Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 275

Relating to: prohibiting methyl tertiary-butyl ether in automotive gasoline, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Freese, Gronemus, M. Lehman, Gard, Ainsworth, J. Wood, Suder, Ott, Musser, Townsend, Hines, Miller, Owens, Gielow, Bies, Montgomery, Hahn, Albers, Gunderson, Van Roy, Wasserman, Ziegelbauer, McCormick, Vrakas and Nass; cosponsored by Senators Schultz, Cowles, Welch, Wirch, Darling, Reynolds and Zien.

April 18, 2003 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

June 18, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott,

Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Black,

Steinbrink, Miller.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

Appearances For

- Rep. Stephen Freese, 51st Assembly District
- Chet Gerlach, WI Ethanol Producers Association, Madison
- Bob Sather, Ace Ethanol, Chippewa Falls

Appearances Against

• None.

☐ Erin Roth, WI Petroleum Council, 1029 Chandler Ln, Madison

Registrations For

- ☐ John Manske, WI Federation of Cooperative, Madison
- ☐ Matthew Hauser, Petroleum Marketers Association of Wisconsin, Madison
- ☐ John Obrien, Senator Dale Schultz office, Madison

Registrations Against

□ None.

June 18, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (10) Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott,
Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Black,
Steinbrink, Miller.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Gunderson that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 275** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Black, Steinbrink, Miller.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 TO ASSEMBLY BILL 275 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Pettis, seconded by Representative Ott that **Assembly Bill 275** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Johnsrud, Gunderson, Ott, Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams, Black, Steinbrink, Miller.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 0

Scott Loomans Committee Clerk