## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

## **Assembly Bill 496**

Relating to: the removal of nonconforming outdoor advertising signs.

By Representatives Seratti, Gielow, Huebsch, Gundrum, McCormick, LeMahieu, Ladwig, Freese, Friske, Krawczyk and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Roessler, Reynolds, Breske, M. Meyer, Stepp and Zien.

September 08, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

## October 9, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Suder, Friske, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Gronemus, Hebl and Zepnick.

Absent: (4) Representatives Hahn, McCormick, Sherman and Staskunas.

## Appearances For

- Representative Lorraine Seratti, Author
- Janet Swandby, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin
- Dan Pomeroy, Outdoor Advertising Association of Wisconsin/Clear Channel Outdoor
- Jane Sweasy, JAG Outdoor Advertising
- Jim Schumacher, Lamar Advertising
- Andy MacMorran, Lamar Advertising
- Bill Schroeder, Orde Advertising
- Kurt Weis, Lamar Advertising
- David Babcock, Babcock Outdoor Advertising
- Mike Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising of LaCrosse

#### Appearances Against

- Chuck Mitchell, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Cornel Hausler, self
- Robert Larsen, self
- Vernie Smith, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Lowell Kleasig, Citizens for a Scenic Wisconsin
- Michael Krenn, Kohler Co.
- Richard Chenoweth, self

## Appearances for Information Only

• David Vieth, Wisconsin Department of Transportation

#### Registrations For

- Senator Joe Leibham, Senate Co-Author
- Eric Peterson, Lamar Advertising
- Charlie Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Patrick Heil, JAG Outdoor Advertising
- Chris Eigenberger, Adams Outdoor Advertising
- James Bonneville, Adams Outdoor Advertising
- Gary Manke, Wisconsin Automatic Aftermarket Association
- Gary Manke, Midwest Equipment Dealers Association
- Matt Hauser, Petroleum Marketers Assoc. of WI/WI Assoc. of Convenience Stores
- Jason Saari, Clear Channel Outdoor, Inc.
- Jim Wehausen, Orde Advertising
- Tim Collins, Collins Outdoor Advertising
- Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Businesses
- Kathi Kilgore, Wisconsin Innkeepers Association
- Eric Jensen, Wisconsin Beer Distributors Association
- Mary Ann Gerrard, WI Auto and Truck Dealers Assoc.
- Julia Hertel, WI Association of Convention and Visitors Bureau
- Douglas Johnson, WI Merchants Federation
- Nick George, Jr., WMC
- Paul Merline, WI Restaurant Association
- Kathi Kilgore, Outdoor Advertising Association of WI
- Chet Gerlach, Associatoin of WI Tourism Attractions
- Michelle Kussow, WI Grocers Association
- Jeff Smith, Lamar

#### Registrations Against

- Jim Skretny, self
- Steven Rubin, self
- Lisa MacKinnon, 1000 Friends of WI

#### November 20, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas, Hebl and Zepnick.

Absent: (3) Representatives Suder, Gottlieb and Gronemus.

Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent to introduce **Assembly Amendment LRB 1823.** 

Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Sherman, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Amendment LRB 1823** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Van Roy, Honadel, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Zepnick.

Noes: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Hebl. Absent: (3) Representatives Suder, Gottlieb and Gronemus

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRB 1823 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Petrowski, seconded by Representative Friske that **Assembly Bill 496** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Friske, McCormick, Van Roy, Honadel, Sherman, Vruwink, Staskunas and Zepnick.

Noes: (2) Representatives Steinbrink and Hebl. Absent: (3) Representatives Suder, Gottlieb and Gronemus.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 2

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk