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CHAPTER 973

SENTENCING

973.01 Bifurcated sentence of imprisonment and extended supervision.
973.013 Indeterminate sentence; Wisconsin state prisons.
973.0135 Sentence for certain serious felonies; parole eligibility determination.
973.014 Sentence of life imprisonment; parole eligibility determination; extended

supervision eligibility determination.
973.015 Misdemeanors, special disposition.
973.02 Place of imprisonment when none expressed.
973.03 Jail sentence.
973.032 Sentence to intensive sanctions program.
973.033 Sentencing; restriction on firearm possession.
973.034 Sentencing; restriction on child sex offender working with children.
973.035 Transfer to state−local shared correctional facilities.
973.04 Credit for imprisonment under earlier sentence for the same crime.
973.045 Crime victim and witness assistance surcharge.
973.046 Deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge.
973.047 Deoxyribonucleic acid analysis requirements.
973.048 Sex offender reporting requirements.
973.05 Fines.
973.055 Domestic abuse assessments.
973.06 Costs.
973.07 Failure to pay fine or costs or to comply with certain community service

work.

973.075 Forfeiture of property derived from crime and certain vehicles.
973.076 Forfeiture proceedings.
973.077 Burden of proof; liabilities.
973.08 Records accompanying prisoner.
973.09 Probation.
973.10 Control and supervision of probationers.
973.11 Placements with volunteers in probation program.
973.12 Sentence of a repeater or persistent repeater.
973.125 Notice of lifetime supervision for serious sex offenders.
973.13 Excessive sentence, errors cured.
973.135 Courts to report convictions to the state superintendent of public instruc-

tion.
973.14 Sentence to house of correction.
973.15 Sentence, terms, escapes.
973.155 Sentence credit.
973.16 Time out.
973.17 Judgment against a corporation or limited liability company.
973.18 Notice of rights to appeal and representation.
973.19 Motion to modify sentence.
973.20 Restitution.

Cross−reference:  See definitions in s. 967.02.

973.01 Bifurcated  sentence of imprisonment  and
extended  supervision.   (1) BIFURCATED SENTENCE REQUIRED.

Except as provided in sub. (3), whenever a court sentences a per-
son to imprisonment in the Wisconsin state prisons for a felony
committed on or after December 31, 1999, the court shall impose
a bifurcated sentence that consists of a term of confinement in
prison followed by a term of extended supervision under s.
302.113.

(2) STRUCTURE OF BIFURCATED SENTENCES.  The court shall
ensure that a bifurcated sentence imposed under sub. (1) complies
with all of the following:

(a)  Total length of bifurcated sentence.  Except as provided in
par. (c), the total length of the bifurcated sentence may not exceed
the maximum period of imprisonment for the felony.

(b)  Imprisonment portion of bifurcated sentence.  The portion
of the bifurcated sentence that imposes a term of confinement in
prison may not be less than one year, subject to any minimum sen-
tence prescribed for the felony, and, except as provided in par. (c),
may not exceed whichever of the following is applicable:

1.  For a Class B felony, the term of confinement in prison may
not exceed 40 years.

2.  For a Class BC felony, the term of confinement in prison
may not exceed 20 years.

3.  For a Class C felony, the term of confinement in prison may
not exceed 10 years.

4.  For a Class D felony, the term of confinement in prison may
not exceed 5 years.

5.  For a Class E felony, the term of confinement in prison may
not exceed 2 years.

6.  For any felony other than a felony specified in subds. 1. to
5., the term of confinement in prison may not exceed 75% of the
total length of the bifurcated sentence.

(c)  Penalty enhancement.  The maximum term of confinement
in prison specified in par. (b) may be increased by any applicable
penalty enhancement.  If the maximum term of confinement in
prison specified in par. (b) is increased under this paragraph, the
total length of the bifurcated sentence that may be imposed is
increased by the same amount.

(d)  Minimum term of extended supervision.  The term of
extended supervision that follows the term of confinement in

prison may not be less than 25% of the length of the term of con-
finement in prison imposed under par. (b).

(3) NOT APPLICABLE TO LIFE SENTENCES.  If a person is being
sentenced for a felony that is punishable by life imprisonment, he
or she is not subject to this section but shall be sentenced under s.
973.014 (1g).

(3m) CHALLENGE INCARCERATION PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY.
When imposing a bifurcated sentence under this section on a per-
son convicted of a crime other than a crime specified in ch. 940
or s. 948.02, 948.025, 948.03, 948.05, 948.055, 948.06, 948.07,
948.08 or 948.095, the court shall, as part of the exercise of its sen-
tencing discretion, decide whether the person being sentenced is
eligible or ineligible for the challenge incarceration program
under s. 302.045 during the term of confinement in prison portion
of the bifurcated sentence.

(4) NO GOOD TIME; EXTENSION OR REDUCTION OF TERM OF
IMPRISONMENT.  A person sentenced to a bifurcated sentence under
sub. (1) shall serve the term of confinement in prison portion of
the sentence without reduction for good behavior.  The term of
confinement in prison portion is subject to extension under s.
302.113 (3) and, if applicable, to reduction under s. 302.045 (3m).

(5) EXTENDED SUPERVISION CONDITIONS.  Whenever the court
imposes a bifurcated sentence under sub. (1), the court may
impose conditions upon the term of extended supervision.

(6) NO PAROLE.  A person serving a bifurcated sentence
imposed under sub. (1) is not eligible for release on parole.

(7) NO DISCHARGE.  The department of corrections may not
discharge a person who is serving a bifurcated sentence from cus-
tody, control and supervision until the person has served the entire
bifurcated sentence.

(8) EXPLANATION  OF SENTENCE.  (a)  When a court imposes a
bifurcated sentence under this section, it shall explain, orally and
in writing, all of the following to the person being sentenced:

1.  The total length of the bifurcated sentence.
2.  The amount of time the person will serve in prison under

the term of confinement in prison portion of the sentence.
3.  The amount of time the person will spend on extended

supervision, assuming that the person does not commit any act
that results in the extension of the term of confinement in prison
under s. 302.113 (3).

4.  That the amount of time the person must actually serve in
prison may be extended as provided under s. 302.113 (3) and that
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because of extensions under s. 302.113 (3) the person could serve
the entire bifurcated sentence in prison.

5.  That the person will be subject to certain conditions while
on release to extended supervision, and that violation of any of
those conditions may result in the person being returned to prison,
as provided under s. 302.113 (9).

(am)  If the court provides under sub. (3m) that the person is
eligible for the challenge incarceration program, the court shall
also inform the person of the provisions of s. 302.045 (3m).

(b)  The court’s explanation under par. (a) 3. of a person’s
potential period of extended supervision does not create a right to
a minimum period of extended supervision.

History:   1997 a. 283.
Truth−In−Sentencing Comes to Wisconsin.  Brennan & Latorraca.  Wis. Law. June

2000.

973.013 Indeterminate  sentence; W isconsin state
prisons.   (1)  (a)  If imprisonment in the Wisconsin state prisons
for a term of years is imposed, the court may fix a term less than
the prescribed maximum.  The form of such sentence shall be sub-
stantially as follows: “You are hereby sentenced to the Wisconsin
state prisons for an indeterminate term of not more than .... (the
maximum as fixed by the court) years.”

(b)  Except as provided in s. 973.01, the sentence shall have the
effect of a sentence at hard labor for the maximum term fixed by
the court, subject to the power of actual release from confinement
by parole by the department or by pardon as provided by law.  If
a person is sentenced for a definite time for an offense for which
the person may be sentenced under this section, the person is in
legal effect sentenced as required by this section, said definite
time being the maximum period.  A defendant convicted of a
crime for which the minimum penalty is life shall be sentenced for
life.

(2) Upon the recommendation of the department, the gover-
nor may, without the procedure required by ch. 304, discharge
absolutely, or upon such conditions and restrictions and under
such limitation as the governor thinks proper, any inmate com-
mitted to the Wisconsin state prisons after he or she has served the
minimum term of punishment prescribed by law for the offense
for which he or she was sentenced, except that if the term was life
imprisonment, 5 years must elapse after release on parole or
extended supervision before such a recommendation can be made
to the governor.  The discharge has the effect of an absolute or con-
ditional pardon, respectively.

(3) Female persons convicted of a felony may be committed
to the Taycheedah correctional institution unless they are subject
to sub. (3m).

(3m) If  a person who has not attained the age of 16 years is
sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons, the department of
corrections shall place the person at a secured juvenile correc-
tional facility or a secured child caring institution, unless the
department of corrections determines that placement in an institu-
tion under s. 302.01 is appropriate based on the person’s prior
record of adjustment in a correctional setting, if any; the person’s
present and potential vocational and educational needs, interests
and abilities; the adequacy and suitability of available facilities;
the services and procedures available for treatment of the person
within the various institutions; the protection of the public; and
any other considerations promulgated by the department of
corrections by rule.  This subsection does not preclude the depart-
ment of corrections from designating an adult correctional institu-
tion as a reception center for the person and subsequently transfer-
ring the person to a secured juvenile correctional facility or a
secured child caring institution.  Section 302.11 and ch. 304 apply
to all persons placed in a secured juvenile correctional facility or
a secured child caring institution under this subsection.

(4) If  information under s. 972.15 (2m) has been provided in
a presentence investigation report, the court shall consider that
information when sentencing the defendant.

History:   1973 c. 90; 1975 c. 189 s. 99 (1); 1975 c. 224 s. 146m; 1983 a. 102, 1983
a. 371 s. 13; Stats. 1983 s. 973.013; 1987 a. 27; 1989 a. 31, 107; 1993 a. 486; 1995
a. 27; 1997 a. 283.

The sentencing judge shall state for the record in the presence of the defendant the
reasons for selecting the particular sentence imposed or, if the sentencing judge con-
siders it in the interest of the defendant not to state reasons in the presence of the
defendant, shall prepare a statement for transmission to the reviewing court as part
of the record.  McCleary v. State, 49 Wis. 2d 263, 182 N.W.2d 512.

It was not a denial of equal protection to sentence a defendant to 4 years imprison-
ment although other persons involved, all minors, received lesser or no punishment.
State v. Schilz, 50 Wis. 2d 395, 184 N.W.2d 134.

An abuse of discretion, as it relates to sentencing procedures, will be found only
if there is no rational basis for the imposition of the sentence or the rationale is not
articulated in, or inferable from, the record, or where discretion is exercised on the
basis of clearly irrelevant or improper factors.  Davis v. State, 52 Wis. 2d 697, 190
N.W.2d 890.

The seriousness of the offense is a proper criterion for imposing a maximum sen-
tence.  While warehousing dangerous individuals is not the sole purpose for imposing
long prison terms, it is a legitimate factor for a trial court to consider.  Bastian v. State,
54 Wis. 2d 240, 194 N.W.2d 687.

The trial court’s increase of the defendant’s sentence based solely on “reflection”
did not constitute a valid basis for modification of a sentence.  There was no “new
factor” justifying a more severe sentence, a prerequisite for sentence reevaluation.
Scott v. State, 64 Wis. 2d 54, 218 N.W.2d 350.

Sentence of the maximum 5 years in prison is reduced to reflect 89 days of a total
118 days of pretrial incarceration during which time defendant was unable to raise
bail because of indigency.  Wilkins v. State, 66 Wis. 2d 628, 225 N.W.2d 492.

A defendant’s change in attitude or rehabilitative progress subsequent to sentenc-
ing is a factor to be considered in determining parole but is not a proper consideration
upon which a trial court might base a reduction of sentence.  State v. Wuensch, 69 Wis.
2d 467, 230 N.W.2d 665.

The trial court’s modification and making concurrent of certain of defendant’s sen-
tences for burglary was proper on the basis that subsequent to imposition of sentence
the supreme court determined in Edelman v. State, 62 Wis. 2d 613, that a prison sen-
tence has a minimum parole eligibility of one−year, because at the original sentencing
hearing, the state emphasized eligibility for “instant parole” as a reason for the
imposition of a substantial sentence on the first count and consecutive sentences on
the other counts.  Kutchera v. State, 69 Wis. 2d 534, 230 N.W.2d 750.

Although evidence concerning the incidents of sexual activity abroad was relevant
as to defendant’s character and admissible at the sentencing hearing, the trial court
abused its discretion by punishing defendant not only for the crime of which he stood
convicted, but for the events that occurred outside Wisconsin, as indicated by the fact
that both sentencing hearings were devoted largely to these foreign incidents.  Rosado
v. State, 70 Wis. 2d 280, 234 N.W.2d 69.

The trial court exceeded jurisdiction by specifying conditions of incarceration.
State v. Gibbons, 71 Wis. 2d 94, 237 N.W.2d 33.

A plea bargain agreement by law enforcement officials not to reveal relevant and
pertinent information to the sentencing judge was unenforceable as being against
public policy.  Grant v. State, 73 Wis. 2d 441, 243 N.W.2d 186.

Chronic offenses of theft by fraud by promising to marry several persons provided
a rational basis for a lengthy sentence.  Lambert v. State, 73 Wis. 2d 590, 243 N.W.2d
524.

A sentencing judge does not deny due process by considering pending criminal
charges in determining a sentence.  The scope of judicial inquiry prior to sentencing
is discussed.  Handel v. State, 74 Wis. 2d 699, 247 N.W.2d 711.

A defendant’s refusal to name accomplices was properly considered by the sen-
tencing judge.  Because the defendant had pleaded guilty to the crime, self−
incrimination would not have resulted from the requested cooperation. Holmes v.
State, 76 Wis. 2d 259, 251 N.W.2d 56.

Courts may correct formal or clerical errors or an illegal sentence at any time.
Krueger v. State, 86 Wis. 2d 435, 272 N.W.2d 847 (1979).

The double jeopardy clause did not bar prosecution of a charge after it was consid-
ered as evidence of character in sentencing the defendant on a prior unrelated convic-
tion.  State v. Jackson, 110 Wis. 2d 548, 329 N.W.2d 182 (1983).

Increasing a sentence sentence following the vacation of plea bargained no contest
pea did not violate due process.  The test for judicial vindictiveness is discussed.  State
v. Stubbendick, 110 Wis. 2d 693, 329 N.W.2d 399 (1983).

A reduction in the maximum statutory penalty for an offense is not a “new factor”
justifying a postconviction motion to modify the sentence.  State v. Hegwood, 113
Wis. 2d 544, 335 N.W.2d 399 (1983).

An 80−year sentence for a first−time sexual offender was not an abuse of discre-
tion.  State v. Curbello−Rodriguez, 119 Wis. 2d 414, 351 N.W.2d 758 (Ct. App. 1984).

An unambiguous sentence pronounced orally and recorded in the sentencing tran-
script controls over the written judgment of conviction.  State v. Perry, 136 Wis. 2d
92, 401 N.W.2d 748 (1987).

The sentencing court does not abuse its discretion in considering a victim’s state-
ments and recommendations.  State v. Johnson, 158 Wis. 2d 458, 463 N.W.2d 352 (Ct.
App. 1990).

The primary factors to be considered in exercising discretion in sentencing are
gravity of offense, rehabilitative needs of defendant and protection of public.  State
v. Paske, 163 Wis. 2d 52, 471 N.W.2d 55 (1991).

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/302.113(3)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/302.113(9)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/973.01(3m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/302.045(3m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/973.01(8)(a)3.
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1997/283
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/973.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/ch.%20304
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/973.013(3m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/302.01
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/302.11
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/ch.%20304
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/1999/972.15(2m)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1973/90
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1975/189
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1975/189,%20s.%2099
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1975/224
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1975/224,%20s.%20146m
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1983/102
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1983/371
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1983/371
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1983/371,%20s.%2013
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1987/27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1989/31
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1989/107
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1993/486
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1995/27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1995/27
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/acts/1997/283
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/49%20Wis.%202d%20263
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/182%20N.W.2d%20512
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/50%20Wis.%202d%20395
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/184%20N.W.2d%20134
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/52%20Wis.%202d%20697
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/190%20N.W.2d%20890
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/190%20N.W.2d%20890
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/54%20Wis.%202d%20240
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/194%20N.W.2d%20687
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/64%20Wis.%202d%2054
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/218%20N.W.2d%20350
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/66%20Wis.%202d%20628
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/225%20N.W.2d%20492
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/69%20Wis.%202d%20467
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/69%20Wis.%202d%20467
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/230%20N.W.2d%20665
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/62%20Wis.%202d%20613
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/69%20Wis.%202d%20534
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/230%20N.W.2d%20750
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/70%20Wis.%202d%20280
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/234%20N.W.2d%2069
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/71%20Wis.%202d%2094
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/237%20N.W.2d%2033
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/73%20Wis.%202d%20441
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/243%20N.W.2d%20186
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/73%20Wis.%202d%20590
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/243%20N.W.2d%20524
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/243%20N.W.2d%20524
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/74%20Wis.%202d%20699
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/247%20N.W.2d%20711
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/76%20Wis.%202d%20259
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/251%20N.W.2d%2056
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/86%20Wis.%202d%20435
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/272%20N.W.2d%20847
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/110%20Wis.%202d%20548
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/329%20N.W.2d%20182
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/110%20Wis.%202d%20693
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/329%20N.W.2d%20399
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/113%20Wis.%202d%20544
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/113%20Wis.%202d%20544
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/335%20N.W.2d%20399
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/119%20Wis.%202d%20414
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/351%20N.W.2d%20758
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/136%20Wis.%202d%2092
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/136%20Wis.%202d%2092
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/401%20N.W.2d%20748
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/158%20Wis.%202d%20458
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/463%20N.W.2d%20352
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/163%20Wis.%202d%2052
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/courts/471%20N.W.2d%2055


SENTENCING  973.0143 Updated 99−00 Wis. Stats. Database

Wisconsin Statutes Archive.

Due process does not require the presence of counsel at a presentence investigation
interview of the defendant.  State v. Perez, 170 Wis. 2d 130, 487 N.W.2d 630 (Ct. App.
1992).

Whether a particular factor will be considered as a mitigating or aggravating factor
will  depend on the particular defendant and case.  State v. Thompson, 172 Wis. 2d
257, 493 N.W.2d 729 (Ct. App. 1992).

The trial court’s possible consideration at sentencing of the defendant’s culpability
in a more serious offense although the jury convicted on a lesser included offense was
not error.  State v. Marhal, 172 Wis. 2d 491, 493 N.W.2d 758 (Ct. App. 1992).  See
also State v. Bobbitt, 178 Wis. 2d 11, 503 N.W.2d 11 (Ct. App. 1993).

No specific burden of proof is imposed as to read−in offenses that bear upon sen-
tencing; all sentencing is under the standard for judicial discretion.  State v. Hubert,
181 Wis. 2d 333, 510 N.W.2d 799 (Ct. App. 1993).

A sentencing court may consider a defendant’s religious beliefs and practices only
if  a reliable nexus exists between the defendant’s criminal conduct and those beliefs
and practices.  State v. Fuerst, 181 Wis. 2d 903, 512 N.W.2d 243 (Ct. App. 1994).

If  an oral pronouncement is ambiguous, it is proper to look to the written judgment
to ascertain a court’s intent in sentencing.  An omission in the oral pronouncement
can create an ambiguity. State v. Lipke, 186 Wis. 2d 358, 521 N.W.2d 444 (Ct. App.
1994).

Under s. 973.013, 1991 stats., [now sub. (1)], life imprisonment without parole is
not an option.  State v. Setagord, 187 Wis. 2d 339, 523 N.W.2d 124 (Ct. App. 1994).

A trial court in exercising sentencing discretion is not prohibited from entertaining
general predispositions based on experience, but the judge’s predispositions may
never be so specific as to ignore the particular circumstances of the individual
offender.  State v. Ogden, 199 Wis. 2d 566, 544 N.W.2d 574 (1996).

A defendant who requests resentencing must show specific information was inac-
curate and that the court relied on it.  When facts stated in a presentence report are
not challenged at sentencing, the sentencing judge may appropriately consider them.
State v. Mosley, 201 Wis. 2d 36, 547 N.W.2d 806 (Ct. App. 1996).

A court must consider 3 primary factors in exercising discretion in sentencing: (1)
the gravity of the offense; (2) the character of the offender; and (3) the need to protect
the public.  Remorse is an additional factor that may be considered.  State v. Rodgers,
203 Wis. 2d 83, 552 N.W.2d 123 (Ct. App. 1996).  For enumeration of other additional
factors that may be considered, see, State v. Barnes, 203 Wis. 2d 132,  552 N.W.2d
857 (Ct. App. 1996).

A defendant is automatically prejudiced when the prosecutor materially and sub-
stantially breaches a plea agreement.  New sentencing is required.  State v. Smith, 207
Wis. 2d 259, 558 N.W.2d 379 (1997).

When resentencing a defendant, a court should consider all information relevant
about a defendant, including information not existing or not known when sentence
was first passed. State v. Carter, 208 Wis. 2d 142, 560 N.W.2d 256 (1997).

A marital relationship between the prosecutor of a case and the presentence repot
writer is sufficient to draw the objectivity of the report into question.  It was error not
to strike such a report.  State v. Suchocki, 208 Wis. 2d 509, 561 N.W.2d 332 (Ct. App.
1997).

Rehabilitation may not be considered as a “new factor” for purposes of modifying
an already imposed sentence.  State v. Kluck, 210 Wis. 2d 1, 563 N.W.2d 468 (1997).

