## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Labor**

### **Assembly Bill 598**

Relating to: employment relations under the Municipal Employment Relations Act. By Representatives Gottlieb, LeMahieu, Gielow, Lothian, Stone, Owens, McCormick, Ainsworth, Nischke, Grothman, Hahn, Vukmir, Honadel, Kerkman and J. Wood; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Lazich, Darling, Reynolds, Leibham and A. Lasee.

October 16, 2003 Referred to Committee on Labor.

November 3, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (8) Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman,

Hundertmark, J. Fitzgerald, Sinicki, W. Wood

and Van Akkeren.

Absent: (1) Representative Wieckert.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Mark Gottlieb, Author, 60th Assembly District
- Sen. Ron Brown, Cosponsor 31st Senate District
- Paul Ziehler, City of West Allis
- Mayor Tim Seider, City of Greenfield
- Susan Brees, WI Public Employer Labor relations Assoc., West Allis
- Dale Peters, City of Eau Claire
- Phil Fieber, City of Eau Claire
- Craig Thompson, WI Counties Assoc., Madison
- Patrick Glynn, Calumet County, Chilton
- Mort McBain, Marathon County, Weston
- Allison Bussler, Waukesha County Executive's Office, Waukesha
- William Goehring, Sheboygan County Human Resources Committee, Random Lake
- Martin Ryan, City of Fond du Lac
- Margaret Breisch, Menomonie
- Curt Witynski, League of WI Municipalities, Madison
- Mark Grams, City of Port Washington
- Mark Rohloff, Town of Grand Chute, Grand Chute
- James Delaney, Madison

#### Appearances Against

- Rick Gale, Professional Fire Fighters of WI, West Allis
- Mike Drury, Professional Fire Fighters of WI, Merrill
- Robert Baird, Waukesha
- Laurence Rodenstein, AFSCME Council #40, Madison
- Jack Bernfeld, AFSCME Council #40, Madison
- Mark Montague, Kenosha
- Bob Chybowski, AFSCME Council 40, Madison
- Helen Isterding, Sheboygan
- Daniel Pfiefer
- Steven McFarlane, Green Bay
- Robert Kraig, SEIU WI State Council, Milwaukee
- Ellen Rickey, SEIU #1199, Madison
- Jeff Leys, SEIU #1199, Greenfield
- Darold Lowe, Madison
- Forrest Ceel, IBEW Local 2150, Waukesha
- Mike McNett, WEAC, Madison
- Mike Wilson, Poynette

### Appearances for Information Only

- Peter Davis, WI Employment Relations Commission, Madison
- Ed Huck, WI Alliance of Cities, Madison
- A. Henry Hempe, Madison

### Registrations For

- Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives, Madison
- Rick Stadelman, WI Towns Assoc., Shawano
- Sen. Tom Reynolds
- Rep.Dan LeMahieu, Oostburg
- Joan Hansen, WMC, Madison
- Sheri Krause, WASB, Madison
- Mayor Scott Huebner, City of Port Washington, Port Washington
- Rep. Jeff Stone, 82nd Assembly District
- Fred Ball, Oshkosh

### **Registrations Against**

- Laura Berger, SEIU #1199, Madison
- Daniel Pryzbyla, Milwaukee
- Alan Hefter, West Bend
- Matt Krembs, Oregon
- Ann Wanten, Brooklyn, WI
- Page Buchanan, IBEW-Construction Division, Madison
- Wesley Schaefer, Oak Creek Firefighters, South Milwaukee
- Michael Visauer, Milwaukee

- Brian Satula, Oak Creek
- Mike Brooks, Cudahy
- Stephen Rallaw, St. Francis
- Andrew Fruncek, Hales Corner
- Paul Guilbert, Racine
- Carol Stemler, Oregon
- Michael Suchla, LaCrosse
- Roy Giesenschlag, Franklin
- Steve Wilding, Oak Creek
- David Zabler, Franklin
- Pete Nowicki, AFSCME #145
- Guy Kovales, Oak Creek
- Mike Rutz, Oak Creek
- Tom Ellett, Oconomowoc
- Cedric Hathway, Janesville
- Keith Fillinger, LaCrosse
- Tom Fuller, Janesville
- Joe Oswald, WI Laborers District Council, Madison
- Dennis Boyer, AFSCME, Madison
- Nancy Odell, Madison
- Scot Hanson, Madison
- Sue Vilbrandt, Madison
- Patrick Coraggio, Labor Association of WI, Madison
- Cathleen Huebner, Madison
- Robert Wierengen, Madison
- Bonita Strauss, Fredonia
- Martin Purpi, Watertown
- Craig Myro, Madison
- Gretchen Lowe, Madison
- Ryan Murphy, Janesville
- Patrick Kearney, Madison
- Mason Pooler, West Allis
- Joe Kuntz, Janesville
- James Palmer, Madison
- Peter Rohda, West Allis
- Chris Reinke, West Allis
- David Welbes, Milwaukee
- Paul Terry, Kenosha
- Catherine Welbes, Milwaukee
- Jeff Miller, Beloit
- Jerome Selby, Brookfield
- Craig Pitman, Hales Corner
- Brian Bending, Berlin
- Lynne Martins, Verona

- Jolen McManus, Janesville
- Doug Waech, Oshkosh
- Mike Woodzicka, Hortonville
- Travis Teesch, Kaukauna
- Brian O'Day, Milwaukee
- Emil Dallman, Janesville
- Bonnie Merath, Whitewater
- Brian Auxier, Neenah
- Patrick Kilbane, Milton
- Phil Neuenfeldt, Wisconsin AFL-CIO, Milwaukee

### January 21, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman, Wieckert, Hundertmark, J. Fitzgerald, Sinicki, W. Wood and Van Akkeren.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Wieckert, seconded by Representative Grothman that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** (LRBs0277/1) be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman, Wieckert, Hundertmark, J. Fitzgerald, Sinicki, W. Wood and Van Akkeren.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 (LRBS0277/1) ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hundertmark, seconded by Representative J. Fitzgerald that **Assembly Bill 598** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representatives Nass, Vrakas, Grothman, Wieckert, Hundertmark and J. Fitzgerald.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, W. Wood and Van Akkeren.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk