s. 939.62 unless he
establishes that he was pardoned on grounds of
innocence for any crime necessary to constitute
him a repeater. An official report of the F.B.IL.
or any other governmental agency of the United
States or of this or any other state shall be pri-
ma facie evidence of any conviction or sentence
therein reported. Any sentence so reported shall
be deemed prima facie to have been fully served
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in actual confinement or to have been served
for such period of time as is shown or is con-
sistent with the report. The court shall take ju-
dicial notice of the statutes of the. United
States and foreign states in determining wheth-
er the prior conviction ‘was for a felony or.a
misdemeanor.

(2) In every case of sentence under s. 939.62,
the sentence shall be imposed for the present
conviction, but if the court indicates in passing
sentence how much thereof is imposed because
the défendant is a repeater, it shall not consti-
tute-reversible ‘error, but the combined terms
shall be construed as a- smgle sentence for the
present -conviction. :

973 1 3 Excesswe sentence, errors cured.
In any case where the court imposes a- maxi-
mum penalty in excess of that authorized by
law, 'such- excess shall be void and the sentence
shall be valid only to the extent of the maxi-
mum term authorized by statute and shall stand
commuted without further proceedings.

973.14 Sentence to house of correction.
(1) In daddition to the authority in ss. 53.18 and
56.18, prisoners sentenced to a county jail may
be transferred by the sheriff to the house of cor-
rection without court approval except that pris-
oners to whom 'the privileges of s.- 56.08 have
been- granted may ‘not be transferred- without
court. approval -

(2) Prisoners confined in the house of cor-
rection may be transferred by the superintend-
ent of the house of correction to the county jail
without. court approval.

(3) A prisoner sentenced to-a county ]all or
the house of correction being-held in a county
jail awaiting trial on.another charge shall be
deemed to be serving such: county jail or house
of correction sentence and shall be given credit
on such sentence as prov1ded ins 5343 or
56.19.

973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes. (1) All
sentences: tothe Wisconsin state prisons shall be
for one year or more, €xcept.as p10v1ded ins
973.01 (4). Except as otherwise provided in'this
-section, all séntences commence at noon on the
.day of sentence, but time-which elapses after
sentence while the defendant is in the county
jail .or is at large on bail shall not be computed

- SENTENCING 973.17

as any part of his term of imprisonment, The
court may impose as many sentences as there
are convictions and may provide that any such

: sentence be concurrent or that it shall com-

mence at the expuanon of any other sentence;
and-if the defendant is then serving a sentence,
the present sentence may provide that it shall
commence at the expiration of the previous sen-
tence. If a convict escapes, the time during
which he is unlawfully absent from the prison
after such escape shall not be computed as part
of his term. Courts may impose sentences to be
served in - whole or in part concurrently with a
sentence being served in a federal institution or
an institution of another state:

(2) When a court orders a sentence to the
Wisconsin state prisons to be served in whole
or_in ‘part concurrently with a sentence being
served in a federal institution or an institution

of. another -state, the trial and commitment

records required under s. 973.08 shall be deliv-
ered immediately to the warden or superin-

tendent of the Wisconsin institution designated

as the reception center to receive the prisoner
when he becomes avallable to. Wisconsin au-
thoritjes.

(3) Sections 53.11 and 57.06 are apphcable
to an inmate serving a sentence to the Wiscon-
sin state prisons but confined in a federal insti-

‘tution or an institution in another state. Sec-

tion 53.12 applies only during that portion of
the sentence served in actual reSIdence in a
Wxsconsm institution

973.16 Time out. If an order or judgment
releasing -a prisoner on habeas corpus is re-

versed; the time during which he was at liberty

thereunder shall not be counted as part of his
term.

973.17 Ju’défneht against a corporation.

(1) If a corporation fails to appear within the

time required by the summons, the default of
such corporation may be recorded and. the

fcharge against it taken as true, and judgment

shall be rendered accordingly:
~ (2) Upon default of the defendant corpora-
tion .or, upon conviction, judgment for the
amount of the fine shall be entered.

(3) A Judgment against a corporatlon sha]l
be collected in the same manner as in civil ac-
tions. h
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