### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Forestry**

#### Assembly Bill 1011

Relating to: the determination of the value of timber for purposes of assessing a yield tax.

By Representatives Wieckert, Mursau, Musser, Albers, Owens, Gunderson, Bies, Townsend, Petrowski, Ott and Pettis; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Lassa and Brown.

February 10, 2006 Referred to Committee on Forestry.

February 14, 2006 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(5)	Representatives Friske, Mursau, Ainsworth,
		Hubler and Boyle.
Absent:	(1)	Representative M. Williams.

Appearances For

- Scott Becher, Madison Representative Steve Wieckert 57th Assembly District
- Gene Francisco, Sun Prairie Executive Director, Wisconsin Professional Loggers Association
- John Czerwonka, Wittenberg Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association
- Dale Zaug, Tigerton Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association

Appearances Against

- Robert Mather, Madison Department of Natural Resources
- Richard Stadelman, Shawano Wisconsin Towns Association

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Joe Hovel, Conover
- William Fucik, Ladysmith Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association - NW Chapter

Registrations Against

• Gary Vander Wyst, Butternut — Society of American Foresters - Wisconsin Chapter

• Matt Stohr, Madison — Wisconsin Counties Association

#### March 14, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present:	(5)	Representatives Friske, Mursau, Ainsworth, M.
		Williams and Hubler.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Boyle.

Moved by Representative Mursau, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (	(5)	Representatives Friske, Mursau, Ainsworth,
		M. Williams and Hubler.
Noes: (	(0)	None.
Absent: (	(1)	Representative Boyle.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Hubler, seconded by Representative M. Williams that **Assembly Bill 1011** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (5) Representatives Friske, Mursau, Ainsworth, M. Williams and Hubler.
- Noes: (0) None.
- Absent: (1) Representative Boyle.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Tim Gary Committee Clerk