Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation

Assembly Bill 758

Relating to: the removal by towing services of unregistered, abandoned, or illegally parked vehicles.

By Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Krawczyk, Ladwig, M. Lehman, LeMahieu, Ott, Owens, Seratti and Townsend; cosponsored by Senators Leibham and Breske.

January 21, 2004 Referred to Committee on Transportation.

February 11, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

Appearances For

- Senator Joe Leibham, Senate Co-Author
- Marc Bentley, WI Motor Carriers Assoc.
- Craig Goldbeck, Goldbeck Towing
- Jean Rogers-Wedel, Dewey's Towing Service
- David Whealon, Whealon Towing
- Don Rolling, Don's Towing Service
- Jeff Roskopf, Roskopf's Towing

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Nancy Brust, Road Patrol Towing
- Nicole Cox, Dewey's Towing Service

Registrations Against

None.

February 17, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

Chairperson Ainsworth asked for unanimous consent to introduce **Assembly Amendment LRBa2196**.

Unanimous consent was granted.

Moved by Representative Hahn, seconded by Representative Gronemus that **Assembly Amendment LRBa2196** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT LRBA2196 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gronemus, seconded by Representative Hahn that **Assembly Bill 758** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representatives Ainsworth, Petrowski, Ott, Hahn, Suder, Friske, McCormick, Gottlieb, Van Roy, Honadel, Steinbrink, Vruwink, Staskunas, Gronemus and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Sherman.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Kristina Boardman Committee Clerk