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Fiscal Estimate Narratives
EAB 3/5/02

LRB Number 01s0319/3 Introduction Number ASA1- Estimate Type  Supplemental
AB749

Subject

Regulation of massage therapists and bodyworkers

Assumptions Used in Arriving at Fiscal Estimate

Under current law, in order to use the title “massage therapist” or “bodyworker”, an individual must be
registered with the Department of Regulation and Licensing (DRL). In addition, schools that offer massage
therapy and bodyworker training must be approved the Educational Approval Board (EAB).

Assembly Bill 749 would replace the existing registration requirements with licensure requirements, and create
a seven-member massage therapy and bodywork examining board attached to DRL that would administer and
enforce the licensure requirements. Instead of licensure requirements, Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to
AB 749 creates voluntary certification requirements for certain protected titles and creates a seven-member
massage therapy and bodywork council, appointed by the Governor, to advise DRL in implementing the
certification requirements.

CONSUMER PROTECTION

To protect consumers and provide them with innovative educational choices, the EAB currently approves 120
for-profit and non-profit private schools, colleges, and universities, including 17 private massage therapy and
bodywork schools (13 in Wisconsin, 3 in Minnesota, and 1 in Michigan). The four out-of-state schools serve
Wisconsin residents thereby requiring EAB approval. Annually, these schools enroll and graduate more than
500 Wisconsin adults as massage therapists and bodyworkers. Madison Area Technical College offers the only
other recognized massage therapy program in Wisconsin, but it is outside the scope of the EAB's regulatory
authority and is approved by DRL.

Current law requires a person to be registered with the state if he or she wants to use the title “massage
therapist” or “bodyworker”. However, it daes not prohibit anyone, regardless of a person's qualifications or
training, from practicing massage therapy or bodywork. Because the certification requirements contained in
ASA 1 to AB 749 are not mandatory, the ability to practice massage therapy or bodywork without a certification
will continue as long as the individual does not use the term massage therapist or bodyworker.

CLASSROOM INSTRUCTION OF LAWS AND RULES

Current DRL administrative rules require that registered massage therapists complete a 600-hour classroom
program, of which 50 hours are focused on “business, ethics, laws and regulations”. This requirement is
incorporated into massage therapy or bodywork programs of EAB-approved schools. To register with DRL as a
“massage therapists” or "bodyworker”, an individual must also submit and pass an examination on state laws
and regulations for massage lherapy and bodywork.

For individuals seeking state certification, ASA 1 to AB 749 would require a person to complete at least 6
classroom hours in the laws of this state and rules of the department relating to the practice of massage
therapy or bodywork in a course of instruction approved by the department. This new requirement of a six (6)
classroom hours course of instruction is in addition to the required 600 classroom hours program for massage
therapy or bodywork and is likely to increase costs for EAB-approved schools offering a massage therapy and
bodywork program.

To meet student needs, schools will need to add six (6) classroom hours to this program, will incur additional
instructor time and training costs, and will increase administrative costs to coordinate with DRL about how to
comply to this additional state mandate. Some of these additional costs will likely be passed on to students
through tuition increases. It is not possible to determine the amount to which this provision would increase
school costs.



EAB CERTIFYING REQUIREMENTS

Under current law, the EAB approves private schools offering a massage therapy or bodywork program and the
DRL registers individuals as massage therapists or bodyworkers. The provisions of ASA 1 to AB 79 will require
the EAB to create an application and review process for individuals wanting state certification as a massage
therapist or bodyworker. The review process would determine if a person has the proper education, training,
and experience in the practice of massage therapy or bodywork. Individuals would be charged $53.

It should be noted that the primary purpose of the EAB is to approve schools, not people who are engaged in
professions. Although the EAB could develop expertise the capacity to perform these functions, it would likely
duplicate those currently performed by DRL for other professions.

Itis difficult to estimate the amount of revenue that would be generated as a result of this provision. Because
the provision only applies to those individuals who choose to be certified, the EAB has no way of determining
the number of individuals that will apply. Moreover, the provision under s.460.05 (2) of the substitute
amendment would allow the DRL to establish waiver requirements for individuals with substantially equivalent
education, training or other experience, which may affect the number of applications and reviews the EAB will
perform.

Long-Range Fiscal Implications



