Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Health

Assembly Bill 477

Relating to: creating an individual income tax subtract modification for certain individuals who donate a human organ.

By Representatives Wieckert, Gundrum, Rhoades, Jeskewitz, Pocan, Townsend, Berceau, Nass, M. Lehman, Staskunas, J. Lehman, Ott, Taylor, Gunderson, Coggs, Gronemus, Krawczyk, Ladwig, Lothian, Freese, Hundertmark, Vrakas, McCormick, Wasserman, Van Roy, Miller, Schneider, Hines and LeMahieu; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Darling, Schultz, Risser, M. Meyer, Stepp and Kanavas.

August 22, 2003 Referred to Committee on Public Health.

August 27, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (4) Representatives Hines, Freese, Wasserman and Schneider.

Absent: (4) Representatives Johnsrud, Underheim, McCormick and Morris.

Appearances For

- Representative Steve Wieckert, WI Assembly, Madison, author
- Dr. Hans Sollinger, UW Transplant, 1206 Sherman Ave, Madison, WI 53703
- Dr. Mark Adams, MCOW/ WI Donor Network, 9200 W. Wisconsin Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53122
- Larry Hagman
- Cindy Huber, National Kidney Foundation of Wisconsin, 16655 W. Bluemound Rd, Brookfield, WI 53005
- ☐ Mary Baliker, 7463 Summit Ridge Rd, Middleton, WI 53562, received transplant
- □ Karen Bredeson, 2040 Allen Blvd #5, Middleton, WI 53562, organ donor
- □ Rob Mlodzik, 906 E. Winnebago St, Appleton, WI 54911, organ donor
- ☐ Mark Larson, Lions Eye Bank of Wisconsin, 3338 Gregory St, Madison, WI 53711
- ☐ Kathryn Kuhn, Medical College of Wisconsin, 8701 Watertown Plank Rd, Milwaukee, WI 53226

Appearances	A gaingt
1 ippearances	1 15ullio

□ None.

Appearances for Information Only ☐ None.	
Registrations For □ Paul Oldam, 15245 Westover, Elm Grove, WI □ Liz Schumacher, WI Medical Society, 330 E. Lakeside, Madison, WI 53704 □ Bill Bazan, WI Hospital Association, 3200 W. Highland Blvd, Milwaukee, WI 53208 □ Senator Carol Roessler, WI Senate, Madison, WI Registrations Against □ None.	
EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD	
Present: (8) Representatives Hines, Johnsrud, Underheim, Freese, McCormick, Wasserman, Morris and Schneider. Absent: (0) None.	
Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative Underheim that Assembly Bill 477 be recommended for passage.	
Ayes: (8) Representatives Hines, Johnsrud, Underheim, Freese, McCormick, Wasserman, Morris and Schneider.	
Noes: (0) None.	
PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0	
Carolyn Hughes Committee Clerk	