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Re: driving bills




Proposal: Fine slow pokes who back up traffic in the lefi-hand passing lanes of major
highways.

Penalty: $30 to $300.

Author: Rep. John La Fave, D-Brown Deer.

Status: Public hearing held. No vote scheduled.

Proposal: Fine motorists for tailgating within 200 feet of another vehicle.
Penalty: $30 to $300

Author: Rep. John Gard, R-Peshtigo

Status: Public hearing held. No vote scheduled.

Proposal: Fine motorists for tailgating within 200 feet of snowplows clearing snow

or ice. Motorists would still be allowed to pass. Applies only to roads with speed limits
higher than 35 mph.

Penalty: $20 to $40
Author: Rep. John Ainsworth, R-Shawano

Status: Highway Safety Committee endorsed with 6-1 vote. Assembly approved on
70-24 vote. Sent to the Senate.

Proposal: Require traffic safety school and suspend the licenses of motorists who
commit three or more specific traffic offenses at a time. Violations that apply include
reckless driving, running red lights or stop signs, following too close, passing in an unsafe
manner, speeding and failing to signal a lane change.

Author: Rep. John Ainsworth, R-Shawano

Status: Public hearing held. No vote scheduled.

Proposal: Allow drivers to flash their high-beam headlights at oncoming vehicles that
don't dim their bright lights.
Author: Rep. Marlin Schneider, D-Wisconsin Rapids

Status: Highway Safety Committee voted 7-0 in favor. Assembly approved. Sent to
the Senate.

Proposal: Increase fines for repeat drunken drivers based on their level of
intoxication.

Penalty: Double fines if driver's blood alcohol level is more than 0.15 percent;, triple
if more than 0.2 percent; quadruple if more than 0.25 percent. The legal limit in Wisconsin
for drunken driving is 0.1 percent.

Author: Rep.Jeff Stone, R-Greenfield

Status: Highway Safety Committee recommended 6-1; Assembly approved 96-3.
Senate committee is considering,

Proposal: Let police pull drivers over solely for not wearing seat belts. Current law
allows police to stop and ticket drivers for not wearing seat belts only if the traffic stop is for
another reason.

Penalty: $25

Author: Rep. Jeff Stone, R-Greenfield



Status: Introduced to Highway Safety Committee.

Proposal: Create a “'graduated license” system. Require beginning drivers with
learner's permits to practice with their parents for 30 hours before getting probationary
drivers licenses. For the next nine months, forbid teen-age drivers from operating between
midnight and 5 a.m. and limit their passengers to family members and one unrelated young
person.

Author: Rep. Luther Olsen, R-Berlin

Status: Assembly approved. Legislative leaders stuck the proposal into the state
budget. Needs governor's signature to become law.



