Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 304

Relating to: collective bargaining over health care coverage for municipal employees; allowing municipal employers to change health care coverage plan providers; factors considered in rendering a collective bargaining arbitration decision; requiring the Group Insurance Board to prepare a report on offering group health insurance plans at different cost levels to local government employers and employees; requiring the Group Insurance Board to offer for purchase long-term care insurance policies to employees of local governments; convening a task force to conduct a feasibility study on forming a state pool for the bulk purchasing of prescription drugs; disclosure of health insurance claims experience of local governmental units; bids submitted to local governmental units for health insurance; requiring the Commissioner of Insurance to promulgate rules establishing uniform forms for local government health care coverage requests for proposals and health claims experience and summarizing benefits provided under health care benefit plans; and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives McCormick, Albers, Gielow, Grothman, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Jensen, Kestell, Krawczyk, Ladwig, F. Lasee, Lothian, Musser, Pettis, Seratti, Stone, Van Roy, Vrakas, Vukmir, Weber, Wieckert and J. Wood; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Harsdorf, Kanavas, Stepp and Welch.

April 29, 2003 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

June 5, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Terri McCormick, State Assembly, Madison
- Dan Schwartzer, Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters, 4600 American Parkway, Suite 208, Madison, WI 53718
- Laurie Kohls, Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters, 4600 American Parkway, Madison, WI 53718
- Ken Cole, Wisconsin Association of School Boards, 122 West Washington Avenue, Suite 400, Madison, WI 53703
- Kim Hurtz, Aegis Corporation, 18550 W. Capitol Drive, Brookfield, WI 53045

| | □ Curt Witynski, League of Wisconsin Municipalities, 202 State Street, Madison, WI 53703 □ Ed Huck, Alliance of Cities, 14 West Mifflin, Madison, WI □ Jeff Prickette, Jabas Group, Inc., Kimberly, WI 54136 □ Representative Frank Lasee, State Assembly, Madison Appearances Against □ Fred Evert, WEA Trust, 8401 Oakmont Drive, Madison, WI 53717 □ Bradley Debraska, Milwaukee Police Association, 1840 N. Farwell, Milwaukee, WI 53202 □ William Ward, Milwaukee Police Association, 1840 N. Farwell, Milwaukee, WI 53202 □ Appearances for Information Only □ Jon Hochkammer, Wisconsin Counties Association, 22 East Mifflin, Suite 900, Madison, WI 53703 Registrations For □ R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison, WI □ Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives, 44 East Mifflin St, Suite 101, Madison, WI 53703 Registrations Against □ Dennis Boyer, AFSCME, 8033 Excelsior Drive, Madison, WI 53717 □ Katie Boycks, Wisconsin Association of Life & Health Insurers, 22 N. Carol Street, Suite 380, Madison, WI 53703 □ Stephanie Lundberg, Wisconsin Federation of Teachers, 2 West Gorham Street, Apt G1, Madison, WI 53703 □ Phil Neuenfeldt, Wisconsin State AFL-CIO, 6333 West Bluemound Road, Milwaukee, WI 53213 | | |
|-------------------|----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|------|---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| | Bluemound Road, Milwaukee, WI 53213 ☐ Pat Essie, WEAC, 16 North Carrol Street, Madison, WI 53703 | | |
| September 9, 2003 | EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD | | |
| | Present: | (14) | Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau. |
| March 11, 2004 | Absent: (0) None. Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1. | | |
| | Taried to pass pursuant to senate some Resolution 1. | | |

Janine Hale Committee Clerk