Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 546

Relating to: the qualifications of newspapers permitted to publish legal notices.

By Representatives Jeskewitz, Ainsworth, Kerkman, Kestell, Albers, Gronemus, Suder, Bies, Gundrum, Gunderson, Hines, Stone and M. Lehman; cosponsored by Senators Lazich and Stepp.

September 30, 2003 Referred to Committee on Judiciary.

January 26, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (6) Representatives Gundrum, Albers, Grothman,

Kerkman, Staskunas and Hebl.

Excused: (2) Representatives McCormick and Cullen.

Appearances For

- Representative Sue Jeskewitz, 24th Assembly District
- Rick Stadelman, Wisconsin Towns Association
- Ann Molitor, on behalf of Sen. Mary Lazich, 28th Senate District
- Gary LaPean, Evergreen Country Shopper, Ashland
- Jeff Jones, Hometown Publications Express News, Milwaukee
- Ken Ubert, Express News, Milwaukee
- David Chadima, Town of Oak Grove, Prescott
- Mark Helmer, Helmer Printing, Prescott
- Deb Mullarkey, Shopping News, Richland Center
- Janelle Anderson, Wisconsin Community Papers, Fond du Lac

Appearances A	Againsi
---------------	---------

Ш	Brian Knox, Wisconsin Newspaper Assocation & Daily Union
	- Fort Atkinson
	Richard Roesgen, The Sheboygan Press, Plymouth
	Jim Pepelnjam, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
	Sandra George, Madison
	Randall Radtke, Wisconsin Newspaper Association
	Pete Christianson, Wisconsin Newspaper Association, Madison
<u>Ap</u>	pearances for Information Only
	None.

	Registrations For
	☐ Sheri Krause, Wisconsin Association of School Boards
	☐ Janet Swandby, Wisconsin Free Community Papers, Madison
	☐ Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, Wisconsin Counties Association, Madison
	☐ Jolene Plautz, Wisconsin Towns Association, Madison
	☐ Curt Witynski, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
	☐ Kathi Kilgore, Wisconsin Free Community Papers
	☐ Kay LaPean, Evergreen Country Shopper, Ashland
	☐ Mike Mullarkey, Richland Center
	Registrations Against
	☐ Carl Hearing, Wisconsin Newspaper Association & Monroe Publishing LLC, Monroe
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Jolene Churchill
	Committee Clerk