## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Ways and Means**

#### **Assembly Bill 520**

Relating to: the method of calculating technology zone tax credits and the certification of businesses under the technology zone program.

By Representatives Suder, Vruwink, Nass, Pettis, Hines, Hahn, Jensen, M. Lehman, McCormick, Albers, Friske, Seratti and Towns; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Lassa, Zien, Kanavas, Stepp, Schultz, Roessler and Wirch.

September 11, 2003 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

### September 17, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (12) Representatives M. Lehman, J. Wood, Nass, Hahn, F. Lasee, Kerkman, Lothian, W. Wood, Young, Berceau, Ziegelbauer and Morris.

Absent: (2) Representatives Jeskewitz and Hebl.

### Appearances For

- Scott Suder, State Representative, 69<sup>th</sup> District
- Jason Helgerson, WI Dept. of Revenue, Madison
- Bill Wheeler, WI Dept. of Commerce, Madison

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Amy Boyer, WEDA (WI Economic Development Assn.), Madison
- Ted Kanavas, State Senator, 33<sup>rd</sup> District
- Joan Hansen, WI Manufacturers & Commerce
- Paulette Enders, City of Shegoygan, Sheboygan

#### Registrations Against

None

September 17, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD** 

Present: (12) Representatives M. Lehman, J. Wood, Nass, Hahn, F. Lasee, Kerkman, Lothian, W. Wood, Young, Berceau, Ziegelbauer and Morris.

Absent: (2) Representatives Jeskewitz and Hebl.

Moved by Representative Morris, seconded by Representative F. Lasee that **Assembly Bill 520** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (12) Representatives M. Lehman, J. Wood, Nass, Hahn, F. Lasee, Kerkman, Lothian, W. Wood, Young, Berceau, Ziegelbauer and Morris.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Jeskewitz and Hebl.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Vicky Halverson Committee Clerk