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Chris:

1. Here are a few examples of other midwestern states’ penalties for the possession of
precursors with intent to manufacture methamphetamine:

State Statutory section !\/Iaxi_mum term of Fine

imprisonment
Minnesota 152.021(2a)(b) 3 years $5,000 maximum
lowa 124.401(4) 4 years $750-%$7,500
Kansas 65-7006(a) 17 years (presumptive) [$500,000 maximum

The penalties that this bill provides are closer to Minnesota’s and lowa’s than to
Kansas's. Under the bill, possession of precursors with intent to manufacture
methamphetamine is a Class H felony. (Note that possessing, delivering, or
manufacturing methamphetamine-related drug paraphernalia is also a Class H
felony under current law.) The maximum total sentence length for a Class H felony is
six years, the maximum initial term of confinement is three years, and the maximum
fine is $10,000. Please let me know if that is okay.

2. The bill lists pseudoephedrine as a schedule V controlled substance and limits the
amount that a person can purchase within a 48—hour time period to nine grams. That
would permit a person to purchase no more than three packages of a product that has
pseudoephedrine as the sole active ingredient. (Other states’ laws that I have reviewed
and that set a similar threshold allow the purchase of either two or three packages.)
At the same time, the bill would regulate the sale of products that contain other active
ingredients in combination with pseudoephedrine. Is that your intent? (Some states
regulate all medications containing methamphetamine precursors, and some regulate
only those in which pseudoephedrine is the sole active ingredient.) In addition, lowa
law exempts products containing pseudoephedrine as the product’s sole active
ingredient if it is in liquid form, if it is intended for use by children, or if the lowa Board
of Pharmacy Examiners, with the concurrence of the lowa Department of Public
Safety, determines that the product is formulated to prevent its conversion into
methamphetamine. Do you want to include a comparable exemption? Finally,
Oklahoma’s nine—gram limitation is based on a 30—day period. The 48—hour period
that this bill contains is derived from the restrictions in current law for other schedule
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V drugs. Let me know if you want to use a time frame other than the existing one for
schedule V drugs.

3. Item 5. in Eric Johnson’s letter refers to minors being used to help produce
methamphetamine, but the statute that he mentions relates to all drugs. Since s.
961.46 already provides higher penalties for distributing drugs to minors, I assumed
that you wanted the Class B penalties to apply only in cases involving
methamphetamine.

4. Oklahoma requires a person to present a photo ID when purchasing
pseudoephedrine. Wisconsin law requires a person purchasing a schedule V drug only
to “present to the seller that person’s correct name and address.” Do you want to
include a photo ID requirement for methamphetamine precursors? If so, should it
apply to all schedule V drugs?

5. There are a number of cross—references in other Wisconsin statutes to prohibitions
in s. 961.41 (1m) on possessing a controlled substance with intent to manufacture,
distribute, or deliver it. For example, under s. 973.017 (8) (a) 2., if a person violates
S. 961.41 (1m) with intent to distribute a controlled substance in a prison or jail, the
court must consider that fact as an aggravating factor at sentencing. Do you want the
bill to treat possession of methamphetamine precursors with intent to distribute the
drug in the same way, for the purpose of these cross—references, as s. 961.41 (1m) is
treated? (If it would help, I can discuss each of those cross—references with you.)

6. 1 did not include anything for item 4. in Mr. Johnson’s letter. The three—package
limit is covered by item 2., and the immunity provision is made unnecessary by
classifying methamphetamine precursors as schedule V controlled substances.
(Under s. 961.23, schedule V drugs can be sold at retail only by a registered
pharmacist.) Note, however, that selling more of a schedule V controlled substance
than is authorized under s. 961.23 is a Class I felony. In lowa and Missouri, by contrast,
selling more than the authorized amount of pseudoephedrine is a misdemeanor. See
s. 126.23A(4), lowa stats.; s. 195.417(5), Missouri stats.

7. The bill adds liquid nitrogen to s. 101.10 (3) (e) so that theft of liquid nitrogen is
treated the same way as theft of anhydrous ammonia. Should the prohibition
regarding the release of anhydrous ammonia also cover liquid nitrogen? The bill also
treats attempted theft of anhydrous ammonia and liquid nitrogen in the same way as
the completed offense. But what Mr. Johnson requests in the second sentence of item
6. is already covered under current law. See s. 101.10 (1) (b) and (3) (e).

8. The word “forfeiture” was handwritten on Mr. Johnson’s letter next to item 7. |
ignored that notation for now.

Michael Dsida
Legislative Attorney
Phone: (608) 266—9867



