# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Criminal Justice**

### **Assembly Bill 652**

Relating to: lie detector tests of sexual assault victims.

By Representatives Suder, McCormick, Sinicki, Musser, Nischke, Kreibich, Owens, Van Roy, Miller and LeMahieu; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Brown, Roessler and Kedzie.

November 10, 2003 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice.

January 14, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (13) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F.

Lasee, Jeskewitz, Petrowski, Vukmir, Colon,

Staskunas, Pocan, Taylor, Turner and

Schneider.

Absent: (1) Representative Gundrum.

### Appearances For

- Representative Scott Suder, 69th Assembly District
- Lisa Macaulay, WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault, Madison, WI 53704

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Remy Poruthoor, Dept. of Health & Family Services, Madison, WI 53701
- Patti Seger, WI Coalition Against Domestic Violence, Madison, WI 53703

### Registrations Against

- Cathleen Huebner, WI Cty Police Assn., Delafield, WI 53115
- John Burr, Assoc. of State Prosecutors, Dane County DA's Office, City-County Building, Madison, WI 53711

#### February 11, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14)Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Colon, Staskunas, Pocan, Taylor, Turner and Schneider.

Absent: (0)None

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Jeskewitz that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> (14) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Ayes: Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Colon, Staskunas, Pocan, Taylor, Turner and Schneider.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Schneider, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Bill 652** be recommended for passage as amended.

> Ayes: (14) Representatives Suder, Friske, Owens, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Petrowski, Vukmir, Colon, Staskunas, Pocan, Taylor, Turner and Schneider.

(0) None. Noes:

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Anne Emerson Committee Clerk