Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance

Assembly Bill 1072

Relating to: awards to persons suffering damages as the result of medical malpractice and evidence of compensation for those damages.

By Representatives Gielow, Hahn, Hundertmark, Kerkman, Kreibich, F. Lasee, Newcomer, Nischke, Ott, Towns and Vukmir; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, Kedzie, Leibham and Roessler.

February 27, 2006 Referred to Committee on Insurance.

February 27, 2006 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(12)	Representatives Nischke, Underheim,
		Montgomery, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg,
		Cullen, Lehman, Staskunas, Berceau, Nelson
		and Sheridan.
Absent:	(3)	Representatives Wieckert, McCormick and
		Moulton.

Appearances For

• Curt Gielow, Madison — Representative, Wisconsin State Assembly

Appearances Against

- Daniel Rottier, Madison Attorney, Wisconsin Accedemy of Trial Lawyers
- Lynn Lanfenberg, Madison State Bar of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jodi Bloch, Madison Wisconsin Hospital Association
- Pamela Galloway
- Jeremy Levin Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Mark Grapentine Mr., Wisconsin Medical Society
- Bill G. Smith, Madison Mr., National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB); Wisconsin Coalition for Civil Justice
- Susan Turney Dr., WMS
- Mark Belknap Dr., Wisconsin Medical Society

Registrations Against

- Eric Farnsworth
- Michael Davis
- Ruth Simpson WATL
- Keith Clifford Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers
- Paul Sicula, Milwaukee Mr., Wisconsin Academy of Trial Lawyers

February 28, 2006 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (14) Representatives Nischke, Wieckert, Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick, Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton, Cullen, Lehman, Berceau, Nelson and Sheridan.
Absent: (1) Representative Staskunas.

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Van Roy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction.

Ayes:	(9)	Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
		Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
		Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg and Moulton.
Noes:	(5)	Representatives Cullen, Lehman, Berceau,
		Nelson and Sheridan.
Absent:	(1)	Representative Staskunas.

INTRODUCTION OF ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Gielow, seconded by Representative Ballweg that **Assembly Bill 1072** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes:	(12)	Representatives Nischke, Wieckert,
		Underheim, Montgomery, McCormick,
		Gielow, Van Roy, Ballweg, Moulton,
		Lehman, Nelson and Sheridan.
Noes:	(1)	Representative Berceau.

Absent: (2) Representatives Cullen and Staskunas.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 1

Adam Peer Committee Clerk