Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure

Senate Bill 26

Relating to: the minimum number of railroad employees required to be present in the cab of the lead control locomotive when the railroad train or locomotive is in motion.

By Senators Schultz, Erpenbach, George, Jauch, A. Lasee, M. Meyer, Wirch, Chvala, Risser, Breske, Moore, Hansen, Carpenter and Stepp; cosponsored by Representatives Hahn, Albers, Bies, Black, Boyle, Coggs, Freese, Gronemus, Lassa, J. Lehman, Musser, Petrowski, Pocan, Powers, Seratti, Sherman, Shilling, Suder, Turner, Young, Van Roy, Hubler, Krawczyk, Plale, Travis and Plouff.

February 05, 2003 Referred to Committee on Transportation and Information Infrastructure.

October 15, 2003 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (5) Senators Leibham, Kanavas, Kedzie, Breske and M. Meyer.

Absent: (0) None.

☐ John Larson, New London

Appearances For

- James Nelsen, United Transportation Union (UTU), Parpeeville
- James Brando, United Transportation Union (UTU), Franklin
- Michael Doyle, United Transportation Union (UTU)
- David Anderson, United Transportation Union (UTU), LaCrosse
- Paul Enenbach, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, Stevens Point
- Ed Elzy, United Transportation Union (UTU), Portage
- James White, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, Greenville

Robert LaGesse, United Transportation Union (UTU), South
Range
James Kinsman, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers,
Onalaska
Thomas Dwyer, United Transportation Union (UTU), Madisor
Jeff Thompson, United Transportation Union (UTU), Stevens
Point
John Reynolds, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, Green
Bay

	Craig Peachy, Fond du lac	
	Charels Bennet, Oakfield	
	David Fuller, Hartland	
	Miranda Fuller, Hartland	
	William Andy Hauck, United Transportation Union (UTU), Oshkosh	
	Robert Alba, United Transportation Union (UTU), Franklin	
An	pearances Against	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
	Kevin Soucie, Canadian National, Greenfield	
	Robert Toguchi, Canadian National, Stevens Point	
	R.J. Pirlot, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce	
	Steven Moerke, Canadian Pacific, Sun Prarie	
	John Huber, Canadian Pacific Railway, Mendota Heights	
	Benedetto Guido, Wisconsin Economic Development	
	Association Railroads Subcommittee, Waukesha	
Δn	pearances for Information Only	
_	None.	
	TOILC.	
Re	gistrations For	
	State Representative Eugene Hahn, Wisconsin State Assembly	
	Jonathan Klein, Senator Dale Schultz	
	John Reynolds, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, Green	
	Bay	
	Marlena White, Madison	
	Scott Smerda, United Transportation Union (UTU), Markesau	
	James Fitzpatrick, Madison	
	James Bottoni, United Transportation Union (UTU), East Troy	
	Gregory Sipla, Stevens Point	
	Gregory Jackson, United Transportation Union (UTU),	
	Millwaukee	
	Bernard Kesholete, Stevens Point	
	Brian Fisher, Canadian National, Wisconsin Rapids	
	Kathleen Seymer, Friendship	
	Robert Seymers, Friendship	
	• •	
	Arthur Anderson, Oak Creek	
	Jason Shober, Fond du Lac	
Re	gistrations Against	
	State Representative Dean Kaufert, Wisconsin State Assembly	
	Amy Boyer, Wisconsin Economic Development Association,	
	Madison	
	Sam Gratz, Canadian National, Madison	
	Peter Beitzel, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association Commerce,	
Ш	Milwaukee	
	1VIII W AUNCC	

	☐ Patrick Schillinger, Wisconsin Paper Council, Neenah
March 11, 2004	Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.
	Dan Lindstedt Committee Clerk