# **AssemblyRecord of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Health

# **Assembly Bill 560**

Relating to: use of federal registration numbers required for prescribers of controlled substances and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Vukmir, Underheim, Wasserman, Gielow, Schneider, Hahn, Van Roy, M. Lehman, Owens, Powers, Ainsworth, Huebsch, D. Meyer, Gundrum, Ward, Balow, Suder, Montgomery, Gottlieb, Nass, Cullen, Kreibich, Gronemus, Hundertmark, Petrowski, Pettis, Stone, Hines, Friske, Towns, Bies and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas and Darling.

October 06, 2003 Referred to Committee on Health.

October 14, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (16) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery, Hundertmark, Krawczyk, Vukmir, Wasserman,

Krug, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller and Huber.

Absent: (1) Representative Colon.

# Appearances For

- Representative Leah Vukmir
- Joe Handrick, WI Society of Anesthesiologists

#### Appearances Against

• Tom Engels, Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin

#### Appearances for Information Only

 Pat Cory, Unity Health Insurance, 840 Carolina Street, Sauk City, WI 53583

# Registrations For

- Senator Alberta Darling
- Mark Grapentine, WI Medical Society, Madison
- Kathryn Osborne, Local Chapter of the American College of Nurse Midwives
- Tim Hoven, WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Kathryn Kuhn, Medical College of Wisconsin

### Registrations Against

• None.

# January 6, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery, Hundertmark, Krawczyk, Vukmir, Wasserman, Krug, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller and Huber.

Absent: (2) Representatives Johnsrud and Colon.

Moved by Representative Krawczyk, seconded by Representative Wasserman that **Assembly Bill 560** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Underheim, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery, Hundertmark, Krawczyk, Vukmir, Wasserman, Krug, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller and Huber.

Noes: (1) Representative Gielow.

Absent: (2) Representatives Johnsrud and Colon.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Randy Thorson Committee Clerk