## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Labor**

## **Assembly Bill 451**

Relating to: mandatory overtime hours worked by health care workers employed by health care facilities and providing penalties.

By Representatives Johnsrud, Balow, Berceau, Black, Coggs, Colon, Krug, J. Lehman, Miller, Morris, Plouff, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Richards, Shilling, Sinicki, Staskunas, Taylor, Turner, Van Akkeren, Wasserman, A. Williams, Zepnick, Hahn, Gronemus and Seratti; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Carpenter, Chvala, Erpenbach, Hansen, Moore, Plale, Risser, Wirch and Decker.

August 04, 2003 Referred to Committee on Labor.

December 17, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:

(8)

			Hundertmark, J. Fitzgerald, Sinicki, W. Wood and Van Akkeren.
Ab	sent:	(1)	
Δn	nearan	ces For	
<u>71⊅</u>	_		oson Author
	Sen. Judy Robson, Author Rep. Duwayne Johnsrud, Author		
	Gina Dennik-Champion, WI Nurses Association, Madison		
	and the second of the second o		
	Dian Palmer, SEIU #1199, Madison		
	Sandra Ives, Westfield		
	Matthew Brusky, SEIU, Milwaukee		
	Karen Bechleter, Greendale		
	Irene Emmer, Menomonee Falls		
	Barbara Janusak, West Allis		
	Barbara Kelsey, Pewaukee		
	Denise Meyer, Columbus		
	Mike Cordes, SEIU #1199		
	Kathy Christensen, Madison		
	Mary Malaney, Madison		
	Deb K	lelly, Sp	oring Green
<u>Ap</u>	pearan	ces Aga	<u>inst</u>
	Judy V	Varmut	h, WI Hospital Assn.

Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman,

	<ul> <li>Norma Tirado-Kellinberger, WI Society of Health Care Human Resource Administrators, Fond du Lac</li> <li>Kathy Werner, Meriter Hospital, Madison</li> </ul>
	☐ Maureen McCausland, UW Hospital and Clinics, Madison
	☐ David Entwistle, UW Hospital, Madison
	☐ Kathy Harris, Mercy Health System, Janesville
	☐ RJ Pirlot, WI Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison
	Appearances for Information Only
	□ None.
	Registrations For
	□ Patricia Stone, Middleton
	☐ Steven Williams, AFSCME Council #24, Madison
	<ul> <li>Susan McMurray, Wisconsin State AFSCME, Madison</li> <li>Rev. Sue Moline-Larson, Lutheran Office for Public Policy in</li> </ul>
	WI, Madison
	☐ Connie Fox, Madison
	☐ Carol Booth, Madison
	☐ Gordon Glaze, Cross Plains
	☐ Scott Hanson, Madison
	☐ William Schmitz, SEIU, Madison
	☐ Sen. Dave Hansen
	☐ Bob Beglinger, AFT of Wisconsin, Middleton
	☐ Phil Neuenfeldt, Wisconsin AFL-CIO, Milwaukee
	Registrations Against
	☐ Jim McGinn, Madison
	☐ Mae Knowles, Meriter Hospital, Madison
	☐ Jim Hems, Neenah
	☐ Laurie Kuiper, Aurora Health Care, Milwaukee
	☐ Tom Ramsey, WI Assn. of Homes and Services for the Aging,
	Madison
	☐ Eric Borgerding, WI Hospital Assn., Madison
	☐ Julie Swiderski, Covenant Healthcare, Milwaukee
	☐ Maureen McNally, Froedtert Hospital, Milwaukee
	☐ Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, WI Counties Assn., Madison
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Mike Mikalsen
	Committee Clerk