A new factor justifying sentence modification is a fact that is highly relevant but
not known by the judge at the time of sentencing because it did not exist or was
unknowingly overlooked.  The new factor must operate to frustrate the sentencing
court’s original intent.  State v. Johnson, 210 Wis. 2d 197, 565 N.W.2d 191 (Ct. App.
1997).

Evidence of unproven offenses involving the defendant my be considered in sen-
tencing decisions, as the court must consider whether the crime is an isolated act or
part of a pattern of conduct.  State v. Fisher, 211 Wis. 2d 664, 565 N.W.2d 565 (Ct.
App. 1997).

A defendant’s argument that his sentence was excessive in relation to other sen-
tences for similar crimes committed in the same county was without merit.  There is
no requirement that persons convicted of similar offenses must receive similar sen-
tences.  State v. Lechner, 217 Wis. 2d 392, 576 N.W.2d 912 (1998).

That a conviction followed an Alford plea did not prevent requiring the defendant,
as a condition, to complete a treatment program that required acknowledging respon-
sibility for the crime which resulted in the conviction.  The imposition of the condition
did not violate the defendant’s due process rights.  There is nothing inherent in an
Alford plea that gives a defendant any rights as to punishment.  State ex rel. Warren
v. Schwarz, 219 Wis. 2d 616, 579 N.W.2d 698 (1998).

When a victim’s criminal record supports a defendant’s version of a crime, the
gravity of which crime is a sentencing factor, the criminal record should be admitted
as evidence at the defendant’s sentencing hearing.  State v. Spears, 227 Wis. 2d 495,
596 N.W.2d 375 (1999).

In fixing sentence within statutory limits, judge may consider defendant’s false tes-
timony observed by judge during trial.  United States v. Grayson, 438 U.S. 41 (1978).

Appellate sentence review.  1976 WLR 655. (1983).

973.0135 Sentence  for certain serious felonies; parole
eligibility  determination.   (1) In this section:

(a)  “Prior offender” means a person who meets all of the fol-
lowing conditions:

1.  The person has been convicted of a serious felony on at
least one separate occasion at any time preceding the serious fel-
ony for which he or she is being sentenced.

2.  The person’s conviction under subd. 1. remains of record
and unreversed.

3.  As a result of the conviction under subd. 1., the person was
sentenced to more than one year of imprisonment.

(b)  “Serious felony” means any of the following:

1.  Any felony under s. 961.41 (1), (1m) or (1x) if the felony
is punishable by a maximum prison term of 30 years or more.

2.  Any felony under s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05,
940.09 (1), 940.16, 940.19 (5), 940.195 (5), 940.21, 940.225 (1)
or (2), 940.305, 940.31, 941.327 (2) (b) 4., 943.02, 943.10 (2),
943.23 (1g), (1m) or (1r), 943.32 (2), 946.43 (1m), 948.02 (1) or
(2), 948.025, 948.03 (2) (a) or (c), 948.05, 948.06, 948.07, 948.08,
948.30 (2), 948.35 (1) (b) or (c) or 948.36.

3.  The solicitation, conspiracy or attempt, under s. 939.30,
939.31 or 939.32, to commit a Class A felony.

4.  A crime at any time under federal law or the law of any
other state or, prior to April 21, 1994, under the law of this state
that is comparable to a crime specified in subd. 1., 2. or 3.

(2) Except as provided in sub. (3), when a court sentences a
prior offender to imprisonment in a state prison for a serious fel-
ony committed on or after April 21, 1994, but before Decem-
ber 31, 1999, the court shall make a parole eligibility determina-
tion regarding the person and choose one of the following options:

(a)  The person is eligible for parole under s. 304.06 (1).
(b)  The person is eligible for parole on a date set by the court.

Under this paragraph, the court may not set a date that occurs
before the earliest possible parole eligibility date as calculated
under s. 304.06 (1) and may not set a date that occurs later than
two−thirds of the sentence imposed for the felony.

(3) A person is not subject to this section if the current serious
felony is punishable by life imprisonment.

(4) If  a prior conviction is being considered as being covered
under sub. (1) (b) 4. as comparable to a felony specified under sub.
(1) (b) 1., 2. or 3., the conviction may be counted as a prior convic-
tion under sub. (1) (a) only if the court determines, beyond a rea-
sonable doubt, that the violation relating to that conviction would
constitute a felony specified under sub. (1) (b) 1., 2. or 3. if com-
mitted by an adult in this state.

History:   1993 a. 194, 483; 1995 a. 448; 1997 a. 219, 283, 295; 1999 a. 32, 188.

973.014 Sentence of life imprisonment; parole eligibil -
ity  determination; extended supervision  eligibility
determination.   (1) Except as provided in sub. (2), when a court
sentences a person to life imprisonment for a crime committed on
or after July 1, 1988, but before December 31, 1999, the court
shall make a parole eligibility determination regarding the person
and choose one of the following options:

(a)  The person is eligible for parole under s. 304.06 (1).
(b)  The person is eligible for parole on a date set by the court.

Under this paragraph, the court may set any later date than that
provided in s. 304.06 (1), but may not set a date that occurs before
the earliest possible parole eligibility date as calculated under s.
304.06 (1).

(c)  The person is not eligible for parole.  This paragraph
applies only if the court sentences a person for a crime committed
on or after August 31, 1995, but before December 31, 1999.

(1g) (a)  Except as provided in sub. (2), when a court sen-
tences a person to life imprisonment for a crime committed on or
after December 31, 1999, the court shall make an extended super-
vision eligibility date determination regarding the person and
choose one of the following options:

1.  The person is eligible for release to extended supervision
after serving 20 years.

2.  The person is eligible for release to extended supervision
on a date set by the court.  Under this subdivision, the court may
set any later date than that provided in subd. 1., but may not set a
date that occurs before the earliest possible date under subd. 1.

3.  The person is not eligible for release to extended supervi-
sion.

(b)  When sentencing a person to life imprisonment under par.
(a), the court shall inform the person of the provisions of s.
302.114 (3) and the procedure for petitioning under s. 302.114 (5)
for release to extended supervision.
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(c)  A person sentenced to life imprisonment under par. (a) is
not eligible for release on parole.

(2) When a court sentences a person to life imprisonment
under s. 939.62 (2m) (c), the court shall provide that the sentence
is without the possibility of parole or extended supervision.

History:   1987 a. 412; 1989 a. 31; 1993 a. 289; 1995 a. 48; 1997 a. 283, 326; 1999
a. 32.

The constitutionality of 973.014 is upheld.  State v. Borrell, 167 Wis. 2d 749, 482
N.W.2d 883 (1992).

The denial of presentence confinement credit when parole was established under
sub. (2), 1991stats., [now (1) (b)] was constitutional.  State v. Chapman, 175 Wis. 2d
231, 499 N.W.2d 223 (Ct. App. 1993).

Sub. (1) (b) allowed a circuit court to impose a parole eligibility date beyond a
defendant’s expected lifetime.  State v. Setagord, 211 Wis. 2d 397, 565 N.W.2d 506
(1997).

A trial court sentencing a defendant under sub. (1) (b), exercising its discretion,
may or may not give credit for presentence incarceration.  State v. Seeley, 212 Wis.
2d 75, 567 N.W.2d 897 (Ct. App. 1997).

Parole eligibility is not a statutorily or constitutionally necessary component of a
valid plea colloquy in a case in which a life sentence is imposed.  State v. Byrge, 225
Wis. 2d 702, 594 N.W.2d 388 (Ct. App. 1999).

973.015 Misdemeanors,  special  disposition.   (1) When
a person is under the age of 21 at the time of the commission of
an offense for which the person has been found guilty in a court
for violation of a law for which the maximum penalty is imprison-
ment for one year or less in the county jail, the court may order at
the time of sentencing that the record be expunged upon success-
ful completion of the sentence if the court determines the person
will  benefit and society will not be harmed by this disposition.

(2) A person has successfully completed the sentence if the
person has not been convicted of a subsequent offense and, if on
probation, the probation has not been revoked and the probationer
has satisfied the conditions of probation.  Upon successful
completion of the sentence the detaining or probationary authority
shall issue a certificate of discharge which shall be forwarded to
the court of record and which shall have the effect of expunging
the record.

History:   1975 c. 39; 1975 c. 189 s. 105; 1975 c. 199; 1983 a. 519; 1991 a. 189.
Forfeitures may not be expunged under sub. (1).  State v. Michaels, 142 Wis. 2d

172, 417 N.W.2d 415 (Ct. App. 1987).
An expunged conviction is not admissible to attack a witness’s credibility.  State

v. Anderson, 160 Wis. 2d 435, 466 N.W.2d 681 (Ct. App. 1991).
“Expunge” under this section means to strike or obliterate from the record all refer-

ences to defendant’s name and identity.  67 Atty. Gen. 301.
Circuit courts do not possess inherent powers to expunge or destroy conviction

records.  70 Atty. Gen. 115.

973.02 Place of imprisonment when none expressed.
Except as provided in s. 973.032, if a statute authorizes imprison-
ment for its violation but does not prescribe the place of imprison-
ment, a sentence of less than one year shall be to the county jail,
a sentence of more than one year shall be to the Wisconsin state
prisons and the minimum under the indeterminate sentence law
shall be one year, and a sentence of one year may be to either the
Wisconsin state prisons or the county jail.  In any proper case, sen-
tence and commitment may be to the department or any house of
correction or other institution as provided by law or to detention
under s. 973.03 (4).

History:   1973 c. 90; 1987 a. 27; 1991 a. 39.
The legislature is presumed to have been aware of many existing statutes carrying

sentences of one year or less with no place of confinement specified when it enacted
the predecessor to s. 973.02 as chapter 154, laws of 1945. State ex rel. McDonald v.
Douglas Cty. Cir. Ct. 100 Wis. 2d 569, 302 N.W.2d 462 (1981).

Criminal defendant who receives consecutive sentences that in aggregate exceed
one year, but individually are all less than one year, should be incarcerated in county
jail rather than Wisconsin prison system. 78 Atty. Gen. 44.

973.03 Jail  sentence.   (1) If at the time of passing sentence
upon a defendant who is to be imprisoned in a county jail there is
no jail in the county suitable for the defendant and no cooperative
agreement under s. 302.44, the court may sentence the defendant
to any suitable county jail in the state.  The expenses of supporting
the defendant there shall be borne by the county in which the crime
was committed.

(2) A defendant sentenced to the Wisconsin state prisons and
to a county jail or house of correction for separate crimes shall

serve all sentences whether concurrent or consecutive in the state
prisons.

(3) (a)  If a court sentences a defendant to imprisonment in the
county jail, the court may provide that the defendant perform com-
munity service work under pars. (b) and (c).  The defendant earns
good time at a rate of one day for each 3 days of work performed.
A day of work equals 8 hours of work performed.  This good time
is in addition to good time authorized under s. 302.43.

(b)  The court may require that the defendant perform commu-
nity service work for a public agency or a nonprofit charitable
organization.  The number of hours of work required may not
exceed what would be reasonable considering the seriousness of
the offense and any other offense which is read into the record at
the time of conviction.  An order may only apply if agreed to by
the defendant and the organization or agency.  The court shall
ensure that the defendant is provided a written statement of the
terms of the community service order and that the community ser-
vice order is monitored.

(c)  Any organization or agency acting in good faith to which
a defendant is assigned pursuant to an order under this subsection
has immunity from any civil liability in excess of $25,000 for acts
or omissions by or impacting on the defendant.

(d)  This subsection applies to persons who are sentenced to a
county jail but are transferred to a Huber facility under s. 303.09,
to a county work camp under s. 303.10 or to a tribal jail under s.
302.445.

(e)  A court may not provide that a defendant perform commu-
nity service work under this subsection if the defendant is being
sentenced regarding any of the following:

1.  A crime which is a Class A or B felony.
2.  A crime which is a Class C felony listed in s. 969.08 (10)

(b), but not including any crime specified in s. 943.10.
3.  A crime which is a Class C felony specified in s. 948.05.

(4) (a)  In lieu of a sentence of imprisonment to the county jail,
a court may impose a sentence of detention at the defendant’s
place of residence or other place designated by the court.  The
length of detention may not exceed the maximum possible period
of imprisonment.  The detention shall be monitored by the use of
an electronic device worn continuously on the defendant’s person
and capable of providing positive identification of the wearer at
the detention location at any time.  A sentence of detention in lieu
of jail confinement may be imposed only if agreed to by the
defendant.  The court shall ensure that the defendant is provided
a written statement of the terms of the sentence of detention,
including a description of the detention monitoring procedures
and requirements and of any applicable liability issues.  The terms
of the sentence of detention may include a requirement that the
defendant pay a daily fee to cover the costs associated with moni-
toring him or her.  In that case, the terms must specify to whom the
payments are made.

(b)  A person sentenced to detention under par. (a) is eligible
to earn good time in the amount of one−fourth of his or her term
for good behavior if sentenced to at least 4 days, but fractions of
a day shall be ignored.  The person shall be given credit for time
served prior to sentencing under s. 973.155, including good time
under s. 973.155 (4). If the defendant fails to comply with the
terms of the sentence of detention, the court may order the defend-
ant brought before the court and the court may order the defendant
deprived of good time.

(c)  If the defendant fails to comply with the terms of the sen-
tence of detention, the court may order the defendant brought
before the court and the court may order that the remainder of the
sentence of detention be served in the county jail.

(d)  A sentence under this subsection is not a sentence of
imprisonment, except for purposes of ss. 973.04, 973.15 (8) (a)
and 973.19.

(5) (a)  In this subsection:
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1.  “Commission of a serious crime” has the meaning given
under s. 969.08 (10) (a).

2.  “Serious crime” has the meaning given under s. 969.08 (10)
(b).

(b)  In lieu of a continuous sentence, a court may sentence a per-
son to serve a series of periods, not less than 48 hours nor more
than 3 days for each period, of imprisonment in a county jail.  The
person is not subject to confinement between periods of imprison-
ment.

(c)  A court may not sentence a person under par. (b) regarding
any violation under ch. 961 or the commission of a serious crime.

History:  1971 c. 298; 1983 a. 110, 192; 1985 a. 150; 1987 a. 27; 1987 a. 332 s.
64; 1987 a. 398, 399; 1989 a. 31, 85; 1993 a. 48; 1995 a. 281, 448.

973.032 Sentence  to  intensive sanctions program.
(1) SENTENCE.  Beginning July 1, 1992, a court may sentence a
person who is convicted of a felony occurring on or after
August 15, 1991, but before December 31, 1999, to participate in
the intensive sanctions program under s. 301.048.  If a person is
convicted of a felony occurring on or after December 31, 1999, a
court may not sentence the person to participate in the intensive
sanctions program under s. 301.048.

(2) ELIGIBILITY.   (a)  A court may sentence a person under sub.
(1) if the department provides a presentence investigation report
recommending that the person be sentenced to the program.  If the
department does not make the recommendation, a court may order
the department to assess and evaluate the person.  After that
assessment and evaluation, the court may sentence the person to
the program unless the department objects on the ground that it
recommends that the person be placed on probation.

(b)  Notwithstanding par. (a), the court may not sentence a per-
son under sub. (1) if he or she is convicted of a felony punishable
by life imprisonment or has at any time been convicted, adjudi-
cated delinquent or found not guilty or not responsible by reason
of insanity or mental disease, defect or illness for committing a
violent offense, as defined in s. 301.048 (2) (bm).

(3) LIMITATIONS.  The following apply to a sentence under sub.
(1):

(a)  The court shall provide a maximum period for the sentence,
which may not exceed the maximum term of imprisonment that
could be imposed on the person, including imprisonment autho-
rized by any penalty enhancement statute.

(b)  The court shall provide a maximum period for placements
under s. 301.048 (3) (a) 1., which may not exceed one year unless
the defendant waives this requirement.

(c)  1.  In this paragraph, “Type 1 prison” has the meaning given
in s. 301.01 (5).

2.  The court may prescribe reasonable and necessary condi-
tions of the sentence in accordance with s. 301.048 (3), except the
court may not specify a particular Type 1 prison, jail, camp or
facility where the offender is to be placed under s. 301.048 (3) (a)
and the court may not restrict the department’s authority under s.
301.048 (3) (b) or (c).

(4) MODIFICATION.  (a)  The department may provide for place-
ments under s. 301.048 (3) (a) for a shorter period than the maxi-
mum period specified by the court under sub. (3) (b).

(b)  The department may request that the court extend the maxi-
mum period provided by the court under sub. (3) (a) or the maxi-
mum period provided by the court under sub. (3) (b) or both.
Unless a hearing is voluntarily waived by the person, the court
shall hold a hearing on the matter.  The court may not extend the
maximum period of the sentence beyond the amount allowable
under sub. (3) (a).  Except as provided in par. (c), the court may
not extend the maximum period for placements under s. 301.048
(3) (a) 1. beyond a total, including the original period and all
extensions, of 2 years or two−thirds of the maximum term of
imprisonment that could have been imposed on the person, which-
ever is less.

(c)  The court may extend under par. (b) the maximum period
for placements under s. 301.048 (3) (a) 1. to a period not exceed-
ing two−thirds of the maximum term of imprisonment that could
have been imposed on the person under sub. (3) (a) for his or her
sentence to the intensive sanctions program if all of the following
apply:

1.  The person escaped from a sentence to the intensive sanc-
tions program.

2.  The person is sentenced for the escape under s. 946.42 (4)
(b) to a sentence of imprisonment concurrent with the sentence to
the intensive sanctions program.

3.  The sentence under subd. 2. exceeds the total of the maxi-
mum period originally provided by the court under sub. (3) (b) for
the sentence to the intensive sanctions program and the maximum
extensions available under par. (b).

(5) PAROLE RESTRICTIONS.  A person sentenced under sub. (1)
is eligible for parole except as provided in ss. 302.11, 304.02 and
304.06.

(6) CREDIT.  Any sentence credit under s. 973.155 (1) applies
toward service of the period under sub. (3) (a) but does not apply
toward service of the period under sub. (3) (b).

History:   1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 79; 1995 a. 27, 390; 1997 a. 283; 1999 a. 9, 185.
When a presentence investigation recommends it, nothing prohibits a court from

sentencing a person for whom the sentencing guidelines would recommend probation
to the intensive sanctions program.  State v. Miller, 180 Wis. 2d 320, 509 N.W.2d 98
(Ct. App. 1993).

An extension of confinement under this provision may be appealed by common
law writ of certiorari.  The time for appeal is governed by s. 808.04.  State v. Bridges,
195 Wis. 2d 254, 536 N.W.2d 153 (Ct. App. 1995).

The extension of a placement period under the intensive sanctions program must
be based on public safety considerations and the participant’s need for punishment
and treatment.  All that needs to be shown at an extension hearing is that the partici-
pant has not made sufficient progress in the program and that more time is required
to meet those concerns.  State v. Turner, 200 Wis. 2d 168, 546 N.W.2d 880 (Ct. App.
1996).

The right, under s. 972.14 (2), of a defendant to make a statement prior to sentenc-
ing does not apply to an extension of a placement under the intensive sanctions pro-
gram.  State v. Turner, 200 Wis. 2d 168, 546 N.W.2d 880 (Ct. App. 1996).

Intensive Sanctions: A New Sentencing Option.  Fiedler.  Wis. Law.  June 1992.

973.033 Sentencing;  restriction on firearm posses -
sion.   Whenever a court imposes a sentence or places a defendant
on probation regarding a felony conviction, the court shall inform
the defendant of the requirements and penalties under s. 941.29.

History:   1989 a. 142.
Failure to give the warning under this section does not prevent a conviction under

s. 941.29.  State v. Phillips, 172 Wis. 2d 391, 493 N.W.2d 270 (Ct. App. 1992).

973.034 Sentencing;  restriction on child sex offender
working  with children.   Whenever a court imposes a sentence
or places a defendant on probation regarding a conviction under
s. 940.22 (2) or 940.225 (2) (c) or (cm), if the victim is under 18
years of age at the time of the offense, or a conviction under s.
948.02 (1), 948.025 (1), 948.05 (1) or (1m), 948.06 or 948.07 (1),
(2), (3) or (4), the court shall inform the defendant of the require-
ments and penalties under s. 948.13.

History:   1995 a. 265; 1997 a. 220; 1999 a. 3.

973.035 Transfer  to state−local shared correctional
facilities.   Any person serving a sentence of imprisonment to the
Wisconsin state prisons, a county jail, a county reforestation camp
or a county house of correction or serving a sentence to the inten-
sive sanctions program may be transferred to a state−local shared
correctional facility under s. 302.45 (1).

History:   1983 a. 332; 1989 a. 31; 1991 a. 39.

973.04 Credit  for imprisonment under earlier sentence
for  the same crime.   When a sentence is vacated and a new sen-
tence is imposed upon the defendant for the same crime, the
department shall credit the defendant with confinement pre-
viously served.

