STATE OF WISCONSIN

Senate Journal

Eighty-Eighth Regular Session

2:00 P.M.

MONDAY, January 5, 1987

The senate met.

The senate was called to order by Fred A. Risser, president of the senate.

The senate stood for the prayer which was offered by Reverend Ernest Norquist retired pastor of Presbyterian Church, Milwaukee.

The senate remained standing and Senator Strohl led the senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.

State of Wisconsin Elections Board

To the Honorable, the Senate

Please be advised that the attached is a listing of those persons elected to the Senate at the General Election held in the State of Wisconsin on November 4, 1986.

- 1 Alan J. Lasee
- 3 John O. Norquist
- 5 Mordecai Lee
- 7 John R. Plewa
- 9 William P. Te Winkle
- 11 J.M. Davis
- 13 Barbara K. Lorman
- 17 Richard T. Kreul
- 19 Michael G. Ellis
- 21 Joseph Strohl
- 23 Marvin J. Roshell
- 25 Robert Jauch
- 27 Russell D. Feingold
- 29 Walter John Chilsen
- 31 Rodney C. Moen
- 33 Susan S. Engeleiter

Sincerely,

KEVIN J. KENNEDY

Executive Director

Upon calling of the newly elected Senators on Monday, January 5, 1987, the following appeared before the bar of the senate, took and subscribed the oath of office which was administered by Chief Justice Nathan S. Heffernan:

Alan J. Lasee, John O. Norquist, Mordecai Lee, John R. Plewa, William P. Te Winkle, J.M. Davis, Barbara K. Lorman, Richard T. Kreul, Michael G. Ellis, Joseph Strohl, Marvin J. Roshell, Robert Jauch, Russell D. Feingold, Walter John Chilsen, Rodney C. Moen, Susan S. Engeleiter.

The roll was called and the following senators answered to their names:

Senators Adelman, Andrea, Chilsen, Chvala, Czarnezki, Davis, Ellis, Engeleiter, Feingold, George, Harsdorf, Helbach, Jauch, Kincaid, Kreul, Lasee, Lee, Leean, Lorman, Moen, Norquist, Plewa, Risser, Roshell, Rude, Stitt, Strohl, Te Winkle and Ulichny — 29.

Absent — Senator Van Sistine — 1.

Absent or not voting — 0.

INTRODUCTION OF RESOLUTIONS

Senate Resolution 1

Notifying the assembly and the governor that the 1987-88 senate is organized.

By Senators Risser, Strohl, Engeleiter, Norquist and Ellis.

Read

Considered as privileged and taken up.

The question was: Adoption of Senate Resolution 1? The ayes and noes were required and the vote was: ayes, 29; noes, 0; absent or not voting, 1; as follows:

Ayes — Senators Adelman, Andrea, Chilsen, Chvala, Czarnezki, Davis, Ellis, Engeleiter, Feingold, George, Harsdorf, Helbach, Jauch, Kincaid, Kreul, Lasee, Lee, Leean, Lorman, Moen, Norquist, Plewa, Risser, Roshell, Rude, Stitt, Strohl, Te Winkle and Ulichny — 29.

Noes - None.

Absent or not voting — Senator Van Sistine — 1.

The President, Fred A. Risser, the Chief Clerk, Donald J. Schneider, and the Sergeant-at-Arms, Daniel B. Fields, appeared together before the bar of the senate, took and subscribed the oath of office which was administered by Chief Justice Nathan S. Heffernan.

By request of the president of the Senate, with unanimous consent, the senate adjourned in honor of former Senators F. James Sensenbrenner, Jr., John Potter, and former Majority Leaders Jerris Leonard, Ernest Keppler and Tim Cullen who were in the Senate today.

By request of the president of the Senate, with unanimous consent, the senate adjourned in honor of the members of the String Ensemble from West High School who provided the music for today's session, Frederic Dick, Cynthia Bittar, Kara Ellestad, Amy Harr, Jeremy Pierotti, Laura Olsen, Patrick Chen and Rich Colby.

Upon motion of Senator Strohl the senate adjourned until 2:00 P.M. Tuesday, January 13.

3:00 P.M.