# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

## Assembly Bill 654

Relating to: making technical and policy changes in the tax incremental financing program based in part on the recommendations of the governor's December 2000 working group on tax incremental finance, authorizing certain counties to create tax incremental financing districts, and making a modification to the environmental remediation tax incremental financing program.

By Representatives M. Lehman, Wieckert, Nischke, Olsen, Boyle, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Musser, Gunderson, Van Roy, Ladwig, Townsend, Hundertmark, Lothian, Hines, Gottlieb, Underheim, Albers, Balow, Freese, Gielow, Hahn, Huber, Hebl, F. Lasee, Loeffelholz, McCormick, Jeskewitz, Ott, Petrowski, Steinbrink, Stone, Van Akkeren, Vrakas, Weber, J. Wood and Staskunas; cosponsored by Senators Stepp, Kanavas, Darling, Leibham, Jauch, A. Lasee, Wirch, Roessler, Schultz, Brown, Kedzie, Hansen, S. Fitzgerald, M. Meyer, Zien and Robson.

November 13, 2003 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

# November 19, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

| Present: | (13) | Representatives M. Lehman, J. Wood, Nass,    |
|----------|------|--|
|          |      | Hahn, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, |
|          |      | W. Wood, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Morris and    |
|          |      | Hebl.  |

Absent: (1) Representative Young.

#### Appearances For

- □ Michael Lehman, State Representative
- □ Cathy Stepp, State Senator
- □ Jason Helgerson, WI Dept. of Revenue
- □ Rebecca Boldt, WI Dept. of Revenue
- □ J. Michael Mooney, MLG Development, Hartland
- David Anderson, Ehlers & Associates, Sussex
- □ Peter Thillman, WI Economic Development Assn., Green Bay
- Royce DeBow, City of Delavan Planning Commission, Delavan

Appearances Against

- □ Richard Stadelman, WI Towns Assn., Shawano
- □ Norm Cummings, Waukesha County, Waukesha

#### Appearances for Information Only

 $\Box$  None.

## **Registrations For**

- □ Alberta Darling, State Senator
- □ Ted Kanavas, State Senator
- □ Dale Schultz, State Senator, Madison
- □ Jim Hough, WI Economic Development Association, Madison
- □ Audra Millen, City of Milwaukee, Milwaukee
- □ Joan Hansen, WI Manufacturers & Commerce, Madison
- □ Ed Huck, on behalf of West Bend Mayor Mike Miller, Madison
- □ Tom Larson, WI Realtors Assn., Madison
- □ Dan Thompson, League of WI Municipalities, Madison
- □ Jerry Deschane, WI Builders Assn., Madison

## **Registrations Against**

- □ Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf, WI Counties Assn., Madison
- March 11, 2004 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Vicky Halverson Committee Clerk