History:   1983 a. 66, 528.
While periods of time served due to an indigent’s inability to post bail prior to trial

must be credited as time served on a prison sentence imposed, a court need not credit
time served by an indigent offender against probationary confinement. State v. Avila,
192 Wis. 2d 870, 532 N.W.2d 423 (Ct. App. 1995).
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973.045 Crime  victim and witness assistance sur -
charge.   (1) On or after October 1, 1983, if a court imposes a
sentence or places a person on probation, the court shall impose
a crime victim and witness assistance surcharge calculated as fol-
lows:

(a)  For each misdemeanor offense or count, $50.
(b)  For each felony offense or count, $70.
(2) After the clerk determines the amount due, the clerk of

court shall collect and transmit the amount to the county treasurer
under s. 59.40 (2) (m).  The county treasurer shall then make pay-
ment to the state treasurer under s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

(3) (a)  The clerk shall record the crime victim and witness sur-
charge in 2 parts.  Part A is the portion that the state treasurer shall
credit to the appropriation account under s. 20.455 (5) (g) and part
B is the portion that the state treasurer shall credit to the appropria-
tion account under s. 20.455 (5) (gc), as follows:

1.  Part A equals $30 for each misdemeanor offense or count
and $50 for each felony offense or count.

2.  Part B equals $20 for each misdemeanor offense or count
and $20 for each felony offense or count.

(b)  The person paying the crime victim and witness surcharge
shall pay all of the moneys due under part A before he or she pays
any of the moneys due under part B.

(4) If  an inmate in a state prison or a person sentenced to a state
prison has not paid the crime victim and witness assistance sur-
charge under this section, the department shall assess and collect
the amount owed from the inmate’s wages or other moneys.  Any
amount collected shall be transmitted to the state treasurer.

History:   1983 a. 27; 1987 a. 27; 1989 a. 31; 1993 a. 16; 1995 a. 201.

973.046 Deoxyribonucleic  acid analysis  surcharge.
(1g) Except as provided in sub. (1r), if a court imposes a sentence
or places a person on probation for a felony conviction, the court
may impose a deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge of $250.

(1r) If  a court imposes a sentence or places a person on proba-
tion for a violation of s. 940.225, 948.02 (1) or (2) or 948.025, the
court shall impose a deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge of
$250.

(2) After the clerk of court determines the amount due, the
clerk shall collect and transmit the amount to the county treasurer
under s. 59.40 (2) (m).  The county treasurer shall then make pay-
ment to the state treasurer under s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

(3) All  moneys collected from deoxyribonucleic acid analysis
surcharges shall be deposited by the state treasurer as specified in
s. 20.455 (2) (Lm) and utilized under s. 165.77.

(4) If  an inmate in a state prison or a person sentenced to a state
prison has not paid the deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge
under this section, the department shall assess and collect the
amount owed from the inmate’s wages or other moneys.  Any
amount collected shall be transmitted to the state treasurer.

History:   1993 a. 16; 1995 a. 201; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 9.

973.047 Deoxyribonucleic  acid analysis require -
ments.   (1f) If a court imposes a sentence or places a person on
probation for a felony conviction, the court shall require the per-
son to provide a biological specimen to the state crime laborato-
ries for deoxyribonucleic acid analysis.

(1m) The results from deoxyribonucleic acid analysis of a
specimen provided under this section may be used only as autho-
rized under s. 165.77 (3).  The state crime laboratories shall
destroy any such specimen in accordance with s. 165.77 (3).

(2) The department of justice shall promulgate rules providing
for procedures for defendants to provide specimens when
required to do so under this section and for the transportation of
those specimens to the state crime laboratories for analysis under
s. 165.77.

History:   1993 a. 16, 98, 227; 1995 a. 440; 1999 a. 9.

973.048 Sex offender reporting requirements.
(1m) Except as provided in sub. (2m), if a court imposes a sen-

tence or places a person on probation for any violation, or for the
solicitation, conspiracy or attempt to commit any violation, under
ch. 940, 944 or 948 or ss. 943.01 to 943.15, the court may require
the person to comply with the reporting requirements under s.
301.45 if the court determines that the underlying conduct was
sexually motivated, as defined in s. 980.01 (5), and that it would
be in the interest of public protection to have the person report
under s. 301.45.

(2m) If  a court imposes a sentence or places a person on
probation for a violation, or for the solicitation, conspiracy or
attempt to commit a violation, of s. 940.22 (2), 940.225 (1), (2) or
(3), 944.06, 948.02 (1) or (2), 948.025, 948.05, 948.055, 948.06,
948.07, 948.08, 948.095, 948.11 (2) (a) or (am), 948.12, 948.13
or 948.30, or of s. 940.30 or 940.31 if the victim was a minor and
the person was not the victim’s parent, the court shall require the
person to comply with the reporting requirements under s. 301.45
unless the court determines, after a hearing on a motion made by
the person, that the person is not required to comply under s.
301.45 (1m).

(3) In determining under sub. (1m) whether it would be in the
interest of public protection to have the person report under s.
301.45, the court may consider any of the following:

(a)  The ages, at the time of the violation, of the person and the
victim of the violation.

(b)  The relationship between the person and the victim of the
violation.

(c)  Whether the violation resulted in bodily harm, as defined
in s. 939.22 (4), to the victim.

(d)  Whether the victim suffered from a mental illness or mental
deficiency that rendered him or her temporarily or permanently
incapable of understanding or evaluating the consequences of his
or her actions.

(e)  The probability that the person will commit other violations
in the future.

(g)  Any other factor that the court determines may be relevant
to the particular case.

(4) If  the court orders a person to comply with the reporting
requirements under s. 301.45, the court may order the person to
continue to comply with the reporting requirements until his or her
death.

(5) If  the court orders a person to comply with the reporting
requirements under s. 301.45, the clerk of the court in which the
order is entered shall promptly forward a copy of the order to the
department of corrections.  If the conviction on which the order is
based is reversed, set aside or vacated, the clerk of the court shall
promptly forward to the department of corrections a certificate
stating that the conviction has been reversed, set aside or vacated.

History:  1995 a. 440; 1997 a. 130; 1999 a. 89.

973.05 Fines.   (1) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a
fine, the court may grant permission for the payment of the fine,
of the penalty assessment imposed by s. 757.05, the jail assess-
ment imposed by s. 302.46 (1), the crime victim and witness
assistance surcharge under s. 973.045, the crime laboratories and
drug law enforcement assessment imposed by s. 165.755, any
applicable deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge under s.
973.046, any applicable drug abuse program improvement sur-
charge imposed by s. 961.41 (5), any applicable consumer infor-
mation assessment imposed by s. 100.261, any applicable domes-
tic abuse assessment imposed by s. 971.37 (1m) (c) 1. or 973.055,
any applicable driver improvement surcharge imposed by s.
346.655, any applicable enforcement assessment imposed by s.
253.06 (4) (c), any applicable weapons assessment imposed by s.
167.31, any applicable uninsured employer assessment imposed
by s. 102.85 (4), any applicable environmental assessment
imposed by s. 299.93, any applicable wild animal protection
assessment imposed by s. 29.983, any applicable natural
resources assessment imposed by s. 29.987 and any applicable
natural resources restitution payment imposed by s. 29.989 to be
made within a period not to exceed 60 days.  If no such permission
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is embodied in the sentence, the fine, the penalty assessment, the
jail assessment, the crime victim and witness assistance sur-
charge, the crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assess-
ment, any applicable deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge,
any applicable drug abuse program improvement surcharge, any
applicable consumer information assessment, any applicable
domestic abuse assessment, any applicable driver improvement
surcharge, any applicable enforcement assessment, any applica-
ble weapons assessment, any applicable uninsured employer
assessment, any applicable environmental assessment, any appli-
cable wild animal protection assessment, any applicable natural
resources assessment and any applicable natural resources restitu-
tion payment shall be payable immediately.

(1m) If  the court orders payment of restitution and a fine and
related payments under s. 973.20, the court may authorize a pay-
ment period in excess of the limit imposed under sub. (1).

(2) When a defendant is sentenced to pay a fine and is also
placed on probation, the court may make the payment of the fine,
the penalty assessment, the jail assessment, the crime victim and
witness assistance surcharge, the crime laboratories and drug law
enforcement assessment, any applicable deoxyribonucleic acid
analysis surcharge, any applicable drug abuse program improve-
ment surcharge, any applicable consumer information assess-
ment, any applicable domestic abuse assessment, any applicable
uninsured employer assessment, any applicable driver improve-
ment surcharge, any applicable enforcement assessment under s.
253.06 (4) (c), any applicable weapons assessment, any applica-
ble environmental assessment, any applicable wild animal protec-
tion assessment, any applicable natural resources assessment and
any applicable natural resources restitution payments a condition
of probation.  When the payments are made a condition of proba-
tion by the court, payments thereon shall be applied first to pay-
ment of the penalty assessment until paid in full, shall then be
applied to the payment of the jail assessment until paid in full,
shall then be applied to the payment of part A of the crime victim
and witness assistance surcharge until paid in full, shall then be
applied to part B of the crime victim and witness assistance sur-
charge until paid in full, shall then be applied to the crime labora-
tories and drug law enforcement assessment until paid in full, shall
then be applied to the deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge
until paid in full, shall then be applied to the drug abuse improve-
ment surcharge until paid in full, shall then be applied to payment
of the driver improvement surcharge until paid in full, shall then
be applied to payment of the domestic abuse assessment until paid
in full, shall then be applied to payment of the consumer informa-
tion assessment until paid in full, shall then be applied to payment
of the natural resources assessment if applicable until paid in full,
shall then be applied to payment of the natural resources restitu-
tion payment until paid in full, shall then be applied to the payment
of the environmental assessment if applicable until paid in full,
shall then be applied to the payment of the wild animal protection
assessment if applicable until paid in full, shall then be applied to
payment of the weapons assessment until paid in full, shall then
be applied to payment of the uninsured employer assessment until
paid in full, shall then be applied to payment of the enforcement
assessment under s. 253.06 (4) (c), if applicable, until paid in full
and shall then be applied to payment of the fine.

(3) (a)  In lieu of part or all of a fine imposed by a court, the
court may stay the execution of part or all of the sentence and pro-
vide that the defendant perform community service work under
pars. (b) and (c).  The amount of the fine actually paid, if any, shall
be used to determine any applicable assessment or surcharge
under sub. (1), except that any applicable driver improvement sur-
charge under s. 346.655 or any domestic abuse assessment
imposed by s. 973.055 shall be imposed regardless of whether part
or all of the sentence has been stayed.  If the defendant fails to
comply with the community service order, the court shall order the
defendant brought before the court for imposition of sentence.  If
the defendant complies with the community service order, he or
she has satisfied that portion of the sentence.

(b)  The court may require that the defendant perform commu-
nity service work for a public agency or a nonprofit charitable
organization.  The number of hours of work required may not
exceed what would be reasonable considering the seriousness of
the offense and any other offense which is read into the record at
the time of conviction.  An order may only apply if agreed to by
the defendant and the organization or agency.  The court shall
ensure that the defendant is provided a written statement of the
terms of the community service order and that the community ser-
vice order is monitored.

(c)  Any organization or agency acting in good faith to which
a defendant is assigned pursuant to an order under this subsection
has immunity from any civil liability in excess of $25,000 for acts
or omissions by or impacting on the defendant.

(4) If  a defendant fails to pay the fine, assessment, surcharge
or restitution payment within the period specified under sub. (1)
or (1m), the court may do any of the following:

(a)  Issue a judgment for the unpaid amount and direct the clerk
to file and docket a transcript of the judgment, without fee.  If the
court issues a judgment for the unpaid amount, the court shall send
to the defendant at his or her last−known address written notifica-
tion that a civil judgment has been issued for the unpaid fine,
assessment, surcharge or restitution payment.  The judgment has
the same force and effect as judgments docketed under s. 806.10.

(b)  Issue an order assigning not more than 25% of the defen-
dant’s commissions, earnings, salaries, wages, pension benefits,
benefits under ch. 102 and other money due or to be due in the
future to the clerk of circuit court for payment of the unpaid fine,
assessment, surcharge or restitution payment.  In this paragraph,
“employer” includes the state and its political subdivisions.

(c)  Issue an order assigning lottery prizes won by a defendant
whose name is on the list supplied to the clerk of circuit court
under s. 565.30 (5r) (a), for payment of the unpaid fine, assess-
ment, surcharge or restitution payment.

(4m) As provided in s. 767.265 (4), a child support withhold-
ing assignment under state law has priority over any assignment
or order under sub. (4).

(5) (a)  1.  Upon entry of the assignment under sub. (4) (b),
unless the court finds that income withholding is likely to cause
the defendant irreparable harm, the court shall provide notice of
the assignment by regular mail to the last−known address of the
person from whom the defendant receives or will receive money.
If  the clerk of circuit court does not receive the money from the
person notified, the court shall provide notice of the assignment
to any other person from whom the defendant receives or will
receive money.  Notice of an assignment under sub. (4) (b) shall
inform the intended recipient that, if a prior assignment under sub.
(4) (b) has been received relating to the same defendant, the recipi-
ent is required to notify the clerk of circuit court that sent the sub-
sequent notice of assignment that another assignment has already
been received.  A notice of assignment shall include a form per-
mitting the recipient to designate on the form that another assign-
ment has already been received.

2.  If, after receiving the annual list under s. 565.30 (5r) (a),
the clerk of circuit court determines that a person identified in the
list may be subject to an assignment under sub. (4) (c), the clerk
shall inform the court of that determination.  If the court issues an
order under sub. (4) (c), the clerk of circuit court shall send the
notice of that order to the administrator of the lottery division of
the department of revenue, including a statement of the amount
owed under the judgment and the name and address of the person
owing the judgment.  The court shall notify the administrator of
the lottery division of the department of revenue when the judg-
ment that is the basis of the assignment has been paid in full.

3.  Notice under this paragraph may be a notice of the court,
a copy of the executed assignment or a copy of that part of the
court order which directs payment.

(b)  For each payment made under the assignment under sub.
(4) (b), the person from whom the defendant under the order
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receives money shall receive an amount equal to the person’s nec-
essary disbursements, not to exceed $3, which shall be deducted
from the money to be paid to the defendant.

(c)  A person who receives notice of the assignment under sub.
(4) (b) shall withhold the amount specified in the notice from any
money that person pays to the defendant later than one week after
receipt of the notice of assignment.  Within 5 days after the day on
which the person pays money to the defendant, the person shall
send the amount withheld to the clerk of circuit court of the juris-
diction providing notice.  If the person has already received a
notice of an assignment under sub. (4) (b), the person shall retain
the later assignment and withhold the amount specified in that
assignment after the last of any prior assignments is paid in full.
Within 10 days of receipt of the later notice, the person shall notify
the clerk of circuit court that sent the notice that the person has
received a prior notice of an assignment under sub. (4) (b).  Sec-
tion 241.09 does not apply to assignments under this section.

(d)  If after receipt of notice of assignment under par. (a) 1. the
person from whom the defendant receives money fails to withhold
the money or send the money to the clerk of circuit court as pro-
vided in this subsection, the person may be proceeded against
under the principal action under ch. 785 for contempt of court or
may be proceeded against under ch. 778 and be required to forfeit
not less than $50 nor more than an amount, if the amount exceeds
$50, that is equal to 1% of the amount not withheld or sent.

(e)  If an employer who receives notice of an assignment under
sub. (4) (b) fails to notify the clerk of circuit court within 10 days
after an employee is terminated or otherwise temporarily or per-
manently leaves the employer’s employment, the employer may
be proceeded against under the principal action under ch. 785 for
contempt of court.

(f)  Compliance by the person from whom the defendant
receives money with the order operates as a discharge of the per-
son’s liability to the defendant as to that portion of the defendant’s
commission, earnings, salaries, wages, benefits or other money so
affected.

(g)  No employer may use an assignment under sub. (4) (b) as
a basis for the denial of employment to a defendant, the discharge
of an employee or any disciplinary action against an employee.
An employer who denies employment or discharges or disciplines
an employee in violation of this paragraph may be fined not more
than $500 and may be required to make full restitution to the
aggrieved person, including reinstatement and back pay.  Restitu-
tion shall be in accordance with s. 973.20.  An aggrieved person
may apply to the district attorney or to the department of work-
force development for enforcement of this paragraph.

(i)  1.  In this paragraph, “payroll period” has the meaning given
in s. 71.63 (5).

2.  If after an assignment is in effect the defendant’s employer
changes its payroll period, or the defendant changes employers
and the new employer’s payroll period is different from the former
employer’s payroll period, the clerk may, unless otherwise
ordered by a judge, amend the withholding assignment or order so
that all of the following apply:

a.  The withholding frequency corresponds to the new payroll
period.

b.  The amounts to be withheld reflect the adjustment to the
withholding frequency.

(j)  The clerk shall provide notice of the amended withholding
assignment or order under par. (i) by regular mail to the defen-
dant’s employer and to the defendant.

History:   1977 c. 29; 1979 c. 34, 111; 1981 c. 20, 88, 352; 1983 a. 27, 535; 1985
a. 36; 1987 a. 27, 339, 398; 1989 a. 64, 107, 359; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16; 1995 a. 227,
438, 448; 1997 a. 3, 27, 35, 148, 248; 1999 a. 9, 32.

Sections 973.05 (1) permitting a delay of 60 days for payment of a fine, and 973.07
providing commitment to jail for nonpayment are not unconstitutional, since the
court may stay the sentence and put the defendant on probation.  The burden of prov-
ing inability to pay is on the defendant.  State ex rel. Pedersen v. Blessinger, 56 Wis.
2d 286, 201 N.W.2d 778.

Trial courts are encouraged to use the installment method when dealing with indi-
gent defendants; the installment period may exceed 60 days.  Will v. State, 84 Wis.
2d 397, 267 N.W.2d 357 (1978).

A court cannot impose probation or order a defendant to perform community work
in lieu of imposing a statutorily required minimum jail sentence.  71 Atty. Gen. 41.

973.055 Domestic  abuse assessments.   (1) If a court
imposes a sentence on an adult person or places an adult person
on probation, regardless of whether any fine is imposed, the court
shall impose a domestic abuse assessment of $50 for each offense
if:

(a)  1.  The court convicts the person of a violation of a crime
specified in s. 940.01, 940.02, 940.03, 940.05, 940.06, 940.19,
940.20 (1m), 940.201, 940.21, 940.225, 940.23, 940.285, 940.30,
940.305, 940.31, 940.42, 940.43, 940.44, 940.45, 940.48, 941.20,
941.30, 943.01, 943.011, 943.14, 943.15, 946.49, 947.01,
947.012 or 947.0125 or of a municipal ordinance conforming to
s. 940.201, 941.20, 941.30, 943.01, 943.011, 943.14, 943.15,
946.49, 947.01, 947.012 or 947.0125; and

2.  The court finds that the conduct constituting the violation
under subd. 1. involved an act by the adult person against his or
her spouse or former spouse, against an adult with whom the adult
person resides or formerly resided or against an adult with whom
the adult person has created a child; or

(b)  The court convicts a person under s. 813.12 (8) (a) or a con-
forming municipal ordinance.

(2) (a)  If the assessment is imposed by a court of record, after
the court determines the amount due, the clerk of the court shall
collect and transmit the amount to the county treasurer as provided
in s.  59.40 (2) (m).  The county treasurer shall then make payment
to the state treasurer as provided in s. 59.25 (3) (f) 2.

(b)  If the assessment is imposed by a municipal court, after a
determination by the court of the amount due, the court shall col-
lect and transmit the amount to the treasurer of the county, city,
town or village, and that treasurer shall make payment to the state
treasurer as provided in s. 66.0114 (1) (b).

(3) All  moneys collected from domestic abuse assessments
shall be deposited by the state treasurer in s. 20.435 (3) (hh) and
utilized in accordance with s. 46.95.

(4) A court may waive part or all of the domestic abuse assess-
ment under this section if it determines that the imposition of the
full  assessment would have a negative impact on the offender’s
family.

History:   1979 c. 111; 1979 c. 221 s. 2202 (20); 1979 c. 355; 1981 c. 20 s. 2202
(20) (s); 1983 a. 27 s. 2202 (20); 1987 a. 27; 1989 a. 31; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 262, 319;
1995 a. 27, 201, 343, 353; 1997 a. 27, 35, 143; 1999 a. 150 s. 672; 1999 a. 185.

973.06 Costs.   (1) Except as provided in s. 93.20, the costs
taxable against the defendant shall consist of the following items
and no others:

(a)  The necessary disbursements and fees of officers allowed
by law and incurred in connection with the arrest, preliminary
examination and trial of the defendant, including, in the discretion
of the court, the fees and disbursements of the agent appointed to
return a defendant from another state or country.

(am)  Moneys expended by a law enforcement agency under all
of the following conditions:

1.  The agency expended the moneys to purchase a controlled
substance or controlled substance analog that was distributed in
violation of ch. 961.

2.  The moneys were expended in the course of an investiga-
tion that resulted in the defendant’s conviction.

3.  The moneys were used to obtain evidence of the defen-
dant’s violation of the law.

4.  The agency has not previously been reimbursed or repaid
for the expended moneys by the defendant.

(b)  Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for the state at the
preliminary examination and the trial.

(c)  Fees and disbursements allowed by the court to expert wit-
nesses.  Section 814.04 (2) shall not apply in criminal cases.

(d)  Fees and travel allowance of witnesses for the defense
incurred by the county at the request of the defendant, at the pre-
liminary hearing and the trial.
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(e)  Attorney fees payable to the defense attorney by the county
or the state.  If the court determines at the time of sentencing that
the defendant’s financial circumstances are changed, the court
may adjust the amount in accordance with s. 977.07 (1) (a) and (2).

