# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Natural Resources**

#### Assembly Bill 187

Relating to: the newspaper recycling fee and the recycled content of newsprint used in newspapers.

By Representatives Johnsrud, Ott, Bies, Gunderson, Gronemus, Hines, Hahn, Grothman, M. Lehman, Towns, Olsen, Stone, Petrowski, Townsend, Van Roy, Vrakas, McCormick, Rhoades, Suder, Albers and Seratti; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Stepp, Harsdorf, Jauch, Reynolds, Welch and S. Fitzgerald.

March 25, 2003 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

## April 2, 2003 **PUBLIC E**

## PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(10)	Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott,
		Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Black,
		Steinbrink, Miller.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Gronemus.

#### Appearances For

- Sandra George, WI Newspaper Assoc., Madison
- Greg Buckardt, Bowater, Chicago
- Mike Coile, Woodward Communications, Platteville
- Janelle Anderson, WI Free Community Newspapers, Fond du Lac

Appearances Against

- Ron Hermes, National Solid Waste Mgmt. Assoc., WI Chapter, Madison
- Kate Cooper, WDNR, Madison
- Jay Hochmuth, WDNR, Madison
- Joseph Van Rossum, Associated Recyclers of WI, Brillion
- Caryl Terrell, Sierra Club John Muir Chapter, Madison
- John Reindl, Madison
- Joe Farris, Wisconsin's Environmental Decade, Madison
- Peter Anderson, Madison

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

• Senator Tom Reynolds, 5th Senate District, Madison

- Janet Swandby, WI Free Community Papers, Madison
- Senator Bob Welch, 14th Senate District

#### **Registrations Against**

• Kerry Schumann, WI Public Interest Research Group, Madison

## April 16, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott,
		Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Steinbrink and
		Miller.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Krawczyk, Black and
		Gronemus.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Pettis that **Assembly Bill 187** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(7)	Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott,
		Pettis, Bies, M. Williams and Steinbrink.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Miller.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Krawczyk, Black and
		Gronemus.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 1

Scott Loomans Committee Clerk