# Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Ways and Means**

#### Assembly Bill 121

Relating to: exempting school districts from the motor vehicle fuel tax.

By Representatives Friske, Gronemus, Hundertmark, Freese, Ott, Shilling, Gunderson, Bies, Staskunas, M. Williams, Mursau, Pope-Roberts, Ballweg, Musser, Pettis, Strachota, Hines, Lehman, McCormick, Lothian, Albers and Jeskewitz; cosponsored by Senators Brown, Lassa, Reynolds and Miller.

February 22, 2005 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means.

## March 30, 2005 PUBLIC HEARING HELD

Present:	(11)	Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz,
		Kerkman, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau,
		Ziegelbauer, Toles and Hebl.
Absent:	(2)	Representatives Lothian and Fields.

#### Appearances For

- Donald Friske Representative, Author
- Sheri Krause WI Association of School Boards
- Robert Roska, Glendale Nicolet Area Transportation Cooperative
- Allan Prosser, Tomahawk School District of Tomahawk
- Ellen Lindgren, Middeton Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District
- Miguel Morga, Gays Mills North Crawford Schools

## Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

- Randy Romanski WI Dept. of Transportation
- Josh Peacock WI Dept. of Transportation

## Registrations For

- John Forester, Madison School Administrators Alliance
- Ed Huck, Madison WI Alliance of Cities
- Ceasar Struson Milwaukee Public Schools

## Registrations Against

• None.

#### April 15, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

 Present: (13) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.
Absent: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Ziegelbauer, seconded by Representative Nass that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

 Ayes: (13) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.
Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Jeskewitz, seconded by Representative Kerkman that **Assembly Bill 121** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (13) Representatives Wood, Nass, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Kerkman, Lothian, Strachota, Pridemore, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Toles, Hebl and Fields.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Anthony Blodgett Committee Clerk