Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care

Senate Bill 186

Relating to: a Medical Assistance family planning demonstration project minimum age eligibility limitation change.

By Joint committee for review of Administrative Rules.

September 23, 2003 Referred to Committee on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care.

October 14, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (9) Senators Roessler, Kanavas, Brown, Welch, Schultz, Robson, Chvala, Jauch and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Arlene Adams, Care Net Pregnancy Center of Milwaukee
- Sally Ladky, Self, Mequon
- Reverend R.E. Pritchard, Citizens Concerned for our Community
- James Schmidt, Self, Necedah
- Matt Sande, Pro-Life Wisconsin, Cambridge
- Mark Kimble, Madison
- Mary Louise Kureg, Self
- Charmain Herbert, Self, Grafton
- Marvin Munyon, WI Capitol Watch
- Elise Rose, Feminists for Life
- Jean Schmidt, Self
- Jean Metzger, Self, Madison
- Dr. Meg Meeker, Michigan

Appearances Against

- Kathryn Osborne, American College of Nurse Midwives
- Julie Halverson, WI Public Health Association
- Wendy Cooper, Self, Madison
- Mark Moody, Department of Health and Family Services
- Diane Welsh, Department of Health and Family Services
- Dr. Murray Katcher, Department of Health and Family Services

- Jim Stewart, Planned Parenthood of WI
- Chris Taylor, Planned Parenthood of WI
- Christie Olsen, Planned Parenthood of WI
- Diane Lange, 3rd District Racine County Board
- Sue Medlin, Self, Milwaukee
- Athena Engstrom, Self, Milwaukee
- Jessie Leidgen, Self, Milwaukee
- Lon Newman, WI Family Planning Association
- Deborah Hobbins, Self, Madison
- Ike Mladenhoff, Self, Madison
- Donna Hays, Community Action of Rock County
- Tom Rauk, Self, Onalaska
- Tanya Atkinson, WI Council on Children and Families
- Dr. Paul Wertsch, WI Medical Society
- Naomi Stein, Lake Superior Community Health Center
- Sharon Hampson, Self, La Crosse
- Janet Kusch, Options in Reproductive Care
- Diane Fox, Self, Platteville
- Lisa McGinnas, Self, Madison
- Lynne Quinto, Self, Madison

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Dan Osborn, Self, DeForest
- Marie Destrich, Self, Beloit
- Alice Rivard, Pro Life WI
- Colin Hudson, Self, Milwaukee
- Marie Poehlmann, Self, Glendale
- Katherine Ribnek, Self, Elm Grove
- Judith Brant, Pro Life WI of Dane County
- Lynette Doyle, Self, Oshkosh
- Blanche Widmer, Self, Oshkosh
- Lois Schlei, Self, Bulter
- Ralph Schlei, Self, Butler
- S. Kent Steffke, Eagle Forum, Milwaukee
- Melissa Burke, Self, Madison
- Kathy Markelard, WI Catholic Conference
- Thomas Kurey, Self, Brookfield
- Carol Kurey, Self, Brookfield
- Katherine Ribnek, Self, Elm Grove
- Felice Tseung, Self, Middleton
- Francis Dautzman, Self, Mequon

- Julaine Appling, Family Research Inst. of WI
- Edward Rivard, Pro Life WI
- John Glavin, Self, New Lisbon
- Phyllis Kerschner, Self, Elm Grove
- Kirby Brant, Pro Life WI
- Representative Steve Nass, 31st Assembly District
- William Kerschner, Self, Elm Grove
- Ronald Burns, Self, Oshkosh
- Senator Joe Leibham, 9th Senate District
- Annette Bauer, Self, Stoughton
- Mary Kay Kulla, Self, Lake Mills
- Linda Slager, Self, Beaver Dam
- Judith Link, Self, Port Washington
- Dan Osborn, Self, De Forest
- Regina Murphy, Self, Reeseville
- Mrs. Dennis Breunig, Self, Middleton
- Kathy Markeland, WI Catholic Conference
- Greg Wagner, Greater Madison Area Against Planned Parenthood
- Rebecca Sande, Self, Cambridge
- Rosalia Bauer, Self, Beloit
- Mark Kimble, Self, Madison
- Teresa Schmick, Self, Oshkosh
- Brian Carlisle, Self, Madison
- Sarah Schloss, Self, Madison
- Pat Schloer, Self, Madison
- David Konkol, Self, Madison
- Cheryl Gardmer, Self, Oshkosh
- Senator Mary Lazich
- Terrance Murphy, Self, Reeseville
- Bishop Robert Morlino, Madison
- Carrie Bohman, Self, Madison
- Joan Tatarsky, Eagle Forum of WI, Milwaukee
- Liane Ripatte, Eagle Forum of WI

Registrations Against

- Representative Christine Sinicki, 20th Assembly District
- Jennifer Garthwaite, Self, Madison
- Valerie Murphy, Self, Madison
- Jacqueline Ziehr, Self, Madison
- Martha Vukelich Austin, Self, Madison
- Colleen Hermann, Self, Madison
- Caryl Terrell, Sierra Club John Muir Chapter
- Genie Ogden, Self, Madison

	 Carousel Andrea Bayrd, Self, Madison
	 Suzette Renwick, Are You for Choice, LaCrosse
	 Jennifer Papenthien, Self, Madison
	Andy Schnick, Self, Madison
	Sarah Dudrick-Kisdorf, WI Counties Association
	 Jack O'Meara, WI Association of School Nurses
	Lisa Macanlay, WCASA
	☐ Marc Herstand, National Association of Social Workers, WI
	Chapter
	☐ Mona Steele, Self, Madison
	☐ Andrea Baltmanis, Self, Middleton
	☐ Mark Garthwaite, Self, Madison
	☐ Wendy Wiesen, Self, Madison
	☐ Sarita Thayil, Self, Madison
	☐ Julia Haviland, Self, Madison
	☐ Stephanie Hilton, Self, Madison
	☐ Pete Franzen, Self, Madison
	☐ Megan Mooney, NARAL Pro Choice WI
	☐ Ericka Norris, NARAL Pro Choice WI
	☐ Jennifer Macken, Self, Madison
	☐ Michell Nussbaum, Self, Madison
	☐ Elizabeth Hulse, Self, Madison
	☐ Karen Carnabucci, Companions in Healing
	□ Nora Cusack, Self, Madison
	☐ Rebecca Young, Self, Madison
	☐ Sarah Klemme, Self, Madison
	☐ Kathryn Momann, Self, Madison
	☐ Christina Tenuta, Self, Madison
	☐ Tricia Olsen, Self, Madison
	☐ Elisabeth Purtell, Self, Watertown
	☐ Lori Greenberg, Self, Fitchburg
	☐ Lu Ann Bird, League of Women Voters of WI
	□ Nina Valuo, Self, Madison
	Billee Bayou, Self, Madison
	☐ Reverend Sue Moline Larson, Lutheran Office for Public
	Policy in WI
	☐ Alice O'Connor, WI Medical Society, Madison
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Jennifer Halbur

• Alison Dwyer, Self, Madison

Committee Clerk