## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Insurance**

#### Assembly Bill 815

Relating to: adopting federal law as it relates to health savings accounts for state income and franchise tax purposes.

By Representatives Ladwig, Weber, Gottlieb, Gielow, Honadel, Jensen, Montgomery, Vukmir, Wieckert, Albers, Bies, Gunderson, Hahn, Hines, Hundertmark, Kaufert, Kreibich, M. Lehman, LeMahieu, McCormick, Musser, Nischke, Pettis, Stone, Townsend, Van Roy, M. Williams, J. Wood, Gard and Petrowski; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Brown, Kanavas, Lazich, Reynolds, Schultz, Stepp, Welch and A. Lasee.

February 05, 2004 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

### February 18, 2004 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

 Present: (15) Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Shilling, Huber, Plouff, J. Lehman and Berceau.
Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representataive Bonnie Ladwig, 63rd Assembly District, Racine, WI
- Rep. Becky Weber, 5th Assembly District
- Representative Steve Wieckert, 57th Assembly District
- Bill Smith, National Federation of Independent Business, 10 E. Doty St., Suite 201, Madison, WI 53703
- R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison, WI

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Alberta Darling, 8<sup>th</sup> Senate District
- Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd Senate District
- Senator Tom Reynolds, 5th Senate District

- Kelly Rosati, Wisconsin Association of Health Plans, Madison, WI
- Pam Rewey, Wisconsin Association of School Boards, Madison, WI
- Pat Osborne, Wisconsin Association of Life and Health Insurers, Madison, WI
- Sabrina Gentile, Wisconsin Farm Bureau, Madison, WI
- Melissa Duffy, Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives, Madison, WI

## **Registrations Against**

• Joanne Ricca, Wisconsin State AFL-CIO, Milwaukee, WI

## March 3, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(13)	Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert, Underheim,
		F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber, Gielow, Van
		Roy, Honadel, Cullen, Huber, J. Lehman and
		Berceau.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Shilling and Plouff.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Bill 815** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Ladwig, Wieckert,
		Underheim, F. Lasee, McCormick, Weber,
		Gielow, Van Roy and Honadel.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives Cullen, Huber, J. Lehman
		and Berceau.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Shilling and Plouff.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Janine Hale

Committee Clerk