(f)  1.  An amount determined by the court to make a reasonable
contribution to any of the following, if the court determines that
the person has the financial ability to make the contribution and
the contribution is appropriate:

a.  A private nonprofit organization that has as its primary pur-
pose preventing crime, encouraging the public to report crime or
assisting law enforcement agencies in the apprehension of crimi-
nal offenders.

b.  A law enforcement agency that has a crime prevention
fund, if the contribution is credited to the crime prevention fund
and is used for crime prevention purposes.

2.  If the court does require a person to make a contribution to
an organization or agency specified in subd. 1. but does not require
the person to pay any fine that may be imposed for the offense or
court costs, the court shall state on the record the reasons why it
is not requiring the person to pay the fine or court costs.  All con-
tributions made under this paragraph shall be made to the clerk of
circuit court for distribution to the organization or agency speci-
fied in subd. 1.  The court may not order a person to make a con-
tribution under this paragraph to a crime prevention organization
that has not complied with the provisions of s. 757.17.

(g)  An amount equal to 10% of any restitution ordered under
s. 973.20, payable to the county treasurer for use by the county.

(h)  The cost of performance of a test under s. 968.38, if ordered
by the court.

(2) The court may remit the taxable costs, in whole or in part.
(3) If  the court orders payment of restitution, collection of

costs shall be as provided under s. 973.20.
History:   Sup. Ct. Order, 67 Wis. 2d 585, 784 (1975); 1979 c. 356; 1981 c. 352;

1985 a. 29; 1987 a. 347, 398, 403; 1991 a. 39, 269; 1995 a. 27, 53, 448; 1999 a. 58,
69, 186.

An accused who cancels a jury trial at the last moment to accept a plea bargain risks
both taxation of costs under s. 973.06 and assessment of jury fees under s. 814.51.
State v. Foster, 100 Wis. 2d 103, 301 N.W.2d 192 (1981).

A court may not order reimbursement of a law enforcement agency for routine
investigative activities.  State v. Peterson, 163 Wis. 2d 800, 472 N.W.2d 571 (Ct. App.
1991).

Contribution, under sub. (1) (e), toward a defendant’s attorney fees payable by the
county may not be taxed in an order separate from the sentence.  State v. Grant, 168
Wis. 2d 682, 484 N.W.2d 371 (Ct. App. 1992).

Sub. (1) (c) provides authority to order payment of costs to the state crime labora-
tory for tests performed, whether or not an expert from the laboratory actually testi-
fied at trial.  State v. Ferguson, 195 Wis. 2d 174, 536 N.W.2d 116 (Ct. App. 1995).

Sub. (1) (c) does not limit recovery of expert witness fees to fees for court
appointed witnesses.  State v. Schmaling, 198 Wis. 2d 757, 543 N.W.2d 555 (Ct. App.
1995).

A court was authorized to order that a defendant pay the cost of DNA testing by
a private laboratory as a cost under this section.  State v. Beiersdorf, 208 Wis. 2d 492,
561 N.W.2d 749 (Ct. App. 1997).

Expenses incurred by a sheriff’s department in transporting a witness from a Flor-
ida corrections facility to testify at the defendant’s trial were chargeable to the defend-
ant under s. 973.06 (1) (a).  State v. Bender, 213 Wis. 2d 338, 570 N.W.2d 590 (Ct.
App. 1997).

For costs to be imposed under sub. (1) (am) all the listed conditions must be met.
State v. Neave, 220 Wis. 2d 786, 585 N.W.2d 169 (Ct. App. 1998).

A crime prevention organization under sub. (1) (f) is an organization designed to
encourage the public to report incidences of crime to law enforcement agencies and
to assist those agencies in apprehending criminals.  It does not include law enforce-
ment agencies.  State v. Bizzle, 222 Wis. 2d 100, 585 N.W.2d 899 (Ct. App. 1998).

Sub. (1) (c) authorized the taxation of the costs of an expert’s medical examination
when the development of that evidence was used in the prosecution of the defendant,
even though the examination was not done in contemplation of trial and the expert
witness did not testify.  State v. Rohe, 230 Wis. 2d 294,602 N.W.2d 125 (Ct. App.
1999).

The obligation of a defendant under this section is not dischargeable in bankruptcy.
Matter of Zarzynski, 771 F.2d 304 (1985).

Right to counsel; repayment of cost of court−appointed counsel as a condition of
probation.  56 MLR 551.

973.07 Failure  to pay fine or costs or to comply  with
certain  community service work.   If the fine, costs, penalty
assessment, jail assessment, crime victim and witness assistance
surcharge, crime laboratories and drug law enforcement assess-
ment, applicable deoxyribonucleic acid analysis surcharge, appli-
cable drug abuse program improvement surcharge, applicable

consumer information assessment, applicable domestic abuse
assessment, applicable driver improvement surcharge, applicable
enforcement assessment under s. 253.06 (4) (c), applicable weap-
ons assessment, applicable uninsured employer assessment,
applicable environmental assessment, applicable wild animal
protection assessment, applicable natural resources assessment
and applicable natural resources restitution payments are not paid
or community service work under s. 943.017 (3) is not completed
as required by the sentence, the defendant may be committed to
the county jail until the fine, costs, penalty assessment, jail assess-
ment, crime victim and witness assistance surcharge, crime labo-
ratories and drug law enforcement assessment, applicable deoxy-
ribonucleic acid analysis surcharge, applicable drug abuse
program improvement surcharge, applicable consumer informa-
tion assessment, applicable domestic abuse assessment, applica-
ble driver improvement surcharge, applicable enforcement
assessment under s. 253.06 (4) (c), applicable weapons assess-
ment, applicable uninsured employer assessment, applicable
environmental assessment, applicable wild animal protection
assessment, applicable natural resources assessment or applicable
natural resources restitution payments are paid or discharged, or
the community service work under s. 943.017 (3) is completed, for
a period fixed by the court not to exceed 6 months.

History:   1977 c. 29; 1979 c. 34, 111; 1981 c. 20; 1983 a. 27; 1985 a. 36; 1987 a.
27, 339; 1989 a. 64; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 16; 1995 a. 24; 1997 a. 27; 1999 a. 9.

Sections 973.05 (1) permitting a delay of 60 days for payment of a fine and s.
973.07 allowing commitment to jail for nonpayment are not unconstitutional, since
the court may stay the sentence and put defendant on probation.  The burden of prov-
ing inability to pay is on the defendant.  State ex rel. Pedersen v. Blessinger, 56 Wis.
2d 286, 201 N.W.2d 778.

When a a fine and payment schedule are reasonably suited to an offender’s means,
the offender carries heavy burden of showing inability to pay.  Will v. State, 84 Wis.
2d 397, 267 N.W.2d 357 (1978).

Commitment under this section may be consecutive to another term of incarcera-
tion.  State v. Way, 113 Wis. 2d 82, 334 N.W.2d 918 (Ct. App. 1983).

The six month limit on commitments under this section is the aggregate amount
of time a defendant may be jailed for nonpayment of a fine.  State v. Schuman, 173
Wis. 2d 743, 496 N.W.2d 684 (Ct. App. 1993).

Incarceration as a means of collecting a fine is limited to 6 months by this section.
It was error for a court to make payment of an old, unpaid fine a condition of probation
for a new conviction when violation of probation exposed the defendant to incarcera-
tion of more than 6 months.  State v. Oakley, 2000 WI 37, 234 Wis. 2d 528, 609
N.W.2d 786.

973.075 Forfeiture  of property derived from crime and
certain  vehicles.   (1) The following are subject to seizure and
forfeiture under ss. 973.075 to 973.077:

(a)  All property, real or personal, including money, directly or
indirectly derived from or realized through the commission of any
crime.

(b)  1m.  Except as provided in subd. 2m., all vehicles, as
defined in s. 939.22 (44), which are used in any of the following
ways:

a.  To transport any property or weapon used or to be used or
received in the commission of any felony.

b.  In the commission of a crime under s. 946.70.
c.  In the commission of a crime in violation of s. 944.30,

944.31, 944.32, 944.33 or 944.34.
d.  In the commission of a crime relating to a submerged cul-

tural resource in violation of s. 44.47.
e.  To cause more than $1,000 worth of criminal damage to

cemetery property in violation of s. 943.01 (2) (d) or 943.012.
f.  In the commission of a crime under s. 813.12 (8), 813.122

(11), 813.123 (10), 813.125 (7), 813.128 (2) or 940.32.
g.  In the commission of a crime under s. 943.75 (2) or (2m).
2m.  a.  No vehicle used by any person as a common carrier

in the transaction of business as a common carrier is subject to for-
feiture under ss. 973.075 to 973.077 unless it appears that the
owner or other person in charge of the vehicle had knowledge of
or consented to the commission of the crime.

b.  No vehicle is subject to forfeiture under ss. 973.075 to
973.077 by reason of any act or omission established by the owner
of the vehicle to have been committed or omitted without his or
her knowledge or consent.
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c.  If forfeiture of a vehicle encumbered by a bona fide per-
fected security interest occurs, the holder of the security interest
shall be paid from the proceeds of the forfeiture if the security
interest was perfected prior to the date of the commission of the
crime which forms the basis for the forfeiture and he or she neither
had knowledge of nor consented to the act or omission.

(bg)  Any property used or to be used in the commission of a
crime under s. 943.75 (2) or (2m), but if the property is encum-
bered by a bona fide perfected security interest that was perfected
before the date of the commission of the current violation and the
holder of the security interest neither had knowledge of nor con-
sented to the commission of that violation, the holder of the secu-
rity interest shall be paid from the proceeds of the forfeiture.

(bm)  Any property used in the commission of a crime under
s. 813.12 (8), 813.122 (11), 813.123 (10), 813.125 (7), 813.128 (2)
or 940.32, but if the property is encumbered by a bonafide per-
fected security interest that was perfected before the date of the
commission of the current violation and the holder of the security
interest neither had knowledge of nor consented to the commis-
sion of that violation, the holder of the security interest shall be
paid from the proceeds of the forfeiture.

(c)  All remote sensing equipment, navigational devices, sur-
vey equipment and scuba gear and any other equipment or device
used in the commission of a crime relating to a submerged cultural
resource in violation of s. 44.47.

(d)  A tank vessel that violates s. 299.62 (2) that is owned by
a person who, within 5 years before the commission of the current
violation, was previously convicted of violating s. 299.62 (2), but
if  the tank vessel is encumbered by a bona fide perfected security
interest that was perfected before the date of the commission of the
current violation and the holder of the security interest neither had
knowledge of nor consented to the commission of that violation,
the holder of the security interest shall be paid from the proceeds
of the forfeiture.

(e)  Any recording, as defined in s. 943.206 (5), created, adver-
tised, offered for sale or rent, sold, rented, transported or pos-
sessed in violation of ss. 943.207 to 943.209 or s. 943.49 and any
electronic, mechanical or other device for making a recording or
for manufacturing, reproducing, packaging or assembling a
recording that was used to facilitate a violation of ss. 943.207 to
943.209 or s. 943.49, regardless of the knowledge or intent of the
person from whom the recording or device is seized.  If a device
subject to forfeiture under this paragraph is encumbered by a bona
fide perfected security interest that was perfected before the date
of the commission of the current violation and the holder of the
security interest neither had knowledge of nor consented to the
commission of that violation, the holder of the security interest
shall be paid from the proceeds of the forfeiture.

(2) A law enforcement officer may seize property subject to
this section upon process issued by any court of record having
jurisdiction over the property.  Except for vehicles used in the
commission of a crime in violation of s. 944.30, 944.31, 944.32,
944.33 or 944.34, seizure without process may be made under any
of the following circumstances:

(a)  The seizure is incident to an arrest or a search under a search
warrant or an inspection under any administrative or special
inspection warrant.

(b)  The property subject to seizure has been the subject of a
prior judgment in favor of the state.

(c)  The officer has probable cause to believe that the property
is directly or indirectly dangerous to health or safety.

(d)  The officer has probable cause to believe that the property
was derived from or realized through a crime or that the property
is a vehicle which was used to transport any property or weapon
used or to be used or received in the commission of any felony,
which was used in the commission of a crime relating to a sub-
merged cultural resource in violation of s. 44.47 or which was
used to cause more than $1,000 worth of criminal damage to cem-
etery property in violation of s. 943.01 (2) (d) or 943.012.

(3) If  there is a seizure under sub. (2) or s. 342.30 (4) (a), pro-
ceedings under s. 973.076 shall be instituted.  Property seized
under this section or s. 342.30 (4) (a) is not subject to replevin, but
is deemed to be in the custody of the sheriff of the county in which
the seizure was made subject only to the orders and decrees of the
court having jurisdiction over the forfeiture proceedings.  When
property is seized under this section or s. 342.30 (4) (a), the person
seizing the property may do any of the following:

(a)  Place the property under seal.
(b)  Remove the property to a place designated by it.
(c)  Require the sheriff of the county in which the seizure was

made to take custody of the property and remove it to an appropri-
ate location for disposition in accordance with law.

(4) When property is forfeited under ss. 973.075 to 973.077,
the agency seizing the property may sell the property that is not
required by law to be destroyed or transferred to another agency.
The agency may retain any vehicle for official use or sell the
vehicle.  The agency seizing the property may deduct 50% of the
amount received for administrative expenses of seizure, mainte-
nance of custody, advertising and court costs and the costs of
investigation and prosecution reasonably incurred.  The remain-
der shall be deposited in the school fund as the proceeds of the for-
feiture.  If the property forfeited under ss. 973.075 to 973.077 is
money, all the money shall be deposited in the school fund.

(5) All  forfeitures under ss. 973.075 to 973.077 shall be made
with due provision for the rights of innocent persons under sub.
(1) (b) 2m., (bg), (bm), (d) and (e).  Except as provided in sub.
(5m), any property seized but not forfeited shall be returned to its
rightful owner.  Any person claiming the right to possession of
property seized may apply for its return to the circuit court for the
county in which the property was seized.  The court shall order
such notice as it deems adequate to be given the district attorney
and all persons who have or may have an interest in the property
and shall hold a hearing to hear all claims to its true ownership.
If  the right to possession is proved to the court’s satisfaction, it
shall order the property returned if:

(a)  The property is not needed as evidence or, if needed, satis-
factory arrangements can be made for its return for subsequent use
as evidence; or

(b)  All proceedings in which it might be required have been
completed.

(5m) (a)  In this subsection:
1.  “Forfeiture action deadline” means the 30th day after the

seizure of the property or, if the property was seized as a result of
a criminal conviction, the 30th day after the date of the conviction.

2.  “Prosecutor” means the district attorney or, in counties
having a population of 500,000 or more, the district attorney or the
corporation counsel.

3.  “Victim” means the owner, as defined in s. 943.206 (2), of
the sounds in a recording described in sub. (1) (e) or, if the record-
ing is seized in connection with an investigation or prosecution of
a violation of s. 943.208, the performance owner.

(b)  If a recording involved in a violation of ss. 943.207 to
943.209 is forfeited, the sheriff of the county in which the record-
ing was seized shall destroy it after the completion of all proceed-
ings in which the recording might be required as evidence.

(c)  If, by the forfeiture action deadline, a summons, complaint
and affidavit have not been filed under s. 973.076 (2) (a) with
respect to property seized under sub. (1) (e), the prosecutor shall
notify the victim, if known, by certified mail no later than 7 days
after the forfeiture action deadline.  The prosecutor shall then
return the property to the person from whom it was seized no ear-
lier than 60 days and no later than 90 days after the forfeiture
action deadline unless one of the following applies:

1.  A court has entered an order prohibiting the return of the
property or requiring it to be conveyed to another person.
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2.  The property is needed as evidence in a criminal proceed-
ing and is likely to be unavailable for use as evidence if returned
to the person from whom it was seized.

(6) Sections 973.075 to 973.077 do not apply to crimes com-
mitted under ch. 961.

History:   1981 c. 267; 1985 a. 245, 258; 1987 a. 348; 1989 a. 263; 1993 a. 92, 169,
459, 491; 1995 a. 290, 448; 1997 a. 35, 285; 1999 a. 45, 51, 186.

The critical inquiry under sub. (1) (b) is not whether the vehicle was used in a crime,
but whether property carried by the vehicle was used in a crime.  State v. One 1971
Oldsmobile Cutlass, 159 Wis. 2d 718, 464 N.W.2d 851 (Ct. App. 1990).

The forfeiture of a motor vehicle under sub. (1) (b) did not violate the constitutional
guarantees against excessive punishment.  State v. Hammad, 212 Wis. 2d 343, 569
N.W.2d 68 (Ct. App. 1997).

Ownership under sub. (1) (b) 2. is not controlled by legal title, but will be found
based on consideration of possession, title, control and financial stake.  State v. Kirch,
222 Wis. 2d 598, 587 N.W.2d 919 (Ct. App. 1998).

973.076 Forfeiture  proceedings.   (1) TYPE OF ACTION;
WHERE BROUGHT.  In an action brought to cause the forfeiture of
any property specified in s. 342.30 (4) (a) or s. 973.075 (1), the
court may render a judgment in rem or against a party personally,
or both.  The circuit court for the county in which the property was
seized shall have jurisdiction over any proceedings regarding the
property when the action is commenced in state court.  Any prop-
erty seized may be the subject of a federal forfeiture action.

(2) COMMENCEMENT.  (a)  The district attorney of the county
within which the property was seized or in which the defendant is
convicted shall commence the forfeiture action within 30 days
after the seizure of the property or the date of conviction, which-
ever is earlier, except that the defendant may request that the for-
feiture proceedings be adjourned until after adjudication of any
charge concerning a crime which was the basis for the seizure of
the property.  The request shall be granted.  The forfeiture action
shall be commenced by filing a summons, complaint and affidavit
of the person who seized the property with the clerk of circuit
court, provided service of authenticated copies of those papers is
made in accordance with ch. 801 within 90 days after filing upon
the person from whom the property was seized and upon any per-
son known to have a bona fide perfected security interest in the
property.

(b)  Upon service of an answer, the action shall be set for hear-
ing within 60 days of the service of the answer but may be contin-
ued for cause or upon stipulation of the parties.

(c)  In counties having a population of 500,000 or more, the dis-
trict attorney or the corporation counsel may proceed under par.
(a).

(d)  If no answer is served or no issue of law or fact has been
joined and the time for that service or joining issue has expired,
or if any defendant fails to appear at trial after answering or joining
issue, the court may render a default judgment as provided in s.
806.02.

(3) BURDEN OF PROOF.  The state shall have the burden of satis-
fying or convincing to a reasonable certainty by the greater weight
of the credible evidence that the property is subject to forfeiture
under s. 973.075 to 973.077.

(4) ACTION AGAINST OTHER PROPERTY OF THE PERSON.  The
court may order the forfeiture of any other property of a defendant
up to the value of property found by the court to be subject to for-
feiture under s. 973.075 if the property subject to forfeiture meets
any of the following conditions:

(a)  Cannot be located.
(b)  Has been transferred or conveyed to, sold to or deposited

with a 3rd party.
(c)  Is beyond the jurisdiction of the court.
(d)  Has been substantially diminished in value while not in the

actual physical custody of the law enforcement agency.
(e)  Has been commingled with other property that cannot be

divided without difficulty.
History:   1981 c. 267; Sup. Ct. Order, 120 Wis. 2d xiii (1984); 1985 a. 245; 1989

a. 121; 1993 a. 92, 321, 491; 1997 a. 187.
Judicial Council Note, 1984: Sub. (2) (a) has been amended by allowing 60 days

after the action is commenced for service of the summons, complaint and affidavit

on the defendants.  The prior statute, requiring service within 30 days after seizure
of the property, was an exception to the general rule of s. 801.02 (2), stats.  [Re Order
effective Jan. 1, 1985]

Section 801.15 (2) governs extensions of time after the time for setting a hearing
has expired.  State v. Elliot, 203 Wis. 2d 95, 551 N.W.2d 850 (Ct. App. 1996).

973.077 Burden  of proof; liabilities.   (1) It is not neces-
sary for the state to negate any exemption or exception regarding
any crime in any complaint, information, indictment or other
pleading or in any trial, hearing or other proceeding under s.
973.076.  The burden of proof of any exemption or exception is
upon the person claiming it.

(2) In the absence of proof that a person is the duly authorized
holder of an appropriate federal registration or order form, the per-
son is presumed not to be the holder of the registration or form.
The burden of proof is upon the person to rebut the presumption.

(3) No liability is imposed by ss. 973.075 to 973.077 upon any
authorized law enforcement officer or employee engaged in the
lawful performance of duties.

History:   1981 c. 267.

973.08 Records  accompanying prisoner .  (1) When any
defendant is sentenced to the state prisons, a copy of the judgment
of conviction and a copy of any order for restitution under s.
973.20 shall be delivered by the officer executing the judgment to
the warden or superintendent of the institution when the prisoner
is delivered.

(2) The transcript of any portion of the proceedings relating to
the prisoner’s sentencing shall be filed at the institution within 120
days from the date sentence is imposed.

(3) The transcript of all other testimony and proceedings upon
order of a court shall be delivered to a prisoner within 120 days of
his or her request.

(4) The transcript of all other testimony and proceedings upon
order of a court shall be delivered to the department within 120
days of its request.

(5) The clerk of court shall file or deliver a transcript under
sub. (2), (3) or (4).

History:   1971 c. 298 s. 26 (1); 1977 c. 187; Sup. Ct. Order, eff. 1−1−80; 1979 c.
221; 1987 a. 398.

For a court order to be entered under sub. (3), at a minimum a requesting prisoner
must show that he or she either never received or was denied access to the requested
documents.  State v. Wilson, 170 Wis. 2d 720, 490 N.W.2d 48 (Ct. App. 1992).

