## STATE OF WISCONSIN

## **Senate Journal**

## **January Special Session**

## 4:09 P.M.

Thursday, April 18, 1991

The senate met.

The senate was called to order by Fred A. Risser, President of the Senate.

Senator Helbach, with unanimous consent, asked that the roll and pledge of the regular session apply to the special session.

Senator Lasee, with unanimous consent, asked that the rules be suspended and Special Session Senate Bill 5 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up.

Senator Helbach objected.

Senator Lasee moved that the rules be suspended and Special Session Senate Bill 5 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up.

The question was: Shall the rules be suspended and Special Session Senate Bill 5 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up?

The ayes and noes were required and the vote was: ayes, 14; noes, 18; absent or not voting, 1; as follows:

Ayes — Senators Berndt, Buettner, Cowles, Ellis, Farrow, Huelsman, Kreul, Lasee, Leean, Lorman, Petak, Rude, Stitt and Weeden — 14.

Noes — Senators Adelman, Andrea, Barrett, Breske, Chvala, Czarnezki, Decker, Feingold, George, Helbach, Jauch, Moen, Plewa, Potter, Risser, Roshell, Ulichny and Van Sistine — 18.

Absent or not voting — Senator Burke — 1.

Less than two-thirds having voted in the affirmative, the motion was refused.

Senator Farrow, with unanimous consent, asked that the rules be suspended and Special Session Assembly Bill 6 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up.

Senator Helbach objected.

Senator Farrow moved that the rules be suspended and Special Session Assembly Bill 6 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up.

The question was: Shall the rules be suspended and Special Session Assembly Bill 6 be withdrawn from committee on Judiciary and Consumer Affairs and taken up?

The ayes and noes were required and the vote was: ayes, 14; noes, 17; absent or not voting, 2; as follows:

Ayes — Senators Berndt, Buettner, Cowles, Ellis, Farrow, Huelsman, Kreul, Lasee, Leean, Lorman, Petak, Rude, Stitt and Weeden — 14.

Noes — Senators Adelman, Andrea, Barrett, Breske, Chvala, Czarnezki, Decker, Feingold, George, Helbach, Jauch, Moen, Plewa, Potter, Risser, Ulichny and Van Sistine — 17.

Absent or not voting — Senators Burke and Roshell — 2.

Less than two-thirds having voted in the affirmative, the motion was refused.

Senator Helbach, with unanimous consent, asked that the Senate adjourn until 10:00 A.M. Tuesday, April 23.

4:25 P.M.