## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

#### Assembly Bill 542

Relating to: carrying forward a school district's unused revenue limit authority to the succeeding school year.

By Representatives Towns, Olsen, Hundertmark, Gottlieb, Plouff, Kestell, Hahn, Hines, Townsend, J. Lehman, M. Lehman, McCormick, Schooff, Weber, Turner, Musser, Gronemus, Albers, Ott, Seratti, J. Wood, Montgomery, Ward, Owens, Petrowski, Bies, Krawczyk, LeMahieu, Gunderson, Berceau, Grothman, Pope-Roberts, Van Roy, Ladwig, Jeskewitz and Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Robson, Lassa, Brown, M. Meyer and Roessler.

September 29, 2003 Referred to Committee on Education.

## October 7, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(16)	Representatives Olsen, Towns, Nass, Hahn,
		Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend, Loeffelholz,
		Hines, Krug, J. Lehman, A. Williams,
		Ziegelbauer, Plouff, Pope-Roberts and Van
		Akkeren.
Absent:	(0)	None.

## October 7, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(16)	Representatives Olsen, Towns, Nass, Hahn,
		Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend, Loeffelholz,
		Hines, Krug, J. Lehman, A. Williams,
		Ziegelbauer, Plouff, Pope-Roberts and Van
		Akkeren.
Absent:	(0)	None.

#### Appearances For

- □ Representative Debi Towns, 43rd Assembly District
- □ Virginia Wyss
- Doug Bunton, School District of Janesville
- □ David Parr, School Distrct of Janesville

## Appearances Against

 $\Box$  None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

 $\Box$  None.

#### **Registrations For**

- □ Tom Evert, Janesville School District
- □ John Eyster
- John Forrester, Wisconsin School Administrators Alliance
- □ Joe Quick, Madison Metropolitan School District
- □ Jennifer Kammerud, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction
- □ Sheri Krause, Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- □ Ceasar Stinson, Milwaukee Public Schools

#### Registrations Against

 $\Box$  None.

Moved by Representative Kestell, seconded by Representative Townsend that **Assembly Bill 542** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes:(14) Representatives Olsen, Towns, Hahn,<br/>Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend,<br/>Loeffelholz, Hines, Krug, J. Lehman, A.<br/>Williams, Plouff, Pope-Roberts and Van<br/>Akkeren.Name(2) Representatives Name and Ziegelberger
- Noes: (2) Representatives Nass and Ziegelbauer.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 2

Mary Pluta Committee Clerk