Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education Reform

Assembly Bill 747

Relating to: eligibility to attend Woodlands School, a charter school located in a 1st class city school district.

By Representatives Sinicki, Jensen, Colon, Zepnick, Jeskewitz, Taylor, Honadel, Richards, Krug, Cullen and Krusick; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Plale, Reynolds, Moore, Carpenter, Coggs, Stepp and Lazich.

moore, curponier,	oss, stopp and Edzion.
January 09, 2004	Referred to Committee on Education Reform.
January 14, 2004	PUBLIC HEARING HELD
	Present: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman.
	Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.
	Appearances For ☐ Representative Christine Sinicki, 20th Assembly District, Milwaukee ☐ Representative Josh Zepnick, 9th Assembly District ☐ Robert Rauh, Marva Collins Prepatory School, Wauwatosa ☐ Sherrie Tussler, Milwaukee ☐ Tom McCee, Woodlands School, Brookfield ☐ Jerome Grzeca, Woodlands School, Glendale ☐ Mary Devitt, Woodlands School, Glendale ☐ Lynne English, Woodlands School, Milwaukee Appearances Against ☐ None.
	Appearances for Information Only
	□ None.
	Registrations For ☐ Senator Alberta Darling ☐ Representative Shirley Krug, 12th Assembly District, Milwaukee
	 □ Kristen Tym, West Allis □ Timothy Tym, West Allis □ Agatha Coleman, Woodlands School, Glendale □ Jason Bacon, Woodlands School, Milwaukee

	 Ivelisse Lopez, Woodlands School, Greenfield Ed Eberle, American Education Reform Foundation, Milwaukee Michelle Dwyer, Milwaukee Nathan Elias, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce, Milwaukee George Mitchell, American Education Reform Council, Milwaukee Karla Ashenhurst, UW-Milwaukee, Milwaukee Jerome Heer, Woodlands School, Wauwatosa Senn Brown, Wisconsin Charter Schools Association, Madison Registrations Against Rep. Polly Williams, 10th Assembly District, Milwaukee Michael Walsh, WEAC, Madison
January 14, 2004	EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD
	Present: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman. Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.
	Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative Nischke that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for introduction.
	Ayes: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J. Lehman. Noes: (0) None. Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.
	INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0
	Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative Nischke that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.
	Ayes: (12) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, A. Williams, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki and J.

Lehman.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Sinicki, seconded by Representative Vukmir that **Assembly Bill 747** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (10) Representatives Jensen, Vukmir, Nass, Olsen, Towns, J. Wood, Nischke, Cullen, Sherman, Sinicki.

Noes: (2) Representatives A. Williams and J. Lehman.

Absent: (1) Representative McCormick.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 2

Steve Knudson Committee Clerk