973.09 Probation.   (1)  (a)  Except as provided in par. (c) or
if  probation is prohibited for a particular offense by statute, if a
person is convicted of a crime, the court, by order, may withhold
sentence or impose sentence under s. 973.15 and stay its execu-
tion, and in either case place the person on probation to the depart-
ment for a stated period, stating in the order the reasons therefor.
The court may impose any conditions which appear to be reason-
able and appropriate.  The period of probation may be made con-
secutive to a sentence on a different charge, whether imposed at
the same time or previously.  If the court imposes an increased
term of probation, as authorized under sub. (2) (a) 2. or (b) 2., it
shall place its reasons for doing so on the record.

(b)  If the court places the person on probation, the court shall
order the person to pay restitution under s. 973.20, unless the court
finds there is substantial reason not to order restitution as a condi-
tion of probation.  If the court does not require restitution to be
paid to a victim, the court shall state its reason on the record.  If
the court does require restitution, it  shall notify the department of
justice of its decision if the victim may be eligible for compensa-
tion under ch. 949.

(c)  When a person is convicted of any crime which is punish-
able by life imprisonment, the court shall not place the person on
probation.

(d)  If a person is convicted of an offense that provides a manda-
tory or presumptive minimum period of one year or less of impris-
onment, a court may place the person on probation under par. (a)
if  the court requires, as a condition of probation, that the person
be confined under sub. (4) for at least that mandatory or presump-
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tive minimum period.  The person is eligible to earn good time
credit calculated under s. 302.43 regarding the period of confine-
ment.  This paragraph does not apply if the conviction is for any
of the following:

1.  A violation under s. 346.63 (1) that subjects the person to
a mandatory minimum period of imprisonment under s. 346.65 (2)
(b) or (c).

2.  A violation under s. 346.63 (2) or (6) that subjects the per-
son to a mandatory minimum period of imprisonment under s.
346.65 (3m), if the person has a total of 3 or fewer convictions,
suspensions or revocations counted under s. 343.307 (2).

3.  A violation under s. 346.63 (5) that subjects the person to
a mandatory minimum period of imprisonment under s. 346.65
(2j) (c), if the person has a total of 3 or fewer convictions, suspen-
sions or revocations counted under s. 343.307 (2).

(e)  The court may impose a sentence under s. 973.032, stay its
execution and place the person on probation.  A court may not pro-
vide that a condition of any probation involves participation in the
intensive sanctions program.

(1g) If  the court places the person on probation, the court may
require, upon consideration of the factors specified in s. 973.20
(13) (a) 2. to 5., that the probationer reimburse the county or the
state, as applicable, for any costs for legal representation to the
county or the state for the defense of the case.  In order to receive
this reimbursement, the county or the state public defender shall
provide a statement of its costs of legal representation to the
defendant and court within the time period set by the court.

(1x) (a)  If the court places a person on probation, the court
may require that the probationer make a contribution to an orga-
nization or agency specified in s. 973.06 (1) (f) 1. if the court deter-
mines that the probationer has the financial ability to make the
contribution.

(b)  If the court does require a person to make a contribution to
an organization or agency specified in s. 973.06 (1) (f) 1. but does
not require the person to pay any fine that may be imposed for the
offense or court costs, the court shall state on the record the rea-
sons why it is not requiring the person to pay the fine or court costs.
All  contributions made under this subsection shall be made to the
clerk of circuit court for distribution to the organization or agency
specified in s. 973.06 (1) (f) 1.  The court may not require a person
to make a contribution under this subsection to an organization or
agency specified in s. 973.06 (1) (f) 1. that has not complied with
the provisions of s. 757.17.

(2) The original term of probation shall be:
(a)  1.  Except as provided in subd. 2., for misdemeanors, not

less than 6 months nor more than 2 years.
2.  If the probationer is convicted of not less than 2 nor more

than 4 misdemeanors at the same time, the maximum original term
of probation may be increased by one year.  If the probationer is
convicted of 5 or more misdemeanors at the same time, the maxi-
mum original term of probation may be increased by 2 years.

(b)  1.  Except as provided in subd. 2., for felonies, not less than
one year nor more than either the statutory maximum term of
imprisonment for the crime or 3 years, whichever is greater.

2.  If the probationer is convicted of 2 or more crimes, includ-
ing at least one felony, at the same time, the maximum original
term of probation may be increased by one year for each felony
conviction.

(2m) If a court imposes a term of probation in excess of the
maximum authorized by statute, the excess is void and the term of
probation is valid only to the extent of the maximum term autho-
rized by statute.  The term is commuted without further proceed-
ings.

(3) (a)  Prior to the expiration of any probation period, the
court, for cause and by order, may extend probation for a stated
period or modify the terms and conditions thereof.

(b)  The department shall notify the sentencing court, any per-
son to whom unpaid restitution is owed and the district attorney

of the status of the ordered restitution payments unpaid at least 90
days before the probation expiration date.  If payment as ordered
has not been made, the court shall hold a probation review hearing
prior to the expiration date, unless the hearing is voluntarily
waived by the probationer with the knowledge that waiver may
result in an extension of the probation period or in a revocation of
probation.  If the court does not extend probation, it shall issue a
judgment for the unpaid restitution and direct the clerk of circuit
court to file and enter the judgment in the judgment and lien
docket, without fee, unless it finds that the victim has already
recovered a judgment against the probationer for the damages
covered by the restitution order.  If the court issues a judgment for
the unpaid restitution, the court shall send to the person at his or
her last−known address written notification that a civil judgment
has been issued for the unpaid restitution.  The judgment has the
same force and effect as judgments entered under s. 806.10.

(bm)  1.  At least 90 days before the expiration date of a proba-
tioner’s period of probation, the department may notify the sen-
tencing court and the district attorney that a probationer owes
unpaid fees to the department under s. 304.073 or 304.074.

2.  Upon receiving notice from the department under subd. 1.,
the court shall schedule a probation review hearing to be held
before the expiration date of the period of probation unless the
probationer either pays the fees before the scheduled hearing date
or voluntarily waives the hearing.  A waiver of a probation review
hearing under this subdivision shall include an acknowledgement
by the probationer that waiver may result in an extension of the
probation period, a modification of the terms and conditions of
probation or a revocation of probation.

3.  At a probation review hearing under subd. 2., the depart-
ment has the burden of proving that the probationer owes unpaid
fees under s. 304.073 or 304.074 and the amount of the unpaid
fees.  If the department proves by a preponderance of the evidence
that the probationer owes unpaid fees under s. 304.073 or 304.074,
the court may, by order, extend the period of probation for a stated
period or modify the terms and conditions of probation.

4.  If the court does not extend or modify the terms of proba-
tion under subd. 3., it shall issue a judgment for the unpaid fees and
direct the clerk of circuit court to file and enter the judgment in the
judgment and lien docket, without fee.  If the court issues a judg-
ment for the unpaid fees, the court shall send to the department a
written notification that a civil judgment has been issued for the
unpaid fees.  The judgment has the same force and effect as judg-
ments entered under s. 806.10.

(c)  Any of the following may constitute cause for the extension
of probation:

1.  The probationer has not made a good faith effort to dis-
charge court−ordered payment obligations or to pay fees owed
under s. 304.073 or 304.074.

2.  The probationer is not presently able to make required resti-
tution payments and the probationer and the person to whom resti-
tution is owed consent to the performance of community service
work under sub. (7m) in satisfaction of restitution ordered for that
person, for which an extended period of probation is required.

3.  The probationer stipulates to the extension of supervision
and the court finds that extension would serve the purposes for
which probation was imposed.

(4) The court may also require as a condition of probation that
the probationer be confined during such period of the term of
probation as the court prescribes, but not to exceed one year.  The
court may grant the privilege of leaving the county jail, Huber
facility, work camp or tribal jail during the hours or periods of
employment or other activity under s. 303.08 (1) (a) to (e) while
confined under this subsection.  The court may specify the neces-
sary and reasonable hours or periods during which the probationer
may leave the jail, Huber facility, work camp or tribal jail or the
court may delegate that authority to the sheriff.  In those counties
without a Huber facility under s. 303.09, a work camp under s.
303.10 or an agreement under s. 302.445, the probationer shall be
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confined in the county jail.  In those counties with a Huber facility
under s. 303.09, the sheriff shall determine whether confinement
under this subsection is to be in that facility or in the county jail.
In those counties with a work camp under s. 303.10, the sheriff
shall determine whether confinement is to be in the work camp or
the county jail.  The sheriff may transfer persons confined under
this subsection between a Huber facility or a work camp and the
county jail.  In those counties with an agreement under s. 302.445,
the sheriff shall determine whether confinement under this sub-
section is to be in the tribal jail or the county jail, unless otherwise
provided under the agreement.   In those counties, the sheriff may
transfer persons confined under this subsection between a tribal
jail and a county jail, unless otherwise provided under the agree-
ment.  While subject to this subsection, the probationer is subject
to s. 303.08 (1), (3) to (6), (8) to (12) and (14) or to s. 303.10,
whichever is applicable, and to all the rules of the county jail,
Huber facility, work camp or tribal jail and the discipline of the
sheriff.

(5) When the period of probation for a probationer has
expired, the probationer shall be discharged from probation and
the department shall do all of the following:

(a)  If the probationer was placed on probation for a felony,
issue the probationer one of the following:

1.  A certificate of discharge from probation for the felony for
which he or she was placed on probation if, at the time of dis-
charge, the probationer is on probation or parole for another fel-
ony.

2.  A certificate of final discharge if, at the time of discharge,
the probationer is not on probation or parole for another felony.
A certificate of final discharge under this subdivision shall list the
civil  rights which have been restored to the probationer and the
civil  rights which have not been restored to the probationer.

(b)  If the probationer was placed on probation for a misde-
meanor, notify the probationer that his or her period of probation
has expired.

(c)  In all cases, notify the court that placed the probationer on
probation that the period of probation has expired.

(7m) (a)  Except as provided in s. 943.017 (3), the court may
require as a condition of probation that the probationer perform
community service work for a public agency or a nonprofit chari-
table organization.  The number of hours of work required may not
exceed what would be reasonable considering the seriousness of
the offense and any other offense which is read into the record at
the time of conviction.  An order may only apply if agreed to by
the probationer and the organization or agency.  The court shall
ensure that the probationer is provided a written statement of the
terms of the community service order and that the community ser-
vice order is monitored.  If the court requires the conditions pro-
vided in this subsection and sub. (4), the probationer reduces the
period of confinement under sub. (4) at a rate of one day for each
3 days of work performed.  A day of work equals 8 hours of work
performed.

(b)  Any organization or agency acting in good faith to which
a probationer is assigned pursuant to an order under this subsec-
tion has immunity from any civil liability in excess of $25,000 for
acts or omissions by or impacting on the probationer.

History:   1971 c. 298; 1979 c. 119, 189, 238, 355, 356; 1981 c. 50, 88, 326, 352,
391; 1983 a. 27, 104, 254, 346, 519, 538; 1985 a. 150; 1987 a. 347, 398, 403, 412;
1989 a. 31, 121, 188; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 48, 486; 1995 a. 24, 224, 281; 1997 a. 27,
41, 289; 1999 a. 9, 58, 69, 186.

Judicial Council Note, 1981: A cross−reference to s. 973.15 has been inserted to
clarify that the provisions of that statute govern the imposition of sentence even
though the court stays execution of the sentence under this statute. [Bill 341−A]

Judicial Council Note, 1987: Sub. (1g) is amended to require the court to consider
the defendant’s ability to pay when ordering reimbursement of the costs of legal rep-
resentation.

Sub. (3) (c) specifies grounds for extending probation.  The availability of a civil
judgment for unpaid restitution enforceable by the victim under s. 973.20 (1), stats.,
substantially reduces the necessity of extending probation solely for the purpose of
enforcing court−ordered payments, a practice of questionable cost−effectiveness.
See legislative audit bureau report No. 85−10, April 15, 1985, at 17−18.  Probation
may, however, be extended upon stipulation of the defendant, to enforce community
service in satisfaction of restitution, or when the probationer has not made a good

faith effort to make restitution or other payments.  Huggett v. State, 83 Wis. 2d 790,
803 (1978). [87 Act 398]

The terminology of work−release under sub. (4) and Huber law privileges under
56.08, 1985 stats., [now 303.08] cannot be used interchangeably without the danger
of an inappropriate sentence.  Yingling v. State, 73 Wis. 2d 438, 243 N.W.2d 420.

Claims of credit for pretrial or preconviction incarceration may be made only as
to sentences imposed, and not to periods of confinement during nonworking hours
imposed as a condition of probation under sub. (4).  Full confinement for one year
as a condition of probation is not authorized under sub. (4).  State v. Gloudemans, 73
Wis. 2d 514, 243 N.W.2d 220.

A probation condition that the probationer not contact her codefendant fiance was
a permissible infringement of her constitutional rights because the condition was rea-
sonably related to rehabilitation and was not overly broad.  Edwards v. State, 74 Wis.
2d 79, 246 N.W.2d 109.

Failure to make restitution is not cause for extending probation under sub. (3) if the
probationer demonstrates good faith effort to pay but lacks capacity to pay during
probation.  Huggett v. State, 83 Wis. 2d 790, 266 N.W.2d 403 (1978).

An order to pay restitution, in an amount to be determined later, authorized collec-
tion of funds from the defendant.  Thieme v. State, 96 Wis. 2d 98, 291 N.W.2d 474
(1980).

Remand for resentencing was the proper procedure when the trial court improperly
imposed a period of probation to run concurrently with a period of parole.  State v.
Givens, 102 Wis. 2d 476, 307 N.W.2d 178 (1981).

Issuance of a warrant during a probationary term tolls the running of the term.  State
ex rel. Cox v. H&SS Dept. 105 Wis. 2d 378, 314 N.W.2d 148 (Ct. App. 1981).

In setting restitution, the court must consider the probationer’s resources and future
ability to pay.  State v. Pope, 107 Wis. 2d 726, 321 N.W.2d 359 (Ct. App. 1982).

There was a denial of due process in revoking probation without notice of the total
extent and nature of the alleged violations of probation.  State ex rel. Thompson v.
Riveland, 109 Wis. 2d 580, 326 N.W.2d 768 (1982).

Reimposition of a sentence after a defendant has been placed on probation, absent
violation of a probation condition, violated the double jeopardy clause.  State v. Dean,
111 Wis. 2d 361, 330 N.W.2d 630 (Ct. App. 1983).

The court erred in imposing consecutive terms of probation.  Increased punishment
on resentencing did not violate double jeopardy clause.  State v. Pierce, 117 Wis. 2d
83, 342 N.W.2d 776 (Ct. App. 1983).  See also State v. Gereaux, 114 Wis. 2d 110, 338
N.W.2d 118 (Ct. App. 1983).

When probation was conditioned on the defendant’s voluntary commitment to a
mental hospital, but the hospital refused admittance, the court properly modified the
original sentence by imposing a new sentence of 3 years imprisonment.  Double jeop-
ardy was not violated.  State v. Sepulveda, 120 Wis. 2d 231, 353 N.W.2d 790 (1984).

A court may not assess the cost of a special prosecutor as a condition of probation.
State v. Amato, 126 Wis. 2d 212, 376 N.W.2d 75 (Ct. App. 1985).

A court may order a defendant to reimburse the police for funds used for drug pur-
chase that resulted in the conviction.  State v. Connelly, 143 Wis. 2d 500, 421 N.W.2d
859 (Ct. App. 1988).

A lack of counsel at a probation revocation hearing did not deny the probationer’s
constitutional rights.  State v. Hardwick, 144 Wis. 2d 54, 422 N.W.2d 922 (Ct. App.
1988.)

Sub. (1) (b) does not restrict a court’s authority to condition probation on any rea-
sonable and appropriate requirement under sub. (1) (a).  State v. Heyn, 155 Wis. 2d
621, 456 N.W.2d 157 (1990).

Sub. (3) (a) authorizes a court to modify all conditions of probation established for
a specific probationer, including those imposed by the corrections department.  State
ex rel. Taylor v. Linse, 161 Wis. 2d 719, 469 N.W.2d 201 (Ct. App. 1991).

A plea agreement to amend a judgment of conviction upon successful completion
of probation is not authorized by statute.  State v. Hayes, 167 Wis. 2d 423, 481 N.W.2d
699 (Ct. App. 1992).

The due process rights of a probationer at a hearing to modify probation are enu-
merated.  State v. Hayes, 173 Wis. 2d 439, 496 N.W.2d 645 (Ct. App. 1992).

Requiring a convicted defendant to deposit money for possible future counselling
costs of victims was impermissible.  State v. Handley, 173 Wis. 2d 838, 496 N.W.2d
725 (Ct. App. 1993).

Requiring a defendant convicted of sexual assault to pay a victim’s costs of tuition
to attend another school to avoid harassment that arose after the assault was a reason-
able condition of probation.  State v. Brown, 174 Wis. 2d 550, 497 N.W.2d 463 (Ct.
App. 1993).

A condition of probation not related to the underlying conviction but related to
prior convictions was reasonable and appropriate.  State v. Miller, 175 Wis. 2d 204,
N.W.2d (Ct. App. 1993).

The notification provisions of sub. (3) apply only in the case of probation extension
proceedings, not revocations.  Bartus v. DHSS, 176 Wis. 2d 1063, 501 N.W.2d 419
(1993).

Sub. (2) (a) applies to probation for misdemeanors and sub. (2) (b) to felonies; sub.
(2) (b) 2. does not authorize increasing probation for a misdemeanor if the defendant
is convicted of a felony at the same time.  State v. Reagles, 177 Wis. 2d 168, 501
N.W.2d 861 (Ct. App. 1993).

A forced confession as a condition of probation does not violate the right against
self−incrimination; the constitution protects against the use of confessions in subse-
quent criminal prosecutions, but does not protect against the use of such statements
in a revocation proceeding.  State v. Carrizales, 191 Wis. 2d 85, 528 N.W.2d 29 (Ct.
App. 1995).

While periods of time served due to an indigent’s inability to post bail prior to trial
must be credited as time served on a prison sentence imposed, a court need not credit
that time against probationary confinement.  State v. Avila, 192 Wis. 2d 870, 532
N.W.2d 423 (Ct. App. 1995).

A jail term probationer eligible for good time credit under sub. (1) (d) may not be
denied the possibility of earning good time as a sentence condition. State v. McClin-
ton, 195 Wis. 2d 344, 536 N.W.2d 413 (Ct. App. 1995).

A trial court in exercising sentencing discretion is not prohibited from entertaining
general predispositions based on experience, but the judge’s predispositions may
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never be so specific as to ignore the particular circumstances of the individual
offender.  State v. Ogden, 199 Wis. 2d 566, 544 N.W.2d 574 (1996).

A court was authorized to order that a defendant pay the cost of DNA testing by
a private laboratory as a condition of probation.  State v. Beiersdorf, 208 Wis. 2d 492,
561 N.W.2d 749 (Ct. App. 1997).

A condition of probation placed on a sex offender that he not engage in a sexual
relationship without first discussing it with his agent and obtaining his agent’s
approval did not unreasonably restrict the probationer’s constitutional rights of pri-
vacy.  Krebs v. Schwartz, 212 Wis. 2d 127, 568 N.W.2d 26 (Ct. App. 1997).

An unfulfilled condition of probation does not automatically extend the probation
period; an extension must be obtained.  If the probation has not been stayed and the
probation period has been served, the probationer is entitled to discharge even in the
face of an unfulfilled condition of probation; at that point the trial court loses jurisdic-
tion.  State v. Stefanovic, 215 Wis. 2d 309, 572 N.W.2d 140 (Ct. App. 1997).

A conviction following an Alford plea of no contest under which the defendant
does not admit guilt, does not prevent imposing as a condition of probation that the
defendant complete a treatment program that requires acknowledging responsibility
for the crime that resulted in the conviction.  The imposition of the condition does not
violate the defendant’s due process rights.  State ex rel. Warren v. Schwarz, 219 Wis.
2d 616, 579 N.W.2d 698 (1998).

When a court orders probation under sub. (1) (d), it lacks authority to order moni-
tored home detention in lieu of confinement under sub. (4).  State v. Eastman, 220
Wis. 2d 330, 582 N.W.2d 749 (Ct. App. 1998).

The 90−day notice requirement in sub. (3) (b) is directory, not mandatory.  The
extension of probation for the sole purpose of collecting a debt, when the record con-
tained substantial reasons not to extend, was an abuse of discretion.  State v. Olson,
222 Wis. 2d 283, 588 N.W.2d 256 (Ct. App. 1998).

Sub. (3) (a) allows circuit courts to modify conditions of probation at any time
before the period of probation expires, even before the period of probation begins.
State v. Gray, 225 Wis. 2d 39, 590 N.W. 2d918 (1999).

The court has broad discretion to fashion appropriate conditions of probation in
each individual case.  The validity of conditions of probation are tested by how well
they serve the goals of rehabilitation and protection of the public.  State v. Simonetto,
2000 WI App 17, 232 Wis. 2d 315, 606 N.W.2d 275.

A probationer has the right to refuse probation not only when it is first granted but
at any time while serving it.  State v. McCready, 2000 WI App 68, 234 Wis. 2d 110,
608 N.W.2d 762.

