Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Corrections and the Courts

Assembly Bill 390

Relating to: housing of county prisoners from border states in Wisconsin county jails.

By Representatives Pettis, Shilling, Huebsch, Gard, Plouff, Weber, Musser, Seratti, Van Roy, Freese, Nass, Hahn, Boyle, Gronemus, Ladwig, LeMahieu, Albers, Bies, McCormick, Petrowski, Vrakas, Grothman, Kreibich and Taylor; cosponsored by Senators A. Lasee, Schultz, Jauch, Hansen, Stepp, Wirch and Roessler.

June 05, 2003 Referred to Committee on Corrections and the Courts.

August 13, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(8)	Representatives Bies, Underheim, Owens, F.
		Lasee, Suder, Pocan, Staskunas and
		Wasserman.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Albers, and Colon.

Appearances For

- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, WI Counties Association
- Steven Moe, WI Sheriff's & Deputy Sheriff's Association
- Rep. Mark Pettis, 28th Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jeff Wiswell, WI Sheriff's & Deputy Sheriff's Association
- Rep. Frank Boylw, 73rd Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

September 10, 2003 EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD

Present: (11) Representatives Bies, Albers, Underheim, Owens, F. Lasee, Suder, Honadel, Pocan, Colon, Staskunas and Wasserman. Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Bies, seconded by Representative Pocan that **a0834/1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Bies, Albers, Underheim,
		Owens, F. Lasee, Suder, Honadel, Pocan,
		Colon, Staskunas and Wasserman.
Noes:	(0)	None.

INTRODUCTION OF A0834/1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Staskunas, seconded by Representative Albers that **AAao834/1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(11)	Representatives Bies, Albers, Underheim,
		Owens, F. Lasee, Suder, Honadel, Pocan,
		Colon, Staskunas and Wasserman.
Noes:	(0)	None.

AAAO834/1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Staskunas, seconded by Representative Albers that **Assembly Bill 390** be recommended for passage as amended.

 Ayes: (11) Representatives Bies, Albers, Underheim, Owens, F. Lasee, Suder, Honadel, Pocan, Colon, Staskunas and Wasserman.
Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 0

Andrew Nowlan Committee Clerk