## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Transportation**

## **Assembly Bill 742**

Relating to: qualifications for endorsements authorizing the operation of a school bus and for operators of certain other motor vehicles transporting pupils, school board contracts for the transportation of pupils, studying the use of video cameras on school buses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures and from rule-making procedures, granting rule-making authority, making an appropriation, and providing penalties.

By Representatives Krusick, Zepnick, Sinicki, Ainsworth, Albers, Gielow, Gunderson, Hines, Krug, Lothian, Ott, Petrowski, Suder and Taylor; cosponsored by Senators Lazich, Carpenter, Darling, Lassa, Roessler, Stepp and Zien.

January 09, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

#### February 11, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink,

Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

### Appearances For

- Representative Peggy Krusick, Author
- Senator Mary Lazich, Author
- Vince Matulo, self
- Rosemary Matulo, self
- Pauline Crump, self
- Merry Larsen, Department of Public Instruction
- Jeff Spitzer-Resnick, Wisconsin Coalition for Advocacy

#### Appearances Against

• None.

### Appearances for Information Only

- Robert Christian, Wisconsin School Bus Association
- Gary Guenther, Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles
- Karen Schwartz, Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles
- Tom Westlund, Westlund Bus Lines

#### Registrations For

- Representative Chris Sinicki, 20th Assembly District
- Sheri Krause, WI Association of School Boards
- Senator Alberta Darling, 8th Senate District
- Representative Josh Zepnick, 9th Assembly District
- Jennifer Ondrejka, Wisconsin Council on Developmental Disabilities
- Jennifer Eitel, New Berlin Board of Education
- Vicki Livingston, self

## Registrations Against

• None.

## February 17, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott,

Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink,

Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

Moved by Representative Ott, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 742** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink,

Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk