Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Homeland Security, Veterans and Military Affairs and Government Reform

Senate Bill 87

Relating to: limiting the authority of cities and villages to annex territory and specifying the boundaries for certain annexations.

By Senator A. Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Ainsworth, Bies, Freese, Gronemus, Hines, Ladwig, F. Lasee, M. Lehman, Musser, Ott, Owens and Krawczyk.

April 02, 2003 Referred to Committee on Homeland Security, Veterans and

Military Affairs and Government Reform.

October 15, 2003 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (4) Senators Brown, S. Fitzgerald, Wirch and

Breske.

Absent: (1) Senator Zien.

Appearances For

- Sen. Alan Lasee, 1st Senate District
- Rick Stadelman, Wisconsin Towns Association
- Kenneth Sipsma, Town of Westport
- William Nass, Town of Emmet
- Colin Butler, Town of Ottawa
- Brad Robinson, Town of Westport
- Terry McMahon, Wisconsin Towns Association
- Tom Leverich, Town of Angelo
- Jerry Derr, Wisconsin Towns Association

Appearances Against

- Curt Witynski, League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Ed Huck, Wisconsin Alliance of Cities

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Kent Woods, Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jolene Plautz, Wisconsin Towns Association
- Richard Nawrocki, Hartland
- Mike Schuler, Town of Wescott

- Kris Hampton, Town of Cottage Grove
- Claire Leverich, Sparta
- Ken McKenzie, Town of New Glarus
- Sandra Dulin, Sun Prairie

Registrations Against

• Kathi Kilgore, Waukesha County Municipal Executives

October 29, 2003 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (5) Senators Brown, Zien, S. Fitzgerald, Wirch and

Breske.

Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Zien, seconded by Senator S. Fitzgerald that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Senators Brown, Zien, S. Fitzgerald and Breske.

Noes: (1) Senator Wirch.

ADOPTION OF SENATE AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Moved by Senator Breske, seconded by Senator S. Fitzgerald that **Senate Bill 87** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (4) Senators Brown, Zien, S. Fitzgerald and

Breske.

Noes: (1) Senator Wirch.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Melissa Gilbert Committee Clerk