Sub. (2) applies to all sentences pronounced at the same time, whether grouped
together, because they are related or because of convenience.  U.S. v. Stalbaum, 63
F.3d 537 (1995).

973.10 Control  and supervision of  probationers.
(1) Imposition of probation shall have the effect of placing the
defendant in the custody of the department and shall subject the
defendant to the control of the department under conditions set by
the court and rules and regulations established by the department
for the supervision of probationers, parolees and persons on
extended supervision.

(1m) (a)  The department may order that a probationer per-
form community service work for a public agency or a nonprofit
charitable organization.  An order may apply only if agreed to by
the probationer and the organization or agency.  The department
shall ensure that the probationer is provided a written statement of
the terms of the community service order and shall monitor the
probationer’s compliance with the community service order.
Compliance with this subsection does not entitle a probationer to
credit under s. 973.155.

(b)  Any organization or agency acting in good faith to which
a probationer is assigned under an order under this subsection has
immunity from any civil liability in excess of $25,000 for acts or
omissions by or impacting on the probationer.  The department has
immunity from any civil liability for acts or omissions by or
impacting on the probationer regarding the assignment under this
subsection.

(2) If  a probationer violates the conditions of probation, the
department of corrections may initiate a proceeding before the
division of hearings and appeals in the department of administra-
tion.  Unless waived by the probationer, a hearing examiner for the
division shall conduct an administrative hearing and enter an
order either revoking or not revoking probation.  Upon request of
either party, the administrator of the division shall review the
order.  If the probationer waives the final administrative hearing,
the secretary of corrections shall enter an order either revoking or
not revoking probation.  If probation is revoked, the department
shall:

(a)  If the probationer has not already been sentenced, order the
probationer brought before the court for sentence which shall then
be imposed without further stay under s. 973.15; or

(b)  If the probationer has already been sentenced, order the
probationer to prison, and the term of the sentence shall begin on
the date the probationer enters the prison.

(2g) Upon demand prior to a revocation hearing under sub.
(2), the district attorney shall disclose to a defendant the existence
of any videotaped oral statement of a child under s. 908.08 which
is within the possession, custody or control of the state and shall
make reasonable arrangements for the defendant and defense
counsel to view the videotaped statement.  If, subsequent to com-
pliance with this subsection, the state obtains possession, custody
or control of such a videotaped statement, the district attorney
shall promptly notify the defendant of that fact and make reason-
able arrangements for the defendant and defense counsel to view
the videotaped statement.

(2m) In any administrative hearing under sub. (2), the hearing
examiner may order the taking and allow the use of a videotaped
deposition under s. 967.04 (7) to (10).

(3) A copy of the order of the department of corrections in the
case of a waiver or the division of hearings and appeals in the
department of administration in the case of a final administrative
hearing is sufficient authority for the officer executing it to take
the probationer to court or to prison.  The officer shall execute the
order as a warrant for arrest but any officer may, without order or
warrant, take the probationer into custody whenever necessary in
order to prevent escape or enforce discipline or for violation of
probation.

(4) The division of hearings and appeals in the department of
administration shall make either an electronic or stenographic
record of all testimony at each probation revocation hearing.  The
division shall prepare a written transcript of the testimony only at
the request of a judge who has granted a petition for judicial
review of the revocation decision.  Each hearing notice shall
include notice of the provisions of this subsection and a statement
that any person who wants a written transcript may record the
hearing at his or her own expense.

History:   1971 c. 298; 1975 c. 41, 157, 199; 1977 c. 347; 1981 c. 50; 1983 a. 27,
197; 1985 a. 262 s. 8; 1989 a. 31, 107; 1995 a. 96, 387; 1997 a. 283.

Judicial Council Note, 1981: Sub. (2) (a) has been amended to clarify that, upon
revocation of probation of an offender from whom sentence was originally withheld,
the court must impose sentence in accordance with s. 973.15.  That section now per-
mits the court to order that any sentence be concurrent with or consecutive to any sen-
tence imposed at the same time or previously.  [Bill 341−A]

Before probation can be revoked the department must hold a hearing and make a
record so that on judicial review it can be determined whether the department acted
arbitrarily or capriciously.  The hearing need not be formal.  State ex rel. Johnson v.
Cady, 50 Wis. 2d 540, 185 N.W.2d 306.

Revocation of probation is an integral part of the sentencing process; a defendant
is entitled to assistance of counsel at parole or probation revocation hearings without
regard to whether the hearing occurs in a withheld sentence or a postsentence situa-
tion.  Oestrich v. State, 55 Wis. 2d 222, 198 N.W.2d 664.

Since probation revocation hearings are independent from the original conviction
and sentencing, a judge disqualified in the original case may preside at the hearing
in the absence of a challenge.  State v. Fuller, 57 Wis. 2d 408, 204 N.W.2d 452.

Witnesses at a probation revocation hearing need not be sworn.  State v. Gerard,
57 Wis. 2d 611, 205 N.W.2d 374.

ABA Standards Relating to Probation are adopted and applied.  State ex rel. Plotkin
v. H&SS Dept. 63 Wis. 2d 535, 217 N.W.2d 641.

A certiorari proceeding in the committing court to review a revocation of parole
or probation is not a criminal proceeding.  State ex rel. Hanson v. H&SS Dept. 64 Wis.
2d 367, 219 N.W.2d 267.

The right of a defendant to counsel at a preliminary revocation hearing is within
the discretion of the department based on the need to meet the applicable due process
requirements.  State ex rel. Hawkins v. Gagnon, 64 Wis. 2d 394, 219 N.W.2d 252.

A defendant whose probation was transferred to Tennessee and charged with a
violation of probation there was denied due process when the revocation hearing was
held in Wisconsin and the department refused to allow deposition of witnesses in Ten-
nessee.  When the witnesses’ testimony is of a direct and unequivocally exculpatory
nature rather than cumulative, character, or background testimony that might have
been adequately presented by deposition or affidavit, an opportunity to present live
testimony with cross−examination of the witnesses is required.  State ex rel. Harris
v. Schmidt, 69 Wis. 2d 668, 230 N.W.2d 890.

Department probation files and records are public records and admissible as such
at a probation revocation hearing.  State ex rel. Prellwitz v. Schmidt, 73 Wis. 2d 35,
242 N.W.2d 227.

Time spent in jail awaiting revocation is deducted from a maximum sentence
despite the option available to the defendant to spend the time in prison.  State ex rel.
Solie v. Schmidt, 73 Wis. 2d 76, 242 N.W.2d 244.
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When the department overrules its hearing examiner and revokes probation, it
must provide a statement of the evidence relied upon and the reasons for revoking
probation.  Ramaker v. State, 73 Wis. 2d 563, 243 N.W.2d 534.

A warrantless search by a probation officer was constitutionally permissible when
probable cause existed for the officer’s attempt to determine whether the probationer
had violated probation.  State v. Tarrell, 74 Wis. 2d 647, 247 N.W.2d 696.

The trial court had no authority to extend probation of a defendant brought before
court under sub. (2).  State v. Balgie, 76 Wis. 2d 206, 251 N.W.2d 36.

The court exceeded its jurisdiction by releasing the defendant on bail pending revo-
cation proceedings.  State ex rel. DH&SS v. Second Jud. Cir. Ct. 84 Wis. 2d 707, 267
N.W.2d 373 (1978).

Equal protection does not require symmetry in probation and parole systems.  State
v. Aderhold, 91 Wis. 2d 306, 284 N.W.2d 108 (Ct. App. 1979).

A probationer’s due process right to prompt revocation proceedings was not trig-
gered when the probationer was detained as a result of unrelated criminal proceed-
ings.  State ex rel. Alvarez v. Lotter, 91 Wis. 2d 329, 283 N.W.2d 408 (Ct. App. 1979).

Probation can be revoked for violation of a criminal statute even absent a written
probation agreement.  State ex rel. Rodriguez v. DH&SS, 133 Wis. 2d 47, 393 N.W.2d
105 (Ct. App. 1986).

A probation officer may conduct a warrantless search.  That the underlying convic-
tion is subsequently overturned does not retroactively invalidate a warrantless search
by the probation officer.  State v. Angiolo, 207 Wis. 2d 559, 558 N.W.2d 701 (Ct. App.
1996).

A probationer has a right to a competency determination when during a revocation
proceeding the administrative law judge has reason to doubt the probationer’s compe-
tence.  The determination shall be made by the circuit court in the county of sentenc-
ing, which shall adhere to ss. 971.13 and 971.14 to the extent practicable.  State ex
rel. Vanderbeke v. Endicott, 210 N.W.2d 503, 563 N.W.2d 883 (1997).

Because an administrative decision may be reviewed upon a timely petition for cer-
tiorari, an adequate remedy exists at law to correct defects and relief under habeas
corpus will  not be granted.  State ex rel. Reddin v. Galster, 215 Wis. 2d 178, 572
N.W.2d 505 (Ct. App. 1998).

A certiorari proceeding to review a probation revocation must be heard in the cir-
cuit court of conviction, but it need not be by the same branch.  Drow v. Schwarz, 225
Wis. 2d 362, 592 N.W.2d 623 (1999).

Sub (2) is constitutional.  Probation and probation revocation are within the powers
shared by the branches of government.  Legislative delegation of revocation to the
executive branch does not unduly burden or substantially interfere with the judiciar-
y’s constitutional function to impose criminal penalties.  State v. Horn, 226 Wis. 2d
637, 594 N.W.2d 772 (1999).

Sub. (2) prohibits judicial revocation of probation by the trial courts.  State v.
Burchfield, 230 Wis. 2d 348, 602 N.W.2d 154 (Ct. App. 1999).

When probationer or parolee is charged with a crime and may have otherwise vio-
lated conditions of release, revocation hearings based on the non−criminal violations
should be held without delay. 65 Atty. Gen. 20.

State may require probation officers, among other “peace officers”, to be U.S. citi-
zens.  Cabel v. Chavez−Solido, 454 U.S. 432 (1982).

Revocation of probation without a hearing is a denial of due process.  Hahn v.
Burke, 430 F.2d 100.

A probation revocation hearing may be administrative.  Retained or appointed
counsel must be allowed to participate.  Gunsolus v. Gagnon, 454 F.2d 416.

Probation revocation; right to a hearing and to counsel.  1971 WLR 648.
Probation and parole revocation in Wisconsin.  1977 WLR 503.

973.11 Placements  with volunteers in probation pro -
gram.   (1) PLACEMENTS.  If a person is convicted of or pleads
guilty or no contest to one or more misdemeanors for which man-
datory periods of imprisonment are not required, if the chief judge
of the judicial administrative district has approved a volunteers in
probation program established in the applicable county, and if the
court decides that volunteer supervision under the program will
likely benefit the person and the community and subject to the lim-
itations under sub. (3), the court may withhold sentence or judg-
ment of conviction and order that the person be placed with that
volunteers in probation program.  Except as provided in sub. (3),
the order shall provide any conditions that the court determines
are reasonable and appropriate and may include, but need not be
limited to, one or more of the following:

(a)  A directive to a volunteer to provide one or more of the fol-
lowing functions for the defendant:

1.  Role model.
2.  Informal counseling.
3.  General monitoring.
4.  Monitoring of conditions set by the court.

(b)  Any requirement that the court may impose under s. 973.09
(1g), (1x), (4) and (7m).

(2) APPROVAL OF PROGRAMS.  In each judicial administrative
district under s. 757.60, the chief judge of the district may approve
volunteers in probation programs established in the district for
placements under this section.

(3) STATUS.  A defendant who is placed with a volunteers in
probation program under sub. (1) is subject to the conditions set

by the court.  The defendant is not on probation under ss. 973.09
and 973.10 and the department is not responsible for supervising
him or her.  A court may place a defendant under sub. (1) prior to
conviction only if a deferred prosecution agreement is reached
under s. 971.40.   In that case, the person is subject to the condi-
tions set by the court under this section and the conditions pro-
vided in the agreement.

(4) TERM.  The court shall set the length of the order, which
may not exceed 2 years unless extended pursuant to a hearing
under sub. (5).  When the defendant has satisfied the conditions
of the order, the court shall discharge the defendant and dismiss
the charges against the defendant if a judgment of conviction was
not previously entered.

(5) FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH ORDER.  (a)  If the defendant is
alleged to have violated the conditions of an order under sub. (1),
the court may hold a hearing regarding the allegations.  The court
shall notify the defendant at least 7 days prior to holding any such
hearing.  At the hearing, the defendant has the right to each of the
following:

1.  Counsel.
2.  Remain silent.
3.  Present and cross−examine witnesses.
4.  Have the hearing recorded by a court reporter.

(b)  The court may extend the period of supervision for up to
45 days to accommodate a hearing under this subsection.

(c)  Failure of the defendant to appear at a hearing under this
subsection tolls the running of the period of supervision.

(d)  If the court finds that the violation occurred, it may impose
a sentence, revise the conditions of the order or allow the order to
continue.

(6) OTHER MODIFICATIONS TO ORDER.  At any time prior to the
expiration of the order the court may shorten the length of the
order or modify the conditions of the order.  The court shall hold
a hearing regarding a determination under this subsection if the
defendant or district attorney requests a hearing.

History:   1991 a. 253; 1993 a. 213.

973.12 Sentence  of  a repeater or persistent repeater .
(1) Whenever a person charged with a crime will be a repeater or
a persistent repeater under s. 939.62 if convicted, any applicable
prior convictions may be alleged in the complaint, indictment or
information or amendments so alleging at any time before or at
arraignment, and before acceptance of any plea.  The court may,
upon motion of the district attorney, grant a reasonable time to
investigate possible prior convictions before accepting a plea.  If
the prior convictions are admitted by the defendant or proved by
the state, he or she shall be subject to sentence under s. 939.62
unless he or she establishes that he or she was pardoned on
grounds of innocence for any crime necessary to constitute him or
her a repeater or a persistent repeater.  An official report of the
F.B.I. or any other governmental agency of the United States or of
this or any other state shall be prima facie evidence of any convic-
tion or sentence therein reported.  Any sentence so reported shall
be deemed prima facie to have been fully served in actual confine-
ment or to have been served for such period of time as is shown
or is consistent with the report.  The court shall take judicial notice
of the statutes of the United States and foreign states in determin-
ing whether the prior conviction was for a felony or a misde-
meanor.

(2) In every case of sentence under s. 939.62, the sentence
shall be imposed for the present conviction, but if the court indi-
cates in passing sentence how much thereof is imposed because
the defendant is a repeater, it shall not constitute reversible error,
but the combined terms shall be construed as a single sentence for
the present conviction.

History:   1993 a. 289.
This section does not authorize two sentences for one crime.  State v. Upchurch,

101 Wis. 2d 329, 305 N.W.2d 57 (1981).
Because s. 939.62 authorizes penalty enhancement only when the maximum

underlying sentence is imposed, the enhancement portion of a sub−maximum sen-
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tence was an vacated as an abuse of sentencing discretion.  State v. Harris, 119 Wis.
2d 612, 350 N.W.2d 633 (1984).

A report under sub. (1) must contain critically relevant facts in order to support
penalty enhancement.  State v. Farr, 119 Wis. 2d 651, 350 N.W.2d 640 (1984).

The effect of consolidation on a repeater allegation is discussed.  State v. Rachwal,
159 Wis. 2d 494, 465 N.W.2d 490 (1991).

No amendment to a charging document to add a repeater allegation may be made
after arraignment and acceptance of any plea.  State v. Martin, 162 Wis. 2d 883, 470
N.W.2d 900 (1991).

A post−plea amendment of a repeater allegation in a charging document that mea-
ningfully changes the basis on which possible punishment can be assessed is barred.
State v. Wilks, 165 Wis. 2d 102, 477 N.W.2d 632 (Ct. App. 1991).

A guilty plea without a specific admission to repeater allegations is not sufficient
to establish the facts necessary to impose the repeater penalty enhancer.  Sate v. Zim-
mermann, 185 Wis. 2d 549, 518 N.W.2d 303 (Ct. App. 1994).

When a defendant does not admit to habitual criminality when entering a no contest
plea, the state must prove the alleged repeater status beyond a reasonable doubt.  State
v. Theriault, 187 Wis. 2d 125, 522 N.W.2d 254 (Ct. App. 1994).

For a repeater enhancer to apply, the prior conviction must be alleged prior to the
entry of a plea, but an error in the information regarding the penalty may be corrected
when an amendment will cause no prejudice.  State v. Gerard, 189 Wis. 2d 505, 525
N.W.2d 718 (1995).

Proof of repeater status must be made prior to sentencing.  Judicial notice of prior
convictions at a postconviction hearing was improper.  State v. Koeppen, 195 Wis.
2d 117, 536 N.W.2d 386 (Ct. App. 1995).

Gerard is not limited to clerical errors.  Where the information correctly alleges a
defendant’s repeater status, a post−arraignment amendment to the information does
not violate this section as long as it does not affect the sufficiency of the notice to the
defendant concerning his or her repeater status.  State v. Campbell, 201 Wis. 2d 777,
549 N.W.2d 501 (Ct. App. 1996).

The requirements for establishing prior offenses in s. 973.12 are not applicable to
the penalty enhancement provisions under chs. 341−349, including drunk driving
offenses under s. 346.65 (2) or operating after revocation offenses under 343.44 (2).
State v. Wideman, 206 Wis. 2d 90, 556 N.W.2d 737 (1996) and State v. Spaeth, 206
Wis. 2d 134, 556 N.W.2d 728 (1996).

Sub. (1) does not require that the period of incarceration under s. 939.62 (2) must
be alleged in the charging document.  State v. Squires, 211 Wis. 2d 873, 565 N.W.2d
309 (Ct. App. 1997).

When the record established that the defendant fully understood the nature of the
repeater charge against him, the defendant’s no contest plea to the information, which
charged the defendant as a repeater on all counts, constituted an admission under s.
973.12.  State v. Liebnitz, 231 Wis. 2d 272, 603 N.W.2d 208 (Ct. App. 1999).

973.125 Notice  of lifetime supervision for serious sex
offenders.   (1) Whenever a prosecutor decides to seek lifetime
supervision under s. 939.615 of a person charged with a serious
sex offense specified in s. 939.615 (1) (b) 1., the prosecutor shall,
at any time before or at arraignment and before acceptance of any
plea, state in the complaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments to the complaint, indictment or information that the pro-
secution will seek to have the person placed on lifetime supervi-
sion under s. 939.615.

(2) Whenever a prosecutor decides to seek lifetime supervi-
sion under s. 939.615 of a person charged with a serious sex
offense specified in s. 939.615 (1) (b) 2., the prosecutor shall, at
any time before or at arraignment and before acceptance of any
plea, do all of the following:

(a)  State in the complaint, indictment or information or amend-
ments to the complaint, indictment or information that the pro-
secution will seek to have the person placed on lifetime supervi-
sion under s. 939.615.

(b)  Allege in the complaint that the violation with which the
person is charged is a serious sex offense under s. 939.615 (1) (b)
because one of the purposes for the conduct constituting the viola-
tion was for the person’s sexual arousal or gratification.

(3) Before accepting a plea, the court may, upon motion of the
district attorney, grant a reasonable time to investigate whether
lifetime supervision may be necessary for a defendant or whether
one of the purposes for the conduct constituting a violation with
which a defendant is charged was for the defendant’s sexual
arousal or gratification.

History:   1997 a. 275.

973.13 Excessive  sentence, errors cured.   In any case
where the court imposes a maximum penalty in excess of that
authorized by law, such excess shall be void and the sentence shall
be valid only to the extent of the maximum term authorized by
statute and shall stand commuted without further proceedings.

This section caps the length of a sentence reduced thereby, but it does not address
other aspects or conditions of sentencing.  The sentencing court may resentence the

defendant if the new sentence is permitted by the law.   State v. Holloway, 202 Wis.
2d 695, 551 N.W.2d 841 (Ct. App. 1996).

This section commands that all sentences in excess of that authorized by law be
declared void, including the repeater portion of a sentence.  Prior postconviction
motions that failed to challenge the validity of the sentence do not bar seeking relief
from faulty repeater sentences.  State v. Flowers, 221 Wis. 2d 20, 586 N.W.2d 175 (Ct.
App. 1998).

973.135 Courts  to report convictions to the state
superintendent  of public instruction.   (1) In this section:

(a)  “Educational agency” has the meaning given in s. 115.31
(1) (b).

(b)  “State superintendent” means the state superintendent of
public instruction.

(2) If  a court determines that a person convicted of a crime
specified in ch. 948, including a crime specified in s. 948.015, a
felony for which the maximum term of imprisonment is at least 5
years, 4th degree sexual assault under s. 940.225 (3m) or a crime
in which the victim was a child, is employed by an educational
agency, the clerk of the court in which such conviction occurred
shall promptly forward to the state superintendent the record of
conviction.

(3) If  a conviction under sub. (2) is reversed, set aside or
vacated, the clerk of the court shall promptly forward to the state
superintendent a certificate stating that the conviction has been
reversed, set aside or vacated.

History:   1991 a. 42; 1995 a. 27; 1997 a. 27, 35.

973.14 Sentence  to house of correction.   (1) In addition
to the authority in ss. 302.18 and 303.18, prisoners sentenced to
a county jail may be transferred by the sheriff to a house of correc-
tion without court approval.

(2) Prisoners confined in the house of correction may be trans-
ferred by the superintendent of the house of correction to the
county jail without court approval.

