## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Education**

#### **Assembly Bill 725**

Relating to: eliminating various school district and Department of Public Instruction requirements.

By Representatives Olsen, Towns, Bies, Gielow, Gunderson, Kestell, Kreibich, J. Lehman, M. Lehman, Musser, Petrowski, Rhoades and J. Wood; cosponsored by Senators Welch and Brown.

January 05, 2004 Referred to Committee on Education.

January 13, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD** 

Present: (15) Representatives Olsen, Towns, Nass, Hahn, Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend, Loeffelholz, Hines, J. Lehman, Ziegelbauer, Plouff, Pope-Roberts, Van Akkeren and Molepske.

Absent: (1) Representative A. Williams.

### Appearances For

- Luther Olsen, 41st Assembly District
- Cynthia DiCamelli, Wisconsin Association of School Boards and Oregon School Board
- Joelle Lester, Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- John Eyster, School District of Janesville

#### Appearances Against

• Jennifer Kammerud, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

# Registrations For

•	Robert Welch, 14th Senate District
	Joe Quick, Madison Metropolitan School District
	Robert Christian, Wisconsin School Bus Association
	Micheal Hahn

#### Registrations Against

Marilyn Peterson, Madison School District
Diane Craney, WEAC

	<ul><li>☐ Christine Frina</li><li>☐ Bonnie Corcon</li></ul>	er, Rock River Reading Council ak, Rock River Reading Council ran, WI State Reading Association r, AFT-Wisconsin		
February 10, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD				
	Present: (16)	Representatives Olsen, Towns, Nass, Hahn, Kestell, Hundertmark, Townsend, Loeffelholz, Hines, J. Lehman, A. Williams, Ziegelbauer, Plouff, Pope-Roberts, Van Akkeren and Molepske.		
	Absent: (0)	None.		
		, Wisconsin School Administrators Alliance		
	☐ Bill Dietsche	ann, Wisconsin State Reading Association		
	<ul><li>Delores Heide</li><li>Tom Lueschov</li></ul>			
	☐ Kathy Champe	eau		
	<ul><li>□ Patricia Scanlo</li><li>□ JoAnne Katzm</li></ul>			
	☐ Thelma Ristov			
	☐ Jan Gleason			
	☐ Sharyn Stump			
	☐ Judy Kawell, (	St. John's Catholic School		
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	y, Peace Lutheran School		
		on, Immaculate Conception School		
	☐ Kevin Shetler,	, St. Mary School		
		el, Wisconsin Council of Religious and		
	Indipendent So			
	<ul><li>☐ Brenda Krupa,</li><li>☐ Amanda Rock</li></ul>	, Wisconsin Association of School Nurses		
	☐ Julie OBrien	illali		
	☐ Janet Vick			
	☐ Dennis Blackr	nore		

	Appearances for Information Only  ☐ None.  Registrations For  ☐ None.  Registrations Against	
	<ul> <li>□ Lorraine Gerhart, Wisconsin State Reading Association</li> <li>□ Susan Brooks</li> <li>□ Jennifer Ondrejka, Wisconsin Council of Developmental Disabilities</li> <li>□ Michael Walsh, WEAC</li> <li>□ Bonnie Corcoran, WI State Reading Association</li> </ul>	
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.	
	Mary Pluta Committee Clerk	