Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 447

Relating to: authorizing a health benefit purchasing cooperative pilot project and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Gielow, Ladwig, Ott, Gronemus, Kestell, Musser, M. Lehman, Krawczyk, Owens, Powers, Van Roy, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hines, Zepnick, Pope-Roberts, Hahn, Plouff, Towns, Ainsworth, Loeffelholz, M. Williams, Albers, Vrakas, Staskunas, Hundertmark, Weber, Jensen, Balow, Petrowski and Vruwink; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Erpenbach, Brown, Stepp, M. Meyer, Hansen, Risser and Roessler.

July 25, 2003 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

September 9, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (0) None. Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

• None.

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• None.

September 24, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Ladwig, Underheim, F. Lasee,

McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman

and Berceau.

Absent: (2) Representatives Wieckert and Cullen.

Appearances For

- Representative Curt Gielow, State Assembly, 316 North, State Capitol, Madison, WI 53708
- Senator Sheila Harsdorf, State Senate, 131 South, State Capitol, Madison, WI 53708
- Bill Oemichen, Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives, 131 W. Wilson St. Suite 400, Madison, WI
- Melissa Duffy, Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives, 131 W.
 Wilson St., Suite 400, Madison, WI
- Joann Wingers, Randolph, WI
- Richard Keller, Wisconsin Farmers Union, 1454 Keller Road, Mt. Horeb, WI 53572
- Sabrina Gentile, WI Farm Bureau, P.O. Box 5550, Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Michael Metz, Wisconsin Independent Business, P.O. Box 2135, Madison, WI 53701
- Stephen Rudolph, Coulee Area Regional Employers Health Action Cooperative, 125 N. 7th St., LaCrosse, WI
- Kathi Kilgore, WI Innkeepers Association, 44 E. Mifflin St., Suite 101, Madison, WI 53703
- Kathi Kilgore, Wisconsin Association of Campground Owners, 44 E. Mifflin St., Suite 101, Madison, WI
- Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business, 10 E. Doty St., Suite 201, Madison, WI 53703
- Janet Swandby, Wisconsin Retail Lumber Association, 44 E. Mifflin St., Suite 101, Madison, WI 53703
- Amy Winters, Wisconsin Agribusiness Council, Inc., Madison, WI
- Ron Statz, National Farmers Organization, 955 17th St., Prairie du Sac, WI 53578
- Paul Merline, Wisconsin Restaurant Association, 2801 Fish Hatchery Road, Madison, WI 53711
- Representative John Ainsworth, State Assembly, 309 North, State Capitol, Madison, WI 53708
- Georgia Maxwell, Wisconsin Credit Union League, Pewaukee, WI
- Kathy Elliott O'Neil, The Alliance, 37 Kessel Court, Suite 201, Madison, WI
- Rev. Sue Moline Larson, Lutheran Office for Public Policy in Wisconsin, 322 E. Washington Ave., Madison, WI 53703

Registrations Against

• None.

October 15, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff,

J. Lehman and Berceau.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wieckert, seconded by Representative Plouff that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 (LRBs0203/2)** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 (LRBS0203/2) RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Wieckert, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 (LRBs0203/2)** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 (LRBS0203/2) ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Berceau that **Assembly Bill 447** be recommended for passage as amended

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Janine Hale Committee Clerk