Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Natural Resources

Assembly Bill 260

Relating to: requiring that personal flotation devices be worn by certain underage persons in certain boats.

By Representatives Freese, Staskunas, Ainsworth, Albers, Berceau, Bies, Black, Hahn, Hines, Jensen, Krawczyk, Lehman, Molepske, Nerison, Ott, Owens, Sheridan, Stone, Townsend and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Cowles, Lassa and Miller.

March 18, 2005 Referred to Committee on Natural Resources.

May 25, 2005 **PUBLIC HEARING HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,

Pettis, Bies, Krawczyk, M. Williams,

Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Steinbrink, Van

Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Gronemus.

Appearances For

- Rep. Steve Freese 51st Assembly District
- Sen. Carol Roessler 18th Senate District
- Bill Engfer Wisconsin Department of Natural Reources
- Bill Gossard National Transportation Safety Board
- John Lacenski Retired DNR warden
- George Meyer, Madison Wisconsin Wildlife Federation
- Ronald Kraase United States Power Squadrons
- Maureen Van Dinter, Waunakee
- John Van Dinter, Waunakee
- Jeff Wiswell Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rep. Tony Staskunas 15th Assembly District
- Tom Thoresen Wisconsin League of Conservation Voters

- Jeremy Levin Wisconsin Medical Society
- Joe Handrick Wisconsin Occupational Therapy Association
- Rep. J.A. Hines 42nd Assembly District
- Michael Welsh Wisocnsin Public Health Association

Registrations Against

• None.

June 29, 2005 **EXECUTIVE SESSION HELD**

Present: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott,

Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Petrowski, Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van Akkeren,

Molepske and Hebl.

Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

Moved by Representative Molepske, seconded by Representative Petrowski that **Assembly Bill 260** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representatives Gunderson, Moulton, Ott, Pettis, Bies, M. Williams, Petrowski,

Mursau, Black, Gronemus, Steinbrink, Van

Akkeren, Molepske and Hebl.

Noes: (0) None.

Absent: (1) Representative Krawczyk.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Mike Bruhn Committee Clerk