## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Rural Affairs**

#### Senate Bill 87

Relating to: limiting the authority of cities and villages to annex territory and specifying the boundaries for certain annexations.

By Senator A. Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Ainsworth, Bies, Freese, Gronemus, Hines, Ladwig, F. Lasee, M. Lehman, Musser, Ott, Owens and Krawczyk.

February 05, 2004 Referred to Committee on Rural Affairs.

February 12, 2004 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present: (9) Representatives Hahn, M. Williams, Johnsrud, Freese, Olsen, Weber, Pope-Roberts, Molepske

and Ziegelbauer.

Absent: (1) Representative Plouff.

## Appearances For

- Alan Lasee, 1st Senate District, DePere
- Kent Woods, Wisconsin Towns Association, Pewaukee
- Jerry Derr, Wi Urban Towns Association, Columbus
- Pat Stevens, Town of Grand Chute/Urban Towns Association, Grand Chute
- Ronald Gasser, Town of Vernon, Waukesha
- Dan Kapanke, Town of Campbell, LaCrosse

#### Appearances Against

- Gregg Underheim, 54th Assembly District, Oshkosh
- Ed Huck, Wisconsin Alliance of Cities, Madison
- Jeffrey Mau, Mau Realty, Kaukauna
- Jim Godlewski, City of Neenah, Neenah
- Curt Witynski, League of Wi Municipalities, Madison
- Jerry Deschane, Wisconsin Builders Association, Madison

#### **Appearances for Information Only**

• None.

#### **Registrations For**

- Beata Kalies, Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives, Madison
- Sandra Dulin, Town of Bristol, Sun Prairie
- Warren Kastberg, Town of Angelo, Sparta
- Tom Leverich, Town of Angelo, Sparta

### Registrations Against

- Brandon Landro, Mau Realty, Kaukauna
- Jim Hough, Wisconsin Economic Development Assoc., Madison
- Peter Thillman, City of Green Bay, Green Bay
- William Patzke, City of DePere, DePere
- Rob Kleman, Oshkosh Commercial Development Corp., Oshkosh
- Tom Larson, Wisconsin Realtors Association, Madison

#### February 12, 2004 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (9) Representatives Hahn, M. Williams, Johnsrud, Freese, Olsen, Weber, Pope-Roberts, Molepske and Ziegelbauer.

Representative Plouff. Absent: (1)

Moved by Representative Johnsrud, seconded by Representative Ziegelbauer that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (9) Representatives Hahn, M. Williams, Johnsrud, Freese, Olsen, Weber, Pope-Roberts, Molepske and Ziegelbauer.

(0) None. Noes:

Absent: (1) Representative Plouff.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Freese, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Senate Bill 87** be recommended for concurrence as amended.

> (7) Representatives Hahn, M. Williams, Ayes: Johnsrud, Freese, Olsen, Weber and Molepske.

Noes: (2) Representatives Pope-Roberts and Ziegelbauer.

Absent: (1) Representative Plouff.

CONCURRENCE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Wendy Minick Committee Clerk