(3) A prisoner sentenced to a county jail or the house of
correction being held in a county jail awaiting trial on another
charge shall be deemed to be serving the county jail or house of
correction sentence and shall be given credit on the sentence as
provided in s. 302.43 or 303.19.

History:   1977 c. 126; 1989 a. 31.

973.15 Sentence,  terms,  escapes.   (1) Except as provided
in s. 973.032, all sentences to the Wisconsin state prisons shall be
for one year or more.  Except as otherwise provided in this section,
all sentences commence at noon on the day of sentence, but time
which elapses after sentence while the convicted offender is at
large on bail shall not be computed as any part of the term of
imprisonment.

(2) (a)  Except as provided in par. (b), the court may impose
as many sentences as there are convictions and may provide that
any such sentence be concurrent with or consecutive to any other
sentence imposed at the same time or previously.

(b)  The court may not impose a sentence to the intensive sanc-
tions program consecutive to any other sentence.  The court may
not impose a sentence to the intensive sanctions program concur-
rent with a sentence imposing imprisonment, except that the court
may impose a sentence to the program concurrent with an
imposed and stayed imprisonment sentence or with a prison sen-
tence for which the offender has been released on extended super-
vision or parole.  The court may impose concurrent intensive sanc-
tions program sentences.  The court may impose an intensive
sanctions program sentence concurrent to probation.  The court
may impose any sentence for an escape from a sentence to the
intensive sanctions program concurrent with the sentence to the
intensive sanctions program.

(3) Courts may impose sentences to be served in whole or in
part concurrently with a sentence being served or to be served in
a federal institution or an institution of another state.

(4) When a court orders a sentence to the Wisconsin state pris-
ons to be served in whole or in part concurrently with a sentence
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being served or to be served in a federal institution or an institution
of another state:

(a)  The court shall order the department to immediately inform
the appropriate authorities in the jurisdiction where the prior sen-
tence is to be served that the convicted offender is presently avail-
able to commence or resume serving that sentence; and

(b)  The trial and commitment records required under s. 973.08
shall be delivered immediately to the warden or superintendent of
the Wisconsin institution designated as the reception center to
receive the convicted offender when he or she becomes available
to Wisconsin authorities.

(5) A convicted offender who is made available to another
jurisdiction under ch. 976 or in any other lawful manner shall be
credited with service of his or her Wisconsin sentence or commit-
ment under the terms of s. 973.155 for the duration of custody in
the other jurisdiction.

(6) Sections 302.11 and 304.06 are applicable to an inmate
serving a sentence to the Wisconsin state prisons for a crime com-
mitted before December 31, 1999, but confined in a federal insti-
tution or an institution in another state.

(7) If  a convicted offender escapes, the time during which he
or she is unlawfully at large after escape shall not be computed as
service of the sentence.

(8) (a)  The sentencing court may stay execution of a sentence
of imprisonment or to the intensive sanctions program only:

1.  For legal cause;
2.  Under s. 973.09 (1) (a); or
3.  For not more than 60 days.

(b)  If a court sentences a person under s. 973.03 (5) (b), this
subsection applies only to the first period of imprisonment.

History:   1973 c. 90; 1977 c. 347, 353, 447; 1981 c. 50, 292; 1983 a. 528; 1989
a. 31, 85; 1991 a. 39; 1993 a. 79; 1995 a. 390; 1997 a. 283.

Judicial Council Note, 1981: Sub. (2) has been simplified to allow a court, in
imposing a criminal sentence, to order that it be concurrent with or consecutive to any
other sentence imposed at the same time or previously.  The prior statute, although
lengthier and more complicated, failed to achieve its apparent purpose of allowing
consecutive sentencing in situations involving probation and parole revocations,
escapes, etc.  See Drinkwater v. State, 69 Wis. 2d 60 (1975); Guyton v. State, 69 Wis.
2d 663 (1975); Bruneau v. State, 77 Wis. 2d 166 (1977); Smith v. State, 85 Wis. 2d
650 (1978); and Donaldson v. State, 93 Wis. 2d 306 (1980).

This revision allows sentences to be made consecutive to any previously or simul-
taneously imposed sentence, without regard to whether the offender is “then serving”
such sentence, is subject to parole revocation proceedings, or has received a new sen-
tence between the time of an escape and a return to a state facility.  The revised statute
also governs the sentencing of probationers by virtue of the cross−references in ss.
973.09 (1) (a) and 973.10 (2) (a).  [Bill 341−A]

Judicial Council Note, 1981: Sub. (8) has been added to specify the circumstances
under which execution of a sentence of imprisonment may be stayed.  Par. (a) refer-
ences the rule of Reinex v. State, 51 Wis. 152 (1881) and Weston v. State, 28 Wis. 2d
136 (1965), whereby execution can be stayed for “legal cause”, such as during the
pendency of an appeal.  Par. (b) cross−references the probation statute.  Par. (c) is new.
It allows the court to delay the commencement of a sentence for up to 60 days.  The
Wisconsin supreme court recently held that courts have no authority to stay execution
of a sentence of imprisonment in the absence of such a statutory provision or legal
cause.  State v. Braun, 100 Wis. 2d 77 (1981).  [Bill 736−A]

Under s. 973.15 (2) and (3), a court may impose sentence consecutive to an out−
of−state sentence.  State v. Toy, 125 Wis. 2d 216, 371 N.W.2d 386 (Ct. App. 1985).

A sentencing court has authority to stay a sentence and order it be served consecu-
tive to a ss. 345.47 and 973.07 commitment for failure to pay fine and penalty assess-
ment.  State v. Strohbeen, 147 Wis. 2d 566, 433 N.W.2d 288 (Ct. App. 1988).

An adult sentence cannot run consecutive to a juvenile disposition. State v. Woods,
173 Wis. 2d 129, 496 N.W.2d 144 (Ct. App. 1992).

The sentence of a defendant convicted of committing a crime while committed
under a prior not guilty by reason of mental incompetence commitment under s.
971.17 may not be served concurrent with the commitment.  State v. Szulczewski,
209 Wis. 2d 1, 561 N.W.2d 781 (Ct. App. 1997).

Sub. (2) authorizes a trial court to impose a sentence consecutive to a previously
imposed and stayed sentence where the previous sentence is to be served only upon
revocation of probation and probation has not yet been revoked.  State v. Thompson,
208 Wis. 2d 253, 559 N.W.2d 917 (Ct. App. 1997).

A court may not order a prison sentence consecutive to an s. 971.17 commitment.
A sentence can only be imposed concurrent or consecutive to another sentence.  State
v. Harr, 211 Wis. 2d 584, 568 N.W.2d 307 (Ct. App. 1997).

The power under sub. (2) to impose consecutive sentences does not grant authority
to impose a sentence to be served consecutively to jail time being served as a condi-
tion of probation.  State v. Moran, 214 Wis. 2d 383, 571 N.W.2d 454 (Ct. App. 1997).

A commitment under s. 971.17 is legal cause under s. 973.15 (8) to stay the sen-
tence of a defendant who commits a crime while serving the commitment.  Whether
to stay the sentence while the commitment is in effect or to begin the sentence imme-
diately is within the sentencing court’s discretion.  State v. Szulczewski, 216 Wis. 2d
494, 574 N.W.2d 660 (1998).

Sub. (2) authorizes a trial court to impose a sentence consecutive to a previously
imposed sentence upon revocation of parole on that sentence.  Prior revocation of
parole on the earlier sentence is not required before a consecutive sentence may be
issued.  State v. Cole, 2000 WI App 52, 233 Wis. 2d 577, 608 N.W.2d 432.

Overcrowding does not constitute legal cause under (8) (a).  76 Atty. Gen. 165.

973.155 Sentence  credit.   (1)  (a)  A convicted offender
shall be given credit toward the service of his or her sentence for
all days spent in custody in connection with the course of conduct
for which sentence was imposed.  As used in this subsection,
“actual days spent in custody” includes, without limitation by
enumeration, confinement related to an offense for which the
offender is ultimately sentenced, or for any other sentence arising
out of the same course of conduct, which occurs:

1.  While the offender is awaiting trial;
2.  While the offender is being tried; and
3.  While the offender is awaiting imposition of sentence after

trial.
(b)  The categories in par. (a) include custody of the convicted

offender which is in whole or in part the result of a probation,
extended supervision or parole hold under s. 304.06 (3) or 973.10
(2) placed upon the person for the same course of conduct as that
resulting in the new conviction.

(2) After the imposition of sentence, the court shall make and
enter a specific finding of the number of days for which sentence
credit is to be granted, which finding shall be included in the judg-
ment of conviction.  In the case of revocation of probation,
extended supervision or parole, the department, if the hearing is
waived, or the division of hearings and appeals in the department
of administration, in the case of a hearing, shall make such a find-
ing, which shall be included in the revocation order.

(3) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall be computed as if the
convicted offender had served such time in the institution to which
he or she has been sentenced.

(4) The credit provided in sub. (1) shall include earned good
time for those inmates subject to s. 302.43, 303.07 (3) or 303.19
(3) serving sentences of one year or less and confined in a county
jail, house of correction or county reforestation camp.

(5) If  this section has not been applied at sentencing to any
person who is in custody or to any person who is on probation,
extended supervision or parole, the person may petition the
department to be given credit under this section.  Upon proper ver-
ification of the facts alleged in the petition, this section shall be
applied retroactively to the person.  If the department is unable to
determine whether credit should be given, or otherwise refuses to
award retroactive credit, the person may petition the sentencing
court for relief.  This subsection applies to any person, regardless
of the date he or she was sentenced.

(6) A defendant aggrieved by a determination by a court under
this section may appeal in accordance with s. 809.30.

History:   1977 c. 353; 1979 c. 154; 1983 a. 377, 528; 1987 a. 403 s. 256; 1989 a.
31, 107; 1997 a. 283.

The trial court did not abuse its discretion during resentencing when it refused to
give the defendant credit for time served on an unrelated conviction that was voided.
State v. Allison, 99 Wis. 2d 391, 298 N.W.2d 286 (Ct. App. 1980).

This section grants credit for each day in custody regardless of the basis for con-
finement as long as it is connected to the offense for which sentence is imposed.  State
v. Gilbert, 115 Wis. 2d 371, 340 N.W.2d 511 (1983).

When the intended sentence was valid, but the judge did not follow the procedures
under this section, the appropriate remedy was to modify the sentence to conform it
to the requirements of this section.  State v. Walker, 117 Wis. 2d 579, 345 N.W.2d 413
(1984).

“Custody” must result from the occurrence of a legal event, process, or authority
that occasions, or is related to, confinement on a charge for which the accused is ulti-
mately sentenced.  State v. Demars, 119 Wis. 2d 19, 349 N.W.2d 708 (Ct. App. 1984).

When an offender committed robbery and 24 hours later fled from an officer, the
offender was not entitled to credit toward the robbery sentence for time served the
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under sentence for fleeing officer.  State v. Gavigan, 122 Wis. 2d 389, 362 N.W.2d
162 (Ct. App. 1984).

When a probationer is arrested for a 2nd crime and consequently begins serving
time for the first crime, no credit toward the 2nd sentence is required for time served
under the first sentence.  State v. Beets, 124 Wis. 2d 372, 369 N.W.2d 382 (1985).

No credit was due for time spent in a drug treatment facility as condition of proba-
tion when the defendant was not in actual “custody” at the facility within meaning
of this section and s. 946.42.  State v. Cobb, 135 Wis. 2d 181, 400 N.W.2d 9 (Ct. App.
1986).

Credit under this section is given on a day−to−day basis, which is not to be duplica-
tively credited to more than one consecutive sentence.  State v. Boettcher, 144 Wis.
2d 86, 423 N.W.2d 533 (1988).

A defendant is not entitled to credit against a sentence for time spent under home
detention.  State v. Pettis, 149 Wis. 2d 207, 441 N.W.2d 247 (Ct. App. 1989).  See also
State v. Swadley, 190 Wis. 2d 139, 526 N.W.2d 778 (Ct. App. 1994).

A defendant is entitled to credit against a sentence for the period during which he
was denied admission to a county jail due to overcrowding; however, the defendant
is not entitled to credit for time as of the date he was to have reported to jail to serve
the sentence.  State v. Riske, 152 Wis. 2d 260, 448 N.W.2d 260 (Ct. App. 1989).

Pre−sentence credit must be applied to each of the concurrent terms to which the
defendant is sentenced.  State v. Ward, 153 Wis. 2d 743, 452 N.W.2d 158 (Ct. App.
1989).

Out of state presentence confinement while the defendant was on parole from Wis-
consin may not be credited against subsequent reconfinement in Wisconsin for a
parole violation.  State v. Rohl, 160 Wis. 2d 325, 466 N.W.2d 208 (Ct. App. 1991).

When a waiver of juvenile jurisdiction is granted, secure juvenile detention time
is eligible for credit consideration under this section as if it were jail time, retroactive
to the date of the filing of the juvenile petition.  State v. Baker, 179 Wis. 2d 655, 508
N.W.2d 40 (Ct. App. 1993).

The definition of “custody” in s. 946.42 (1) (a) is used to determine whether a per-
son is in custody for sentence credit purposes.  State v. Sevelin, 204 Wis. 2d 127, 554
N.W.2d 521 (Ct. App. 1996).

A person confined on a probation revocation or change in intensive sanctions due
to an arrest for a subsequent crime is not entitled to credit under sub. (1) against the
sentence for the subsequent crime although the confinement was triggered by the sub-
sequent crime.  State v. Abbott, 207 Wis. 2d 621, 558 N.W.2d 927 (Ct. App. 1996).

Sub. (1) (a) provides sentence credit only for custody connected to the charges to
which the custody resulted from.  Time served as the result of a bail jumping charge
was not credited against a sentence for sexual assault although the bail condition vio-
lated was in the sexual assault case.  State v. Beiersdorf, 208 Wis. 2d 492, 561 N.W.2d
749 (Ct. App. 1997).

When a defendant is unable to satisfy cash−bail requirements on 2 or more unre-
lated charges, the defendant is entitled to sentence credit on both charges.  However
if  the defendant is committed following a finding of not guilty by reason of mental
defect on one charge, there will be no sentence credit from the commitment against
a sentence upon conviction on another of the charges as the confinement after the
commitment is solely the result of the commitment.  State v. Harr, 211 Wis. 2d 584,
568 N.W.2d 307 (Ct. App. 1997).

An 18−year old on juvenile aftercare parole who was returned to juvenile detention
because the parole was revoked pending sentencing after pleading guilty to an adult
crime was eligible for sentence credit for the time spent in juvenile detention prior to
sentencing.  State v. Thompson, 225 Wis. 2d 578, 593 N.W.2d 875 (Ct. App. 1999).

When a sentence has been withheld and probation imposed, sub. (2) gives the court
exclusive authority to determine sentence credit in imposing a postprobation sen-
tence.  A person subject to electronic monitoring, but not locked in the home at night,
was not in custody and not entitled to sentence credit.  State v. Olson, 226 Wis.2d 457,
595 N.W.2d 460 (Ct. App. 1999).

“(C)ourse of conduct” in sub. (1) (a) means the specific act for which the defendant
is sentenced.  As such a defendant was not entitled to sentence credit on a later
imposed sentence for time already served on sentences arising from the same criminal
episode, but different criminal acts.  State v. Tuescher, 226 Wis. 2d 465, 595 N.W.2d
443 (Ct. App. 1999).

Pretrial confinement on a dismissed charge that is read in at sentencing relates to
an offense for which the offender is ultimately sentenced, entitling the offender to
sentence credit.  State v. Floyd, 2000 WI 14, 232 Wis. 2d 767, 606 N.W.2d 155.

For sentence credit purposes, an offender’s status constitutes custody whenever the
offender is subject to an escape charge for leaving that status.  State v. Magnuson,
2000 WI 19, 233 Wis. 2d 40, 606 N.W.2d 536.

Boettcher bars a claim for dual credit when the defendant has already received the
same credit against a prior sentence that the defendant has already served.  State v.
Jackson, 2000 WI App 41, 233 Wis. 2d 231, 607 N.W.2d 338.

Department may not grant jail credit where it is not provided for by statute.  71 Atty.
Gen. 102.

Sentence Credit: More Than Just Math.  White.  Wis. Law.  Oct. 1991.

973.16 Time out.   If an order or judgment releasing a prisoner
on habeas corpus is reversed, the time during which the prisoner
was at liberty thereunder shall not be counted as part of the prison-
er’s term.

History:   1993 a. 486.

973.17 Judgment  against a  corporation or limited
liability  company .  (1) If a corporation or limited liability com-
pany fails to appear within the time required by the summons, the
default of such corporation or limited liability company may be
recorded and the charge against it taken as true, and judgment
shall be rendered accordingly.

(2) Upon default of the defendant corporation or limited
liability  company or upon conviction, judgment for the amount of
the fine shall be entered.

(3) A judgment against a corporation or limited liability com-
pany shall be collected in the same manner as in civil actions.

History:   1993 a. 112.

973.18 Notice  of rights to appeal and representation.
(1) In this section, “postconviction relief” and “sentencing” have
the meanings ascribed in s. 809.30 (1).

(2) The trial judge shall personally inform the defendant at the
time of sentencing of the right to seek postconviction relief and,
if  indigent, the right to the assistance of the state public defender.

(3) Before adjourning the sentencing proceeding, the judge
shall direct the defendant and defendant’s trial counsel to sign a
form to be entered in the record, indicating that the lawyer has
counseled the defendant regarding the decision to seek postcon-
viction relief, and that the defendant understands that a notice of
intent to pursue postconviction relief must be filed in the trial court
within 20 days after sentencing for that right to be preserved.

(4) The judge shall direct the defendant’s counsel to confer
with the defendant before signing the form, during the proceeding
or as soon thereafter as practicable, and may make appropriate
orders to allow the defendant to confer with counsel before being
transferred to the state prison.  The defendant shall be given a copy
of the form.

(5) If  the defendant desires to pursue postconviction relief, the
defendant’s trial counsel shall file the notice required by s. 809.30
(2) (b).

History:   Sup. Ct. Order, 123 Wis. 2d xi (1985).
Judicial Council Note, 1984: Sub. (2) is similar to prior s. 809.30 (1) (b).  Subs.

(3) and (4) codify State v. Argiz, 101 Wis. 2d 546, 305 N.W. 2d 124 (1981).  Sub. (5)
codifies trial counsel’s continuing duty to provide representation until appellate
counsel is retained or appointed.  Whitmore v. State, 56 Wis. 2d 706, 203 NW 2d 56
(1973). [Re order effective July 1, 1985]

973.19 Motion  to modify  sentence.   (1)  (a)  A person sen-
tenced to imprisonment or the intensive sanctions program or
ordered to pay a fine who has not requested the preparation of tran-
scripts under s. 809.30 (2) may, within 90 days after the sentence
or order is entered, move the court to modify the sentence or the
amount of the fine.

(b)  A person who has requested transcripts under s. 809.30 (2)
may move for modification of a sentence or fine under s. 809.30
(2) (h).

(2) Within 90 days after a motion under sub. (1) (a) is filed, the
court shall enter an order either determining the motion or extend-
ing the time for doing so by not more than 90 days for cause.

(3) If an order determining a motion under sub. (1) (a) is not
entered timely under sub. (2), the motion shall be considered
denied and the clerk of the court shall immediately enter an order
denying the motion.

(4) An appeal from an order determining a motion under sub.
(1) (a) is governed by the procedure for civil appeals.

(5) By filing a motion under sub. (1) (a) the defendant waives
his or her right to file an appeal or postconviction motion under s.
809.30 (2).

History:   Sup. Ct. Order, 123 Wis. 2d xiv (1985); 1991 a. 39.
Judicial Council Note, 1984: This section is intended as an expeditious alterna-

tive to the procedure prescribed in s. 809.30 (2) when the only claim for postconvic-
tion relief relates to the severity of the sentence.  It is not intended to alter the substan-
tive grounds for such relief and it restores the time limits governing such motions
prior to the 1978 revision of the appellate rules.

This section will probably be most frequently used in guilty plea cases, although
it is not limited to such cases.  However, if the defendant intends to withdraw a guilty
plea or file other postconviction motions, s. 809.30 (2) or 974.06 provides the appro-
priate procedure.  Motions under this section should usually be filed by trial counsel
without the need for transcripts or for appointment of an appellate public defender.
A defendant must elect between the remedies provided by this section and s. 809.30
(2).  Filing a motion under this section waives relief under s. 809.30 (2).  However,
a defendant who has filed a notice of intent to pursue postconviction relief under s.
809.30 (2) (b) may invoke this remedy at any time before transcripts are ordered
under s. 809.30 (2).  If transcripts are required for prosecution of a motion under sub.
(1) (a), they should be sought under SCR 71.03 (2).
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Sub. (4) does not expand the scope of appellate review. [Re Order effective July
1, 1985.]

There are two alternative means to seek modification of a sentence; proceeding
under (1) (a) or (b).  Under either, a motion must be first made in the trial court.  State
v. Norwood, 161 Wis. 2d 676, 468 N.W.2d 741 (Ct. App. 1991).

973.20 Restitution.   (1g) In this section:
(a)  “Crime considered at sentencing” means any crime for

which the defendant was convicted and any read−in crime.
(b)  “Read−in crime” means any crime that is uncharged or that

is dismissed as part of a plea agreement, that the defendant agrees
to be considered by the court at the time of sentencing and that the
court considers at the time of sentencing the defendant for the
crime for which the defendant was convicted.

