Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 689

Relating to: prescription drug labels.

By Representatives Wieckert, Lothian, Ainsworth, Owens, Seratti, Hines, Olsen, Hahn, Gunderson, Albers, Ladwig, Krawczyk, Townsend, Ott, J. Lehman, Morris, Taylor, Van Roy and Gielow; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Wirch, Roessler and Stepp.

December 05, 2003 Referred to Committee on Health.

January 6, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(15)	Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Seratti,
		Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery, Hundertmark,
		Krawczyk, Vukmir, Wasserman, Krug,
		Shilling, Vruwink, Miller and Huber.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Johnsrud and Colon.

Appearances For

- Representative Steve Wieckert, Appleton
- Tom Engels, Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin, Madison

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Tom Frazier, Coalition of Wisconsin Aging Groups, Madison
- Tim Hoven, WI Academy of Family Physicians, Madison
- Sandy Lonergan, WEA Trust, Madison
- Gail Sumi, AARP Wisconsin, 222 W. Washington Avenue #600, Madison, WI 53703
- Michael Heifetz, Dean Health System, Madison

Registrations Against

• None.

February 26, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (16) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Montgomery, Hundertmark, Vukmir, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller, Colon, Huber and Toles.
Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Olsen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes:(16) Representatives Underheim, Gielow,
Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert,
Montgomery, Hundertmark, Vukmir,
Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller,
Colon, Huber and Toles.Noes:(0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Wieckert, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(16)	Representatives Underheim, Gielow,
		Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert,
		Montgomery, Hundertmark, Vukmir,
		Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller,
		Colon, Huber and Toles.
Noes:	(0)	None.
Absent	: (1)	Representative Krawczyk.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 16, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Seratti, seconded by Representative Gielow that **Assembly Bill 689** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Underheim, Gielow, Johnsrud, Seratti, Olsen, Wieckert, Hundertmark, Vukmir, Wasserman, Shilling, Vruwink, Miller, Colon, Huber and Toles. Noes: (1) Representative Montgomery. Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 1

Randy Thorson Committee Clerk