Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions

Senate Bill 53

Relating to: regulating the negotiation and collection of demand drafts.

By Senators Schultz, Erpenbach, Kedzie, Robson, S. Fitzgerald, M. Meyer, Roessler, Kanavas, Stepp and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Jeskewitz, Montgomery, Richards, Kerkman, Friske, Musser, Van Roy, Krawczyk, Ladwig, Stone, Albers, Freese, Bies, Kestell, Townsend, J. Wood, Balow, Hines, Seratti, Lassa, Shilling, Hundertmark, Huber, Towns, Wieckert and McCormick.

May 08, 2003 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions.

August 21, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald,

Freese, Kreibich, Wieckert, Townsend,

Kerkman, Towns, Nischke, Richards, Sherman,

A. Williams, Shilling and Zepnick.

Absent: (1) Representative Taylor.

Appearances For

- Senator Dale Schultz, 17th Senate District
- Representative Sue Jeskewitz, 24th Assembly District
- Daryll Lund, Community Bankers of WI, Madison
- Richard McGuigan, Community Bankers of WI, New Glarus
- Mary Schnell, WACHA-Wisconsin Automated Clearing House Association, 16655 W Bluemound Rd Suite370, Brookfield

	Diookiicid
<u>Ар</u>	pearances Against
	None.
<u>Ap</u>	pearances for Information Only
	None.
Re	gistrations For
	Jodi Bloch, Wisconsin Bankers Association, 4721 S Biltmore
	Lane, Madison
	Georgia Maxwell, WI Credit Union League, Pewaukee
	Kathryn Carlson, DFI, 345 W Washington, Madison
	Senator Ted Kanavas, 33rd Senate District

Registrations Against

□ None.

September 4, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (13) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald,

Freese, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams,

Shilling, Zepnick and Taylor.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kreibich and Towns.

Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Senate Bill 53** be recommended for concurrence.

Ayes: (13) Representatives Montgomery, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Wieckert, Townsend, Kerkman, Nischke, Richards, Sherman, A. Williams,

Shilling, Zepnick and Taylor.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (2) Representatives Kreibich and Towns.

CONCURRENCE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Michael Mathy Committee Clerk