Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs

Assembly Bill 609

Relating to: national guard tuition grants.

By Representatives Suder, Travis, Gronemus, Musser, Schneider, Boyle, Kreibich, Nischke, Van Roy, Freese, Jeskewitz, Albers, Nass, Black, Miller, J. Fitzgerald, Bies, Hines, Townsend, McCormick, Hundertmark, J. Wood, Powers, Lothian, Towns, Huebsch, Montgomery, Johnsrud, Gunderson, Friske, Petrowski, Owens, Vruwink, Sherman, Ott, Vrakas and Plouff; cosponsored by Senators Jauch, Schultz, Lassa, Chvala, Hansen, M. Meyer, Breske, Stepp, Roessler, Wirch, Welch, Decker, Kanavas, Leibham and Harsdorf.

October 23, 2003 Referred to Committee on Veterans and Military Affairs.

October 29, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Musser, Townsend, Pettis, Hundertmark, Petrowski, Bies, Loeffelholz, Gottlieb, Sherman, Hubler, Schneider, Sinicki

and Miller.

Absent: (1) Representative Boyle.

Appearances For

- Representative Scott Suder, 69th District
- Senator Bob Jauch, 25th District
- LTC Terry McArdle, WI Military Affairs

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Secretary John Scocos, WI DVA
- BG Kerry Denson, WI DMA
- Larry Olson, WI Dept. Military Affairs
- Brett Coomber, Budget Office DMA
- Mike Furgal, WI VFW
- Senator Carol Roessler, 18th District
- Ralph Schulenberg, WI American Legion
- Steve Lawrence, WI VFW

- Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd District
- John O'Brien, Military Order of the Purple Heart
- Senator Dale Schultz, 17th District
- Senator Robert Welch, 14th Senate District

Registrations Against

• None.

October 29, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Musser, Townsend, Pettis,

Hundertmark, Petrowski, Bies, Loeffelholz, Gottlieb, Sherman, Hubler, Schneider, Sinicki

and Miller.

Absent: (1) Representative Boyle.

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative Schneider that **Assembly Bill 609** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Musser, Townsend, Pettis, Hundertmark, Petrowski, Bies, Loeffelholz,

Gottlieb, Sherman, Hubler, Schneider,

Sinicki and Miller.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Boyle.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Marlene Reineking Committee Clerk