Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 1053

Relating to: requirements for approval of construction of nuclear power plants. By Representatives Huebsch, Montgomery, F. Lasee, Ziegelbauer, Bies, Owens, LeMahieu, Nischke, Jeskewitz, Suder, Jensen, Musser, Vos, Albers, Gottlieb, Honadel and Nerison; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, A. Lasee, Reynolds, Zien and Grothman

February 20, 2006	Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities.	

March 1, 2006 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present:	(10)	Representatives Montgomery, Davis, Hahn,
		Gottlieb, Honadel, Nerison, Travis, Staskunas,
		Steinbrink, Zepnick.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Nischke.

Appearances For

- Forrest Ceel Local 2150 of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers
- Michael Neuman Self
- David Jenkins Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives
- Will Sandstrom Dr., Fish & Wildlife Unlimited
- Max Carbon Dr., Professor Emeritus University of Wisconsin Madison
- Michael Corradini Dr., Associate Dean, College of Engineering, University of Wisconsin Madison
- John Farrow Professor, MSOE
- Mike Huebsch Rep., 94th Assembly District
- Pat Schillinger Wisconsin Paper Council

Appearances Against

- Cassandra Dixon Self
- Alfred Meyer Physicians for Social Responsibility

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Brian Rude, LaCrosse Dairyland Power
- John Wiley Chancellor, Self

- Joe Leibham Senator, 9th Senate District
- Beata Kalies Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives -Electric Division
- RJ Pirlot Wisconsin Manufactures & Commerce
- Jim Boullion Associated General Contractors of Wisconsin
- Mark Reihl Wisconsin State Council of Carpenters

Registrations Against

- Katie Nekola Clean Wisconsin
- Sean Dekok Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters
- Tom Wilson Nothern Thunder
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Public Interest Research Group
- Peter Alexander Self
- Caryl Terrell Sierra Club John Muir Chapter
- Charlie Higley, Madison Citizens Utility Board
- Andrea Kaminski League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Marylin Slautterback League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Janet Brandt Wisconsin Energy Conservation Corp
- David Steffenson Reverand, Wisconsin Interfaith Climate and Energy Campaign
- May 4, 2006 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1.

Adam Raschka Committee Clerk