Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 405

Relating to: authorizing a hospice nurse to make a pronouncement of death.

By Representatives Underheim, Ladwig, Owens, Hundertmark, Albers, Balow, Hahn, M. Williams, Huber, J. Lehman, Taylor, Gielow and Wasserman; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Decker, A. Lasee, Lassa, Robson, Wirch and Erpenbach.

June 12, 2003 Referred to Committee on Health.

September 16, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(15)	Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Johnsrud,
		Seratti, Montgomery, Hundertmark, Krawczyk,
		Vukmir, Wasserman, Krug, Shilling, Vruwink,
		Miller, Colon and Huber.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Olsen and Wieckert.

Appearances For

- Melanie Ramey, HOPE (The Hospice Organization & Palliative Experts of Wisconsin), 3240 University Avenue #2, Madison
- RN Keri Christiansen, HOPE (The Hospice Organization & Palliative Experts of Wisconsin), 2144 Roxbury Road, Janesville, WI 53545
- □ Linda Grilley, Comfort Care and Hospice Services Wausau Hospital, 333 Pine Ridge Blvd., Wausau, WI 54401
- Becky Patterson, self, 207 Harrison Street, Black River Falls, WI 54615
- MD Kay Heggestad, WI Medical Society/Hospice Care Inc., 4221 Venetian Lane, Madison, WI 53718
- □ Eric Bauman, self, 1615 Maple Street, Middleton, WI 53705
- □ Royce DeBow, self, 401 McDowell Street, Delavan, WI 53115

Appearances Against

John Stanley, WI Coroners & Medical Examiners Assoc., 115
W. Doty Street, PSB Room 2144, Madison, WI 53703

Appearances for Information Only

 \Box None.

Registrations For

□ Senator Jon Erpenbach, 27th Senate District

- □ Tony Driessen, Vitas Hospice/Quarles & Brady, 411 E. Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee, WI 53202-4497
- RN, CHPN Jane Quinn, Hospice Care Inc., 6438 Urich Terrace, Madison, WI 53719
- □ Todd McVey, Hospice Care Inc., 5395 E. Cheryl Parkway, Madison, WI 53711

Registrations Against

 \Box None.

October 14, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(16)	Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Johnsrud,
		Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery,
		Hundertmark, Krawczyk, Vukmir, Wasserman,
		Krug, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller and Huber.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Colon.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Hundertmark that **Assembly Bill 405** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:(16) Representatives Underheim, Gielow,
Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert,
Montgomery, Hundertmark, Krawczyk,
Vukmir, Wasserman, Krug, Shilling,
Vruwink, Miller and Huber.Noes:(0) None.
Representative Colon.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Marne Wischnewski Committee Clerk