(1r) When imposing sentence or ordering probation for any
crime for which the defendant was convicted, the court, in addi-
tion to any other penalty authorized by law, shall order the defend-
ant to make full or partial restitution under this section to any vic-
tim of a crime considered at sentencing or, if the victim is
deceased, to his or her estate, unless the court finds substantial rea-
son not to do so and states the reason on the record.  Restitution
ordered under this section is a condition of probation, extended
supervision or parole served by the defendant for a crime for
which the defendant was convicted.  After the termination of
probation, extended supervision or parole, or if the defendant is
not placed on probation, extended supervision or parole, restitu-
tion ordered under this section is enforceable in the same manner
as a judgment in a civil action by the victim named in the order to
receive restitution or enforced under ch. 785.

(2) If  a crime considered at sentencing resulted in damage to
or loss or destruction of property, the restitution order may require
that the defendant:

(a)  Return the property to the owner or owner’s designee; or
(b)  If return of the property under par. (a) is impossible,

impractical or inadequate, pay the owner or owner’s designee the
reasonable repair or replacement cost or the greater of:

1.  The value of the property on the date of its damage, loss or
destruction; or

2.  The value of the property on the date of sentencing, less the
value of any part of the property returned, as of the date of its
return.  The value of retail merchandise shall be its retail value.

(3) If  a crime considered at sentencing resulted in bodily
injury, the restitution order may require that the defendant do one
or more of the following:

(a)  Pay an amount equal to the cost of necessary medical and
related professional services and devices relating to physical, psy-
chiatric and psychological care and treatment.

(b)  Pay an amount equal to the cost of necessary physical and
occupational therapy and rehabilitation.

(c)  Reimburse the injured person for income lost as a result of
a crime considered at sentencing.

(d)  If the injured person’s sole employment at the time of the
injury was performing the duties of a homemaker, pay an amount
sufficient to ensure that the duties are continued until the person
is able to resume performance of the duties.

(4) If  a crime considered at sentencing resulted in death, the
restitution order may also require that the defendant pay an
amount equal to the cost of necessary funeral and related services
under s. 895.04 (5).

(4m) If  the defendant violated s. 940.225, 948.02, 948.025,
948.05, 948.06, 948.07 or 948.08 and sub. (3) (a) does not apply,
the restitution order may require that the defendant pay an amount,
not to exceed $10,000, equal to the cost of necessary professional
services relating to psychiatric and psychological care and treat-
ment.  The $10,000 limit under this subsection does not apply to
the amount of any restitution ordered under sub. (3) or (5) for the
cost of necessary professional services relating to psychiatric and
psychological care and treatment.

(5) In any case, the restitution order may require that the
defendant do one or more of the following:

(a)  Pay all special damages, but not general damages, substan-
tiated by evidence in the record, which could be recovered in a
civil  action against the defendant for his or her conduct in the com-
mission of a crime considered at sentencing.

(b)  Pay an amount equal to the income lost, and reasonable
out−of−pocket expenses incurred, by the person against whom a
crime considered at sentencing was committed resulting from the
filing  of charges or cooperating in the investigation and prosecu-
tion of the crime.

(c)  Reimburse any person or agency for amounts paid as
rewards for information leading to the apprehension or successful
prosecution of the defendant for a crime for which the defendant
was convicted or to the apprehension or prosecution of the defend-
ant for a read−in crime.

(d)  If justice so requires, reimburse any insurer, surety or other
person who has compensated a victim for a loss otherwise com-
pensable under this section.

(6) Any order under sub. (5) (c) or (d) shall require that all res-
titution to victims under the order be paid before restitution to
other persons.

(7) If  the court orders that restitution be paid to more than one
person, the court may direct the sequence in which payments are
to be transferred under sub. (11) (a). If more than one defendant
is ordered to make payments to the same person, the court may
apportion liability between the defendants or specify joint and
several liability.  If the court specifies that 2 or more defendants
are jointly and severally liable, the department or the clerk to
whom payments are made under sub. (11) (a) shall distribute any
overpayments so that each defendant, as closely as possible, pays
the same proportion of the ordered restitution.

(8) Restitution ordered under this section does not limit or
impair the right of a victim to sue and recover damages from the
defendant in a civil action.  The facts that restitution was required
or paid are not admissible as evidence in a civil action and have
no legal effect on the merits of a civil action.  Any restitution made
by payment or community service shall be set off against any
judgment in favor of the victim in a civil action arising out of the
facts or events which were the basis for the restitution.  The court
trying the civil action shall hold a separate hearing to determine
the validity and amount of any setoff asserted by the defendant.

(9) (a)  If a crime victim is paid an award under ch. 949 for any
loss arising out of a criminal act, the state is subrogated to the
rights of the victim to any restitution required by the court.  The
rights of the state are subordinate to the claims of victims who
have suffered a loss arising out of the offenses or any transaction
which is part of the same continuous scheme of criminal activity.

(b)  When restitution is ordered, the court shall inquire to see
if  an award has been made under ch. 949 and if the department of
justice is subrogated to the cause of action under s. 949.15.  If the
restitution ordered is less than or equal to the award under ch. 949,
the restitution shall be paid only to the general fund.  If the restitu-
tion ordered is greater than the award under ch. 949, the general
fund shall receive an amount equal to the award under ch. 949 and
the balance shall be paid to the victim.

(10) The court may require that restitution be paid immedi-
ately, within a specified period or in specified instalments.  If the
defendant is placed on probation or sentenced to imprisonment,
the end of a specified period shall not be later than the end of any
period of probation, extended supervision or parole.  If the defend-
ant is sentenced to the intensive sanctions program, the end of a
specified period shall not be later than the end of the sentence
under s. 973.032 (3) (a).

(11) (a)  Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, the
restitution order shall require the defendant to deliver the amount
of money or property due as restitution to the department for trans-
fer to the victim or other person to be compensated by a restitution
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order under this section.  If the defendant is not placed on proba-
tion or sentenced to prison, the court may order that restitution be
paid to the clerk of court for transfer to the appropriate person.
The court shall require the defendant to pay a surcharge equal to
5% of the total amount of any restitution, costs and attorney fees
and any fines and related payments ordered under s. 973.05 (1) to
the department or clerk of court for administrative expenses under
this section.

(b)  The department shall establish a separate account for each
person in its custody or under its supervision ordered to make res-
titution for the collection and disbursement of funds.  A portion of
each payment constitutes the surcharge for administrative expen-
ses under par. (a).

(12) (a)  If the court orders restitution in addition to the pay-
ment of fines, related payments under s. 973.05 and costs under
s. 973.06, it shall set the amount of fines, related payments and
costs in conjunction with the amount of restitution and issue a
single order, signed by the judge, covering all of the payments.  If
the costs for legal representation by a private attorney appointed
under s. 977.08 are not established at the time of issuance of the
order, the court may revise the order to include those costs at a later
time.

(b)  Except as provided in par. (c), payments shall be applied
first to satisfy the ordered restitution in full, then to pay any fines
or related payments under s. 973.05, then to pay costs other than
attorney fees and finally to reimburse county or state costs of legal
representation.

(c)  If a defendant is subject to more than one order under this
section and the financial obligations under any order total $50 or
less, the department or the clerk of court, whichever is applicable
under sub. (11) (a), may pay these obligations first.

(13) (a)  The court, in determining whether to order restitution
and the amount thereof, shall consider all of the following:

1.  The amount of loss suffered by any victim as a result of  a
crime considered at sentencing.

2.  The financial resources of the defendant.
3.  The present and future earning ability of the defendant.
4.  The needs and earning ability of the defendant’s depen-

dents.
5.  Any other factors which the court deems appropriate.

(b)  The district attorney shall attempt to obtain from the victim
prior to sentencing information pertaining to the factor specified
in par. (a) 1.  Law enforcement agencies, the department of correc-
tions and any agency providing services under ch. 950 shall
extend full cooperation and assistance to the district attorney in
discharging this responsibility.  The department of justice shall
provide technical assistance to district attorneys in this regard and
develop model forms and procedures for collecting and docu-
menting this information.

(c)  The court, before imposing sentence or ordering probation,
shall inquire of the district attorney regarding the amount of resti-
tution, if any, that the victim claims.  The court shall give the
defendant the opportunity to stipulate to the restitution claimed by
the victim and to present evidence and arguments on the factors
specified in par. (a).  If the defendant stipulates to the restitution
claimed by the victim or if any restitution dispute can be fairly
heard at the sentencing proceeding, the court shall determine the
amount of restitution before imposing sentence or ordering proba-
tion.  In other cases, the court may do any of the following:

1.  Order restitution of amounts not in dispute as part of the
sentence or probation order imposed and direct the appropriate
agency to file a proposed restitution order with the court within 90
days thereafter, and mail or deliver copies of the proposed order
to the victim, district attorney, defendant and defense counsel.

2.  Adjourn the sentencing proceeding for up to 60 days pend-
ing resolution of the amount of restitution by the court, referee or
arbitrator.

3.  With the consent of the defendant, refer the disputed resti-
tution issues to an arbitrator acceptable to all parties, whose deter-
mination of the amount of restitution shall be filed with the court
within 60 days after the date of referral and incorporated into the
court’s sentence or probation order.

4.  Refer the disputed restitution issues to a court commis-
sioner or other appropriate referee, who shall conduct a hearing on
the matter and submit the record thereof, together with proposed
findings of fact and conclusions of law, to the court within 60 days
of the date of referral.  Within 30 days after the referee’s report is
filed, the court shall determine the amount of restitution on the
basis of the record submitted by the referee and incorporate it into
the sentence or probation order imposed.  The judge may direct
that hearings under this subdivision be recorded either by audio
recorder or by a court reporter.  A transcript is not required unless
ordered by the judge.

(14) At any hearing under sub. (13), all of the following apply:
(a)  The burden of demonstrating by the preponderance of the

evidence the amount of loss sustained by a victim as a result of a
crime considered at sentencing is on the victim.  The district attor-
ney is not required to represent any victim unless the hearing is
held at or prior to the sentencing proceeding or the court so orders.

(b)  The burden of demonstrating, by the preponderance of the
evidence, the financial resources of the defendant, the present and
future earning ability of the defendant and the needs and earning
ability of the defendant’s dependents is on the defendant.  The
defendant may assert any defense that he or she could raise in a
civil  action for the loss sought to be compensated.  The office of
the state public defender is not required to represent any indigent
defendant unless the hearing is held at or prior to the sentencing
proceeding, the defendant is incarcerated when the hearing is held
or the court so orders.

(c)  The burden of demonstrating, by the preponderance of the
evidence, such other matters as the court deems appropriate is on
the party designated by the court, as justice requires.

(d)  All parties interested in the matter shall have an opportunity
to be heard, personally or through counsel, to present evidence
and to cross−examine witnesses called by other parties.  The court,
arbitrator or referee shall conduct the proceeding so as to do sub-
stantial justice between the parties according to the rules of sub-
stantive law and may waive the rules of practice, procedure,
pleading or evidence, except provisions relating to privileged
communications and personal transactions or communication
with a decedent or mentally ill person or to admissibility under s.
901.05.  Discovery is not available except for good cause shown.
If  the defendant is incarcerated, he or she may participate by tele-
phone under s. 807.13 unless the court issues a writ or subpoena
compelling the defendant to appear in person.

History:   1987 a. 398 ss. 39 to 41, 43; 1989 a. 31, 188; 1991 a. 39, 269; 1993 a.
213; 1995 a. 141, 161; 1997 a. 283.

Judicial Council Note, 1987: Sub. (1) allows restitution to be ordered although
the defendant is not placed on probation.  It allows restitution to be made payable to
the estate of a deceased victim.  It requires restitution ordered to be a condition of
probation or parole served by the defendant for the offense.  Finally, it allows restitu-
tion unpaid at the time probation or parole supervision terminates to be enforced by
the victim as a judgment creditor.  See 18 USC 3662 (a), (c) and (h).

Sub. (2) is patterned on 18 USC 3663 (b) (1) and prior s. 973.09 (1r), stats.
Sub. (3) is patterned on 18 USC 3663 (b) (2).  Paragraph (d) is patterned on s.

949.06 (1) (b) 3., stats.
Sub. (4) is patterned on 18 USC 3663 (b) (3).
Sub. (5) (a) and (b) is based on prior s. 973.09 (8) (a) and (b), stats.  A new provision

allows the court to order restitution of income lost by the victim while participating
in the investigation and prosecution of the offense.

Sub. (5) (c) is new.  It allows the court to order restitution of rewards paid for infor-
mation which helps solve or prosecute the offense.

Sub. (5) (d) carries forward the provision of prior s. 973.09 (1) (b), stats., allowing
restitution to insurers, sureties, etc.

Sub. (6) is based on 18 USC 3663 (e) (1).
Sub. (7) is new.  It allows the court to direct the order of payment when there is more

than one victim, and to apportion liability when more than one defendant is ordered
to make restitution to the same person, or to specify joint and several liability.

Sub. (10) is based on 18 USC 3663 (f).
Sub. (11) (a) is based on prior s. 973.09 (1) (b) and (1m) (c), stats.
Sub. (11) (b) is based on prior s. 973.09 (1m) (d), stats.
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Sub. (12) (a) is based on prior s. 973.09 (1m) (a), stats.
Sub. (12) (b) is based on prior s. 973.09 (1m) (c), stats.
Sub. (12) (c) is based on prior s. 973.09 (1m) (cm), stats.
Sub. (13) (a) is patterned on 18 USC 3664 (a).  Prior s. 973.09 (1m) (a), stats., simi-

larly required the court to consider the defendant’s ability to pay when determining
the amount of restitution.

Sub. (13) (b) is new.  It makes the district attorney primarily responsible for obtain-
ing information relating to the amount of loss suffered by any crime victim.  Law
enforcement, probation and parole, and victim assistance agencies must cooperate
with the district attorney in this regard.  The department of justice is directed to
develop model forms and procedures for collecting victim loss data.  See legislative
audit bureau report No. 85−10, April 15, 1985, at 14−18.

Sub. (13) (c) creates several optional procedures for resolving disputes over the
amount of restitution without resort to a judicial evidentiary hearing as provided by
prior s. 973.09 (1m) (b), stats.  First, the defendant may stipulate to the district attor-
ney’s determination of the amount of victim loss, while reserving the right to seek a
lower amount of restitution based on ability−to−pay factors.  Second, the court may
hear the dispute at the sentencing proceeding, or adjourn the matter for later hearing
prior to imposing sentence.  Third, the court may order restitution of items not in dis-
pute, referring disputed issues for subsequent resolution.  Fourth, the court, with the
consent of the parties, may refer disputed restitution issues to an arbitrator, whose
determination is final and binding.  Fifth, the court may appoint a referee to conduct
fact−finding into the disputed restitution issues, whose proposed findings must be
presented to the court within 60 days.

Sub. (14) (a) to (c) is based on 18 USC 3664 (d) and prior s. 973.09 (1m) (a), stats.
Sub. (14) (d) is new.  It is intended to allow restitution disputes to be heard in an

informal way so that parties may participate effectively without the need for legal
counsel.  Restitution hearings are not governed by the rules of evidence.  State v.
Pope, 107 Wis. 2d 726 (Ct. App. 1982). [87 Act 398]

In the absence of objection to a restitution summary, when a defendant has received
a copy, the trial court may assume that the amount is not in dispute and may order res-
titution on that basis.  In such cases, the court need not make detailed findings under
sub. (13) (c).  State v. Szarkowitz, 157 Wis. 2d 740, 460 N.W.2d 819 (Ct. App. 1990).

Under sub. (14) (b), the defendant has the burden to offer evidence concerning abil-
ity to pay.  When the  defendant fails to offer evidence, the trial court may order resti-
tution without making detailed findings as to sub. (13) (a) 1. to 4.  State v. Szarkowitz,
157 Wis. 2d 740, 460 N.W.2d 819 (Ct. App. 1990).

Application of bail toward payment of restitution is not permitted.  State v. Cetna-
rowski, 166 Wis. 2d 700, 480 N.W.2d 790 (Ct. App. 1992).

Requiring a convicted defendant to deposit money for possible future counselling
costs of victims was impermissible.  State v. Handley, 173 Wis. 2d 838, 496 N.W.2d
725 (Ct. App. 1993).

Restitution to a party with no relation on the record to the crime of conviction or
to read−in crimes is improper.  State v. Mattes, 175 Wis. 2d 572, 499 N.W.2d 711 (Ct.
App. 1993).

This section does not authorize restitution for non−pecuniary damages.  State v.
Stowers, 177 Wis. 2d 798, 503 N.W.2d 8 (Ct. App. 1993).

Imposition of a restitution order after commencement of the defendant’s jail sen-
tence did not constitute double jeopardy. State v. Perry, 181 Wis. 2d 43, 510 N.W.2d
722 (Ct. App. 1993).

The time period for determining restitution under sub. (13) (c) 2. is directory, not
mandatory. State v. Perry, 181 Wis. 2d 43, 510 N.W.2d 722 (Ct. App. 1993).

Restitution for read−in charges may be ordered without the defendant’s personal
admission to the read−in charge.  State v. Cleaves, 181 Wis. 2d 73, 510 N.W.2d 143
(Ct. App. 1993).

Sub. (1) imposes a mandatory duty on a court to provide for restitution; a sentence
not providing restitution is illegal and subject to amendment to provide restitution.
State v. Borst, 181 Wis. 2d 118, 510 N.W.2d 739 (Ct. App. 1993).

Repayment to a police department of money used by the police to buy drugs from
a defendant is not authorized by this section.  State v. Evans, 181 Wis. 2d 978, 512
N.W.2d 259 (Ct. App. 1994).

Interest on a restitution award is not allowed.  State v. Hufford, 186 Wis. 2d 461,
522 N.W.2d 26 (Ct. App. 1994).

A restitution award for the repair or replacement cost of a stolen or damaged item
is not limited to the fair market value of that item as determined by the jury.  State v.
Kennedy, 190 Wis. 2d 252, 528 N.W.2d 9 (Ct. App. 1994).

In the absence of a specific objection at the time restitution is ordered, the trial court
may proceed with the understanding that the defendant’s silence is a constructive stip-
ulation to the restitution, including the amount.  State v. Hopkins, 196 Wis. 2d 36, 538
N.W.2d 543 (Ct. App. 1995).

The expenses of fire fighting and clean up resulting from a crime could not be prop-
erly awarded to the county as restitution because the county did not have a direct rela-
tionship with the crime of record and was not a victim.  State v. Schmaling, 198 Wis.
2d 757, 543 N.W.2d 555 (Ct. App. 1995).

A restitution order is unaffected by bankruptcy proceedings.  State v. Sweat, 202
Wis. 2d 366, 550 N.W.2d 709 (Ct. App. 1996).

While a trial court may not, as part of a restitution order, assess general damages
that compensate a victim for such things as pain and suffering, anguish or humiliation,
it may award as special damages any specific expenditure by the victim paid because
of the crime.  State v. Behnke, 203 Wis. 2d 43, 553 N.W.2d 265 (Ct. App. 1996).

The term “any defense” in sub. (14) (b) does not mean all defenses available in a
civil  suit, but rather all defenses relating to the determination of loss sought to be com-
pensated.  Therefore, the civil statute of limitations does not apply.  State v. Sweat,
208 Wis. 2d 409, 561 N.W.2d 695 (1997).

When a defendant defrauds people, reasonable attorney fees expended to recover
their losses from parties who are civilly or criminally liable may be awarded as resti-
tution.  State v. Anderson, 215 Wis. 2d 667,  573 N.W.2d 872 (Ct. App. 1997)

That sub. (12) (a) requires issuing a single order covering all fines, assessments,
costs and restitution after a restitution hearing does not authorize the court to hold
open all other financial terms of a previously imposed sentence while restitution is
being imposed.  State v. Perry, 215 Wis. 2d 690, 573 N.W.2d 876 (Ct. App. 1997).

A governmental entity may be a “victim” under sub. (1r) entitled to collect restitu-
tion.  State v. Howard−Hastings, 218 Wis. 2d 152, 579 N.W.2d 290 (Ct. App. 1998).

An order that a defendant liquidate his life insurance policies, withdraw funds from
a pension fund, and pay the proceeds to the victims of his embezzlement crime was
barred by federal law.  State v. Kenyon, 225 Wis. 2d 657, 593 N.W.2d 491 (Ct. App.
1999).

In an employee felony theft case, it was improper to order restitution for unearned
benefits and vacation that were not “readily ascertainable pecuniary expenditures,”
for the use of a vehicle that the employee had unrestricted personal use of and for the
costs of recruiting and hiring a replacement for the defendant that resulted from the
employee’s resignation, and not from the theft.  State v. Holmgren, 229 Wis. 2d 358,
599 N.W.2d 876 (Ct. App. 1999).

A defendant is entitled to a hearing, although it may be informal, to challenge the
existence of damage to the victim, as well as the amount of damage.  If damage results
from a criminal episode in which the defendant played only any part, the defendant
is jointly and severally liable in restitution for the amount of damages.  State v. Mad-
lock, 230 Wis. 2d 324, 602 N.W.2d 104 (Ct. App. 1999).

For restitution to be ordered, a causal nexus between the crime and the disputed
damage.  The defendant’s actions must be the precipitating cause of the injury, and
the harm must have resulted from the natural consequences of the actions.  State v.
Canady, 2000 WI App 87, 234 Wis. 2d 261, 610 N.W.2d 147.
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